BBB Accredited Business since

Car-X Associates Corp.

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 273-8920 Fax: (847) 619-3310 View Additional Phone Numbers 1375 E Woodfield Rd Ste 500, Schaumburg, IL 60173 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Car-X Associates Corp. is an auto repair and service company which provides repair and maintenance for vehicles, both foreign and domestic. This company serves the northwest suburbs of Chicago, including Roselle, Hoffman Estates, South Barrington, Streamwood, Hanover Park, Bartlett, Elk Grove Village, Itasca, Arlington Heights, Mt Prospect, Palatine, Inverness, Barrington, Elgin, South Elgin, Carol Stream, Glendale Heights, Addison, Wood Dale, West Dundee, Carpentersville, Dundee Township, Prospect Heights, Rosemont, Des Plaines, Wayne, Bloomingdale, and Carol Stream. Services available from this company include oil change, engine and transmission services, tires and alignment services, battery sales and installation, muffler and exhaust services, and brake repair.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Car-X Associates Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Car-X Associates Corp. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Car-X Associates Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1974 Business started: 08/01/1971 Business started locally: 08/01/1971 Business incorporated 06/25/2002 in DE
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Dan Legault, Director of Operations Ms. Diane Kaczka, Customer Service Mr. Kenneth B. Smith, Dir. Account Services
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Legault, Director of Operations
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services Engines - Supplies, Equipment & Parts Engines - Diesel Starters - Engine Auto Air Conditioning Equipment Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles Auto Electric Equipment Auto Parts & Supplies - New General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Alternate Business Names
Car-X Auto Service Corporate Office
Additional Information

Car X Associates Corp has requested that before filing a BBB complaint, consumers contact Diane Kaczka at or 1 800 359-2359 or 847-273-8920.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Car-X Associates Corp. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1375 E Woodfield Rd Ste 500

    Schaumburg, IL 60173

  • 6420 Ogden Avenue

    Berwyn, IL 60402


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: All I really want is my vehicle safe for family members to drive. And I'm not comfortable bringing it back to CAR-X. The orginal issue still remains after driving 5 miles.

Desired Settlement: Just want my vehicle to be drivable and safe for other family member to drive. I'd like to take it to Delearship to get repairs done correctly. Not sure why CAR-X a brake specialist, not being able to fix my brake issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** Service Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* We will be refunding the customer. Sincerely, *** ********* Car-X Associates Corp.

4/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: * 7/26/2013 Car-X (corporate-owned store) **** ****** ** **** **** ** XXXXX changed the transmission fluid in my 2005 MINI Cooper for $143.96. * They claimed to have used MINI-specific manual transmission fluid. * Transmission failed 2,328 miles later * ****** of ********** replaced the transmission + sent the fluid from the transmission to ********** **** of Ft. ****** ** for chemical analysis along with a virgin oil sample purchased from MINI of the specific fluid Car-X claimed to have used in their repair of my car * ********** *** analysis showed that the fluid extracted from my car did not match the chemical composition of the proper MINI fluid. * The highly corrosive formula of the wrong fluid broke down the internal components of the transmission, resulting in the failure of the unit. * I contacted Car-X President ***** **** in *********** IL and received an email reply from *** *********, Car-X National Service Manager, who stated he would do research on my case and would then call me directly to discuss. He never called. * I sent a small number of reminder emails to Mr. Christian without response. * I sent a 2nd letter to President Hill on January 15, and after 2 weeks heard back from Mr. ********* that the case was being turned over to Liberty Mutual Insurance, who covered Car-X. * I received a letter dated 17 Mar 2014 from ******* ****** denying my claim for what they labeled an 'accident'. * No one at Car-X has ever been willing to address the issue that the incorrect manual transmission fluid was used in my car. * I believe Car-X needs to stand behind their work and accept responsibility for the damage caused by their technicians improper servicing of my vehicle. This is the only way they can prove to be a trustworthy business. ** I can provide the ********** **** chemical analysis for inspection, as desired. These documents have already been provided to Car-X and ******* ****** **********

Desired Settlement: Full payment of $3,627.00 for the replacement transmission I had to purchase as a result of their improper service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Email: ******* There is no way to confirm that the fluid in the vehicle at the time of loss caused the transmission failure especially since transmission failures are common with the Minicoopers. Car-X was not allowed an opportunity to examine the vehicle and obtain a sample of the fluid that was in the vehicle at time of loss. The vehicle transmission was replaced by another auto shop before the loss was reported, so there is no way of knowing if the auto shop made an error in determining the nature of the fluid. Ultimately, the fluid was provided by BMW. After careful consideration and based on our investigation Car-X is not responsible for this accident. Unless there is additional information that can be submitted for further review, we consider the matter closed. Sincerely, *** ********* Director Company Stores Operations Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did provided a sample of the fluid extracted from my car after the transmission failed to the Car-X location in **** **** *** (who had performed the initial work (of placing the wrong fluid in my car). Car-X did not ask to examine the transmission at that time, or any time, and took over 3 months to respond back to me from that point, only doing so after I sent a 2nd message to the company President. Mr. ********* apologized at that time for not responding after his promise of action 3 months before. There was still no request to examine fluid or the transmission, nor was there any request from ******* ****** ********** who covers Car-X. The failed transmission unit was ultimately returned to the transmission re-builder who had provided the replacement transmission. Yes, MINI did have documented issues with the earlier transmission used in XXXX-XXXX MINI's, but my 2005 had the upgraded Getreg unit, which has not been problematic. The broad statement that 'transmission failures are common with Minicoopers' is false. MINI/BMW vehicles specify and require a different manual transmission fluid formula compared to traditional fluid. The fact remains that the Car-X technician placed the wrong fluid in my car, while claiming to have used the proper fluid. The chemical analysis of the improper fluid used compared to a new sample of MINI/BMW fluid proved the fluid did not match what was required by MINI. The wrong fluid that was used by Car-X had a chemical composition that would break-down the internal components of a MINI transmission. I am amazed and saddened by Car-X and their lack of attention to handling this matter. The statement that 'there is no way to confirm that the fluid in the vehicle at the time of loss caused the transmission failure' is similar to the police stating 'a gun was found net to the body' ... there may not be video proof of what occurred, but it is reasonable to believe what was the cause and effect. Obviously in the case, the wrong fluid would cause the failure. It was the wrong fluid. The transmission did fail. How is Car-X not responsible? I suggest re-consideration of this case is taken by Car-X. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/07) */ We have reviewed ****** ******'s complaint and the fact that he is dissatisfied with our denial of his claim. We have investigated the situation internally, as well as turned the matter over to our insurance carrier, ******* ******* ******* ****** has assigned an adjustor, who investigated the allegations based on the facts given to us by ****** ******, interviews with employees, experts in transmission repair, and the chemical analysis by Blackstone Labs. In our opinion: to determine the cause of a failure in a transmission based on a fluid sample alone, after the failure, is inconclusive at best. There are many of the trace elements in the ********** lab results that are by-products of any transmission failure, and not necessarily the cause. What part or parts failed in the transmission? Can anyone explain why they failed? Car-X has not been allowed to examine the failed transmission or failed parts all of which leads us to state we have no liability. The adjustor statement is as follows: "I do not see any liability on the insured. There is no way to confirm that the fluid in the claimant vehicle at the time of loss caused the transmission failure especially since transmission failures are common with these Minicoopers. Our insured was not allowed an opportunity to examine the vehicle and obtain a sample of the fluid that was in the claimant vehicle at time of loss. The claimant vehicle transmission was replaced by another auto shop before the loss was reported, so there is no way of knowing if the auto shop made an error in determining the nature of the fluid. Adverse shop could have recommended replacement of transmission because it was to their benefit. Ultimately, the fluid was provided by BMW and if it was in fact incorrect, then I would see liability against BMW. Will now issue denial. Called claimant and left message advising of decision" However, based on Mr. ******'s dissatisfaction with the decision, we are going to reconsider, and take it one more step: At Car-X request and expense, the Blackstone laboratory results provided are being sent to a Forensic Engineering company called ***** *********** for their impartial opinion of the fluid report. Once we receive the results (it may take a couple weeks) we will send an update with our final decision. Obviously, we at Car-X care a great deal about our customers and we don't feel, nor does our insurance adjustor, we were negligent in anyway. If we did find that Car-X was negligent we would be promptly reimbursing the customer for damage we caused. Thanks, *** R.********* Tuffy/Car-X Tire and Auto Service Director Company Store Operations **** E. ********* Rd. Suite *** Schaumburg, IL. Office XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax XXX-XXX-XXXX Cell XXX-XXX-XXXX *****

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my 2001 **** ***** ********* to Car X to have my oil leak addressed. I was advised that I needed to have my valve covers replaced and that it will address the oil leak. I advised the representative that I was concerned about the oil leak and that I wanted it repaired. I was quoted right under $1000 for the job. I scheduled an appointment for ********** early in the morning and had the valve covers replaced. My customer ID is XXXXXXXXXX. The total amount with labor came to $975.53. I was advised that the problem has been solved and that there were no problems. I drove my **** ***** to ******** Illinois the next day for a business trip. When I arrived to my hotel I noticed that the vehicle was already dripping oil and smoking. The next morning I called Car X and I was advised that its normal and will clear up soon. There was not a diffrence from when I had my vehicle repairetd. When I returned to **** from my business trip I brought my **** ***** to the same Car X inspect my car. I was advised my the service writer that it is my headgaskets that is causing the leak. Repairing the head gaskets cost around over $2,000. I felt like the manager and representative were not willing to help or explain why both technicans who worked on my vehicle did not discover my headgaskets as a problem. Im upset because replacing the valve covers was a waste of $975.53 because nothing was resolved and the original service rep and technican told me that it will resolve the issue. I attempted to call the corporate offices for ********* to try to make a resolution and did not get contacted back.

Desired Settlement: My settlement request is to have a refund for the $975.53 as it did nothing for my Land Rover and it did not resolve the oil leak as promised by the manager and multiple technicians. I am requesting that either my vehicle is repaired correctly at the company's expense or refund the amount for $975.53 so I can take my vehicle else where and use that money to get my vehicle properly repaired.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ** ****** - Administrator Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* We contacted the customer. He has a 12 month/XXXXX mile warranty with us. We asked him to bring the car in so that our General Manager could take a look at it. He did not show up for his appointment. We tried calling him again and he informed us that he took his vehicle to another facility. At this point in time we consider the matter closed. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/12/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/04) */ Our store manager did advise the customer to take his car to the nearest Tuffy/Car-X since it was overheating. Upon their inspection they found a that the head gasket was leaking. Please note at the time of the customer's repair on 10/12 this leak was not present and would have showed while doing a pressure test to diagnose this particular issue. Since the vehicle was leaking oil badly and had been running with low oil levels, this could have caused the complaint with the head gasket leak. We are sympathetic to Mr ******** issue. As a courtesy we would like to offer him a customer satisfaction credit in the amount of $487.76; half the amount he paid on his initial repair. Sincerely, ***** ****** Customer Service Administrator Car-X Associates Corp

11/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The 06 malibu didnt need the struts done, they talked my wife into getting them done, then after they "fixed" it, it has a humming noise turning the steering wheel, which they say they dont hear. The 03 Lancer has a terrible noise from the back which they said was 600.00 struts, well paid over 600.00 and still has the exact same issues

Desired Settlement: I would prefer a refund because they obviously are not capable and will take my vehicles to ******* whom have a print out that differs from ****

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** Store Manager Contact Phone: (XXX)XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **************** The 2006 Malibu struts were reccomended in 10/09/2012 due to mileage and visable leakage.on 05/14/2013 the 2006 Malibu was brought in for a break inpection complaining a break vibration. tech reccomende front brakes and struts due to age and milage(over 100,000)on OE struts and visable leakage. In 05/17/2013 customer brought 2006 Malibu stating noise when turning,tech checked car and found no problems at the time.Customer never said of any noise or problems after that date. The 2003 Lancer was brought in on 08/31/2013 stating having a squeaking noise when driving.After inspection tech recommended all 4 struts and alignment. On 09/09/2013 the customer brought in the 03 Lancer and approved replacing rear shocks only . Customer did not inform us of any issues or complains after shocks were installed. If any issues or problems would have brought to my attencion, we would gladdly repair or replace defective parts if any were present. We have 12 months warranty on all our parts and labor. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/11/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The main problem is the Lancer, the one that was took there to get fixed and wasnt. The malibu was brought up because after their work was done there was and still is a humming sound that wasnt there before they did work. The main problem is the Lancer still has the same issues and noises. Which after they "fixed" the lancer my wife calls them to say its still experiencing the same issues they said oh i might be something else after we spend over 600$ on what they said was the problem Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/30) */ There are several mitigating factors regarding this customer's complaint. The customer brought their 2006 Malibu to us in October 2012. At that time we recommended they replace the struts due to normal wear and tear. The vehicle has over 100,000 miles. Per M.A.P. guidelines it is suggested replacing original shocks and struts after 50,000 miles. We also noticed visable leakage. The customer's wife returned with their vehicle in April 2013 complaining of a vibration with the brakes. We performed a brake inspection and recommended she replace the front brakes. We also recommended she replace the leaking struts. We emphasize the importance of vehicle maintenance and make recommendations for the purpose of one's safety. We went over this information in depth with his wife and she agreed to the work and authorized the repair. The struts we installed on his wife's car were a necessary repair and she was properly charged. We value our customers at Car-X. They also have a lifetime warranty with us and we will be more than happy to inspect and diagnose their vehicle at no charge at our location in Bettendorf, IA. Unless new or different information is presented, we consider the matter closed. Sincerely, ***** ****** Customer Service Administrator Car-X Associates Corp

3/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service