Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Belmont Auto Enterprises Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (773) 282-0028 Fax: (773) 282-9243 View Additional Phone Numbers 4116 W Belmont Ave, Chicago, IL 60641


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description



Belmont Auto Enterprises Inc. is an auto repair and service shop providing accident repairs and mechanical maintenance for both foreign and domestic automobiles. Located in Chicago, IL, this company serves downtown Chicago, including the neighborhoods of Logan Square, Belmont Cragin, Irving Park, Portage Park, Humboldt Park, Avondale, Kelvyn Park, Albany Park, North Center, Lincoln Park, Wicker Park, Hermosa, Ravenswood, and Austin. The company has an additional location on Lincoln Avenue in Lincoln Square. The company formed in 1981 and employs ASE certified technicians and performs work for insurance coverage while negotiating for the work to be covered by insurance. They offer free estimates on their body work and provide professional tinting and color matching for their refinishing work as well as accident information and guiding through the claims process for insurance coverage.

Services provided by this company include regular maintenance and tune-ups as well as accident and collision repair. This includes installation, repair, and maintenance of tires, brakes, front and rear alignments, front and rear suspension and drive axle repairs, transmission rebuilds, engine rebuilds, and shocks and struts replacements. The company also performs exhaust repairs and replacements, air conditioning recharge and repairs, electronic on-board diagnostic and repairs, and cooling system flush and repairs. They can measure a car's frame and alignment and re-align a car's frame after an accident as well perform pre-accident repairs. Belmont Auto Enterprises also provides towing.

Visit the website for Belmont Auto Enterprises Inc. to learn more about the services available from this company, read staff biographies, and contact the company to schedule an appointment for collision repair or maintenance.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Belmont Auto Enterprises Inc. include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Belmont Auto Enterprises Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Belmont Auto Enterprises Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 10, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1981 Business started locally: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated 10/15/2007 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Kinsler, Owner Mr. Rob Berris
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Kinsler, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Smog Inspection Auto - Emissions Testing Brake Service Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts Engines - Gasoline Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Lubricating Service - Automotive Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Differentials - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Auto Parts & Supplies - Custom Wheels/Rims Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment Wheels Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories Axles Cylinder Heads - Auto & Motorcycle Starters - Engine Batteries - Storage-Retail Clutches Heaters - Automotive Shock Absorbers Springs - Automotive - Sales & Service Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Paintless Dent Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Inspection Stations General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4116 W Belmont Ave

    Chicago, IL 60641 (773) 368-8270 (312) 465-9033

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4187 N Lincoln Ave

    Chicago, IL 60618

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped off my car at Belmont Auto Enterprises March 10, 2014. After several estimates, I was quoted at 'around $5000' to complete a front end clip of my 1985 Toyota Corolla GT-S. As of the last three months we made a number of calls to the body shop attempting to get a status update. After about 20 non-responses we went into the body shop to see the status of our car. The shop owner was incredibly rude and told us that after three new frames came into the shop, none of them could be used due to rot and we should consider going to another shop. On October 3, 2014 we retrieved the car from the body shop expecting a full refund for our -lack- of service done to the car. It looked worse than the day we brought it in. Since it sat in an open lot, uncovered, for nearly seven months the top of the motor began rusting and further complicates the further intentions we have with this car. While the frame was banged up when we brought it in, the engine and transmission were in good working condition. After all that, the owner of the shop expected $1700 as a 'parking fee' for parking it in their lot. There was no prior agreement made to pay a 'storage fee.' I could have stored it in my garage until they found the parts had this been the case. The only agreement was to pay for the actual repair of the car, a repair that never happened.

Desired Settlement: Full refund for no service done to my car for 7 months that they had it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/10/16) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@gmail.com Mr. ****** dropped off his vehicle as he indicated. Please note the age of the vehicle. It is a 29 year old vehicle. At the time of drop off? Our staff spent untold hours in attempts to locate the parts, which would have been a complete front end assembly, for the repairs. We did receive front ends on two occasions, and upon receipt? The parts were so thoroughly rusted that they were not able to be used in any capacity. Please note that used parts are non returnable if accepted, hence we took a deposit from Mr. ****** for the parts plus shipping. We located parts in Portland Oregon, and requested more money from Mr. ****** due to the added expense of shipping the parts cross country. Unfortunately, by the time we were able to order the parts, they had already been sold and were no longer available. When Mr. ****** called and indicated that he wanted to pick his vehicle up? We advised him that we would refund his money less a nominal storage fee as the vehicle was stored in our secured and alarmed storage lot for the entire time it was here. I am unaware of any facility in the city of Chicago that stores vehicles for free for extended months of time. Ours is no different. We were willing to take our posted rate of $95.00 per day down to $100.00 per month but were told by the complainant that the refund was to be all or nothing. For the sake of argument and good ****? We **** refund the full amount to the customer if they stop by the shop with their credit card that was utilized for a credit. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/10/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) He did not give me a refund when I went down on 10/16/14. He made me come back on 10/24/14 and only refunded $2000. He then asked that I come back today 10/31/14 for the remaining amount. I went today and now he is telling me to come back on 11/5/14 and he will give me a check not a credit back on my credit card. He still owes me $1671.45. This not the agreement he responded to with the BBB. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/12/05) */ Please be advised that the complainant has been fully reimbursed all funds and complaint has been resolved. Thank you for your assistance in clearing up this matter. Belmont Auto Enterprises, Inc.

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an accident in my car and was transported to the hospital for some injuries, while in the emergency room a nurse came in with the phone stating I had a call from my relative. The call was from Belmont Auto telling me they had my car and they will be doing the work. The meeting with the owner and I seemed very uncomfortable and during my visit to see the car they had already started breaking the car down of the damages. I called my lawyer and a friend that owns a auto repair place, and was told that he will send me a bill for the work and storage fees that already occurred so it will be best to let him go through with the work and the owner did just that sent me a bill of his work and services based on me requesting to send my car to another repair place. After the work was completed I expressed to him about some of the things that was not completed correctly and was told to come back and he will repair it and that I have a full warranty on all the parts and labor. I return to get the items fixed and went through it with the owner via phone, took pictures and emailed them. Owner says ok bring it in when I have time. I spoke to the new shop Manager and brought my car in for him to inspect what needed to be repaired and was told to bring it back when he has time and I have the time to leave it for one full day. Okay, I brought the car back the owner took all the repairs downs in the system and logged my car in for repairs for the next day. I called the next day and went through all the items again and was told Ok again the the next day all the items should be done. I called on the day it should be completed and was told it will be done the next day. I called the next day and I was told that one of the items he didn't know about and comes to find out that he wasn't going to cover it because it was third party installation on the window tint. I explained that the repairs included the tint and was noted to owner of the incomplete work on the window and was directed by the owner to come back in the summer time to get that fixed.

Desired Settlement: back window tinted with a complete description of my full warranty in writing, parts and repairs and service as stated verbally.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/16) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@gmail.com Please be advised that in this case, as is the case with most insurance generated repair work, we were paid by the insurance company to change only the lower glass of his tailgate. They refused to pay for his upper tailgate glass due to the fact that his glass was undamaged and was utilized in the replacement of the new tailgate. The issue he had were bubbles in the tinting that was done by an outside contractor as the tinting was not factory. The fault was in the original installer's installation as the bubbles formed in areas where the adhesion of the tinting failed. If Mr. ******* has any complaint? It is with whoever the original installer was. Please be further advised that Mr. ******* received payment from his insurance company and fraudulently forged the signature of Belmont Auto on the check and cashed a two party check. Nonetheless, we did all we could to meet Mr. *******'s expectations and addressed all concerns that were valid. The tinting was denied by his insurer, hence we did no further replacement or repairs for that reason to his tinting issues.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Belmont Auto Enterprises Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)