Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American Engine Installations

Phone: (708) 344-7448 Fax: (708) 344-7449 8 N 6th Ave, Maywood, IL 60153 http://aeiautorepair.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Engine Installations meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Engine Installations include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Engine Installations
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 09, 2004 Business started: 01/01/2004 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/2004 Business incorporated 08/01/2005 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Roger Haney, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Haney, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Alternate Business Names
Haney Enterprises, LLC
Additional Information

American Engine Installations - Maywood, IL is a BBB Accredited Business.


Additional Locations

  • 8 N 6th Ave

    Maywood, IL 60153 (708) 344-7448

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped off my 2004 Ford Focus ZTS for an engine, starter motor, and engine mount replacement on 04/10/2015. As of today, 05/05/2015, although the engine replacement, along with a new starter motor and engine mounts, has been completed, the car has a problem with overheating that was not present prior to the repair. I have been told by the shop that the engine runs hotter than expected and that the temp gauge will occasionally go almost into the red max area, usually when idling. At speed this does not seem to be a problem. Likewise, turning the A/C on will bring the temp done (as this apparently causes the fans to run and this cools the engine). The manager, ******* told me that they have performed extensive testing and temporary replacement of parts in an attempt to isolate the problem - with no luck. He also told me that if the car does overheat while driving, I should pull over and let it cool down as the overheating will invalidate the warranty. I'm not sure that this is a satisfactory solution to a previously absent problem. While I believe that shop has gone above and beyond in attempting to identify the problem, they been unable to. They point out that I declined the all replacement parts (except the starter motor and engine mounts) when replacing the engine. This is true - I did not want them add alomst $1200 in parts that I may not need. Sure, replace them if they are bad, but don't just replace parts because you can. My issue is this: I don't want to pay almost $3,000 for a car that I do not feel safe driving. I want to be sure that when I drive from A to B, I can do so without worrying about having to stop to let the car cool down.

Desired Settlement: As of today I have paid only the $1,200 deposit. As well as wanting my car back, I want that most if not all of that deposit back. While I understand and appreciate the work that has been done, I don't want a car that is not safe to drive. Thus I am willing to accept the loss of an appropriate amount of my deposit to compensate AEI.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/15) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** - Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@sbcglobal.net By the time I had a chance to review this complaint, the issue had been resolved and the customer paid for and picked up his vehicle. After installing a replacement engine along with a new starter and engine mount, we encountered a problem with the engine "almost" overheating. AEI knew that the engine itself was not causing the overheating and since the customer refused to replace most of the parts relating to the cooling system and he refused to pay for a diagnostic to identify why the overheating was occurring, AEI was in a difficult spot to resolve the issue. After spending many hours attempting to identify the issue, it was discovered that the vehicle came into the shop with a defective Fan Relay Resistor. This is part of the electrical system, not part of the engine. Basically, this defective part prevented the electrical cooling fan from operating at low speed. So the engine would not receive any auxiliary cooling assistance when needed and then eventually when the engine would come to the brink of overheating, the electric high speed cooling fan would kick in and bring the temperature down to a normal level. This then had the appearance of something being wrong with the engine when, if fact, it was a preexisting electrical problem. Once the Fan Relay Resistor was replaced, the problem was resolved. AEI bent over backwards for Mr. ****** in resolving this issue because there had been other delays in getting his engine replaced. AEI gave him a credit of $150.00 and also recharged his air conditioning for free. He was charged for the defective part and it's installation, but he was not charged for the many hours of diagnostics in identifying the defective part. Mr. ****** indicates in his complaint that the overheating problem didn't exist prior to the engine replacement, but AEI strongly suspects that this is not true. You see, the engine never actually completely overheated, but it would often reach the "brink" of overheating before the high speed fan would kick in and bring the temperature down. Unless someone was closely watching the temperature gauge, you might never observe this occurring. AEI strongly thinks that this issue most likely resulted in Mr. ******'s original engine engine failure. Overheating is the number one cause of engine failure. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/05/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I was completely satisfied with the resolution of this by American Engine Installations. They went way above and beyond to address my concerns and resolve my problems. (Note: I have been trying to close this case for 10 days now and the website will not let me!)

2/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Engine Installations
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)