Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Elgin Super Auto Parts, Inc.

Phone: (847) 695-4000 Fax: (847) 695-1603 View Additional Phone Numbers 270 Willard Ave, Elgin, IL 60120 http://www.elginsuper.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Elgin Super Auto Parts, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elgin Super Auto Parts, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Elgin Super Auto Parts, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1968 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1968 Business incorporated 03/08/1971 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bryan Hoffman, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bryan Hoffman, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt Auto Parts & Supplies - New Motor Vehicle Supplies and New Parts Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423120)


Additional Locations

  • 270 Willard Ave

    Elgin, IL 60120 (800) 232-5564

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase 02/17/15, Problem date since then. Model XXX-XXXXX Order XXXXXX Amount total 180.00. Payment by check. Was told only this part for a 2007 ********* steering column, when there are other models.

Desired Settlement: Refund/credit

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/20) */ I've read the complaint several times but an not exactly sure of what the issue is? I am requesting more information so that I can get a clear understanding of the issue. Is there a problem with the item? The item that you purchased is to fit a 2007 ********* *********. Does it not fit? I need more information to properly handle this complaint. ***** XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The product does not fit the 2007 ***** ********* work truck. We received a steering column for a luxury truck that has all kinds of built in controls for different options. So it will not work in the work truck. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/04/28) */ We ordered what the customer asked us to order. We also were told a slightly different story over the phone however if the item was wrong there was an exchange warranty on it. Even though that time has expired we will still make an exchange for the item or another item of equal value. As long as the item has not been altered. Ask for ***** when making an exchange. This extended offer will expire on May 15th. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2015/05/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The owner is traveling we would need a couple more weeks time to be able to use the credit.

9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 09/04/2014 Elgin Super Auto Part Inc. quoted me a used driver side brake caliper/w bracket for $35.00 on the phone. I immediately rushed to the store for a pick up. When I arrived I was told that store will be closing in few minutes so I should hurry with a purchase. When I made a payment in cash I immediately acknowledge that cashier charged $65.09 instead of $35.00. I pointed to the cashier but I was told that I should discuss this with a sales person who quoted the price and cashier is closed now. I brought this concern to the sales person right away and pointed out that I have not been given the quoted price. Sales person started making excuses that "People usually look for bracket or bolt only and we don't' sale them separate anymore so price is $65 now" and refused to acknowledge the quoted price. I immediately asked him to return this part and provide me the refund since that's not what I was quoted. Sales person asked me to comeback in next morning to return the part and promised that they will provide the full refund. On next morning 09/05/14 I arrived to return the part and talked the same sales person. At this time he refused again acknowledging refunding the money and said only store credit will be provided. After explaining him and same cashier multiple times regarding this issue I was only provided with store merchandise credit slip. The Invoice is #XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: Refund the entire amount in same form it was paid.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX XXX Contact Email: *****@elginsuper.com Mr. ***** we are sorry for the miscommunication. Please feel free to return with your credit clip and see ***** or *** and we will gladly exchange the credit for a full refund. If you are still in need of a brake caliper with a bracket we will be happy to honor a $35.00 (PLUS TAX) price. If not then we will refund in full. Please bring the credit slip with you when you return.

7/7/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Elgin Super Auto Parts, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)