BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2010

Elgin Super Auto Parts, Inc.

Phone: (847) 695-4000Fax: (847) 695-1603View Additional Phone Numbers270 Willard Ave, ElginIL 60120-6809 Send email to Elgin Super Auto Parts, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2010

BBB has determined that Elgin Super Auto Parts, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Elgin Super Auto Parts, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Elgin Super Auto Parts, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
09/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: On 09/04/2014 Elgin Super Auto Part Inc. quoted me a used driver side brake caliper/w bracket for $35.00 on the phone. I immediately rushed to the store for a pick up. When I arrived I was told that store will be closing in few minutes so I should hurry with a purchase. When I made a payment in cash I immediately acknowledge that cashier charged $65.09 instead of $35.00. I pointed to the cashier but I was told that I should discuss this with a sales person who quoted the price and cashier is closed now. I brought this concern to the sales person right away and pointed out that I have not been given the quoted price. Sales person started making excuses that "People usually look for bracket or bolt only and we don't' sale them separate anymore so price is $65 now" and refused to acknowledge the quoted price. I immediately asked him to return this part and provide me the refund since that's not what I was quoted. Sales person asked me to comeback in next morning to return the part and promised that they will provide the full refund. On next morning 09/05/14 I arrived to return the part and talked the same sales person. At this time he refused again acknowledging refunding the money and said only store credit will be provided. After explaining him and same cashier multiple times regarding this issue I was only provided with store merchandise credit slip. The Invoice is #XXXXXX

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX XXX
Contact Email: *****@elginsuper.com
Mr. ***** we are sorry for the miscommunication. Please feel free to return with your credit clip and see ***** or *** and we will gladly exchange the credit for a full refund. If you are still in need of a brake caliper with a bracket we will be happy to honor a $35.00 (PLUS TAX) price. If not then we will refund in full. Please bring the credit slip with you when you return.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/07/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/12/2012Problems with Product / Service
05/21/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
02/21/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/06/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt, Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/01/1986Business started: 01/01/1968
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1971, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bryan Hoffman (Vice President)
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt, Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Industry Tips
Contracts
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Elgin Super Auto Parts, Inc.

270 Willard Ave

Elgin, IL 60120-6809

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 270 Willard Ave 

    Elgin, IL 60120-6809(800) 232-5564

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Elgin Super Auto Parts, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 232-5564

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (847) 276-3340
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt

Contracts
The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.