Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Acme Auto Parts Inc

Phone: (815) 939-3030 Fax: (815) 939-2020 View Additional Phone Numbers 2016 E. 1000N Road, Kankakee, IL 60901


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Acme Auto Parts Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Acme Auto Parts Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 24, 1996 Business started: 05/12/1987 Business started locally: 05/12/1987 Business incorporated 05/12/1987 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Baker, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Baker, President
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Auto Body Repair & Painting Radiators - Automotive Tire Retread & Repair Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Services Snow Removal Service Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt Scrap Metals Auto Dealers - Used Cars Automotive Parts and Accessories Stores (NAICS: 441310)

Products & Services

We sell new and used auto parts. We have a full service mechanic shop. ACME installs new and used auto glass. We have a full service body shop where we repair vehicle damage. We offer used tires as well as tire repair. We are a used auto dealer.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2016 E. 1000N Road

    Kankakee, IL 60901 (800) 666-5538

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was getting some work done on my 1985 cutlass getting the whole car redone at TJS Custom which I had paid tj in advance to do the work which was stupid on my part because he ended up closing his shop down. Before, I could tow my car home my car was taken to Acme auto parts without my permission and Acme bought my car and started taking parts off my car without my permission or my Title. I called acme the day before to see if anybody brought my care there and the lied to me and said No. lucky a buddy of mine was up there an see my car and notified me. I called the police and the police was telling me to contact acme cause they wasn't suppose to by me vehicle without title and come up with a deal hat satisfy me so I contacted them and they offered me $100 the not no where near what my car was worth.

Desired Settlement: I want us to come up with a better resolution because my car had wheel, a 400 trans, the body was solid and when I go view my car the body is in horrible condition my wheels are gone, trans is gone, in big dent is in my car. my car was worth 2k so if we can come up with something better I will accept!!

Business Response:

Tell us why here...

BBB Complaint 10981646

Response:
Mr. ********’s complaint is with TJ’s Custom.  They took his money and they did not do the work requested and paid for.  If not with TJ’s he needs file a court case with TJ’s custom ownership or with the scrappers that hauled it away from TJ’s property.  ACME was not hired to do work for Mr. ********. ACME did not tow Mr. ********’s vehicle.

The vehicle was brought into ACME Auto Parts for us to purchase. The vehicle was brought to us by a private party scraper as we are a salvage / scrap yard and used parts store.  ACME Auto provided the police with the name and all information we had concerning the scrapper.  When the vehicle arrived it was near what we consider a shell. The scrapper did not have a title so we set the car to the side to begin doing the investigation of ownership.  We did not remove and parts from the vehicle or damage the vehicle any further than it was when it arrived.

Mr. ******** came in the next day and said that he thought his car might be here.  We showed him what we thought might be his vehicle. We asked him to provide us with proof of ownership.  He could not provide us with proof of ownership of this vehicle.  We told him that if he came in with the title and proved the vehicle belonged to him that we would tow it at no charge to where he wanted the vehicle to go.

The current price of scrap at the time this took place was $50 per ton.  The vehicle weighs approximately 1.5 tons.  Going scrap rate for that weight would be approximately $75.  We offered to pay him the $100 for his vehicle if he did not want it back once he provided proof of ownership. We have not heard back from him.  We waited a week and towed the vehicle back to the property that the scrapper had towed it from.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Acme Auto Parts Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)