Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Car Store

Phone: (630) 892-4300 Fax: (630) 892-4467 207 S Lake St, Aurora, IL 60506 http://www.thecarstoreaurora.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description



The Car Store is a used auto dealership based in Aurora, IL, but serving the entire Fox Valley area, including Naperville, Oswego, Kendall County, Sugar Grove, and Batavia. Founded in 1994, The Car Store's dealers have over 50 years of experience in the automobile industry.

They specialize in pre-owned cars, trucks and SUVs, many of them CARFAX certified. The dealership itself is a CARFAX Advantage Dealer and includes a CARFAX report with each car, which details the car's history including accidents, major repairs, airbag deployment, and flood or fire incidents. At their Aurora dealership, they specialize in customer service, but also have an online vehicle inventory for convenience. If they do not have a vehicle in stock, their website features a vehicle finder option for locating the perfect vehicle for a customer's needs. Their cars range in model year from 2001 to 2010 and include automatic and manual transmissions, with a variety of vehicle types such as hatchback, convertible, minivan, and pickup trucks.

Some of their cars still have a manufacturer's warranty, and most include a 3 month/3,000 mile power train warranty. Service contracts are available to suit the need of their customers, and their staff is available to determine what service package is most appropriate. Their website includes an application for finances and the company claims that many of their financial decisions are made at the dealership at time of purchase.

Visit the The Car Store's website for information about financing, warranties, or to request more information about their vehicles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Car Store meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Car Store include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Car Store
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 28, 1994 Business started: 02/28/1994 Business started locally: 02/28/1994 Business incorporated 02/23/1994 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rudy Beringer, President Ms. Glenda Beringer, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rudy Beringer, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Accessories Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Shocks Lubricating Service - Automotive Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Radiators - Automotive Auto & Truck Brokers Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Alternate Business Names
The Car Store Auto Corp.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 6/30/2015I purchased this vehicle(2005 Tahoe Z71) after talking and previewing it online. I asked several times about rust issues and was told that it was not a problem and the care was in excellent shape. I paid to fly up from Birmingham and drove the care back. Once I got it home I took it to a GM certified dealership(Royal GMC) to be checked out. The ENTIRE frame, Brake lines, motor mounts, Gas tank brackets, upper and lower rocker arms, etc, was rusted out. To the point that all there mechanics said it was trashed and I should take it and get my money back. Said the shape of the frame was rusted out and not safe to drive. I contacted the owner ****** that I bought the car from and told him what they had said about the car. (Note this car was bought on 6/12 and I still haven't gotten the title. Still been less than thirty days). He said it is a GM issue and I should get them to look at the frame and rust issues. Also told me his mechanics had looked the car over and found no issues. This is a complete fraud sale of this truck to me. You need to list him as buyer beware. Not willing to do anything on this truck even after a certified GM dealer tells him this. You need to take him off you site and if you can help me. I did sign an as is contract so if I'm screwed then at least make others aware of how he runs is business. Bad PR for you if you let him use your logo. I appreciate any and all the help on this matter. Fell free to contact me on this matter. Don't want another person to be treated like this in IL. Product_Or_Service: 2005 Tahoe Z71 Account_Number: Signed a contract on

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I paid $13,000 for this truck and spent another $800.00 flying up and driving it back. I just want the $13,000 I paid for the truck. More than fare with the shape it's in and less than 30 days old. He should have to pay to have this piece of junk trailed up since I don't think it's safe to drive.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/08/14) */ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 18, 2014/08/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They can write letters and say what ever they want to about this vehicle. If they inspected this vehicle like they said they did and found it safe to drive then there service department needs to be looked at as well.I'm just telling you as a customer that got taken by a business in IL that states all over the website about there relationship with the BBB. ****** also brought this up in the sale conversation about how there rating with you guys is excellent. There dealership is dishonest and I would not trust them for anything. He tells me to bring the car up which is a 14 hour drive. I could tell by his tone that he was not willing to do anything about this. Also it was not safe to drive the car back up there. I had to spend over $4,000 to get this car safe to drive. I guess I could have sold it to another person but I have morals and don't believe in deception. When I get back up to Ill. on business he is right I will pay him a visit. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/08/22) */


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Car Store
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)