BBB Accredited Business since

Star Motor Sales Inc.

Phone: (630) 241-2424 Fax: (630) 241-2123 1723 Ogden Ave, Downers Grove, IL 60515 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.starmotorsales.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The team at Star Motor Sales would like to thank you for visiting our website. Our new managment team and knowledgeable sales staff is dedicated to provide you with excellent customer service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Star Motor Sales Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Star Motor Sales Inc. include:

  • Failure to be transparent about ownership, location, or products/services offered

Factors that raised the rating for Star Motor Sales Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Star Motor Sales Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 29, 2010 Business started: 08/18/2008 Business started locally: 08/18/2008 Business incorporated 08/18/2008 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Adam Nemeh, General Manager Mr. Omar Dweydari, President/Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Cara Ciolino, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Adam Nemeh, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service - Airbags Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Alternate Business Names
Star Motor Sales Inc,

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Star Motor Sales Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1723 Ogden Ave

    Downers Grove, IL 60515

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought the car about 30 days ago, I started noticing an issue with a possible alignment issue. I took the car to my mechanic and he found the two front wheels were damaged and the right tire had no tread. All these components causing a bad alignment issue. Also, they found that one tire was mounted backwards so they put it back to normal. When I bought the car, the salesman told me that the car had all new tires. A lie. I immediately contacted the salesman and he was rude and unprofessional and basically said it was my problem not theirs. I then contacted Mr. **** *****, the general manager and he listened to my complaint. He asked me to take pictures of the tires, the size of the tires and a copy of the issue that was documented from my mechanic. This was over a week ago and he has not contacted me back with either a phone call or an email.

Desired Settlement: This is not a good faith effort from this business and I want the business to resolve my issue. They need to take responsibility for their deception and give me the new tires and fix the alignment.

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: car dealer was supposed to replace valve cover gaskets as part of our sales agreement. instead they wipe off the oil that was leaking from the gaskets to make them up here as they were replaced and told me they were replaced. we finalized the deal I paid for the car and they mailed me a invoice showing that the repairs were done. they also disguise the odometer reading to be nine thousand miles less than it was when I purchased it and there is documented evidence to show that this is correct. star motors has attempted to defraud me and not follow the written contract.

Desired Settlement: I want the repairs completed on the car has promised in the written and completed at a repair shop of my choice and not done by star motors as they have already defrauded me and it would be a hostile environment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/06) */ We never promised to replace the customers cover gaskets. We promised to fix the gaskets so they would not leak and we did that. The gaskets are no longer leaking. We also gave the customer a $1000.00 discount on the vehicle.

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son purchased this car on June 11,2014. Car was towed June 13th morning. The vin # on vehicle is JTDFRXXXXXXXXXXXX. My son paid 10,000 cash for this vehicle. The manager who said his name was **** has not returned my phone call and constantly avoided my calls. My son had this car less than 36 hrs and the cable that runs from the gear shift to the transmission broke. He told me it was because my son was shifting wrong. I had the car towed to ***** Toyota in ***** ****** Illinois. A mechanic inspected the car. He stated the car had sat and the cable had become corroded, he stated the cable would not break because someone was shifting wrong or too aggressively. He also stated the **** motors had reset the check engine light,so it was off when my son purchased the vehicle but came back after he had driven 200 miles. **** Motor sold this car knowingly being deceptive. They knew this car had several mechanical problems. The estimate for repairs would approximately be 2000.00.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to provide complete history vehicle report of this vehicle. I would also like them to pay for repairs, towing, and the difference of what my son paid and the car is worth.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/23) */ When we became aware that there was an issue with the vehicle we immediately responded to the customer's mother. There were several conversations back and forth between the customer's mother and our General Manager. No phone calls were avoided. We spoke to the actual customer that purchased the car and he admitted that these are typical issues in this type of vehicle. He also stated that it was his fault that the vehicle had an issue because he was not used to driving a manual car. We were never aware of a check engine light being on the vehicle. The mother stated that it was a transmission issue but when she brought it to another dealership they stated it was not a transmission issue. We did explain to the mother that we would help fix the problem if it was indeed a transmission issue , which it turned out not to be the issue. The customer also signed an "AS IS" form as well as a "NO Work Promised", however we did and continue to, even if those forms are signed, to accomodate the customer as best as we can. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is untrue within 36 hrs of buying the car I notified this dealership. They first told me they thought the clutch was going out of the vehicle. I then told them no. The car would not go into any gear,so we had it towed. I told them it sounded like transmission problem. I knew that without even being a mechanic. I had the car towed towed to ***** ****** in ***** ***** Illinois. They did a complete inspection of the vehicle. **** ****** the service manager told me it was the cable to the transmission after inspection. I asked if this could be caused from someone who was too aggressive with the gear shift or by someone who did not know how to shift. He told me know. After contacting ****, at **** ******* he did not feel it was there fault. **** had told me this dealership must have reset the check engine light, so they knew there was problems with the vehicle. They refused to help with repairs and when I threatened to have car towed back to **** ******* they began to avoid my calls. They were well aware of the repairs to this vehicle. They should be reponsible for some if not all of these repairs. How often does a person spend XXXXX.00 on a car and it needs repairs within the first couple of days. This company is well aware of its crookedness. My son is not a mechanic, whether they spoke with him or not he did not know what was wrong with the vehicle. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/07/08) */ Once again, when we became aware that there was an issue with the vehicle , we immediately responded. However we do feel that this an issue between us and the actual customer that purchased the vehicle as he is an adult. Again, we could not diagnos any problems with the vehicle with out actually looking at the vehicle. We also offered to examine the vehicle but the customer never brought the vehicle to the dealership. We resent being called crooked as we have been in business for over 5 years and have many satisfied customers. Unfortunately, in this case, no matter what we did it was not good enough

7/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service