Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

S & M Auto Sales

Phone: (773) 434-1200 Fax: (773) 434-9191 View Additional Phone Numbers 5729 S Western Ave, Chicago, IL 60636 http://www.sandmauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that S & M Auto Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for S & M Auto Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on S & M Auto Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 07, 1988 Business started: 07/01/1988 in IL Business started locally: 07/01/1988 Business incorporated 01/25/1996 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mohammad (Mike) Ihmoud, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mohammad (Mike) Ihmoud, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)


Additional Locations

  • 5729 S Western Ave

    Chicago, IL 60636 (773) 434-1200 (773) 434-1201

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 28, 2016, I purchased a 2008 Nissan Quest White Van (**** ****************** from S & M Auto Brokers, Inc. Located at **** ** Western **** ******* ** ****** The vehicle was supposed to financed by ****** ********* ******* **** ******* ** **** ** **** *** *** **** ********** ** 60173 ***************. Unfortunately, the vehicle had to be towed twice within the same week I purchased it. I called the Car company and the Finance Company to let them know the vehicle didn't work. The ****** ********* ******* company said they would not finance this vehicle, because it did not satisfactorily perform for me, per the financing contract. I took the vehicle back to the car dealership and Jack Ihomund said he had the car repaired. NOT ONLY, have the car been towed twice by me, BUT the car failed the Illinois VEHICLE AIR & EMISSIONS TEST! Again, the car was towed the second time because it didnt run properly. I had my friend ******* ***** speak to **** in person as I don't speak fluent English. At that meeting ******* ***** and myself told **** I didn't want the car, or any other car from them. Although the company policy states, their vehiclies are "SOLD AS IS" AND "NO WARRANTY", I feel this company is scamming me into doing business with them anyway. AND, I told **** the Sale Rep, several times I don't want to conduct business with this company as I don't trust them. SO I've request my $2,500.00 downpayment be returned to me, but **** said "NO". If the Finance Company ******** ********* Finance) that **** initially secured for me isn't financing the car, what does that say for this Auto Company. Again, this company's business practices should be brought to the public's attention that they are frauds. This report will also be sent to **** ******* Office and where ever that's needed.

Desired Settlement: Again, I'm requesting that S & M Auto Brokers, Inc. return my downpayment of $2,500.00 to me and take this fraudulent purchase off my credit report immediately.

Business Response:

S & M Auto Brokers, Inc. is currently trying to get a hold of the customer to issue a refund and close out this issue.

Thank you

9/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They car is giving me problems the dealership want honor what they told me

Desired Settlement: To fix what's wrong with the car

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/09/10) */ We apologize for the delayed response to Ms. ******'s complaint. Ms. ****** did purchase the vehicle "AS IS". Ms. ****** also purchased extended warranty on the vehicle. Thank you, S & M Auto Brokers, Inc.

12/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/13/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi. My name is ***** ******* and I on march XX XXXX, brought a 2008 dodge magnum from the lot listed above submitted all the proper information needed and was able to drive off the lot, with a small down payment of course. Now today Monday August X XXXX. After making all my payment on time I just received a call stating that I owe a balance on the car due to not providing prof of insurance. Yes I provided prof, yes the Leander company have had prof on file from me but it was false insurance information giving to the lender by the car lot. Help pleas it's that fraud? Product_Or_Service: Car

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I will like to discuss my contract over.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/10/01) */ ***** ******* PURCHASED A 2008 DODGE MAGNUM ON MARCH 22, 2014. MR. ******* HAS A PENDING BALANCE IN REGARDS TO HIS DOWN PAYMENT. IF HE WOULD LIKE TO CONTACT US AT HIS EARLIEST CONVENIENT TO TRY AND CLEAR THIS MATTER, WE ARE MORE THAN HAPPY TO ASSIST HIM. WE ARE HERE FROM MONDAY TO FRIDAY FROM 9:30 AM TO SATURDAY 7:00 PM. THANK YOU

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I went into this car lot Tuesday 3/11/14 to trade in our old vehicle. Long story short we got approved for another Vehicle (2003 BMW 745 LI) We test drove the car, checked to see if everything was ok. After that we then begin paper work for the vehicle. We finished paper work, for trade off, and financing etc. We got approved signed all papers and made a down payment of $1000 with the agreement to bring in an additional $900 towards the down payment. As we were preparing to finish up paperwork and leave the mechanic takes the car in telling us they had to put on a "GPS" device for the car and that we would be good to go. As e waited my husband went to check and see what was taking so long only to discover that not only was the car not starting, but the driver seat now has a mechanical issue and radio not coming on at all! So we wanted to find out what was going on, the guy we were working with (****) tells us its a starter and it will be fixed...We've called and called and have been given the run around, hung up on, put on hold, etc. When we call all they tell us is "we are working on it and call back tomorrow" As of today (3/13/14) we do not have the vehicle in our possession, never drove it off the lot but we have the car financed in our name... and were told that we can't get our money back and they can't do anything to help us and we would have to choose another car.... One of the men at the dealership threatened my husband when he requested our down payment back and told us there's nothing they can do. Again we never got the chance to even drive the car OFF THE LOT. THEY STILL HAVE THE CAR THAT WON'T START. THE FINANCE COMPANY IS CALLING US ABOUT A MONTHLY PAYMENT FOR A CAR WE DON'T HAVE! Product_Or_Service: VEHICLE

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We simply want our $1000 down payment back from the car, and all of our information (personal info., social security, names, switched) over back to our original vehicle. We will NEVER EVER do business with S & M AUTO AGAIN! We are not satisfied with the way they handle business and treat their customers. We would never recommend them to anyone. They tried to scam us, and stick us with a car they knew was no good! One of the representatives there even told us that He wouldn't buy a car from there

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/04/19) */ Mr. and Mrs ******* came back to S&M Auto Sales and got a 2006 Lincoln Zephyr. They are please with their new vehicle. They still owe us $1000 for the down payment.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on S & M Auto Sales
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)