Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Porsche Exchange

Phone: (847) 266-7000 Fax: (847) 433-3570 View Additional Phone Numbers 2300 Skokie Valley Rd, Highland Park, IL 60035 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.4porsche.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Porsche Exchange meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Porsche Exchange include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Porsche Exchange
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 03, 2003 Business started: 03/14/1977 Business started locally: 03/14/1977 Business incorporated 03/14/1977 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Secretary of State
69 W. Washington, Room 1240, Chicago IL 60602
www.state.il.us
Phone Number: (312) 793-1010

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bruce Semersky, General Manager Mr. Zachary Hansen, Internet Director Mr. Faris Najim, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bruce Semersky, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Electric Equipment Auto Parts & Supplies - New Heaters - Automotive Springs - Automotive - Sales & Service Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Paintless Dent Repair Auto Customizing Auto Accessories Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Repair & Service - Airbags Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Auto Service Contract Companies Auto Warranty Plans Lubricating Service - Automotive Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Differentials - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Service - Window Tinting Auto Services Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories Auto Appraisers Auto Dealers - Antique & Classic Auto Dealers - New Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Products & Services

This business offers: A Porsche Dealer - New and Pre-Owned Vehicles, Part, TEquipment, and Service Dept.


Additional Locations

  • 2300 Skokie Valley Rd

    Highland Park, IL 60035 (847) 615-1111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Not happy with these guys at all. They advertised a used 2014 car with 1,400ish miles on it. Said it was spotless, nothing wrong with it at all, i even have that all in email. Well once it comes to sign paperwork they are like, "oh it actually has almost 2,000 miles on it." 500-600 mile discrepancy, not a huge deal but no concession on price and these things depreciate at $1-$2 per mile, not $0.50 like normal cars. So I dealt with that. Then once it was delivered to me, I had to pay the shipping of course, the delivery people point out all these dents, dings, scratches, nicks on the wheels and more. I'm like what are you talking about? I go to the local body shop I've used for years who are reasonable and what's the bill? Nearly $8,000!!! I contacted my sales guy, the assistant GM and the GM and get this, NO RESPONSE WHATSOEVER! I then contacted Porsche and they sent a letter to the dealer instructing them to contact me, NOTHING. I even faxed, emailed and re-mailed the letter from Porsche over to these guys again, NOTHING. Great BS sales on the front end but if you have a problem you are SOL! I'm furious. Never buy from these guys, especially if you don't live locally like me.

Desired Settlement: I want a check for the amount totalling the repairs needed and verified by an independent body shop. I have that paperwork too.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/10/01) */ This request just arrived in my inbox. I am the original salesperson that sold the vehicle to Mr. *******. I will attempt to describe this situation once piece together the details. The most memorable moment was the that I was told an attorney was contacted. When those statements are made, we are instructed to only work through the attorneys and not directly with the customer. Hence the lack of response. Sincerely, ************ Certified Sales Professional I Drive Porsche Passion Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/10/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am no longer seeking legal action at this time. So please resolve this with me directly. And the claims that no response was given because an attorney was contacted are baseless. I reached out to Porsche, Porsche Regional Sales Management, The General Manager of your Dealership, and to the Sales Manager of your Dealership several times each via phone, email, and bia mail. I received no response. Again, this was ALL BEFORE any mention of any legal action or attorney being involved. And no attorney was ever involved, I merely sought out the advice of my sister-in-law who happens to be an attorney. No attorney's services were retained. To make matters worse, *****, you said you'd look into "what happened" and claimed to not be there when the vehicle was picked up by the shipper. I waited and waited and got no response. So I reached out to you again and again via phone and email, I received no response. So then I escalated things as described in the paragraph above. Again, all of this was before any mention of any attorney. I have since posted negative reviews on all the sites I said would as well as pursued this via BBB. What I want is a check made out to me in the total amount of the damage assessment I forwarded you all as part of my communication, nearly $7,600. That file is attached. This has been going on nearly a full year now, this is ridiculous. Let's get this settled once and for all. And again, communicate directly with me. There is no attorney or legal representation involved here. If you need me to re-send all of the documents pertaining to this case, please let me know. I have them all saved and my email address is smahoney@beaconsretail.com Thanks, **** ******* **************** ************************ Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/10/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is widely known in business, that any untruth makes a contract void at it's inception. On page one of the attached, you can see the mileage that this dealership advertised this car as, knowing that it was untrue. This establishes that this dealer engages in untruthful business practices. Their point that I could have renegotiated the contact is true. Nobody at the dealership ever told me that there were 474 more miles on the car than advertised. It was only made known to me once the final paperwork showed up, which made me believe the dealership was merely hoping I wouldn't notice and they were trying to just slip it in there and pull a fast one. I called ************ and asked him what the heck? He said that the dealership owner took the car for a while as his daily driver, no big deal. I asked for a concession, none was given, and I wanted the car bad enough so I said fine and conceded. But in this case, I want to point out that their own advertisement establishes that this dealership lies to it's customers and tries to pull a fast one on it's customers, posting false information which establishes a precedent and clearly shows this dealership lies. Further lies they've told are down further below. On page 2 of the attached, it shows just how much damage there was to the car. Note on the bottom left hand corner you'll see the dealers own signature acknowledging the level of damage done to the car. Again, this is the amount of damage to a model 2014 car in September of 2013, with less than 2,000 miles. Now to the smoking gun, page 3. It is a screen shot of my email to my salesperson ************ stating that the amount of damage was excessive and not what he told me. *****, as indicated in my email to him, said that the car had absolutely nothing wrong with it. So I was expecting a car with absolutely not a scratch on it. But as you can see in page 2, I got something completely different. The dealership wants to claim that this is normal with used cars but that's ridiculous. The dealership wants to claim that I had the right of refusal but clearly I did not. Here's why, I am about 2,000 miles away. They are in Chicago, I am in *********. When the car shipping company arrived the driver and his wife told me we had a lot to go over. I said, "huh?" They then said, "yes we felt you might think that. We had a feeling you didn't know it had this much damage since the car is so new and has so few miles." Once they pointed this out to me, I immediately called ***************, who the car loan was with and told them of the situation. They said that they were sorry and they could not help me, that the loan was active, I was responsible for it, and it could not be reversed or cancelled. I then asked what if I refuse delivery of the car? They said that I could very well likely have a $75,000 loan I was responsible for but no car. Or, if the delivery company proceeded onward I could be responsible for transit back to Chicago, and then after fighting with the dealership, be responsible for the transit back to me since it was too late to reverse the transaction. But the bank made it clear, I owed them $75,000 no matter what per the terms of the loan. So while the dealership states I had right to refuse, I really didn't and the system is rigged against the customer, especially one that doesn't live within driving distance of the dealership, lives 2,000 miles away, and is already on the hook for an initial $1,500 shipping charge, and then another $3,000 for the back/forth if they refuse. The next point is, notice *****'s response to my email. He never denies making the statement that the car was near perfect that I eluded to in my email to him about the damages. Again, any untruth makes a contract void at it's inception. This email clearly indicates another case of the dealership being untruthful. Instead of denying he made the statements I referred to in my email, or saying "no I never said that" or "**** you misunderstood" or "**** you are wrong," he said he'd look into it and see what happened, an admission that something was wrong and something had in fact happened that was different to what was originally said and agreed to. The email is evidence of our initial verbal contract, which supersedes any and all future contracts. So clearly this is perfect evidence that I was told one thing, and sold another. This was the last communication I ever received from this dealership. As I previously stated, I reached out via many means to many people to try to resolve this just between the dealership and I before making any mention of attorney's. I did try to dispute the charge on my credit card in hopes I'd either win the dispute, or get them to contact me to resolve. Neither happened. As a result my final offer to this dealership is as follows: I will accept a check expedited to me in the total amount of $5,072.29. I came to this total by removing the wheel replacements ($1,542.07 and $1,839.38) and instead calculating $250 per wheel to re-finish for a total of $500. I came to this total as I called one my local Porsche dealerships, told them the wheels I had and asked them what it would take to re-finish them and the scratches they had. The reason for the body shop putting on new wheels was they said it would be "near, if not impossible" to match the finish." The dealership makes the claim that I did not go to a Porsche authorized body shop. This is a ridiculous and foolish claim as this auto body shop is one of the most reputable around and has 25 reviews on **** and is rated at 4 out of 5 stars as you can see here: http://www.yelp.com/biz/world-auto-body-encinitas This is my final offer. Thanks, ****n Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/10/02) */


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Porsche Exchange
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)