Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

O'Hare Kars Inc

Phone: (847) 608-4700 Fax: (847) 608-9777 31W450 Spaulding, Elgin, IL 60120

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that O'Hare Kars Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on O'Hare Kars Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 30, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1981 Business started locally: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated 01/17/2002 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Joseph R. Zuccaro, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph R. Zuccaro, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Alternate Business Names
Global Auto Recycling and Repair, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

O'Hare Kars Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a used engine for an 07 Toyota Camry. The reason I purchased the engine was because the original engine in the vehicle was burning oil. Upon receiving this used engine and removing the plugs (planned to install new plugs) and removing the intake plenum (had to swap them because it was not the same design) i noticed the plugs having oil on the tips and the intake plenum also had oil in it. I called the manager **** (owners son) and explained to him the situation. He stated he would swap the engine with another that they had in stock. When i arrive **** was no where to be found and the owner takes the engine to the back of the shop and states that the engine is missing parts (which it was fully in tact aside from possible loose bolts on the intake since i was going to swap them because of the altered design). The owner states he will not exchange the engine and sends us on our way without the engine we paid for or the money we paid. I then call the following day to talk to **** and he stated that we just had to put the engine back together because it was "missing injectors" there was no reason for me to keep injectors on this vehicle, i returned it the way i received it . We then go to the facility and long and behold he states the engine is now in tact with no missing parts. **** then states they would provide another engine for more money. I lost numerous hours of my time trying to get this settled with **** and everytime I called, his employees kept giving me the run around and stating he was not available or was outside and all I wanted was a fair transaction. I understand that these are used parts however they have a warranty on these engines and they did not follow through with their warranty policy. I gave **** several chances to handle the situaton and now i am without an engine or the money I paid. My father and I have purchased several engines throughout the years and never had any issues. The one time we do, this happens. I feel like a was robbed and if this is not situated I will escalate the situation.

Desired Settlement: I gave them not one, but two chances to exchange the engine for a similar engine and had me waste my time by going back and forth to their facility. At this point I have sent my original engine to be rebuilt instead of trying to deal with this business for a third time on an exchange for the engine I purchased. At this point I would like my money back. They not only kept the money however they also kept the engine I purchased from them. All I was asking for was for them to stick to their warranty policy and to provide me with another engine with similar mileage. They failed to do so and now I am seeking reimbursement.

Business Response: In response to this complaint, we would like to state that much of what the customer has stated is completely misleading and outright false. The only truth to the customers statement is in the fact that we sold him a good working engine. Now, the customer personally came to our location to inspect the engine prior to it's purchase. When the customer then agreed to purchase the engine he then had to inspect the engine and accept it's delivery. The customer went ahead accepted it's delivery and a week went by before we heard from the customer again. The customer at that time contacted us to inform us we had sold him a defective engine. Our company then offered to inspect his vehicle at no charge to get to the root of the issue. The customer agreed to these terms but, failed to ever bring in his vehicle. We believe the customer had misled our company and never wanted to submit to our company inspecting the problem. After contacting the customer several times regarding this matter, he personally admitted to me that he had never installed our engine the whole time he had claimed there was an issue. He is quoted as saying "Did not like the way it looked". We continued to contact the customer in order to resolve the matter offering to exchange the engine out for a replacement. Finally, on 10/18 ***** (customer) brought our engine back to our location completely in disassembled not at all resembling the engine we had sold him. Still wanting to satisfy the customer we offered to take back the engine if the customer put it back in the condition it was sold. This is currently the position our company takes. We will accept an exchange only for the engine we had sold.

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a transmission on 05/07/15 which had a 90day warranty we had issues since we installed it we called to get exchange on 07/03/15 they didn't show up till 07/15/15 they did't bring a new transmission in because they said the couldn't get one so they were going to get this one rebuilt which is fine by me but is now 08/05/15 and no one besides the original salesman by the name of **** can help me out according to a the sales people that answer the phone they have no supervisor no owner and nobody returns my calls to come to an agreement he said if I didn't received the transmission by 08/03/15 he would pay for the rental for the remaining of repair time which should have only take about 2 for a complete transmission rebuilt how can I trust that they will honor that when they wont even return my calls my old part nor my money they also picked up my core so I'm left with no other solution but to buy a new one for $3,000.00 if they can't get my transmission back for me to get rebuilt by a reputable company

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my transmission back rebuilt or my old transmission and complete refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********* We have been in contact with this customer throughout the job. We made the customer aware that the transmission is currently being rebuilt and will be done within the next week. We have also explained to the customer that the delay has been due to parts being on back order. The customer will receive the fully rebuilt transmission upon its completion no later than Monday Aug. 10, 2015. Please contact us with any questions.

7/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/7/14 our company purchased a used engine from O-hare Kars, Inc., reference their #XXXXX. As customary, there was a core charge ($100 in this instance)that we paid for which is refunded once the core is picked up. Approximately 1 - 2 months ago they came and picked up the core and the person who picked it up said we would receive a refund by check for the core. Since we did not receive the refund we called to inquire on the status of that refund. Their first question was whether we had any paperwork to show that it was picked up. Not what was the invoice number or date or whose calling or anything of that nature. That answer was no because the driver said he did not have any, but the vehicle he was driving had the company name on it and only that company would know that it was here. Not once did they offer to check inventory to see that it was returned. So at this point they will not refund the core charge without the paperwork that they know we do not have. However, if they check their inventory, they will find that they did pick this up and owe the refund.

Desired Settlement: My core charge reimbursement of $100.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********* Our company picks up many cores daily which is why we can not rely on word of mouth when issuing credits. We will be happy to refund the customer the $100.00 core charge if owed. All we are asking is for the customer to provide a receipt number so, we can look up the invoice. The customer provided a ref # of XXXXX which is the ref for the part sold. We can use any proof of the core pickup possible but, all we ask is that some information is provided that can attest to the fact the we are in possession of the core engine. Once that information is received, we will issue the $100.00 refund accordingly. Thanks! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again, if they check their inventory, they will see that they have the core. I can give some helpful hints. Number one, it weights somewhere around six to seven hundred pounds, so it shouldn't be that difficult to physically find. Number two, this business of selling used parts could not run without and inventory system, please look in you computer or whatever means used to track parts. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2015/07/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It's obvious you are not going to take responsibility for picking up the core. Without the reimbursement for the core this complaint will remain open. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/07/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Our position has always been and will continue to be that once a receipt for the returned core is produced we will refund the $100.00 to the customer.

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to *********** to purchase and have installed a replacement engine for a 2002 Toyota Corolla. I was quoted a final price of 1500.00 dollars, cash only! I was told this was because they had to pay there vendors in cash. We paid a $600 deposit on Sat. June 21st when they came to get the car. I was not home so my wife handled the transaction. They had added $64 tax to the total after we had been given a final price. My wife got me on the phone while the tow truck driver was on the phone with his boss at ***********. We decided to cancel the deal if they wouldn't take the extra $64 dollars back off. At that point the person the driver was on the phone with told him to take it off the total. My wife amended the amount on the document and signed it. On Thurs. June 26th I went to pick up the car and was told I would not get any information on the engine that we purchased as in VIN# and mileage, or the 90 day warranty on the engine that I was promised up front until the remaining $64 is paid. Product_Or_Service: install used car engine in 2002 corolla Account_Number: don't have one

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want the information on the engine that I purchased, they told me it had approximately 60,000 miles on it, and I don't feel I can trust that now. And I want my 90 day warranty, although, I know I wouldn't feel comfortable taking the car back to them under warranty now anyway. Perhaps it would be in my best interest to recoup at least half of the total paid in case the car does require more work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/07) */ Although we do feel bad that Mr. ******* is not satisfied with the transaction that took place, we do not feel that there is any validity to his complaint. Upon picking up the vehicle, the customer was provided with a receipt. At that time, the customer was fully aware of $64 amount due for taxes that were owed on the parts purchased. At no time did the customer ever acknowledge or question the $64 balance that was owed in tax for the parts used in the repair of the engine. When the vehicle was ready for pickup, the customer was short the $64. In good faith, we allowed the customer to pick up the vehicle without paying the remaining $64, making it known that that amount was still owed to us. There were no hidden charges or miscellaneous fees. Once paid the remaining balance we are more than willing to provide the customer with the warranty that is desired, along with any information they are requesting for the engine. We are just looking for what is due to us and would like this matter solved in a timely manner. Please feel free to give us a call if there are any questions or concerns. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As I stated before, there was a dispute over the total amount owed the day the tow truck came to get the car. My wife with me on the phone decided to cancel all together when the driver called to tell them we were disputing the $64 in taxes on a "cash only deal". They changed the total from the time I got a price over the phone until they showed up to take the car. The response from the company is a flat out lie. They said my wife never acknowledged or questioned them the day they came to get it, that is a lie, she was arguing with them about it while I was on the phone with her. They said we came up short the day we came to get the car, that is another flat out lie. We have the receipt my wife signed that day where the amounts were changed and initialed and approved the company. We also have the same receipt from the day I picked up the car where they added on the words to the same original receipt pd. in full, then written underneath no warranty until $64 is paid. They contradicted themselves in writing! Also I would like to add to my complaint that since we sent the first complaint we have noticed things wrong with the car that were not there before. There is a different side mirror on the passenger **** that is the wrong color and barely hanging on and there is a sensor on the engine that is hooked up to nothing. I will be forwarding pictures of car and receipts to ****** ****'s email ***** Thank you, ***** *******. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/07/18) */ The outstanding balance owed to us is the sales tax money that each citizen of Illinois that buys something is subject to. When the customer was given his receipt the balance owed was clearly stated. Ohare kars made sure the customer was 100% aware of that balance owed and the customer acknowledged it. We believe the customer is using the Better Business Bureau to beat us out of money owed. Now, regarding the other matters stated, Ohare Kars had no prior knowledge of any issues with the vehicle and would question why it has taken the customer over a month to report such issues. Any customer that is unhappy with our service is free to bring the job back so, we can rectify the situation. We are willing to work with anyone to reach customer satisfaction. We are an honest business that has tried to satisfy this customer but, the customer won't reply to any communication efforts. We are owed money for a service provided and feel this complaint can very well be directed at the customer rather than us. With that said, Ohare Kars would not like to waste any additional time with this matter and would like to settle it as quickly as possible. Ohare Kars Inc. is owed the money which we will not back off from but, in the interest of settlement are willing to forgive the debt if thats the end of the matter. The money owed does not equal the time this matter has taken up therefore, if the customer is satisfied by beating a business out of money owed so be it. Furthermore, we are still willing to rectify any issues the customer is unhappy with with regards to the original work. Please just bring the vehicle into get serviced at our location. Thanks! Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2014/09/02) */ We sent a response on July 14th to their response on July 9th, with the ten days required. We have been waiting for a response from you the bbb I went back to our last correspondence to find out the case has been closed?? Never got email from you stating so, and no explanation as to why. Why? I would appriciate it if you could let us know why. We got royally cheated by these lying business. We cant prove to a new buyer, when we decide to sell the car that it has a new motor in it. They have to provide a title or something on a new motor don't they??? Please respond this is unfair and illegal practices!

7/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: February 28, 2014 our company purchased a 2000 Audi A6 (117-58486B) hood from O Hare Kars. **** the sales person stated that photos were accessible online, which they were not. He also stated that the hood was "insurance quality" which means excellent condition. Our company arranged the shipping from the vendor's location to our location. When the hood arrived it was so badly damaged it could not be used. The hood was riddled with hail damage. We promptly called O Hare Kars to let them know that we could not use the hood because of its poor condition. Immediately the sales person was arguementative and would not accept any responsibility for shipping a defective part. The sales person was very adamant that the "damage" happened in shipping which it did not. The damage on this hood was obviously caused by a hail storm and was shipped anyway eventhough it is completely unusable. In speaking with a sales person at O Hare Kars I was told that "If the hood is returned in the condition in which is was sent, a refund will be condsidered." This statement indictaes that the hood was in good useable condition when it was shipped, knowing the actual condition of the hood I realized that this company had no intention of giving a refund, eventhough they shipped something that was in terribly poor/unusable condition. I refused to pay for the return shipping, this hood should have never been shipped in the first place and was completely misrepresented. I filed a chargeback on my card and it was denied because of the wording on their credit car authorization form, the verbage is crafted so that they can sell unusable parts and get away with it. Very unpleasant experience, will never buy from again. Treated poorly & unprofessionally by staff.

Desired Settlement: Some admittance of wrong doing would be nice, but very unlikely. Seaking a refund or partial refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********* The part in question (hood) like most of our inventory is readily available for the public to view via the web. Our inventory is listed several places which is how the customer came to contact our company. Also, when we were contacted by the customer we made sure the customer was well aware of how and where to view the item prior to its sale. Furthermore, the customer was also aware of the fact that once body parts are shipped we will not take the item back for refund. This is our policy on body parts and the customer agreed to the terms prior to any funds being exchanged. Now, we are in business to help people and make them %100 satisfied. With that said, we tried our very best to appease this customer by offering a 100% refund as long as the item was returned. Currently, we have yet to see that item be returned and the customer has now had ample opportunity to get that returned. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I agreed to the terms because the item was presented as "insurance quality". Photos were not available despite what O Hare Kars claims. The hood was in such poor condition and I was NOT willing to pay to ship an item back that never should have been shipped in the first place & would have been better off in the scrap heap. To say that this hood was even useable is a joke. As I stated in my complaint I was told that the hood needed to be returned "in the condition in which it was sent." Considering this company claims it was in prestine condition, I highly doubt I was ever going to get a refund. Lesson learned . . . . Never again.

4/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 18, 2014, I came into Global Recycling and paid $75.00 cash, for a rack pinion which fits a 1999 ******** ***** (receipt # UDL ****** At the time of purchase the salesman **** told me that it had to be removed from the car and would be available for pickup the next day. I called **** 6 times on the 19th to see if the part was ready for pickup, he stated that they almost had it off and that I could pick it up the morning of the 20th. I called **** on the morning of the 20th to verify that the rack had been removed and was ready for pickup. He told me that he was walking into the yard to verify and would call me back in 10 minutes. He never did... I called back 8 times before I reached him at the end of the day, at that time he told me that the rack was removed and ready to be picked up at anytime. On the morning of March 21st. based on the conversation that I had with ****, I called a same day delivery company ******* and paid $ 52.00 for a courier service to pick up the rack pinion and delivery it to me. The Driver arrived at your location at 11:30am and was told that the part was not ready, he should come back later in the day. As a result of that I was charged $25.76 as a service fee for the driver making an attempt to pick up the part. I called Global back to see why the part was not ready to be pick up as I had been told it was ready for pick up the day before no one could give me a good reason. I told the salesperson on the phone that I needed the part that day and I was told that global delivery truck would drop the part off to me before 5pm. I received a call at 4:45pm from a person who identified themselves as a global delivery person who told me that I had agreed to meet him approximately 25miles from my business to pick up the part. I informed that person that I had not agreed to meet and that I was assured that my part would be delivered before 5pm. I also informed him that this part was for a customer who was upset because this repair had been taking an extended amount of time. He told me that he had not planned to come as far south as my business but i would be his first delivery on monday morning. On Monday March 24th at 12pm after I had received no package or phone call from Global regarding my part, I called and asked what was going on. I was told it was on the truck and i would receive it by 5pm. I called Global back at 5:15pm because I had not received my part. I told the salesman who answered the phone that because the part had not been delivered by 5pm my customer took her car to another shop for repair and the sales person hung up in my face.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of my $75.00 plus the refund of the $25.76 spent on courior charges. for a total of $100.76

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/28) */ Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Ohare Kars explained to the customer at the time of purchase that we would not deliver due to the distance and that the item would need a day to have it prepared. The customer agreed to have a courier service pick up the item but, sent the courier service that day rather than the following day. We clearly explained that we needed one day preparation in order to have the part ready for shipment. The customer was upset that the item was not picked up and demanded reimbursement in the form of additional parts. We refused but, informed him that the item was ready for pickup and is still ready for pickup. We would like to offer the customer the item that he purchased or he is welcome to a credit for future merchandise. Our terms of sale are clearly written on back of the receipt which the customer received so, he should be well aware of our return policy. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Ohare cars is clearly telling half truths. My purchase of this product was on 3/18/2014 on that day, I paid in full for the part. **** the salesman told me the part would be available for pickup on 3/19/2014. I called multiple times on 3/19/2014 and contacted **** toward the end of the day. he stated that they were almost done removing the part and it would be available the morning of 3/20/2014. I spoke with **** on 3/20/2014. he said the part was ready to be picked up. I could not drive out to pick up the part so on the morning of 3/21/2014, I hired a service to pick it up for me based on the conversation that I had with ****. The service arrived at approximately 11:30am on 3/21/2014, 3 days after I paid for the part and was told that the part was not ready. They were told to come back later in the day consequently I was charged a service charge. After the service informed me that the part was not ready, I called and spoke with ****** and he assured me that they would deliver the part to my shop, that day before 5pm that never happened. I was then told that they would deliver on monday the 24th and they didn't deliver. I have fully read the receipt from my purchase and none of the language applies to this transaction. firstly it states that there is no cash refunds but in order for this to apply there has to be an exchange of goods and there was no such exchange. I paid for a product that I contend they never intended to supply and that I never received so we have no formal contract. This company operated in bad faith... Also based on the answer they provided it's clear that they are not being truthful about how the events in question accrued. If need be I can supply receipts from my purchase with the date of purchase and a receipt from the courier service with the date of attempted pick up of the part... Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/04/04) */ There was never promise made to Mr. ***** in regards to when this part would be ready. Actually, when he made the purchase, we was informed that the part would not be ready for pick up right away. Mr. ***** then sent a courier service to pick this part up without consulting with anyone at our location before he did so. Several hours of time and labor were invested in removing the part for Mr. *****. We feel that we have kept our end of the deal in supplying the requested part. The part is still here at our location and available for pick up. If he does not wish to pick the part up, a credit for parts is available as well. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/04/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Because I no longer have a need for their part and no longer wish to do further business with them.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on O'Hare Kars Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart