Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mike Haggerty Buick GMC Inc.

Phone: (708) 423-5000 Fax: (708) 423-1630 9301 S Cicero Ave, Oak Lawn, IL 60453 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.haggertycars.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mike Haggerty Buick GMC Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mike Haggerty Buick GMC Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mike Haggerty Buick GMC Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 22, 1988 Business started: 05/02/1988 Business started locally: 05/02/1988 Business incorporated 03/30/1988 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael D Haggerty, President Mr. Bill Haggerty, General Manager Mr. Richard E Haggerty, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael D Haggerty, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Accessories Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Transmissions - Automobile Internet Shopping Auto Services Auto Dealers - New Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Products & Services

This company offers Auto Service, Sales & Parts


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/6/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service technicians are extremely dangerous and their competency level for the Buick Enclave is substandard. I brought my enclave in due to a check engine light and upon their inspection, they could not find anything wrong but they told me I had a leak around my steering wheel and a part needed replacement which was under warranty. They replaced the part. After 10-15 minutes of driving, my steering became very difficult. I called them back & was told to bring it back the following day. The same tech worked on the car & he stated there was probably still air in the line and currently I do not have a problem. After check out, I noticed a dent on the lower rear passenger door area which looked like the car lift hit and dented the lower door area. I spoke with the service writer and manager who confirmed the dent was fresh created by the lift. The manager stated he would order the part and get my car repaired. I was later contacted by a company for feeddback on my experience and I informed them of the problems with both visits. Later, I received a call from the service manager to schedule an appointment for the dent repair. The service engine light came back on. I took my car in & informed them of the service engine light was back on and it was still hard to steer my car; they stated they would look into it before my car was sent out for body work. I called them after 4 days and was informed they are still running test to determine the service engine & steering problem. After I received my car back the engine light was on and they stated my catalytic converter was damaged by the corrosive engine cleaner. My windshield wipers did not work. I was told it was an electrical problem that was not caused by their work on my steering & I needed to pay another deductible. The technicians damaged my vehicle multiple times and are passing the cost of their damage on to me. I have no faith or confidence in the technicians skills due to incompetence and vehicle damage.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to accept responsibility for all their damage to my vehicle and take care of the cost for repairs that was due to their negligence. They passed this cost on to me which was inappropriate and unprofessional business practice.

Business Response:

In reference to the complaint. we did repair the customers Enclave on a few occasions in May, including replacing the cat converter for the customer and replacing the rack and pinion. The customer is stating that the dealership somehow caused her windshield wipers to not work when performing the other repairs. The dealership inspected the vehicle at no charge to the customer and found that nothing was damaged or disturbed on the previous visit that had anything to do with the windshield wiper switch that had failed. The vehicle is out of the manufactures warranty and only has a extended service agreement remaining where the customer would have to pay a $100.00 deductible to repair the vehicle. Customer still believes that somehow the dealership damaged this switch (even though it is shorted internally and not damaged) and that the dealer should pay her $100.00 deducible. The dealership has refused to replace the switch without proper payment of the owed deductible. The dealership is in no way responsible for the shorted switch.

 

Thank you,

 

***

6/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was dropped off for engine repair at the Buick dealership. When I went to pick it up, I noticed scratched across the trunk of the car. I immediately went in to report it to the individual ******* ******* who did the intake on my car for service. She agreed the scratches were not previously there on my car. Another attendant (*** ***** came out and inquired as to what was wrong. I explained and he asked what work was performed on my car. I told him engine repair and he stated they would not have been at the back of my car and they did not do it. He then told me to come back in and see the service manager who was on vacation. On my return to see the service manager (*** ******* he stated that *** said he didn't believe the dealership did it. *** then proceeded to say there were other scratches on my trunk and he would not take liability for anything. I showed previous scratches on my car and also said they were not done by the dealership, but was very specific about the scratches across then entire trunk that was done by the dealership. He once again, stated not taking liability for it. I then proceeded to leave the dealership. Prior to filing this claim, I have also sent a message to the General Manager (**** ********) at the dealership.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking for the trunk to be repaired or funds contributed to the repair for the damages caused.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/14) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***************@*****.com Upon inspection of the customers vehicle, I saw multiple large scratches all over the vehicle including on the trunk. The customer insisted that only certain scratches where from us and others were there previously. My determination was that the scratches did not appear to be recently done and we had only performed engine work to the vehicle. no employee was working on or near the trunk and nothing was dragged across her truck while in our possession. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There were not several large scratches on my car. There were other scratches on the car which has nothing to do with the scratches the dealership placed on my trunk. I also wondered why they would have anything around my trunk when they were working under the hood. I guess their philosophy is if there is a scratch there what we add doesn't matter. When I first questioned it one of their guys tried to wax it away. The attendant who did the intake on the car agreed those scratches were not there. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2015/05/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the response and there was no resolution provided. The dealership is responsible for the damage to my vehicle and they will not accept responsibility. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2015/06/01) */ The dealership does not believe tbat we caused any damage to the customers vehicle and that the scratches existed prior to our repairs. we were no where near the trunk of the vehicle where the customer insist we caused the scratces and **** not pay for damages that we believe we did not cause.

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 06/07/06 I purchased a 2006 Pontiac G6 from Mike Haggerty dealership located at 9301 S. Cicero, Oak Lawn, IL 60453 for $19,599.36. Please see the attached contract for your review. On 10/08/08 I took the 2006 Pontiac G6 back to the same dealership (Mike Haggerty) to pay off the balance of loan; $16,011.74. At this time, the salesman persuaded me to purchase a different vehicle. I ended up purchasing a 2008 Pontiac Grand Prix for $17,466.00 with cash. Please see the attached contract for your records. Several months later, I began to receive collection letters for the 2006 Pontiac G6 in the amount of $8,747.74 stating it was repossessed. Repossessed? I left the vehicle at the dealership. Why would I owe GMAC anything? I purchased another vehicle from them. $17,466.00 cash is a lot of money for anyone. At this point, I realized that the salesman from Mike Haggerty used the good old bait and switch tactic on me to purchase another vehicle. As a consumer, I felt I was a good customer for Mike Haggerty. I purchased 2 vehicles from them within 2 years and they lied to me. The salesman told me on 10/08/08 to call GMAC from his parking lot at the dealership and tell them that the G6 was there, that they could come pick it up. I did exactly what he said. I paid cash for my 2008 Pontiac Grand Prix that very day and left the 2006 G6 at the dealership. The 2006 G6 was $16,011.74 and the 2008 Grand Prix was $17,466.00. If I would have known that they were going to slap me with an additional $8,747.74, why wouldn't I just purchase the cheaper vehicle? It makes absolutely no sense. Shame on Mike Haggerty for taking advantage of a good customer and for GMAC allowing it to happen. I will never purchase a vehicle from them nor will I ever recommend their company to anyone. This dealership has completely ruined my credit for the past 7 years due to their sales tactics and GMAC will not do anything about it. I want this removed from all 4 credit Bureau's immediately; Experian, Trans Union, Equifax, and Innovis. I would also like a letter from GMAC and Mike Haggerty stating that they are going to cease and desist all collections efforts towards me and that they are having this removed from my credit.

Desired Settlement: This dealership has completely ruined my credit for the past 7 years due to their sales tactics and GMAC will not do anything about it. I want this removed from all 4 credit Bureau's immediately; Experian, Trans Union, Equifax, and Innovis. I would also like a letter from GMAC and Mike Haggerty stating that they are going to cease and desist all collections efforts towards me and that they are having this removed from my credit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@yahoo.com I dont think Ms ****** is being totally forth right. As it stands now we believe Ms ****** had her 2006 vehicle repossessed when she came into the dealership and purchase another car paid for by a third party. We believe this third party was her parents. I have reached out to **** finance who has the records on Ms ****** to see what notes they have in the system. As of now I have not heard back from them but I am anticipating to here the first part of next week. The salesman states that when she purchased the car in 08 that Ms. ****** realized that she owed more on the 2006 then it was worth and she called ****/GMAC and told them she was returning the car without paying for it. It may also be imoprtant to note that ms ****** stated the her step mother owned ******** Buick and that she was fully aware of what she did at the time of returning the 2006 Pontiac. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While I appreciate the company's response, the fact of my complaint remains the same. Yes, my parents gave me the $17,466.00 to purchase a new vehicle from your company. I don't know how that has any bearing on my complaint. The contract I signed is between me and Mike Haggerty Buick, GMC. However, what you're stating is that I had two options; (a) pay off the 2006 G6 for $16,011.74 or (b) purchase a new vehicle for $17,466.00 and then 6 months later get hit with an additional $8,747.74 in fees. What you are suggesting is that I chose option (b). For what it's worth, that option makes absolutely no sense and is obviously not how the table of events went when I purchased that vehicle on 10/08/08. I would never make that decision, nor do I feel that anyone within a sound state of mind would make that type of decision. Would you? What you are claiming is that I owed more for the G6 than it was worth. Based upon the simple math outlined above, it is clear that I paid your company more than what I owed. The fact of the matter being that my step-mother owned ************** at one time has no bearing on my complaint. Besides the fact that she is extremely knowledgeable in the dealership industry, and suggested that I file a complaint with the BBB for assistance because the dealership clearly "kicked the trade". Apparently that is a term in the industry and it didn't surprise her that they did this to me. As stated in my original complaint, I did exactly what the salesman told me to do. How would I know to call GMAC (from your parking lot) and tell them to pick up the 2006 G6? I wouldn't unless someone told me to. I have to admit, I am a little disappointed that the dealership didn't own up to their mistake. I was hoping to receive an apology for being deceived and to finally be able to rectify this situation. However, I do look forward to receiving whatever type of documentation that they can provide to the BBB in order to help resolve this matter. Thank you for your time and consideration. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/02/25) */ Before I respond to Mike Haggerty, GMC, can you please ask the business to address the questions in my complaint that I have asked? Each time they respond, they just tell me that I'm wrong but are not supporting their claim with any type of documentation or logic answer. They also state that they reached out to GMAC for records but have yet to supply them. I did send both contracts clearly showing the amounts in which I paid to them. I appreciate any type of assistance you can provide. If there is anything else that you need from me, please let me know. Thank you ************* Four Seasons Heating & Air Conditioning Ph. *********************** Fax ************ ***************** Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/03/16) */ **** ******** Buick stands by its last statement. We have no further comment about this case. If Ms. ****** would like anything from us she can ask for it in writing and I will be happy to send it to her if I have what she wants. Ms. ****** has complained to both The BBB and Attorney General. I am more then happy to comply with either department recommendations.

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had negotiated a deal on a 2008 Honda Element with Sales Manager **** ************* (*******@haggertycars.com) and ******* ******* ****************************** Since I would be flying from ****** to Chicago to pick up the vehicle with 3 children, I wanted to be assured there would be no difficulties. We agreed and I purchased 4 airline tickets from Denver to Chicago on Wednesday 11/5/14. **** went so far as to say "We'll pick you up at the airport." ******* called on Thursday 11/6/2014 to let me know that are agreed upon terms which included my bringing a certified bank check for payment could delay my being able to take the car as the check could take a day to clear. We agreed that he would finalize financing through the dealership instead but I did not want an interest rate higher than 4%. ******* stated that they were really busy that night and that he would get it taken care of on Friday. Today, Saturday 11/8/2014 I received a call from ******* at 10:12 AM stating he could not get financing that low and I should just have my bank wire the money. He stated he would be emailing me the sales agreement to provide to my lender. This email had been promised to be sent for the last week and had never arrived. 4 hours later I get a call from another sales associate saying, " I'm just calling to let you know the Honda Element has been sold to someone else today." I spoke to Darrell ******** **** ************* and finally **** ********. I voiced my disbelief and displeasure and that I expected them to do the right thing. Each and everyone of them basically said, and I'm paraphrasing, " Too bad, we can sell the car until we have your money in our hand." I initially tried to appeal to their sense of integrity but soon realized this was pointless as they have no integrity! I am furious and disgusted and let them know in no uncertain terms that their business conduct is shady. I have asked to speak to the owner...We'll see? If this is not resolved in an honorable manor, I will continue to pursue the issue in any way available.

Desired Settlement: They need to provide me with the vehicle as agreed on Thursday 11/13/2014: 2008 Kiwi Green Honda Element AWD 125,000 mile for 6200.00 If they can not retrieve the vehicle then they need to replace it as well as cover my travel expenses.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ************@aol.com 11-10-2014 Mrs ***** did talk to us about purchasing a vehicle. We never entered into a contract and no money exchanged hands. Not only did we not have a written sales agreement she had never test driven the vehicle. We do not make it a practice of selling used cars to customers without a test drive. Mrs ***** was under no obligation to purchase a vehicle from us and lives out of state and would need to travel here to purchase the vehicle. If we held this car and she did not show up could we file a complaint against Mrs. ****** Of course not. This vehicle was sold to someone else and Mrs ***** is not happy about that. At this point Mike Haggerty Buick refuses to do business with Mrs ****** She made her feelings clear by telling me I was a "Shady********" and I **** not sell her a car. **** ********

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my truck into mike ******** on june 27th..because I could not get the anti theft off..so my truck would not start..once he called me back..on the 28th I was told by ***..tht my fuse bvox was mold n it needed to b replaced..i said ok..he ordered the part..and called me july1st n said it was ready...I got dropped off paid the ****..n *** gave me the keys..i went to start the truck..n gas statrd pooring from truck..i went to report to ***..he had a repair person to look at it..n he came back n said tht a clip was missing..n tht the repair person tht put it on forgot it..but if so y..was gas still in there when it was towed..n also when they took for a test drive...Well *** came back n said I had to pay for a clip for 10.00..so I did..didn't feel like arguing...so got in trucked pulled off..got to corner to look at temperature n my review mirror wasn't working..so I turned around n took it back..showed ***..he had a mechanic to come out..n he coudnt get it on..so he took it to the back and *** came back n said its a short I need a new mirror..i was like ..how it was working when I brought it in..he stated he didn't know..n I can talk to a manager..so I said fine..he went n got ExsDan tnom..service manager..who was extremely rude..befor I csn explain..he said we not repairing it..i said it was working when u all got it..he said I had no proof...he said u doing great now..y r u complaining it has 100,000 miles n its running..i replied ..I paid for it..he said well don't matter im not fixing..i said well let me call my Dad..as me being a woman..he said I don't care who u call..we not repairing it..so I asked him for his info..n then took in my own hands..now if my car wasn't starting..n when I talk to ***..n ask was there anything else not working..tht can effect a short or something ..he told me no..tht everything was working..also my review mirror was all smeared n diry like someone was handling n could have shorted it out..but they did not want to hear what I had to say....

Desired Settlement: just want my rear view mirror fixed...like it was when they received it

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/03) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******* Service mgr Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********@haggertycars.com the vehicle was towed to our shop and had never been here before. we received the vehicle in a no power, no start condition, so there was no way to verify if the mirror was working when it arrived. we performed no work to the mirror or near the mirror. the vehicle is out of warranty and we can not be responsible for anything on the vehicle that is not working. The customer received what they paid for and got the vehicle back running, as that is what it was brought in for. Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2014/10/03) */ This case was not resolved..*** states.tht it had no power..tht was not true my lights N everything came on..but it would not start..when they told it in they stated tht the fuse box needed to be replaced. .whos to say when replacing the fuse box.tbey didn't do anything to mirror. .The mirror was operating..when picked up...when asked what was wrong g when calked in..I stated it would not start. N it showed a anti lock symbol..on dash..everything else was working...therefore..I wanted it back with what was working Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/10/03) */ As stated previously, Mike Haggerty will not be responsible for a customers vehicle that has no implied warranty and had a part failure do to no cause of the dealership. The customers complaint was repaired and paid in full, nothing else was looked at or paid for by the customer.

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/28/14 I purchased a used 2005 Buick Rendezvous (stock# 5638A) for $5700 cash (grand total $6,573.30 cash). My salesperson, **** ******* ensured me that the vehicle underwent their 'multi-point' inspection and there were no problems or issues aside from the obvious cosmetic flaws(broken mirror, missing trim, knob). New tires were included. After leaving the dealership and within a mile of my home, the 'Check tracking system and ABS' warning came on and I noticed a noise on the right side. The gas pedal was vibrating and the brakes were not functioning properly. I called the dealership on 5/6/14 and was instructed to bring it in for inspection. I returned to the service department on 5/7, and described the problem - telling them the car was unstable. They eventually handed me an invoice (XXXXXX) with their findings and instructed me to go speak with the manager **** ************* The customer service was terrible. They didn't verbally tell me what the problem was. I read the invoice and found the vehicle needs quote "BOTH FRONT HUB BEARINGS, NEEDS STEERING GEAR BNUSHINGS AND STEERING GEAR WITH ALIGNMENT" and it did not provide an estimate for the repairs. I spoke with **** ** and I explained to him that they sold me an unsafe truck. He stated that he had to speak with Mr. Haggerty and would call me back on Friday 5/9. The next day, on 5/8/14, I took the truck to a mechanic. He told me it is not safe to drive and it immediately needs the RIGHT FRONT HUB BEARINGS repaired($349.00) and advised me not to drive until this is completed. MIKE HAGGERTY'S SERVICE DEPARTMENT ALLOWED ME TO LEAVE WITHOUT INFORMING ME OF THIS. Instead of advising me of the potential danger and further damage of continuing to drive, they CLEARED THE CODES on my car. This issue was present when I purchased the vehicle and Mike Haggerty Buick neglected to inform me of this. Given the fact that they perform 'multi-point safety checks' on their used vehicles, there is no way these problems would've been missed. I specifically asked if there were any problems and both **** ****** and **** ************ assured me that this was a reliable vehicle. No one from the dealership has called me as promised.

Desired Settlement: i want Mike Haggerty Buick to correct the findings from their inspection and make this vehicle safe. Their findings from the 5/7/14 which is quote: "BOTH FRONT HUB BEARINGS, NEEDS STEERING GEAR BNUSHINGS AND STEERING GEAR WITH ALIGNMENT". I paid them $6573.00 in CASH - everything I had - with the expectation that I was purchasing a vehicle from a reputable dealer. They lied and knowingly sold an unsafe vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/22) */ Miss Wood's the 2005 Buick Rendezvous on 04/28/2014 in "as is" condition. She also signed documentation that Mike ******** Buick GMC "owes her nothing" (copies attached) She did bring the vehicle to the dealership several days after the purchase and some problems were found. Miss Wood's surely understood at the time she was buying the vehicle with more than 110,000 miles on it would need some repairs. In an effort to satisfy Miss **** Mike ******** Buick GMC will agree to do the repairs at a discounted rate. If Miss **** would like to have us make these repairs at a discounted rate please have her contact **** Haggerty at XXX-XXX-XXXX thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am not disputing that this was an "as is" purchase. But this doesn't change the fact that they did NOT DISCLOSRE that there was a serious problem with the hub bearings - in fact, actually OUT RIGHT LIED about the condition of the vehicle. They packed the hub bearings with grease to cover up the defect. Before I bought it, they informed me that the only "repairs" needed were the following: REPLACE THE BROKEN DRIVER'S SIDE MIRROR, REPAIR THE MOTOR ON THE REAR LEFT PASSENGER WINDOW, REPLACE A MISSING LUMBAR ADJUSTMENT KNOB, REPLACE MISSING ROOF TRIM AROUND THE SUNROOF, AND BUFF OUT A SCUFF ON THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR). Other than that, I was told the vehicle had no problems and was in good running order - told to me several times by Mr. ****** and Mr. ************* THAT is what I understood at the time of purchase (I have a witness who can verify this). When I brought the vehicle back, they cleared the warning codes to again to minimize the seriousness of the problem and now, they are attempting to imply that these are new developments because I brought it back days later. The problem is extensive enough as to prevent me from safely driving. Now, what I "surely know" is that they told me they fully inspect their used vehicles before they sell them. What I "surely know" is that they told me there were no problems other than those I noted above- and that it was "excellently maintained and cared for and in excellent running condition." What I "surely know" is that they knowingly sold an unsafe vehicle to me. I feel that Mike Haggerty Buick should have fully disclosed the problem with the hub bearings and steering (steering gear bushings and steering gear with alignment). I feel that their business practices are dishonest, unacceptable, and downright dangerous. I am not naive to believe that the car would be without problems or repair. But I do expect full disclosure of any possible repairs before making, what is for me, a major purchase. For Mike Haggerty Buick to then hide behind an "as is" disclosure is surely indicative of the low character practices they employ when doing business. Then, to offer a 'discounted rate' is yet another despicable attempt to get more money from me. I can't help but wonder if this a scam they use on unsuspecting women, elderly or otherwise disenfranchised. After all, not everyone files an official complaint. But baring an investigation into these horrible practices, there's no way to really 'prove' that. But I can speak about what Mike Haggerty Buick has done to *** *****. At this point I expect nothing less than full repair or a refund. Because I do not feel that this company is reputable, if this issue is not resolved to my satisfaction, their shady business practices with ME will remain advertised on my vehicle windows and will be posted on my social media. I will obviously not recommend them to friends and family. Thank you Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/07) */ to resolve Mrs. ***** problem we are offering a discount on service for her vehicle. When we sold this unit as is we never sent it to service and our sales staff never said we did. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/06/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This problem is not resolved with the ambiguous resolution they are offering. It is now clear to me that this is a common business practice of theirs and blatantly lying about it doesn't change the fact that their staff told me MULTIPLE times this vehicle had been through their inspection. Otherwise, I would not have considered buying it a reasonable person should see that. In hindsight, I should have had this put in writing. Unfortunately, I have no way to prove this other than my word. And, what do they mean by the statement "we are offering a discount on service for her vehicle."?? They inspected the vehicle and told me exactly what they problem is but: 1. Did not provide an initial ESTIMATE on the repairs and 2. Have not provided what the "DISCOUNT" actually is. Again, proof of the shady business practices they use. Why would I now trust that any estimate - including the discount- is an honest one? They looked me in the eyes, shook my hand, and basically stole my money. Their 2 sentence response is pathetic. No, a "discount" is not an offer of good will and I do not accept it.

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This dealership undermines US Soldiers and has no respect for what service members do for this nation. I am an active duty Soldier stationed in *** ***** but was looking to purchase a vehicle closer to my home in ******** After doing some searching, I found a vehicle at Mike Haggerty Buick GMC Inc. that I was interested in. After having my brother inspect and test drive the car for me, I decided to purchase the vehicle. I called the salesman my brother had worked with, **** ************* and came to a verbal agreement to purchase the vehicle. Being in *** ***** there was no way I could have immediately taken the car and my brother didn't have the money to make the purchase. **** told my brother this wasn't a problem and no down payment was needed to hold the car until I could transfer my brother the money. We agreed for my brother to return the following week with the money to retrieve the car. **** explicitly told me, "Congratulations. It is a great car and **** be ready when he comes to get it on Saturday." However, the dealership went ahead and sold my car, the one we had agreed upon, to another customer before the agreed upon retrieval date. When I called to confront **** about his crooked business means, he tried to justify his actions by saying, "You wouldn't have liked the car anyways," when not a week earlier he had told me what a wonderful car it was. He tried to explain that we had only agreed to hold the deal, not the car, and that was the dealerships policy. If that is the dealerships policy, it is despicable that they **** go back on there word and undermine honest customers, especially service members.

Desired Settlement: I want everyone in the area to know that the salesman at this dealership are crooked and don't care who you are, even if you are an active service member.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/03/07) */ Mike Haggerty Buick GMC has a store policy that we do not hold vehicle for any customer deposit or no deposit. We always tell our customers that the only way to take delivery or ownership of the vehicle is completing the paperwork and taking the vehicle home. I sorry that he was unable to do this.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mike Haggerty Buick GMC Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)