Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McGrath City Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McGrath City Hyundai include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 29 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

29 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 29

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on McGrath City Hyundai
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 04, 2011 Business started: 12/13/2006 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated 10/02/2006 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kristen Curtis, Office Manager Mr. Kevin McGrath, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kristen Curtis, Office Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Auto Dealers - New Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Alternate Business Names
McGrath City Hyundai, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

McGrath City Hyundai has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6750 W Grand Ave

    Chicago, IL 60707 (773) 889-3030

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged $1890 on top of the car price for reconditioning . I ask for receipt of work done and was given an invoice with all zeros . I asked for numbers and was told by salesman Leon it is a secret. I took the invoice to Lexus dealer and an independent repair shop. Both places confirm there's only $900 worth of work done. I'm seeking a reimbursement of $980

Desired Settlement: $980 reimbursement

Business Response: We have been attempting to reach the customer and provide documentation but the customer has been unresponsive to phone calls and email.  We are willing to give all documentation requested and issue a partial refund.

2/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the problem is since i bought my car with my mother as a cosigner ******* ******* , we were promised to be refinanced in 6 months it is now 2 years later and i have tried to refinance twice and each time they tell me someone will give me a call back and nothing i have talked to several managers even went into to talk to someone and the refinancing was not mentioned they kept avoiding it not sure what the problem is but i am fed up with the terrible customer service!

Desired Settlement: i just need to refinance my car can someone take the time out their busy day to assist a paying loyal customer! i can be reached at ************

Business Response:

I have reached out to ******* ***** and have resolved her complaint. She is pleased with our resolution and explanation in regards to her concerns. For further questions feel free to contact **** ******** General Manager at ************.

10/12/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went to the dealership on July 28 for a trade in on a Hyundai Santa Fe. (which I informed them that the brakes were not working correctly). They informed my that there was a recall on my car. I was convinced a new Hyundai Tucson 2015 would be safer and cheaper. After the salesman kept walking away and asking me several questions. He finally took me to the financial office to sign papers. I was told I was no longer responsible for my old vehicle. My new car loan would be with ** ****** ****** first payment Sept. 11 and monthly payments of $433.+ I signed and left the office. On my way out the sales said he needed a copy of a utility bill. I said I would emailed this and informed the salesman I was going on vacation and to please email if anything else was needed. He said no this was all and I would receive a payment book from *****. I left. I emailed the salesman to asked if he had received the utility bill and ask if he needed anything else. I also asked about my first payment. He said a payment book would be sent to my home address. Upon my return from my vacation. I go to work and get called to the office because the salesman had made several phone calls to my work and very rude, hostile, cursing and threatening my coworkers. The message was that I needed to call the bank right away. I did, apparently on the last day of almost losing my loan! How is this possible? I had not been warn of this when I left the dealership. I did not contact the salesman because I was still upset with his treatment of my coworkers. I called the dealership and left a message with a young girl. I think her name is ****.I gave her my name, number and situation. I told her I had contacted the bank and to please email if any issue were to arise. I later get a text from the dealership to contact the bank. I called, they say they have no idea why the dealership told me to call. In fact they had not been able to get a hold of the dealership. Next day I get a voice mail that said my car would be taken away because I never called the bank. Again, How is this possible?! Then I get an email from the dealership thanking me for my pur*****. At this point I realize the date. It's Sept 11 the fist day of my first payment. I call the bank and they say they have no record! I forgot to mention that the day before I get a letter in the mail from from my previous car loan saying I am two month late! Did the dealership not take my car as they said on July 28?! I call my **** (loan of my old car) and they said they have no dealership information or contact on my record. Funny because my old car is on their website for sale http://www.mcgrathhyundai.com/used/Hyundai/2013-Hyundai-Santa+Fe-8ac5b9670a0e0adf3cd072cc7e5e9cae.htm I have not contacted a lawyer for advise. I do not believe anything this place says. They have bad communication. I want in writing an apology for the stress they have cause.

Desired Settlement: I want my old car to be off my recorded as the stated in the contract I signed and promised over and over again. There is nothing they can do for the bad credit history they are causing me do to this matter. I would like a discount on my new vehicle. Whatever the late payment is on my old car. Currently, **** says I'm late payment of $1740.04. I want this amount discounted from my current vehicle. If the dealership takes longer to resolve this the more the discount of my new vehicle. I think this is fare.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/09/29) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Gm Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@mcgrathcity.com ***** ****** came into McGrath City Hyundai on 09/24/15 and resolved any outstanding issues both parties had. She resigned with her lender and also called and did her phone interview with them.

9/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March of 2013 I went in and my sales man Mike Richardson got me in a brand new Hyundai Sonata 2013 GLS for $385 a month, which it was great!! No complaints and no regret there, but my main and desired car since the beginning was the Sonata Hybrid which I went in exactly a year later and worked with ***** ******* I asked if it was possible to upgrade and he said (Yes) and he offered me a really high payment compared to $385 that I was paying at the moment. I did understand that I was going for a higher end vehicle with more features and toys so he gave me a payment of $530. I was surprised and at the same time I felt tempted since he offered 3 yrs. of Free Service with the vehicle and the fact that I'd be saving in gas was even more tempting. I fell for it because he assured, promised and guaranteed that I'd only have to make 2 payments at the $530 rate and after that we'd refinance and lower it. Well.... now is August 2015 and that still yet to happen and my payment has not decreased $1 even after emailing ***** EVERY SINGLE WEEK! Requesting to lower my payment and all I would get is "come in this weekend", "I'll email Hyundai" or "check with me in a week" or just get ignored and that was the story ever since.

Desired Settlement: Looking to have free service for the rest of finance period and if possible work with lowering my payments as promised by the sales man ***** ****** or accept my vehicle as a trade in without negative equities.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/05) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Gm Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@mcgrathcity.com **** ******** resolution, here are the results. We explained to the **** the numbers on his purchase, explained to him the value that he received on pricing, features and payment. We resolved the situation with 4 years of oil changes EQUALING a total of 12 free oil changes . Customer is happy and thankful of our dedication to our customer service. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/09/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

7/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I spoke with a salesperson, I was told that the price of $12,410.00 was not valid. I was told that there was a $1400 chargeback to the car from service. I asked to talk to the manager (*********) and was told that the best that they could do was $13,100.00. After considering this, I decided that I would buy the car. I called to get more info on the car and to write up a contract. Since I would be coming up from ** *****, ** (300 miles away) I wanted to make sure there were no issues. I was told by the sales person ***** that it was a great car and I would not be disappointed. I told him that I would get my credit card to put a deposit down on the car. When I tried to get in contact with *****, he said he was with a customer and he would call me back. 2 hours later, I still did not hear from him, so I texted him only to hear that there was somebody at the dealership interested in the exact car that I committed to buy. I immediately called the manager ********* only to be told that even if I did put a contract and deposit on the car, the car could still be sold because I did not take delivery of the car??? I made it clear to him earlier in the day that I would be coming up in the next day or two to pick up the car. Not only did they NOT honor the $12,410 price (that was advertised and still on auto trader for that $12,410.00 price) they sold the car that I committed to buy and was waiting for the sales person to get my deposit. This is the ALL time worst experience in my life in buying a car. This dealership has ZERO integrity!!!!!! Shame on them!

Desired Settlement: I would have liked for them to sell the car at the advertised price that THEY put on **** ****** and **** ****** of $12,410.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/30) */ Tuesday 6/9 was the first inquiry from Mr. Marasso. Wed 6/10 stated this car was his "first pick" among others he was looking at.He wanted clarification on the pricing on **** ******* a third party site for $12,810, however , on our site it was listed at 14,810. Cristian informed him the price would be reduced to 13,100. On Monday 6/15. Mr Marasso told ******** he will get back to him. When he called back to leave deposit, the vehicle was being sold. Per our general operating procedure ,predriven vehicles are available on a first come first served basis. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I went to **** ****** and that is where the car was listed for $12,410.00. At that time I did not know who the dealership was. I had to submit my name and email through **** ****** to get a response from who the dealership was. In looking on **** ******* the same car was listed for the same $12,410.00 price. I was then contacted by somebody from ******* and when I told them I saw the ad on both websites, I was told it was a mistake and they would not honor the price, yet the price stayed on those 2 different websites for another week at the same price. When I finally decided to purchase the car, the salesperson told me that HE would call me back to get my deposit (since all parties knew that I lived in ** ***** and needed to drive up to Chicago to take delivery) because he had a customer show up. I had committed to buying the car and was waiting to give my credit card info as a deposit to hold the car to the salesperson but never heard back from him. Almost 3 hours later, I sent the salesperson ***** a text, and that was when I was told that somebody was interested in the car. NOT ONCE IN THE WHOLE TIME TALKING WITH THE SALES PERSON OR THE MANAGER *********, DID ANYBODY MENTION THAT IF I GAVE A DEPOSIT, THE CAR COULD STILL BE SOLD. Not only was there an issue with the price of the car on 2 different websites (that McGrath dictates the price to) but, they sold the car that I had already committed to buy, right from underneath me. VERY POOR BUSINESS PRACTICES AND TACTICS! And to add insult to injury, their customer service division, called me up 2 weeks after the fact asking if I purchased a car already. When I told them I did and that I would never consider buying from McGrath again, the person had informed me that they would be willing to buy the car I just purchased at a discounted price (because after I took delivery of the car, it looses value) if I would be willing to buy a car from them. After I made it clear that I was happy with the purchase of my new car, he had the nerve to continue by asking if I knew anybody that would be interested in getting a great deal form their dealership????? I hung up on him! I will tell everybody I know that this dealership is shady in ALL of it's practices!!!! Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/07/22) */ We reaffirm our response to the consumer's original complaint. We have taken action to insure that the consumer will not be contacted in the future.

5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went to get an oil change. A salesman ******* tried and succeeded in leasing me a brand new car, by telling me I would owe NOTHING on my previous lease, because I he would make sure of that and I was trading the car to them. All previous charges would be paid by ******* City Hyundai. By March, 2015, I received a letter saying I owed $1724.24 on my previous lease and this was a collection notice. I took the letter to them and they said they would get to the bottom of this. The salesman, ******* said I would have to pay nothing. He was sure I would be OK. Called the 800 Number for Hyundai and they said they were closed due to the weather (it's 50 degrees today and they are in ****** where it's even warmer). Purchase date 12/05/2015 of a 2015 Hyundai Elantra. I traded in the 2013 because I was coerced by the salesman, who said If i did not trade in, I would owe back charges on the lease. And if I did trade in, I would NOT OWE on the lease (including excess mileage, wear n tear, early termination fees, etc.) He lied, because I got a letter from Hyundai requesting exactly that. The contract manager also ALSO TOLD ME THE SAME. Account #DXXXXXXXXX, leased vehicle 13 Hyundai Elantra, leased 4/6/2012. I told them I was thinking of keeping the old car, but ***** (the salesperson) said I he would wipe the slate clean of all charges on the 2013 Hyundai. Then said he would throw in new lifetime oil changes for the new car if I rated him as a perfect "10" on their sales credibility questionnaire, but when I returned for "free" lifetime oil changes he said he could only give them to me for 2 years. I was not asked to think about the deal although I told him I should. He went and got a car out of the lot and basically handed it to me. I test drove it. It seemed ok, so I signed the papers, since they said I would not owe back charges as listed above. The new car is a 2015 Hyundai Elantra, account #XXXXXXXXXX. The payment was $266/monthly and has gone UP slightly over $269./ monthly, which is not in the contract.

Desired Settlement: That they pay any and all of the $1724.24 money which I received a collection notice on, and keep their binding sales agreement (stating that they claimed I would not have to pay for....anything on my previous 2013 Hyundai Elantra car because I was trading it in", for the new 2015 Hyundai Elantra and also keep my payments at $266/monthly as stated in the contracted.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/09) */ The customer is not responsible for any charges regarding her previous lease, and has been notified.

2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
12/12/2014 Delivery Issues
12/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Worked with ***** ****** to buy my 2010 Infiniti G37x from them in the spring. Upon purchasing and driving the car home, I found the brakes to be worn and rotors shaky, I called ***** on the way home. He said no big deal, and to let me know how much they cost to replace. I paid $358.97 for the brakes and installed them myself. After months of constantly asking, he sent a check for $258.97. I have requested since late summer to get the rest owed to me $100, to no avail.

Desired Settlement: I would like a check for the remaining $100 owed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/17) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****@mcgrathcity.com we are pleased that we have been able to resolve the complaint to the customer's satisfaction. **** *****

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made an appointment for 10/7/14 to see a 2006 volkswagon Passat. I made my appointment at 9 am ... the dealer calls me the night before around 8:40pm to confirm and to see the car. I get the dealer the next day and they get the information and they come back and tell me the car was sold last night. I was very upset, because I ask this question the day before if it was still there and the told me yes. I was upset, because the gave me the run around and I drove a 1hr to get to this location. They tried to find me a car but none fit with what I asked. The sales manager also think his name is *****. He made many smart remarks. I also spoke with the general manager **** and asked him for corporates number and he gave me the number to roadside assistant. So at this time I am really upset. I have never had this experience searching for a car. This made me not want to send my money here or ever come back. only thing they did to try to make me happy was fill my gas tank up for the travel. I still left upset and disappointed. This was by far the worst customer service experience I have ever had, and don't think buying a car should be like this.

Desired Settlement: n/a

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/21) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@mcgrathcity.com Regarding case # XXXXXXXX filed by **** *******. Customer called and inquired about the car on 9/29/2014. At that time she mentioned that she wants the car and she will be in same day by getting a ride from a friend. After she did not show for the appointment we communicated by phone with her and rescheduled for 10/07/XXXX X:XXam. At that time we asked for a deposit on the car and we told her that we operate by first came first served basis. When she showed up and we told her that the car is sold, she was very upset. We offered our apologies and filled her car with gas for inconvenience. The appointment was confirmed on the night before and our associate checked the availability on our system that showed the car still in stock. Since the incident we revised our process and made sure that the appointment setters get real time data from the lot. We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience that we caused and we expressed that to the customer in person and during follow up calls. Yours, **** ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/10/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never confirmed the appointment or set it because i was unsure if i was going to make it. I let the lady know i would call back to confirm if i would make it in later Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/10/27) */ We apologize again for the incident and we did revise our process in order to improve our customer satisfaction and not have situations like this happen again. Thank you, **** *****

11/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged for 2.2 h of labor on a maintenance service for my car. However the service was performed in 1.25 h only. The dealer charges $118 for one hour of labor and I am being charged $277. It is almost three times the cost of parts used for the service. Product_Or_Service: Hyundai Elantra 2013

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want be refund the amount of money for the time of labor that was not used to work in my car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/20) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@mcgrathcity.com The requested work was quoted as an entire job not a hourly rate. We utilize All Data, an industry standard, for quoting flat rate work. We used two technicians to perform the work as the customer was waiting in the customer lounge for the repair to be completed. See attached letter to customer explaining method used to bill invoice. We have offered two complimentary oil and filter services for the misunderstanding.

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To make this short I looked at the red 2013 Elantra limited vin#*****************X. I was greeted Nicely by ***** ****** When I looked at the car it has damage on the passenger ***** It needed body work and painting so I told him this won't work and thanked him. He replied that maybe he had another red & tan and he would look. He came back in about 5-10 telling me he talked to his manager, and I could have the car, for $16,900 with Certification and they would fix the passenger **** to my liking. I asked him about this three times to make sure I heard correctly. So then I asked for a test drive and he went with me. I asked him how this would work. He said, "I would need to deposit $500 on the visa credit card to hold the car and it would probably be fixed and ready Wednesday evening, and said if the job is not done correctly, we part as friends, and I give you back your $500 deposit. I drove the car, I had no problems with it and say lets write it up. Then we went back into the showroom to write up the paper work etc. Then after about 5 minutes he says, I need to confirm with the body shop on the cost of the repairs. What????? I thought we had a deal etc based on repair!!!!!! who tells me a price then changes it when I am getting ready to buy? Sure enough after maybe 15 minutes he comes back and says, the damage is too much, and if I want the car with the certification, it will cost me $17,900. By the way, I was paying cash straight up. No financing.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that they keep their word period. If a sales person who is a represents the company and got approval to actually make me a offer, and I accept, then they have to agree to that deal. I have the right to refuse or accept. In this case I accepted, and then they changed the rules. I added nothing to the agreement verbally or in writing. They should fix the car correctly and should offer it at the price they told me. Thanks

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/30) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* BDCC Mngr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@mcgrathcity.com Shortly after **** *******'s visit on Saturday, June 14th, he emailed the Customer Care Center and submitted a BBB complaint. The Customer Care Manager, **** ********* contacted him immediately via email and phone call to resolve the situation. The customer agreed to come back the next week to work directly with the General Manager, but decided to purchase another vehicle elsewhere due to the immediate availability. Mr. ******* has agreed that we rectified the situation with our genuine efforts and Customer Service.

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to buy this used red toyota truck, we negotiated and went back an forth on a price and agreed and SHOOK HANDS and made a deal with the manager AND salesman after hours went by. when we were filling out paperwork some other guy and salesman came to look at the same truck. At this point the negotiation and financing had been approved. i have perfect credit! It literally got to the point where i had cleaned out my car and put my stuff in the truck. My salesman came out and said the deal was dead and that my financing manager went home for the day and they couldnt get me financed because he had went home and they couldnt contact him...the funny thing is the other guy drove away with the truck that same night??? I have the recording on my phone of the agreement of financing terms from the manager. How the deal went through, im not sure. It is extremely poor business ethics as far as i am concerned. We had an agreement and shook hands like business men do and they broke that agreement and i am extremely dissatisfied!

Desired Settlement: I am not seeking a settlement, only the "great rating" from the BBB be removed from this company, or at least a bad mark against them for the poor business they conducted with me!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/07/03) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ************* Mngr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@mcgrathcity.com ******* City Honda and ******* City Hyundai are separate corporate entities, separate Dealerships and separately managed. We have no knowledge that the customer ever set foot in ******* City Hyundai and we have no idea why he would make false allegations against ******* City Hyundai. Because the customer had absolutely no contact with ******* City Hyundai, the Complaint should be immediately withdrawn and removed entirely from your database. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/07/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the withdrawal of complaint from ******* city hyundai. It was by accident that they were selected from the bbb wesite. I will withhold my complaint for ******* city honda though. Thanks

5/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There was a 2013 Hyundai on sale for $10,900 with a stock number ****** being advertised on the dealership website. On 4/14/2014 I called to verify the car price and make an appointment to test drive the car. I spoke with an supervisor name Army who had set my appointment to 6pm that same day and confirmed the price of the car and availability. Once i arrived to the dealership i was able to test drive the car and was ready to purchase the vehicle. The car was still available and still on sale for $10,900. Once it was time to get the car i stated to the sales rep i had a check in which i was going to purchase the car with. I had already got approved for financing from my bank and had received a blank check. He verified I was who i said i were and went to talk to the manager along with taking the check! He came back and told me that the car was $19,885 and asked me was i ready to get the car. I told him that that wasn't the price of the car and to bring the supervisor Army who had set up my appointment. They had showed me on the computer a whole other amount in which i knew that had just went to change the price of the car!! So all they kept saying was sorry and it was a mistake. I had drove very far to come to the dealership and was very disappointed for them to have false advertisement and trying to play me like i was uneducated. The sales person(which i forgot his name) then gave me my check back which was only for $13,000 and told me i could get a loan with them and then they would give me the car. I could see right through them that all of this was a scam. They wouldn't even try to help me and had terrible customer service. they felt no shame in their mischievous little games they were playing with me. They need to honor the price of the car that was advertised. I cant believe people could be so evil to change a price on a car just get a customer to finance with them. Also they wasn't suppose to run my credit because i gave them no permission. I checked my credit score the next day and seen their name on my credit history as a hard inquiry. I totally do not appreciate this dishonesty and would like for something to be done about this. Now i have to dispute this inquiry on my credit report with the credit beauras as well. This has just been a nightmare and very unprofessional on their behalf.

Desired Settlement: THIS DEALERSHIP NEED TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE SALE PRICE ON CARS ON THEIR WEBSITE AND AMONG THE EMPLOYEES WHO VERIFY THIS INFORMATION. I HAD AN APPOINTMENT FOR A USED 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA FOR $10,900 AND I NEED FOR THIS DEALERSHIP TO HONOR THAT. THEY MADE THE CAR PRICE JUST ABOUT THE SAME AS A NEW 2014 HYUNDAI ELANTRA WITH 0 MILES. I KNOW BETTER THAN TO BE TREATED AS UNEDUCATED PERSON. I HAD AN APPOINTMENT FOR THAT SPECIFIC CAR AND SO THAT DEAL NEEDED TO HAD TOKEN PLACE. I ALSO NEED TO SEE WHERE DID I EVER SIGN FOR THEM TO CHECK MY CREDIT BECAUSE I NEVER TOLD THEM TO DO THAT OR SIGNED FOR THAT TO TAKE PLACE. I HAD MY OWN FINANCE BANK AND I WASN'T AT ALL LOOKING FOR THEM TO TRY TO FINANCE ME FOR A CAR. I CAME IN STRICTLY FOR THAT SPECIFIC CAR WITH ME SPECIFIC CHECK. IF THEY ARE UNABLE TO PROVIDE DOCUMENTS FOR ME APPROVING THEM TO CHECK MY CREDIT I NEED A STATEMENT FROM THEM STATING THAT WAS AN UNAUTHORIZED AGREEMENT! THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/25) */ The Dealership does have the customer's signed credit application on file and would be willing to show the customer. The dealership has been in contact with the customer in regards to getting her into a vehicle within the parameters of her existing finance agreement with her bank. The dealership is willing to work with the customer on pricing on other vehicles. We have tried calling the customer again about other options without success.

4/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter and I went to McGrath Hyundai on March 24, 2014 with interest in purchasing a 2014 Hyundai Sonata. We presented a **** *** certificate for McGrath from the **** *** website offering a purchase price of $15xxx. The salesman said that the particular car that we test drove was $1000 over the **** *** price and said it also didnt include a $1495 Mc Grath Package fee. My daughter agreed to have the salesman to pull her credit report to find financing for the vehicle. Her credit score was 646 and he salesman told her because of her score she would be financed at 12% which would result in a car payment of $590 per month for 72 months. When we declined the offer he got his manager "****" to get involved. He grew angry when we decided to walk away and look else where because of their financing. Once outside "****" told us that a bank had called him back and said that they would finance my daughter's loan at 3.5% with $1500 down for 60 months. I asked if I cosigned for her could she qualify for 0% financing and he replied yes. When we returned to the dealership later that day, I agreed for **** to run my credit report. He returned and my score was 675. At that point my daughter and I were told that we were both approved for a loan @ 0%. After waiting over an hour we met with a woman named "******" to sign the final contract. She presented us with tons of papers to sign before she pitched us to purchase GAP insurance. It was on this form where we discovered that the purchase price of the car was jacked up to over $20,000, two of the rebates promised that totaled $1,000 were left off the contract, and the interest rate was 5.99 pct. When we inquired about the interest rate we were told that our credit scores were so low that that was the interest rate that Hyundai Financial Corp was willing to finance us for. When we declined that interest rate, she told us that she could "buy down the interest rate to 2.99%" if we were willing to buy the GAP insurance and stretch the payments out for 72 months. We declined because too much had changed from leaving the salesman to getting to her desk. Needless to say she was disappointed. She basically called us dummies for not taking her offer. The next day I called my credit union and made arrangements to finance a car through them. Once they pulled my credit report my FICO score was down to 630 with TransUnion,which is the same company that McGrath pulled from. My credit union rep told me that "McGrath requested six hard inquiries" from my credit report which lowered my score overnight. ****** ***** sent an email to my daughter the next morning alerting her that there we "three hard inquiries" requested by McGrath on her credit report. I can't help but think this is Mc Grath Hyuandai's was of getting us back for walking out. I say this because I co-signed for my other daughter a 2013 Honda Civic at their sister location next door and had a totally different experience. My credit was inquired about once and the purchase price of the vehicle and the 0.9% interest rate did not change once I got to the business office. I am so disappointed at this situation. My credit union did end up financing a car for us but at 5% because of our scores.

Desired Settlement: Submit a letter to ********** asking for the excessive inquiries to be removed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/07) */ The Dealership would like to apologize for any inconvenience to the customer and her daughter. We have been in contact with the customer regarding this issue. We will be submitting a letter to Transunion asking that the inquiries be removed from the customer and her daughter's credit.

4/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from this dealership years ago and they refuse to stop sending me SPAM. This is not the first BBB complaint I have made in regards to this issue and each time McGrath says I will be removed from their lists, yet I continue to get SPAM. I have followed their process of "unsubscribing" in the email as well as called their offices personally to resolve this - and they have not.

Desired Settlement: I want my email completely and permanantly removed from ALL of their emailing lists and DO NOT wish to ever be contacted by them in any way, shape, or form again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/04/01) */ Based on the Customer's request in April, 2013, we endeavored to remove her name from all of our customer marketing lists and we believe her name was removed. The Dealership recently adjusted its customer management software and without any intent on the part of the Dealership, the Customer's name may have been regenerated. We will have our software consultants again review our customer marketing lists and will remove the Customer's name. We apologize for any inconvenience. It is the Dealership's distinct intent to comply with the Customer's request. If the Customer receives any other contact from the Dealership, we would appreciate the Customer contacting the Dealership's General Manager, Jody ****** at (XXX) XXX - XXXX or by email to ******@mcgrathcity.com and we will immediately rectify. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/04/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If my name was indeed removed a year ago, it should not have been "regenerated" to begin with. I made this very clear last year when I first complained about this issue that I wanted my email permanently removed from ALL of their databases, which they agreed to comply with. There is absolutely no reason that my email should have rolled over into their new program unless they failed to comply with my request a year ago - which it appears they did. Finding this out just upsets me more. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/04/10) */ The dealership has been working directly with the customer and our vendors to ensure that all of the customer's email addresses have been removed from our system. We have also given the customer the direct line and email of our Customer Care Manager in order to immediately address any other issues the customer may have in the future. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2014/04/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept this for the time being. Given that this is the second time I have filed a complaint on two separate occasions for the exact same reason, and was assured the with the first complaint that this would be remedied and it had not, I am not completely confident that this has been resolved. I hope it has. If I ever receive another email from this company again, another complaint will be filed.

4/14/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are two issues here to be addressed. The first issue is that McGrath City Hyundai has not returned my $500 deposit back since 01/18/14. The second issue is that I believe there is a bait and switch that exists at McGrath City Hyundai.On 01/18/13, I received an on-line quote, for a Tucson SE/AWD with options wheel locks, floor matts and tow hitch for a price of $22,501. **** ******** (Customer Service Manager)then called me and we made an appointment for 3 p.m., she also informed me that the price was negotiable. She said that the vehicle was in stock and would be ready to take home that day if I purchased it. I went in at 3 p.m. with my brother and met **** ********* she than had ***** ****** (Sales Person) help me. We negotiated a price of $22,130 for a Tucson SE/AWD with options wheel locks, floor matts and tow hitch. I would put 20% down and the difference would be financed at 1.99%. After looking for the vehicle, he said that they did not have the vehicle and that he would be able to get it in three days. I then proceeded to give ***** ****** a $500 deposit for the vehicle.On 01/23/14, ***** called me and said that he had the vehicle, that I had ordered. He gave me VIN **********UXXXXXX so I could get insurance. I got insurance on it from ***** **** Insurance, I have proof of this. I then met ***** ****** at 7 p.m. at the dealership with my brother. ***** proceeded to show us a vehicle that he said was the Tucson SE. And it was ready for me to take home. After finding the window sticker in the glove compartment, it showed the vehicle was the GLS edition. Not once did ***** mention that the vehicle was a GLS. It seems hard for to believe this was not done intentional. The GLS has a MSRP of $24,065. This vehicle is shown on the McGrath City Hyundai website, in their inventory. Same VIN I was given earlier. They tried to switch the original MSRP 26,200 (Tucson SE/AWD) for a $24,065 (Tucson GLS). Second issue, McGrath City Hyundai has not returned my $500 deposit. Product_Or_Service: Tucson

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to get my $500 deposit returned. I have called and e-mailed ***** ***** (General Manager) at McGrath City Hyundai, but he does not return my calls or e-mails. I have also e-mailed an official complaint (Case #XXXXXXX) with ********* ******* ******* ******* Unfortunately, they have been no help.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/02) */ The $500.00 deposit has been refunded to the Customer. The Dealership apologizes for the delay.

4/7/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We showed up at McGrath City Hyundai on January 29th 2014 and our Salesman was ***** - We purchased a 2012 Lexus and traded in our 2013 mini countryman which was financed through ****** auto finance. ***** told his to stay put, he then left his desk to get the payoff amount for the mini (which legally should have been done in front of us) which he said ****** said the payoff was $17169.26. I spoke with ****** a week later to check and make sure the loan was paid off and they proceeded to tell me that 600+dollars was remaining on the loan that ******* City Hyundai did not pay it off in full. Its funny that on our contract they stated the payoff was XXXXX.26 in reality it 18,169. and then someone at ******* proceeded to then pay and additional $400+ then the original payoff they stated leaving us the balance of 600+ dollars. I asked how could that mistake happen and they said it never happens, and they have the time, date, phone number - ***** called from and the amount given to ***** for the payoff of the mini countryman, on January 29th and he most likely deliberately undershot us $1,000 dollars. I then called several different on duty "managers" to rectify the situation, none of which would return our call, so we went to the dealership in person. We then went right to the finance manager named "************" she was the lady who did all the financial paperwork. ****** then preceded to tell us that it sounded "sketchy" and that ***** should have done the payoff in front of us and that it was the DEALERSHIPS fault for the error and that WE would NOT be responsible for the remaining balance and that it would be taken care of and they would overnight a check to ******, because they needed the title for the mini countryman in order to sell the car. After 12-15 days nothing was completed on there end - so we contacted the head MANAGER of used car sales by the name of *** who said he would take care of it and get a check over to them and apologized for the inconvenience. Nothing was sent by the dealership, so we then proceeded to pay the amount still on the account because we did not want our credit affected negatively. I have since then left multiple voicemails with the ******* Hyundai and no one has returned my call to discuss getting the money they still owe us. Overall this dealership has been HORRIFIC from the get go!! I have purchased over 12 cars in my life time and not once has there been such deliberate lies, and complete shadiness from the staff as seen here. NO ONE tells the truth and NO ONE gets back to your messages, I would recommend no one ever go here to purchase a car. I should have looked at YELP - the MULTIPLE NEGATIVE AND TERRIBLE reviews from previous clients have all said the same thing I have - NEVER BUY A CAR FROM THIS DEALERSHIP!!!

Desired Settlement: The settlement I'm looking for is the 600+ they left on the mini countryman loan - when they "PAIDOFF" our 2013 mini countryman. ****** stated they will cooperate and give any necessary information you need to solve this problem - they have all the dates, times, phone numbers and people who requested the said payoff amount from McGrath City Hyundai.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/02) */ The owner of the Dealership contacted Mr. ******* personally to explain that the Dealership would have no reason to intentionally fail to make the full payoff because making the full payoff is a condition to the Dealership receiving title to the trade vehicle so it could be resold. The error was a processing error for which the Dealership apologizes. The Dealership is reimbursing the Customer for the partial payoff made directly by the Customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I truly appreciate the fact that Mr ******* personally handled the situation. It was done quickly and he resolved the financial problem with ease and accuracy!!

2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/20) */ We are pleased to report that we have met with the Customer and have resolved his complaint to his satisfaction. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/02/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They took off $3,000.00 on the price and 3 years of oil changes.

12/31/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called on an add on ******* for a 2011 Hyundai************* for $12783. stock #******** I asked if it was still available because it was an hours Dr. for me they checked and they said yes. got there in an hour and they could not find the car they said a customer was test driving it and would not be back for 2 hours this was a total lei they tried to show me other cars talked to the General Manager Mr Adams to no satisfaction this was a bate an switch I gave up a half a day and my son took off work to drive me there plus the gas it took to get there. The on line representative was named*****.

Desired Settlement: I want to get paid for the time and gas and some form of punishment for the dealership I thought this was against the Law.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/25) */ I am attaching a letter from our service provider, which indicates their system failed to delete a vehicle from the inventory listing. Accordingly, our advice that the vehicle was available was incorrect and we apologize to the Customer for the inadvertent inaccurate information. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I called before I made the trip to the dealer the girl I talked to checked and said the car was there I explained that it would be an hour trip and I wanted to make sure. When I got there they lied to me and said that someone was test driving it and would not be back for 2 hours which was not true and tried to show me other cars I purchases cars from ******* before and thought they were an honest Dealership I was mistaken This dealership continued to change there story. It truly was a bate and switch. Iost time gas and money. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/12/20) */ Dealership management has inquired if any of the employees recalls making the reference to a test drive. No employee recalls making that statement. If the Consumer would provide us the name of the person making the alleged statement, we would inquire further.

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle Purchase Date: ******* Vehicle Price: $12,855.70 Vehicle:2009 ******* ******* VIN: ***********XXXXXX Financed Soon after purchase, paint began peeling off the passenger **** quarter panel - when it was taken for inspection, we were informed (by two independent parties) that the car had obviously been in some sort of accident as the following damage was evident: Pass ******* Prior Paintwork Pass ******** Prior Repair Frame: Frame Damage Trunk lid/Rear gate: Prior Paintwork Pinch Rails: Clamp Marks And in the Appraiser Comments Section: REWELDED PASSENGER ******* AND CLAMP MARKS ON PINCH RAILS INDICATE FRAME DAMAGE Over several weeks of attempting to resolve this issue with *******, the "best" they could do was offer us trade in value for the vehicle if we purchased another vehicle from them. We feel, however, that we should be given a full refund, as we would not have purchased the vehicle in the first place had we known there was a prior accident.

Desired Settlement: We would like a full refund for the purchase price of the vehicle, including taxes/fees/etc.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/21) */ As a matter of customer goodwill, we have indicated to the Customer that we are willing to paint the areas that are peeling off the passenger side quarter panel. Our visual inspection does not indicate frame damage. Furthermore, the Carfax report does not indicate the vehicle was in any accident. We hope this resolution is satisfactory and we look forward to a long relationship with this Customer.

10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* **** received marketing material *** **** told to be removed from list *** **** told them to be removed ***** **** contacted ******* to be removed *** **** First time I documented to be removed from marketing list

Desired Settlement: Just to be removed from the marketing list.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* VP Sales Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@strategicmarketing.com Strategic Marketing takes full responsibility for this error and the request has been fulfilled. We were the marketing arm / vendor for ******* City on this campaign. ******* City is in no way at fault for this complaint. Mr. ******* was flagged as a Do Not Mail customer but was stored as an Archive Lead in our system. We had a software issue / glitch in our program and have since corrected it. We apologize for any inconvenience. In addition,we have contacted Mr. ******* directly to reassure him that he is taken off the list. Thank you.

9/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on McGrath City Hyundai
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart