BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2011

McGrath City Hyundai

(773) 889-30306750 W Grand Ave, ChicagoIL 60707-2212 Send email to McGrath City Hyundai

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2011

BBB has determined that McGrath City Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered McGrath City Hyundai's rating include:

  • 33 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised McGrath City Hyundai's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 33 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

32 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues14
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service16
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 32

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on McGrath City Hyundai

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (32)BBB Closure Definitions
11/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Worked with ***** ****** to buy my 2010 Infiniti G37x from them in the spring. Upon purchasing and driving the car home, I found the brakes to be worn and rotors shaky, I called ***** on the way home. He said no big deal, and to let me know how much they cost to replace. I paid $358.97 for the brakes and installed them myself. After months of constantly asking, he sent a check for $258.97. I have requested since late summer to get the rest owed to me $100, to no avail.

Desired Settlement
I would like a check for the remaining $100 owed.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****@mcgrathcity.com
we are pleased that we have been able to resolve the complaint to the customer's satisfaction.

**** *****

11/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I made an appointment for 10/7/14 to see a 2006 volkswagon Passat. I made my appointment at 9 am ... the dealer calls me the night before around 8:40pm to confirm and to see the car. I get the dealer the next day and they get the information and they come back and tell me the car was sold last night. I was very upset, because I ask this question the day before if it was still there and the told me yes. I was upset, because the gave me the run around and I drove a 1hr to get to this location. They tried to find me a car but none fit with what I asked. The sales manager also think his name is *****. He made many smart remarks. I also spoke with the general manager **** and asked him for corporates number and he gave me the number to roadside assistant. So at this time I am really upset. I have never had this experience searching for a car. This made me not want to send my money here or ever come back. only thing they did to try to make me happy was fill my gas tank up for the travel. I still left upset and disappointed. This was by far the worst customer service experience I have ever had, and don't think buying a car should be like this.

Desired Settlement
n/a

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ***** GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@mcgrathcity.com
Regarding case # XXXXXXXX filed by **** *******.

Customer called and inquired about the car on 9/29/2014. At that time she mentioned that she wants the car and she will be in same day by getting a ride from a friend. After she did not show for the appointment we communicated by phone with her and rescheduled for 10/07/XXXX X:XXam. At that time we asked for a deposit on the car and we told her that we operate by first came first served basis. When she showed up and we told her that the car is sold, she was very upset. We offered our apologies and filled her car with gas for inconvenience. The appointment was confirmed on the night before and our associate checked the availability on our system that showed the car still in stock. Since the incident we revised our process and made sure that the appointment setters get real time data from the lot.
We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience that we caused and we expressed that to the customer in person and during follow up calls.
Yours,
**** *****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I never confirmed the appointment or set it because i was unsure if i was going to make it. I let the lady know i would call back to confirm if i would make it in later

Final Business Response
We apologize again for the incident and we did revise our process in order to improve our customer satisfaction and not have situations like this happen again.
Thank you,

**** *****

11/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged for 2.2 h of labor on a maintenance service for my car. However the service was performed in 1.25 h only. The dealer charges $118 for one hour of labor and I am being charged $277. It is almost three times the cost of parts used for the service.
Product_Or_Service: Hyundai Elantra 2013

Desired Settlement
I want be refund the amount of money for the time of labor that was not used to work in my car.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@mcgrathcity.com
The requested work was quoted as an entire job not a hourly rate. We utilize All Data, an industry standard, for quoting flat rate work. We used two technicians to perform the work as the customer was waiting in the customer lounge for the repair to be completed. See attached letter to customer explaining method used to bill invoice. We have offered two complimentary oil and filter services for the misunderstanding.

07/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
To make this short I looked at the red 2013 Elantra limited vin#*****************X. I was greeted Nicely by ***** ****** When I looked at the car it has damage on the passenger ***** It needed body work and painting so I told him this won't work and thanked him. He replied that maybe he had another red & tan and he would look. He came back in about 5-10 telling me he talked to his manager, and I could have the car, for $16,900 with Certification and they would fix the passenger **** to my liking. I asked him about this three times to make sure I heard correctly. So then I asked for a test drive and he went with me. I asked him how this would work. He said, "I would need to deposit $500 on the visa credit card to hold the car and it would probably be fixed and ready Wednesday evening, and said if the job is not done correctly, we part as friends, and I give you back your $500 deposit.


I drove the car, I had no problems with it and say lets write it up. Then we went back into the showroom to write up the paper work etc. Then after about 5 minutes he says, I need to confirm with the body shop on the cost of the repairs. What????? I thought we had a deal etc based on repair!!!!!! who tells me a price then changes it when I am getting ready to buy?


Sure enough after maybe 15 minutes he comes back and says, the damage is too much, and if I want the car with the certification, it will cost me $17,900. By the way, I was paying cash straight up. No financing.

Desired Settlement
I am asking that they keep their word period. If a sales person who is a represents the company and got approval to actually make me a offer, and I accept, then they have to agree to that deal. I have the right to refuse or accept. In this case I accepted, and then they changed the rules. I added nothing to the agreement verbally or in writing.
They should fix the car correctly and should offer it at the price they told me.

Thanks

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********* BDCC Mngr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@mcgrathcity.com
Shortly after **** *******'s visit on Saturday, June 14th, he emailed the Customer Care Center and submitted a BBB complaint. The Customer Care Manager, **** ********* contacted him immediately via email and phone call to resolve the situation. The customer agreed to come back the next week to work directly with the General Manager, but decided to purchase another vehicle elsewhere due to the immediate availability. Mr. ******* has agreed that we rectified the situation with our genuine efforts and Customer Service.

07/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to buy this used red toyota truck, we negotiated and went back an forth on a price and agreed and SHOOK HANDS and made a deal with the manager AND salesman after hours went by. when we were filling out paperwork some other guy and salesman came to look at the same truck. At this point the negotiation and financing had been approved. i have perfect credit! It literally got to the point where i had cleaned out my car and put my stuff in the truck. My salesman came out and said the deal was dead and that my financing manager went home for the day and they couldnt get me financed because he had went home and they couldnt contact him...the funny thing is the other guy drove away with the truck that same night??? I have the recording on my phone of the agreement of financing terms from the manager. How the deal went through, im not sure. It is extremely poor business ethics as far as i am concerned. We had an agreement and shook hands like business men do and they broke that agreement and i am extremely dissatisfied!

Desired Settlement
I am not seeking a settlement, only the "great rating" from the BBB be removed from this company, or at least a bad mark against them for the poor business they conducted with me!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ************* Mngr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@mcgrathcity.com
******* City Honda and ******* City Hyundai are separate corporate entities, separate Dealerships and separately managed. We have no knowledge that the customer ever set foot in ******* City Hyundai and we have no idea why he would make false allegations against ******* City Hyundai. Because the customer had absolutely no contact with ******* City Hyundai, the Complaint should be immediately withdrawn and removed entirely from your database.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the withdrawal of complaint from ******* city hyundai. It was by accident that they were selected from the bbb wesite. I will withhold my complaint for ******* city honda though.

Thanks

Page 1 of 7
04/12/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/04/2011Business started: 01/01/2006
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2006, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin McGrath (Vice President)Customer Contact: Ms. Cindy O'Gara (Acct Manager)Ms. Jody Admas Ms. Erin Frank
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Purchasing a Car Online
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

McGrath City Hyundai has received 3.10 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for McGrath City Hyundai

6750 W Grand Ave

Chicago, IL 60707-2212

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6750 W Grand Ave 

    Chicago, IL 60707-2212(773) 889-3030

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*McGrath City Hyundai is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.