BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2013

Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake

Phone: (815) 459-4000Fax: (815) 444-65235220 Northwest Hwy, Crystal LakeIL 60014-8010 Send email to Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2013

BBB has determined that Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
02/24/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: I was involved in an auto accident, and my car was damaged so badly that I decided to look into purchasing a new car rather than get is fixed. I test drove a car at Martin Chevrolet and decided on one to purchase. I explained that my old car was at an auto body shop and that the shop had offered me $400 cash for my car (to be used for parts/scrap). When I told Steve my story he offered to tow my car to Martin as they "own a tow company" and that they could "definitely beat the current offer". I took my lunch hour to drive to ******** from ******** and sign a release for my car to be towed to Martin; I also had to pay $100 to the auto body shop for the estimate. I immediately called **** at Martin and told him that my car was ready for pick up and that I had paid $100 to get it out. he told me that was standard practice for auto body shops. Martin picked my car up. When I arrived at Martin they presented me with a write up detailing the cost of my new car and on it they had only offered me $100 for my used car. **** also told me that I was lucky they didn't charge me $150 for the tow. After I complained, they berated me and told me I had no other option but to buy a car from them because I "couldn't keep renting a car forever." Although I am upset by the way they talked to me, I am more upset that I am now minus -$100 and I do not have my car. They will not return my calls or emails. I want the $500 they promised me in exchange for my old car. I have already purchased a new car so credit towards a car is not an option.

Initial Business Response
*** ******* <********@martinnissan.com>
8:52 PM (13 hours ago)

Good evening *******

I am sending this email in response to complaint #XXXXXXXX.

I have made contact with ***** ****** via email today (10.03.13) and asked for her availability to talk tomorrow (Friday ********** I have left messages for ***** in the past and we played phone tag. I did speak to both the sales manager as well as the sales person involved in the deal and they both told me that was coming back into the dealership to figure out how to make a deal. Shame on me for not following up with that particular deal.

I will keep you informed as to the outcome of our conversation.



Regards,

*** *******
VP-GM
Martin Chevrolet in Crystal Lake
************ dealership
************ fax

Final Consumer Response
Rhonda:
*** from Martin Chevrolet sent me an email on ******* 3 stating that I should call him- which I have done- but he has not responded to my phone calls, or called me, or answered my emails. They have not done anything to resolve this complaint.


Final Business Response
Ms. ***** ****** has decided to have **** **** **** give her an estimate on fixing the damage to her **** ***** according to Ms.****** and *****, I believe her name was, at **** **** ***** I have let Ms. ****** know that I am sorry for all of the headaches that she went through when trying to purchase a vehicle from us. Ms ****** has asked ** ****** and ******** to pick up her **** ***** from our dealership and tow it to **** **** **** so they can give her an estimate to repair the ****** I have paid the tow bill of $75 to ** ****** and ******** and I am sending Ms ****** a check for $100 to reimburse her for the money that she said was charged by the body shop in ********* Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any further questions/concerns.

Kindest regards,

*** *******
Vice President
Martin Chevrolet in Crystal Lake
************ dealership
************ fax
********@******-chevy.com

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/24/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: My husband and I came Friday evening to look at the car. In the test drive we noticed it pulled to the right. During negotiations I offered $14,600 for the car "as is" and the sales manager took it to the back, filled one tire with air and test drove it telling us everything seemed fine and it didn't pull. We got the car for $14,700 ($200 off the asking price, or 1.3%) and before signing papers I asked what we would do if the car still pulled to the right. The sales person said "oh, just call us." Now the car still pulls. We were told we would get a call from the sales manager. Two weeks later I e-mailed again and was told the manager won't call us because we got a "steep discount" and that they are not willing to look at the alignment.

Initial Business Response
Good afternoon,

After speaking to the sales consultant and the manager that assisted I am told that the customer and her husband were OK with the sale price of $14,700 (discounted price) and they would take care of the alignment, if it was needed, in Wisconsin. The sales consultant said she never said to "just call us" if the alignment issue came back because they negotiated the alignment with the customer the night of the sale.
I will call the customer personally and discuss the issue.

*** *******
Vice President
Martin Chevrolet in Crystal Lake
815.459.4000 dealership
********@******-chevy.com

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Although it took months of delay, I was called by the owner of the business. He was courteous and took responsibility for the quality of his product and the actions of his employees. He accepted my request for an alignment to be completed at a local place and promptly mailed the check for the cost.

Final Business Response

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/25/2012Business started: 06/04/2012
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2012, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Hoyland (Owner)Mr. Todd Martin (Owner)
Related Businesses
Martin Nissan - 5240 Golf Rd, Skokie, IL Todd Martin is the Owner/President of both Martin Nissan and Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Martin Chevrolet
Industry Tips
Lemon Law Facts
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake

5220 Northwest Hwy

Crystal Lake, IL 60014-8010

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5220 Northwest Hwy 

    Crystal Lake, IL 60014-8010

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.