BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2013

Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake

Phone: (815) 459-4000Fax: (815) 444-65235220 Northwest Hwy, Crystal LakeIL 60014-8010 Send email to Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2013

BBB has determined that Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
12/24/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

My husband and I came Friday evening to look at the car. In the test drive we noticed it pulled to the right. During negotiations I offered $14,600 for the car "as is" and the sales manager took it to the back, filled one tire with air and test drove it telling us everything seemed fine and it didn't pull. We got the car for $14,700 ($200 off the asking price, or 1.3%) and before signing papers I asked what we would do if the car still pulled to the right. The sales person said "oh, just call us." Now the car still pulls. We were told we would get a call from the sales manager. Two weeks later I e-mailed again and was told the manager won't call us because we got a "steep discount" and that they are not willing to look at the alignment.

Desired Settlement
I would like the business to pay for a realignment of the tires at the business of our choice since they have repeatedly refused to help us.

Business Response
Good afternoon,

After speaking to the sales consultant and the manager that assisted I am told that the customer and her husband were OK with the sale price of $14,700 (discounted price) and they would take care of the alignment, if it was needed, in Wisconsin. The sales consultant said she never said to "just call us" if the alignment issue came back because they negotiated the alignment with the customer the night of the sale.
I will call the customer personally and discuss the issue.

*** *******
Vice President
Martin Chevrolet in Crystal Lake
815.459.4000 dealership

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Although it took months of delay, I was called by the owner of the business. He was courteous and took responsibility for the quality of his product and the actions of his employees. He accepted my request for an alignment to be completed at a local place and promptly mailed the check for the cost.

Final Business Response

02/24/2014Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/25/2012Business started: 06/04/2012
Type of Entity


Incorporated: June 2012, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Hoyland (Owner)Mr. Todd Martin (Owner)
Related Businesses
Martin Nissan - 5240 Golf Rd, Skokie, IL Todd Martin is the Owner/President of both Martin Nissan and Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Martin Chevrolet
Industry Tips
Lemon Law Facts

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake has received 4.34 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake

5220 Northwest Hwy

Crystal Lake, IL 60014-8010

To | From


1 Locations

  • 5220 Northwest Hwy 

    Crystal Lake, IL 60014-8010

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Lemon Law Facts

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.