Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 25, 2012 Business started: 06/04/2012 in IL Business started locally: 06/04/2012 Business incorporated 06/04/2012 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dan Hoyland, Owner Mr. Todd Martin, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Hoyland, Owner
Related Businesses
Martin Nissan
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - New Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Alternate Business Names
Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake, Inc. Martin Chevrolet, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5220 Northwest Hwy

    Crystal Lake, IL 60014

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I came Friday evening to look at the car. In the test drive we noticed it pulled to the right. During negotiations I offered $14,600 for the car "as is" and the sales manager took it to the back, filled one tire with air and test drove it telling us everything seemed fine and it didn't pull. We got the car for $14,700 ($200 off the asking price, or 1.3%) and before signing papers I asked what we would do if the car still pulled to the right. The sales person said "oh, just call us." Now the car still pulls. We were told we would get a call from the sales manager. Two weeks later I e-mailed again and was told the manager won't call us because we got a "steep discount" and that they are not willing to look at the alignment.

Desired Settlement: I would like the business to pay for a realignment of the tires at the business of our choice since they have repeatedly refused to help us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/28) */ Good afternoon, After speaking to the sales consultant and the manager that assisted I am told that the customer and her husband were OK with the sale price of $14,700 (discounted price) and they would take care of the alignment, if it was needed, in Wisconsin. The sales consultant said she never said to "just call us" if the alignment issue came back because they negotiated the alignment with the customer the night of the sale. I will call the customer personally and discuss the issue. *** ******* Vice President Martin Chevrolet in Crystal Lake 815.459.4000 dealership ********@******-chevy.com Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2013/12/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Although it took months of delay, I was called by the owner of the business. He was courteous and took responsibility for the quality of his product and the actions of his employees. He accepted my request for an alignment to be completed at a local place and promptly mailed the check for the cost. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/12/23) */


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart