BBB Accredited Business since

Kelly Car Buyer

Additional Locations

Phone: (815) 464-3044 Fax: (866) 261-1454 9503 Gulfstream Rd Unit C, Frankfort, IL 60423 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Kelly Car Buyer is an auto salvage company which buys used cars in any condition from residential customers. This company serves the greater Chicagoland area, including Naperville, Aurora, Orland Park, Oak Lawn, Wheaton, Carol Stream, Oak Park, Schaumburg, Arlington Heights, Cicero, Des Plaines, Homewood, Chicago Heights, Carpentersville, Barrington, Blue Island, Harvey, Glenview, Northbrook, Elgin, Westchester, Lombard, Downers Grove, Bloomingdale, Roselle, Inverness, Lincolnwood, Burbank, Countryside, Hazel Crest, Lake Zurich, Vernon Hills, Winnetka, and Glenview. Services available from this company include car tow-away, used car purchase, and junk car recycling.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kelly Car Buyer meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kelly Car Buyer include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kelly Car Buyer
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 18, 2009 Business started: 07/17/2009 Business started locally: 07/17/2009 Business incorporated 07/17/2009 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mrs. Suzy Costigan, Co-Owner Mr. Mike Costigan
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Suzy Costigan, Co-Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Services Auto Wrecking Consultants - Automobile Purchase Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Alternate Business Names
Kelly Car Buyer, Inc

Additional Locations

  • 22615 Cherry Hill Rd

    Joliet, IL 60433

  • 9503 Gulfstream Rd Unit C

    Frankfort, IL 60423 (815) 464-3044


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I sold our 2001 ********** ********** to Kelly Auto Buyer on Friday, July 24, 2015 through a verbal agreement over the phone. We were promised $200.00 at the time of towing, which we received, as well as a $50.00 restaurant gift card that was supposed to come to us via email...we never received that. My wife called the cell phone number for *** and left a voicemail wondering when we would receive the gift card from his office. *** called back Monday to let my wife know that the email should come either by the end of the day or the next day (Tuesday) at the latest. It never came. My wife called again on Wednesday to inquire and let *** know that we never received the email and she reminded him again of our email and phone number, etc. No response. She called again Thursday and again, no response. It has now been a week without any return phone call or communication of any kind. We took time to try to speak in person to *** at the address, listed on the website. Upon arrival, we discovered it was a post office with what seemed to be an apartment number. Upon searching the Kelly Car Buyer website for contact information for the other local towns near us, we saw that the addresses listed in each town for contact info was the local post office with a room number or suite number. This seemed to be the case for the hundreds of towns listed. Very strange that a company would do that on their website as opposed to having a normal mailing or P.O. Box. Very strange. We are upset in seeing that the other complaints show the same exact issue. This is obviously a pattern with this company.

Desired Settlement: We want to receive the $50.00 gift card as promised via email provided.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** CSR Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** A message was left for the customer explaining an issue we had with our system and an apology. We have reset our system to avoid this issue in the future. $100 in restaurant cards have been emailed to the ******'s to compensate for the issue they encountered. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/08/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We appreciate Kelly Car Buyer attempting to resolve this so quickly. However, we are not COMPLETELY satisfied in that we were promised a $50.00 "GIFT CARD". Essentially, what we received were certificates to a wide variety of obscure restaurants that aren't necessarily always "family" friendly. IN ADDITION, these are essentially COUPONS for 50% off a meal....meaning, you must spend $100.00 to get $50.00 off your meal. Spend money, save money.....this is NOT a "gift card" as was promised. Kelly Car Buyer needs to make sure that all of their representatives use the proper language when making a "deal" with clients. Their language is extremely misleading. It is NOT a "gift card" rather the language should be "coupon". Even saying it is a "gift certificate" implies there are no stipulations, (which there are many on the restaurant site). It is disappointing to say the least, but we learned a valuable lesson in that we need to get all in writing and ask questions. We will not be using Kelly Car Buyer again, nor will we recommend them to friends and family.

7/20/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sold a 2002 ***** ****** to Kelly Car Buyer, 5/17/13. They paid me for the vehicle and received the title. However, they apparently, later admittedly, did not do all the closing work on their end properly as I received a bill from the NTTA (North Texas Tollway Authority)for failing to pay a toll on their Tollway after I no longer owned the vehicle. After contacting the NTTA, I found out it was indeed the 2002 ************ I had sold to Kelly Car Buyer that ran their toll booth without paying. The car though, had been painted silver (it was orginally red/maroon) but the license plate was the same. Obviously it was not me driving, it was no longer my vehicle when this incident occurred. I contacated ******** with Kelly Car Buyer at XXX-XXX-XXXX to inform her of the situation, find out what had happened and how it could be quickly resolved. I advised her of what the NTTA had told me. ******** told me some things I should do, I infomed her this was no longer my responsiblity as I had sold the vehicle to them and they needed to be the ones to take responsiblity and resolve this issue. Not me. After a few minutes I convinced ******** to do a 3 way call with me to NTTA so she could hear directly from them what was needed to resolve this as it was not my area of specialty. After we talked to NTTA, ******** agreed to fax them information they needed to clear my name from their (NTTA) database and show I do not owe them any money for a failed toll. I advised ******** I would fax her, and did, a copy of the documentation from the NTTA so she could have it for her records. She in turn faxed the NTTA documentation saying I did not own the vehicle and that Kelly Car Buyer had purchased it from me. I asked ******** to e-mail me confirmation this was done and she did. I recieved documentation showing ******** did what she said she would. Additionally, ******** offerred, and I accepted, a $50 gift certificate to ***************. I did not know what it was but appreciated her gesture. As a side, the $50 gift certificate is not as great as it sounds. You have to make a purchase from only certain restaurantsto use it. I thought it was a gift certificate that would allow me to go to a restaurant and get a meal up to $50 paid for by Kelly Car Buyer. I have not used the gift certificate, it is only valid with restaurants I do not care about and not popular in my area. It is worthless to me. I was dissapointed but again, appreciated the gesture. Back to my main complaint. NTTA dropped the ball on their end as the person ******** and I spoke to apparently did not give us all the correct information, I received notifcation from NTTA 1/15/15 stating the documentation was insufficent and more information needed. I contacted ********, faxed her a copy of the NTTA letter and once again asked her to resolve this issue. Meanwhile, because the issue has not been resolved and I have not paid NTTA, they sent the issue to a collection service, ********* Credit. I called ********* Credit, informed them of the details and also provided a copy of the letter to ********. 5/8/15 is the date I show in my phone contacting ********, then again on 5/19/15 as a follow up or to let her know I had faxed her all the information again. I do not remember and have not taken detailed notes as I expected this to be resolved easily and quickly. The next date in my phone is 6/8/15, I contacted ******** to see if she had resolved this, she had not but told me she was working on it. Kelly Car Buyer has had since 5/17/13 to do this correctly and/or resolve it correctly. Today is 6/19/15, it is still not resolved. ******** no longer takes my calls, I left a message for her 6/17/15 in the AM advising her that if I did not hear from them by today with a resolution I would file this complaint. I have not heard from ******** and thus the complaint. My next action after this will be to contact ********* Credit to advise them I have filed this complaint

Desired Settlement: The first and most important thing to me is for Kelly Car Buyer to properly correspond with me and the NTTA and get this issue resolved and my name cleared. That means Kelly Car Buyer doing what they have had over 2 years to do, file proper paperwork showing the vehicle in question did not belong to me at the time of the incident and still does not belong to me. Thereby absolving me of responsiblity to pay for the toll violation and any other incidents the vehicle may be involved with that would make me liable in some way that has not yet come to my attention. Secondly, I want to be compensated for my time. I have spent approximately 5 hours working on a resolution to this. That is 5 hours of my time wasted working on something that was not my responsibility to work on in the first place. I don't think Kelly Car Buyer would do work for me for free to help them clear their name would they? Inititally, compensation was not a concern to me. Now, because of Kelly Car Buyers actions, or lack there of, and the time involved since the sale of the vehicle to now for them to have corrected this mistake and because of my time spent and the hassle involved, I want $100 per hour I have spent working on this. That equates to $500.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** ** Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** We are currently working with ***** ******* to resolve the issue with the Texas Tollway. We had left him voice mails explaining that every time we called the Texas Tollway they would explain that they couldn't discuss the matter with us. ******** had referred the matter to Copart, which is the auction company that picked up the vehicle on our behalf and their title clerk had also left voice mails to help Mr. ******* resolve the matter. He is currently in constant communication with our regional representative and they are working closely to resolve this matter. We weren't notified of the problem until it was in collections on the other end or we would have tried to fix it sooner

6/25/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I agreed to $300 cash plus $50 ************** gift certificate for my vehicle. Pickup was on May 14 at address listed. Received a bank check (not cash as advertised on site) for $300. Never received emailed ************** gift certificate for $50. after 2 weeks I made 6 phone calls in the next week voicing my concern and no phone calls ever returned. Noone ever answered phone only got voicemails. no further contact with anyone once vehicle was picked up.

Desired Settlement: I want my $50 gift certificate emailed to address provided above.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/25) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** CS Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** We have resolved the situation with the customer. Unfortunately, the restaurant card option wasn't checked in the order either due to human or computer error. We left a voice mail and emailed the customer and he has since emailed us back thanking us for the quick resolution and was going to try to update the BBB. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Matter was satisfactorily resolved in less than 24 hours as described in their statement. I received 2 $50 Gift Certificate codes for *************** Thanks to BBB for coordinating the resolution successfully and to Kelly Car Buyers for their quick resolution.

6/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: It was about a week ago that I contacted Kelly Car Buyer to buy and get rid of my vehicle that was no longer running. I spoke a *** **** with the company and set the agreement. He agreed that Kelly Car Buyer would buy my vehicle for $100.00 and like mentioned on the website, I asked about the restaurant card and that was put into the agreement and agreed on. He mentioned he was emailing the $50.00 restaurant card. To me this was a pretty good deal, because I knew the scrap metal prices were down and the highest offer I received was $110.00. So a $100.00 check plus a $50.00 restaurant card was pretty good. On Wednesday June 3, the gentleman from the tow company came and retrieved my vehicle. He received my car title and presented the check for $100.00. Thursday I called *** **** again to let him know that I not received his email for the $50.00 restaurant card. I received no return call. Friday I called the customer service number and left a message. Still no return call. Today, June 9, I called Mr. **** and the customer service number and still not a return call from either contact. I have not received an email for a $50.00 restaurant card. I'm a little disappoint about the communication aspect, but they seemed to be a pretty good company. A $50.00 restaurant card might seem petty, but when you do not go to restaurants often and an agreement with something like that is included it tends to be big deal.

Desired Settlement: I would like for someone to return my call or just email the $50.00 restaurant card at promised in the agreement.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 5, 2015/06/12) */ From: ******* ******** <*********@***************.com> Date: Thu, Jun 11, 2015 at 7:07 AM Subject: Update to Complaint ID#: XXXXXXXX To: ******* Just wanted to give update to Complaint ID#: XXXXXXXX. Yesterday I received the restaurant gift certificate as promised. No need to process any further.