BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

JD Byrider - Downers Grove

Find a Location

Phone: (708) 956-7700Fax: (708) 317-57876539 Ogden Ave, BerwynIL 60402-3700

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

JD Byrider - Downers Grove is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered JD Byrider - Downers Grove's rating include:

  • 2 complaints filed against business that were not resolved.

Factors that raised JD Byrider - Downers Grove's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on JD Byrider - Downers Grove

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
11/03/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

I purchase a car from J.D. Byrider on 9/21/12. The salesman told me that this was a good car. I ask the salesman was the car ever in an accident and salesman told me no. I purchase the car. I went on 8/21/14 to car lot to try to trade this car in and I come to learn that this car was in accident which the airbag deployed. I call the manager at J.D. Byrider to explain my problem. I explain to the manager that I had purchase a defect car. They explain to me that they dont purchase car that has been in an accident. The car that I purchase was a 2002 Pontiac grand prix $11,095.00. I put a deposit down in the amount $1400.00. I always come to notice that the odometer was set back. On the car report it show that when the second owner sold the car he turn the car in with odometer reading 110,284 but when I purchase the car the odometer reading was 105,740. I feel like they breech there contract because one they told me that they dont sell cars that have been in accident and odometer reading was turn back also.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the company to refund all my money I put in this car and they take the car back.I want this off my credit

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
In response to case # XXXXXXXX, ******* ******* purchased a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix on 9/21/2012 from our location. All of our vehicles are checked with ******** Auto Check when we stock them in. The report did not indicate any accidents to this vehicle. The car was inspected before it was sold and we honored our 24 month 24,000 mile warranty on the vehicle.
In response to Ms. *******'s concerns about the miles at the time of sale, we stand behind the odometer report presented at the time of sale. We did present to Ms. ******* our bill of sale from when we purchased the vehicle and the miles where less than the 105,740 presented at the time of purchase (we typically test drive the vehicles during the reconditioning process thus explaining the slight variation between the mileage at the time of our purchase vs. the time of sale). Moreover, the report referenced by Ms. ******* occurred after the vehicle was titled through our organization on 9/21/2012 with 105,740 miles. At this time J.D.Byrider feels they have honored the contract and warranty agreed upon at the time of sale and no further actions required.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response is inappropriate. The numbers of miles was different from the ****** when the second owner sold the car.The ****** report showed extensive damage, this occurred during an accident that happen 11/11/2011. This information was not disclose to me. I have been unable to trade this car now because of the damage. This car has no value at this time. I put in like $3,000.00 in car. I am requesting my money back, return car, and car loan taken off my credit.

Final Business Response
J.D.Byrider stands behind its first response in regards to Ms. *******'s concerns.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There were no response to the resolutions. J.D. Byrider sold me a car without correct miles and also showed me a Auto Check Report they run on there car its not even a carfax report . The car had been in an accident. I still owe about $6,000.00 on this car. I am unable to trade this car because the car has structural damage from the accident before I purchase it. The only Acceptable resolution to this problem at this time. 1. J.D. Byrider can take this car back and remove it from my Credit Report 2.Send the title and I will dispose of this car. It is a safety hazard for me to drive this car. I also came to find out that the A Frame of car is bent. J.D. Byrider should suffer this loss not me. I was a honest nice customer that purchase a car that was no good from day one.

04/21/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I went to JD Byrider in Berwyn to see what my options were to buy a vehicle with bad credit. I met with ****** *********** and he stated that amongst the 20+ vehicles they had on the lot at that time I would only be approved for a 2005 chevy Colorado pick up truck-had 111,100 miles on it for a little over $11,000 with 24% interest-Kelly Blue book values this truck at about $7,000.Also they told me I could get a vehicle with no money down before I got there. I had to make an agreement that I would pay $600 every 2 weeks to make the down payment of $1200. Then make payments of $183.00 every 2 weeks until I paid of the vehicle which would add up to over $18,000. They also gave me passenger license plates for the truck which in IL. requires B plates-I called ****** on my way home with the truck and told him he said I did not need B plates. I checked the IL states laws and called him back twice-and still he stated I did not need the b plates. I received a letter from the Sec. of State stating I need new B plates I took the letter to the dealer and have asked them multiple times to fix this situation, and they have not still to this day-I have received tickets for their mistakes. They are taking advantage of good people that are trying to make good with their credit trying. These companies like this are an outrage and there should be more laws against over charging this much on a 9 yr. old vehicle with that may miles on it with such a high interest percentage. Not only that they need to have more morals and not lie to consumers stating that they are only approved for the most expensive vehicle on the lot amongst 20+ other smaller compact vehicles-this is what Dewone Westerfield told me. I will also be taking further action to get this situation resolved.

Desired Settlement
I want this dealership to take this vehicle back, without any other amounts owed from me to JD Byrider or **** finance company. It will NOT go on my credit as a Repossession. Or they can provide me with the right vehicle that was supposed to be in my price range without taking advantage of me in good working condition with the correct license plates that is state required, that is closer to the true Valued $ amount of the vehicle.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********
Ms. ***** ****** purchased a 2005 Chevrolet Colorado from J.D. Byrider ("JDB" or "Dealership") in Berwyn, IL on June 19, 2013. JDB acknowledges that a passenger ***** was issued when in fact the vehicle required a Truck B plate. Upon being alerted to this issue by Ms. ****** on October 11, 2013, JDB offered to reimburse the customer for the cost of getting the new plates upon presentation of the receipt for the issuance of new plates for the vehicle. Ms. ****** did not return to the Dealership with the receipts so no reimbursement was issued.
On February 14th Ms. ****** informed JDB that she received a ticket for displaying incorrect plates. JDB offered to reimburse Ms. ****** for the ticket which she accepted.
JDB feels it has made every effort to accommodate Ms. ****** but at his point feels it is her responsibility to properly register the vehicle and obtain the correct license plates.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I notified the sales person ******* and the managers at JDB regarding my plate issue on my way home from the dealership after purchasing the vehicle. ****** on more than 2 occasions as well as *** from JDB stated that I DID NOT need B Plates for my truck. When I brought in the letter from the Sec. of State-the dealership told me to purchase the correct plates and that they would reimburse me, I do not have the $$ for this being that I am required to pay $366 a month for the truck, I also can not take time off of work to get these replaced when by right they should have taken care of this after I contacted them the first time on my way home with the vehicle. I have even asked if I could take my car payment of $183 and purchase the replacement plates and they refused to let me. I have brought this truck in 3 times to have things fixed that were never taken care of until now, I brought my truck in to have the Blower fixed 3 times even left it for 3 days finally fixed and then had no heat they failed to reconnect it the proper way-how do you call the customer and state that their car is ready, fixed to come pick it up with no heat when it's 19 degrees outside on a Friday night was told there were no loaner vehicles, but by Saturday morning a loaner vehicle magically appeared. Other than the Plates I am being way over charged for this Truck-I was told by ****** that it was the only vehicle I was approved for, and when I asked if it was the most expensive one on the lot he said yes-to me this is bad sales practices, and I feel that I have been taken advantage of due to the fact that there are not many options out there. There were more than 20 other vehicles on the lot some were cheaper than the truck I was sold, but I could not even get the sales person ****** to show me anything else other then the 2005 Chevy Colorado Truck. If you check the *** price on this vehicle it is only worth used retail sales price maybe $7000-the point here is I was lied to and taken advantage of and basically forced into purchasing this way over priced truck that in the end will cost me way over $18,000, when I could have purchased something cheaper but because the sales person wanted a huge commission decided that I definitely would not be approved for anything cheaper than a 9 yr. old truck with over 111,000 miles for over $11,000 I am ************ didn't even try to see if I could be approved for another vehicle he did not have me apply for anything else other than this truck, would not even show me anything else other than the Chevy Colorado. As you can see from the companies response all they were concerned about was the fact that I was issued the wrong Plates for the vehicle-not that ****** told me that I was not approved for a cheaper vehicle when they had plenty of vehicles to choose from on the lot that is bad sales practices to have someone who could not afford to pay 366 a month for a vehicle and basically force them into it-because they were told that they have no other options available to them.

Final Business Response
At this time JDB stands by the last response we issued in regards to Ms. ***** ******'s concerns.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If that is your companies 2nd response only to respond to the inquiry of the License plate being issued incorrect on your behalf then you have a very poor judgment of what it is to be in any type of a Customer Service Position! Also I have brought my truck in numerous times to have oil changes I have requested that your service dept. please top off all of my required fuels-and they have not on every single occasion. My brake light is now on when I accelerate my engine shakes like it is going to fall out, and my window still does not work properly. Like I stated before JD Byrider takes advantage of people that have bad credit because they are made to feel, that they have no other options but to purchase a car/truck that your sales staff claim they are only approved for that one particular vehicle out of 20+ other vehicles on the lot. You have your sales staff try & sell the most expensive vehicle on the lot to individuals that cant afford them.I have already contacted *** ******* ***** ******* and all the other News investigative team members. As well as **** ************ all will receive copies of this document as well as copies of my contracts with JD Byrider.

04/25/2014Problems with Product / Service
11/18/2013Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 08/04/2008Business started: 07/03/2007
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ethan Sivewright (General Manager)Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Caceres
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for JD Byrider - Downers Grove

6539 Ogden Ave

Berwyn, IL 60402-3700

To | From


2 Locations

  • 6539 Ogden Ave 

    Berwyn, IL 60402-3700(708) 956-7700
    Fax: (708) 317-5787

  • 2501 Ogden Ave 

    Downers Grove, IL 60515-1708

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*JD Byrider - Downers Grove is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.