This business is not BBB accredited.

JD Byrider - Downers Grove

Additional Locations

Phone: (708) 956-7700 Fax: (708) 317-5787 6539 Ogden Ave, Berwyn, IL 60402 http://www.jd-byrider-berwyn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for JD Byrider - Downers Grove include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for JD Byrider - Downers Grove include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on JD Byrider - Downers Grove
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 04, 2008 Business started: 07/03/2007 Business started locally: 07/03/2007 Business incorporated 07/03/2007 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ethan Sivewright, General Manager Mr. Jeff Caceres
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Caceres
Principal: Mr. Ethan Sivewright, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2501 Ogden Ave

    Downers Grove, IL 60515

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6539 Ogden Ave

    Berwyn, IL 60402 (708) 956-7700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 2005 ***** *******, I explained to salesman & sales manager. I needed vehicle to work, doing nursing visits in home. I didn't have extra money for repairs. They both stated the service warranty covered tune ups and most parts, and at the most I would be out $25. I asked them both in the event the ten year old vehicle required repairs beyond service warranty, could I trade the vehicle in for a later model vehicle. I've had to return the vehicle four or five times, radiator and transmission replaced with rebuilt parts, costing me $25. Each time the warranty covered most repairs, but there was always repairs not covered ranging from $200 to $400. First time I paid the $200 & odd amount. At that time I told the sales manager I couldn't afford the extra repairs, I have a mortgage. I was told by both managers sales and finance, they would work with me. I told them rather than keep adding costs I couldn't afford, it was time to trade the vehicle for a later model, and I was paying for all the repairs. After one year, I call sales manager **** stating I didn't have the money for the additional repairs, & adding it to my car note it would take six years to pay off. **** stated I had to pay the bill down to $2000. The final service repair would cost me the $25 + $300 additional. I told them it was time to trade it in. I spoke with finance manager Helene and she agreed. When I called **** he said no I had to pay the vehicle off. They have the vehicle, can I legally walk away from this contract. **** understood, it was my intention to trade in for a later model after nine months of payment. The finance company says its Mike's decision.I purchased the vehicle in March or April 2014.

Desired Settlement: I would like to trade in for a later model, like **** promised me the day I purchased the vehicle. I explained that I needed a dependable vehicle, and at the point it was costing excess amounts of money to keep running it was my intention to trade it in. **** the sales manager agreed.

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a car from J.D. Byrider on 9/21/12. The salesman told me that this was a good car. I ask the salesman was the car ever in an accident and salesman told me no. I purchase the car. I went on 8/21/14 to car lot to try to trade this car in and I come to learn that this car was in accident which the airbag deployed. I call the manager at J.D. Byrider to explain my problem. I explain to the manager that I had purchase a defect car. They explain to me that they dont purchase car that has been in an accident. The car that I purchase was a 2002 Pontiac grand prix $11,095.00. I put a deposit down in the amount $1400.00. I always come to notice that the odometer was set back. On the car report it show that when the second owner sold the car he turn the car in with odometer reading 110,284 but when I purchase the car the odometer reading was 105,740. I feel like they breech there contract because one they told me that they dont sell cars that have been in accident and odometer reading was turn back also.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the company to refund all my money I put in this car and they take the car back.I want this off my credit

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX In response to case # XXXXXXXX, ******* ******* purchased a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix on 9/21/2012 from our location. All of our vehicles are checked with ******** Auto Check when we stock them in. The report did not indicate any accidents to this vehicle. The car was inspected before it was sold and we honored our 24 month 24,000 mile warranty on the vehicle. In response to Ms. *******'s concerns about the miles at the time of sale, we stand behind the odometer report presented at the time of sale. We did present to Ms. ******* our bill of sale from when we purchased the vehicle and the miles where less than the 105,740 presented at the time of purchase (we typically test drive the vehicles during the reconditioning process thus explaining the slight variation between the mileage at the time of our purchase vs. the time of sale). Moreover, the report referenced by Ms. ******* occurred after the vehicle was titled through our organization on 9/21/2012 with 105,740 miles. At this time J.D.Byrider feels they have honored the contract and warranty agreed upon at the time of sale and no further actions required. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/09/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This response is inappropriate. The numbers of miles was different from the ****** when the second owner sold the car.The ****** report showed extensive damage, this occurred during an accident that happen 11/11/2011. This information was not disclose to me. I have been unable to trade this car now because of the damage. This car has no value at this time. I put in like $3,000.00 in car. I am requesting my money back, return car, and car loan taken off my credit. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/09/29) */ J.D.Byrider stands behind its first response in regards to Ms. *******'s concerns. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/10/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There were no response to the resolutions. J.D. Byrider sold me a car without correct miles and also showed me a Auto Check Report they run on there car its not even a carfax report . The car had been in an accident. I still owe about $6,000.00 on this car. I am unable to trade this car because the car has structural damage from the accident before I purchase it. The only Acceptable resolution to this problem at this time. 1. J.D. Byrider can take this car back and remove it from my Credit Report 2.Send the title and I will dispose of this car. It is a safety hazard for me to drive this car. I also came to find out that the A Frame of car is bent. J.D. Byrider should suffer this loss not me. I was a honest nice customer that purchase a car that was no good from day one.

4/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to JD Byrider in Berwyn to see what my options were to buy a vehicle with bad credit. I met with ****** *********** and he stated that amongst the 20+ vehicles they had on the lot at that time I would only be approved for a 2005 chevy Colorado pick up truck-had 111,100 miles on it for a little over $11,000 with 24% interest-Kelly Blue book values this truck at about $7,000.Also they told me I could get a vehicle with no money down before I got there. I had to make an agreement that I would pay $600 every 2 weeks to make the down payment of $1200. Then make payments of $183.00 every 2 weeks until I paid of the vehicle which would add up to over $18,000. They also gave me passenger license plates for the truck which in IL. requires B plates-I called ****** on my way home with the truck and told him he said I did not need B plates. I checked the IL states laws and called him back twice-and still he stated I did not need the b plates. I received a letter from the Sec. of State stating I need new B plates I took the letter to the dealer and have asked them multiple times to fix this situation, and they have not still to this day-I have received tickets for their mistakes. They are taking advantage of good people that are trying to make good with their credit trying. These companies like this are an outrage and there should be more laws against over charging this much on a 9 yr. old vehicle with that may miles on it with such a high interest percentage. Not only that they need to have more morals and not lie to consumers stating that they are only approved for the most expensive vehicle on the lot amongst 20+ other smaller compact vehicles-this is what Dewone Westerfield told me. I will also be taking further action to get this situation resolved.

Desired Settlement: I want this dealership to take this vehicle back, without any other amounts owed from me to JD Byrider or **** finance company. It will NOT go on my credit as a Repossession. Or they can provide me with the right vehicle that was supposed to be in my price range without taking advantage of me in good working condition with the correct license plates that is state required, that is closer to the true Valued $ amount of the vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@jdbyrider.com Ms. ***** ****** purchased a 2005 Chevrolet Colorado from J.D. Byrider ("JDB" or "Dealership") in Berwyn, IL on June 19, 2013. JDB acknowledges that a passenger ***** was issued when in fact the vehicle required a Truck B plate. Upon being alerted to this issue by Ms. ****** on October 11, 2013, JDB offered to reimburse the customer for the cost of getting the new plates upon presentation of the receipt for the issuance of new plates for the vehicle. Ms. ****** did not return to the Dealership with the receipts so no reimbursement was issued. On February 14th Ms. ****** informed JDB that she received a ticket for displaying incorrect plates. JDB offered to reimburse Ms. ****** for the ticket which she accepted. JDB feels it has made every effort to accommodate Ms. ****** but at his point feels it is her responsibility to properly register the vehicle and obtain the correct license plates. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I notified the sales person ******* and the managers at JDB regarding my plate issue on my way home from the dealership after purchasing the vehicle. ****** on more than 2 occasions as well as *** from JDB stated that I DID NOT need B Plates for my truck. When I brought in the letter from the Sec. of State-the dealership told me to purchase the correct plates and that they would reimburse me, I do not have the $$ for this being that I am required to pay $366 a month for the truck, I also can not take time off of work to get these replaced when by right they should have taken care of this after I contacted them the first time on my way home with the vehicle. I have even asked if I could take my car payment of $183 and purchase the replacement plates and they refused to let me. I have brought this truck in 3 times to have things fixed that were never taken care of until now, I brought my truck in to have the Blower fixed 3 times even left it for 3 days finally fixed and then had no heat they failed to reconnect it the proper way-how do you call the customer and state that their car is ready, fixed to come pick it up with no heat when it's 19 degrees outside on a Friday night was told there were no loaner vehicles, but by Saturday morning a loaner vehicle magically appeared. Other than the Plates I am being way over charged for this Truck-I was told by ****** that it was the only vehicle I was approved for, and when I asked if it was the most expensive one on the lot he said yes-to me this is bad sales practices, and I feel that I have been taken advantage of due to the fact that there are not many options out there. There were more than 20 other vehicles on the lot some were cheaper than the truck I was sold, but I could not even get the sales person ****** to show me anything else other then the 2005 Chevy Colorado Truck. If you check the *** price on this vehicle it is only worth used retail sales price maybe $7000-the point here is I was lied to and taken advantage of and basically forced into purchasing this way over priced truck that in the end will cost me way over $18,000, when I could have purchased something cheaper but because the sales person wanted a huge commission decided that I definitely would not be approved for anything cheaper than a 9 yr. old truck with over 111,000 miles for over $11,000 I am ************ didn't even try to see if I could be approved for another vehicle he did not have me apply for anything else other than this truck, would not even show me anything else other than the Chevy Colorado. As you can see from the companies response all they were concerned about was the fact that I was issued the wrong Plates for the vehicle-not that ****** told me that I was not approved for a cheaper vehicle when they had plenty of vehicles to choose from on the lot that is bad sales practices to have someone who could not afford to pay 366 a month for a vehicle and basically force them into it-because they were told that they have no other options available to them. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/26) */ At this time JDB stands by the last response we issued in regards to Ms. ***** ******'s concerns. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/02/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If that is your companies 2nd response only to respond to the inquiry of the License plate being issued incorrect on your behalf then you have a very poor judgment of what it is to be in any type of a Customer Service Position! Also I have brought my truck in numerous times to have oil changes I have requested that your service dept. please top off all of my required fuels-and they have not on every single occasion. My brake light is now on when I accelerate my engine shakes like it is going to fall out, and my window still does not work properly. Like I stated before JD Byrider takes advantage of people that have bad credit because they are made to feel, that they have no other options but to purchase a car/truck that your sales staff claim they are only approved for that one particular vehicle out of 20+ other vehicles on the lot. You have your sales staff try & sell the most expensive vehicle on the lot to individuals that cant afford them.I have already contacted *** ******* ***** ******* and all the other News investigative team members. As well as **** ************ all will receive copies of this document as well as copies of my contracts with JD Byrider.

11/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sales rep ******** ********* charged my parents credit card ***** ****** **** ***** for a payment of $****** on ********* that I didn't authorize on their ******** card. She refuses to acknowledge this act, as it being illegal. I have never dealt with unprofessional people before, until now, That's stealing. The number I have for her is XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to refund the amount of $****** back onto my parents card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX The payment was reversed as requested by the customer. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2013/10/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My parents have changed their account number which includes their debit card. So with that being said how are they to receive their refund on a card that doesn't exist? Also I have asked if they could just send a check to their address, they refused!! Said they weren't issuing any refund in that manner, and none at all. My parents refuse to give up their info at this time since, this has occurred, which is why I requested a mail- order refund. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2013/11/06) */ I have a call into the customer. It is my understanding that the credit has been issued and this is resolved. She has not expressed her dissatisfaction to us.