BBB Accredited Business since

Jack-Son Auto Sales, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 244-4411 Fax: (847) 244-5784 View Additional Phone Numbers 712 S Green Bay Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085 http://www.jacksonautosales.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Jack-Son Auto Sales is an auto dealership specializing in used cars, both foreign and domestic. This company serves the northern suburbs of Chicago, including North Chicago, Park City, Gurnee, Zion, Beach Park, Winthrop Habor, Wadsworth, Lake Bluff, Green Oaks, Libertyville, Gages Lake, Grandwood Park, Russell, Lake Forest, Mundelein, Vernon Hills, Mettawa, Lindenhurst, and Venetian Village. The company sells cars ranging in price from under $5,000 to over $75,000, and ranging in model year from 1955 to the mid 2000s. Their inventory includes vehicles from Toyota, Cadillac, Jeep, Chevrolet, Oldsmobile, Mercedes, GMC, Buick, Volkswagen, Kia, Mitsubishi, Acura, Saturn, Infiniti, and Chrysler. Both manual and automatic transmission are available.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jack-Son Auto Sales, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jack-Son Auto Sales, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jack-Son Auto Sales, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 09, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1961 Business started locally: 01/01/1961 Business incorporated 03/31/1967 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Donald J. Landsverk, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald J. Landsverk, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Motorcycles - Dealers Auto Dealers - Antique & Classic Auto Dealers - Custom Design & Replica Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Alternate Business Names
Steven Todd Advertising Agency

Additional Locations

  • 712 S Green Bay Rd

    Waukegan, IL 60085 (847) 244-4411 (866) 301-0481 (847) 244-5757

  • 718 S Green Bay Rd

    Waukegan, IL 60085

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car at Jackson Auto on 06Nov2014 and I was okay with buying it with "NO WARRANTY". I asked the sale representative, ***, is there anything I need to know about the car as far as under the hood. He stated no "we watch out for our sailors". After signing the paperwork and we started to pull off the lot the "check engine" light came on. We asked about it and they said it could be the gas cap. They took the car to the back and removed it. Couple days later it was back on. Within two weeks the radiator went bad and we had to get it replaced 319 miles away form our home. That cost was $300(cash) but they did give us $150(cash) back. on 29JAN2015 we got the oil changed at **** in Waukegan, IL and they gave us a list of problems that was wrong under the hood. I presented the paper to Jackson Auto and they made a copy, never said anything else about it. Returned several times to get the check engine light off. Same result, they take it to the back and the next day it's back on. On 07FEB2015 me and my spouse traveled to see family in Milwaukee, WI and around 10pm. the car started overheating badly while traveling home. It takes us 1 hour to get home. This night it took us 4 hours. We contentiously had to pull over because the car was smoking. Finally the car gave out and stop and would not start up and we were stuck on side the road for 2 hours. The Illinois State Toll truck help us exactly 2:48 am on 08FEB2015 and it took a battery boost, charging for 30 minutes for the car to start. It was so cold that night riding with no heat. After contacting Jackson, they received my car for locating the problem on 09Feb2015 and said the thermostat was bad. They kept my car for 4 days and said they kept it this long because they put a "bad thermostat" in. After getting my vehicle and paying $200 (debit card) to get it fixed, about 5 weeks later it started overheating again and the heat stopped working. So i called Jackson and said i must take it up with ****** ********** in Waukegan, IL because they sent the car there, but I dropped my car off, picked up and PAID at Jackson Auto. So I called Jackson and Sunset and they gave me the run around pointing fingers and finally they wanted me to bring it back in and charge me $90 more to get it looked at. I found a local mechanic and he stated "if the mechanic did the Pressure Radiator Test and Compression Test, then I would not have a blown front head gasket, cylinder 5." Also stated that, "they did not need to change the thermostat".

Desired Settlement: $200.00 refunded for a problem that is still a problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/05/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *********, GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@***.com I dealt with Mr. ******* directly on his service after his purchase. He indeed had it to our dealership for a thermostat replacement as he stated. Once the vehicle was picked up, we did not hear from him until approximately five weeks and several thousand miles later, via telephone, like he stated. At that time Mr ******* claimed the car was overheating. I directed him to ****** Automotive, where we subletted the work to, at the time we had it for repair. I made a phone call to ****** and asked if they could drop what they were doing and look at the car on the fly to accomodate Mr. ******* since it was late in the afternoon and nearly closing time for them. ****** gladly agreed to do so and Mr. ******* happened to be close to their shop at the time so it was conveinent for all. Mr. ******* arrived at their shop and ****** immediately pulled the car inside. Upon inspection, they needed to let the car cool down in order to determine what the issue was. ***, the service manager at ******, informed Mr. ******* that it required at least fourty five minutes to cool down in order for them to do so. Mr. ******* replied "he had stuff to do and couldn't wait around". He asked *** back for the car declined service, and to date has never brought it back. Mr. ******* took the car in it's overheated condition and continued to drive it against the advise of ******* as it could blow a head gasket or worse, causing severe engine damage. *** from ****** called me to inform me of the events and Mr. *******'s decision to drive his car while overheating. I hadn't heard from Mr. ******* until several months later, when he asked where do we send work to when we refer customers for auto repair. I told him ****** Automotive and he quickly said ok and goodbye. That was a few months ago and this is the first correspondance I have had from or about him since. It is well documented that Mr. ******* has continued over and over again to drive his car while ignoring the temperature gauge while the car is overheating. Mr *******'s irresponsible choices regarding his car with respect to not leaving it at a service facility while overhesting to diagnose and repair, having it towed to a facility to not cause further damage to the engine due to overheating, and continuously ignoring warning gauges and lights while driving the car when it is overheating is not something the dealership will take any responsibility for. Furthermore, when Mr. ******* went on a trip to ** ***** prior to all of these events and the radiator went out several weeks after he bought it. The shop he took it to diagnosed it was a radiator only, not a head gasket. He authorized them to repair it and continued his trip several hundred miles later. He presented this repair bill to us after he got back into town knowing he bought the car as is. The dealership, as a matter of good will, agreed to assist Mr. *******'s repair by funding $150.00 towards it on a one time basis, to which Mr. ******* agreed. Mr. *******'s negligent actions are not our responsibility. I personally have went out of my way on several occasions to free up shop appointments in our dealership and work with ****** Automotive to do service to help Mr. ******* throughout his ownership. His reluctancy to leave the car to get proper service and complete disregard to stop driving the car if there is an issue, is out of our control. I will continue to help, as I have since day one, getting him service at our wholesale cost. Mr. ******* needs to understand he needs to make and keep service appointments, not drive the car if it overheats at any time, and it is his responsibility to pay for his own repairs, as outlined in the FTC Buyers Guide he signed at time of delivery. It states, AS IS NO WARRANTY, "YOU WILL PAY ALL COSTS FOR ANY REPAIRS. THE DEALER ASSUMES NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR ANY REPAIRS REGARDLESS OF ANY ORAL STATEMENTS MADE ABOUT THIS VEHICLE." The dealership has made every effort to assist Mr. ******* and we respectfully decline his desired resolution. If you have any further questions regarding this mater, feel free to contact me anytime at the number provided below in our response. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2015/05/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The night I received the car back it was acting okay seeing that I did not drive it far. The very next day, it was overheating and I called Jackson auto and they gave me the address to ****** *********** Upon my arrival, they did tell me I had to let the car cool down so I patiently waited inside my car with my wife. After a half a hour, a ****** employee came to the car told me to pop my hood and out antifreeze in it. Then he said that's all was wrong it needed antifreeze. After that I did not really drive it as much th a couple weeks later on a trip to see some family I noticed the same problem as before and I called Jackson and ******* they both gave me the run around saying I need to deal with Jackson or I need to deal with ******. And wanted to charge me 90$ to look at it again for something I feel like they didn't fix correctly. Even if I don't get my money back for something I'm getting fixed again plus more. I want all my fellow U.S. navy ship mates to know what I have been through with Jackson and ****** ! Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2015/05/27) */ Mr. *******'s claims are untrue. The ****** ********** employee he referenced did not make that statement because he was not allowed any time to diagnose the car by Mr. ******* himself. This information can be verified directly with ****** *********** Mr ******* was never, and has never been given the run around. In order to look at the vehicle it requires an appointment date, vehicle dropped off on said date, and allow the shop proper time to diagnose the car. No shop can diagnose a car chasing it down the road and Mr. ******* will not leave the car overnight with anyone to do so. It is impossible to help someone like Mr. ******* in this kind of situation. We have made every effort to arrange to have the car looked at but Mr. ******* will not make and keep an appointment. That being said, we have been in business for 54 years. Our reputation speaks to that longevity in the community. Our good faith efforts should not be dismissed by Mr. *******'s irresponsible behavior. We take our business and customers seriously. We have extended our hand to Mr. ******* over and over again. It is and has always been, our intent to assist him and we will continue to do so as long as he adheres to reasonable requirements made by our service department and ****** ************* service department with respect to appointment setting, keeping, and proper time allowance for diagnostics. Lastly, addressing Mr *******'s last sentence in his most recent response, we want it to be clear that the dealership will take legal action against him for any disparaging remarks made about this business, or it's employees, by Mr. ******* or someone on Mr. *******'s behalf. We will defend our business name and reputation, especially in this specific case.

3/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased 2002 RAV4 from Jack-son Auto Sales, salesman **** ****** 1/18/14 for $8,524.98. Had car warmed-up before test drive so it shifted fine. 60 miles from dealer stopped shifting & wouldn't go above 10 mph. Next day and following week wouldn't shift from 3rd to 4th gear cold. Called **** ****** 1/20/2014, to let them know. He had to speak with owner and ger back to me. Called me back and stated they would find a used transmission and install it at their cost. Have not heard back. Car warmed up indicates cover up od problem.

Desired Settlement: $3000 which is cost to install a remanufactured transmission. Used transmissions not available.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *********, GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@windycitycredit.com Mr. ******* came to our dealership to view, inspect, and purchase this vehicle. He said from the outset he was a service writer for a ****** dealership. His experience in product knowledge and expertise in that field was evident. Mr ******* on his own behalf, test drove and inspected the vehicle before negotiating a price. He made an offer to purchase the vehicle at a discounted price, we accepted, and he signed all dealership purchase paperwork, including the FTC Buyers Guide and dealership Bill of Sale, which clearly stated the vehicle is purchased AS_IS. Mr. ******* knew the terms of which it was bought and signed all of the paperwork stating so. Mr. ******* never asked to have the vehicle inspected by an independant third party during his time here or in any of his prior correspondence with our dealership. If any potential customer ever asked to do so, we always help in the arrangements and have done so thousands of times in our fifty three years in business. Given Mr. *******'s back ground, he, I'm sure, made the decision to inspect the vehicle himself and based on his findings, he chose to complete the transaction with us. Mr. ******* was offered to get our wholesale pricing for a used transmission replacement. We have been attempting to locate one, but we are finding they are scarce as well. This complaint came as a surprise to us since we are in the process to assist Mr. *******. We reject Mr. *******'s request for us to pay for any of his repairs since it was clear he purchased the vehicle AS_IS. Copies of the signed paperwork are available for review. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Unfortunately, this response does not change the fact I was sold a car that did not become undriveable in a matter of months or even days after purchase. It was this way the day my daughter drove it home, and has been the same way ever since, especially when cold. This transmission problem was covered up by the fact the car was running and warmed-up when we arrived, as the salesman knew we were coming and wanted us to "get in a toasty car". This car is for my daughter who was going to use it while away at college. I am thankful it didn't break down on the way to *** ******, WI on one of the recent sub-zero days. She is now driving my wife's car. My background as a Toyota service manager was also mentioned. One of my duties was overseeing the preparation of used cars before sale. If a problem like this would have happened the same day to one of our customers, we would have made it right, both for the customer and our reputation, regardless of state law. Jack-son mentioned being surprised by this complaint. They shouldn't be as they have left us in limbo regarding not being able to find a used transmission (that we were supposed to pay for), and have not contacted us regarding the status of a used transmission or an alternative resolution. Their response was the first status update on finding a used transmission we've had. Since Jack-son cannot find a used transmission, it is time for them to participate in the cost of the remanufactured transmission. Jack-son's BBB accreditation was one the reasons we chose to do business them with them. Is this type of behavior deserving of the A+ rating displayed on their website? I hope not, and hope they can make it right. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/03/03) */ Mr *******'s response has several untruths to it. One, we never, ever, offered to find and pay for a transmission at any time. Find yes, pay for, no. We offered to locate one and get him an estimate for our wholesale cost for the unit and installation. Second the car was not warmed up for the purpose of concealing any issue, MECHANICAL OR OTHERWISE. It was pulled up to the showroom as a courtesy to the customers so they would not have to walk out on the snow and ice half way across our property for the test drive. At no time did Mr. ******* indicate to Mr. ******* myself, or anyone else at this dealership that getting him our wholesale price was an issue for him. He had the the time and opportunity to have the vehicle inspected prior to purchase, chose not to do so, and needs to accept responsibility for that. Furthermore he bought the vehicle as is, signed documentation that he understood he was buying the vehicle that way, yet he still chose to complete the transaction. The FTC Buyer Guide that Mr. ******* sign clearly states " YOU WILL PAY ALL COSTS FOR ANY REPAIRS. The dealer assumes no responsibility for any repairs regardless of any oral statements made." The "Bill Of Sale" Mr. ******* signed also clearly states, "THIS MOTOR VEHICLE IS SOLD AS IS WITH ALL FAULTS SEEN OR UNSEEN WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EITHER EXPRESSED OR IMPLIED. THE PURCHASER WILL BEAR ENTIRE EXPENSE OF REPAIRING OR CORRECTING ANY DEFECTS THAT PRESENTLY EXIST OR THAT MAY OCCUR IN THE VEHICLE." The "Bill Of Sale" also states " I ACKNOWLEDGE THAT I HAVE READ THE TERMS OF THIS ORDER AND THAT I HAVE RECEIVED A COPY OF THIS ORDER AND AGREE TO IT AS PART OF THIS ORDER THE SAME AS IF IT WERE PRINTED ABOVE MY SIGNATURE." Bottom line, we reject Mr. *******'s request. Mr. ******* needs to accept responsibility for the terms and conditions under which he purchased this vehicle and signed for. Mr. ******* has the option of using us to help locate a used wholesale priced transmission and get our wholesale pricing for installation as well. That is our offer that has been on the table this whole time. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/03/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The proposed resolution is a hollow one as Jack-son has not contacted me once regarding the status of as used transmission as they said they would. Actions speak much louder than words. The bottom line still is the fact I was sold a car that didn't even make it home the day I bought it, with no action or effort to make things right on Jack-son's part. Again, actions speak much louder than words. I hope at the very least my complaint is used by the BBB to inform other buyers of this dealer's practices, and that Jack-son is not deserving of the A+ rating they promote on their website, and that we used when considering where to buy a car.

4/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service