BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J. D. Byrider & CNAC(Car Now Acceptance Company) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J. D. Byrider & CNAC(Car Now Acceptance Company) include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J. D. Byrider & CNAC(Car Now Acceptance Company)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 06, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1998 Business started locally: 01/01/1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Burgstone, Owner Mr. Jeff Caceres Mr. Ted Lehman, General Manger Mr. Matt Wulber, Consumer Affairs Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Burgstone, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Matt Wulber, Consumer Affairs Operations Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Auto Dealers - New Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Alternate Business Names
Auto Resources -Glendale Heights Auto Resources, Inc. JD Byrider - Glendale Heights

Additional Locations

  • 800 North Ave

    Glendale Heights, IL 60139 (630) 403-3800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I buy a 2005 Hyundai sonata with 96,000 they wanted more for what the car is worth I was only 10days late on the car payment then they came and report the car I had a friend that was going to pay for it with her credit card for me then the dealer told her that we to not take a credit card for car payment.but I have payed with my bank card for over a year and a half I told the .the why do u still have a sign on the Window showing a Discover credit there are so many claims about this company something need to be done

Desired Settlement: So good people like me do not go through is problem again

Business Response:

In the case of Raymond ******, we have reviewed this matter with the full cooperation of the J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise in question.  Mr. ****** is upset regarding his account.

Mr. ****** purchased a 2005 Hyundai Sonata on May 8, 2014 from the J.D. Byrider franchise located in Glendale Heights, IL.  Records indicate that Mr. ****** fell behind on his contractually obligated bi-weekly payments.  After unsuccessfully attempting to bring the account current with Mr. ****** and with no definitive payment arrangements, CNAC deemed his vehicle eligible for repossession.   Per management, Mr. ******’s vehicle was repossessed on October 19, 2015. Mr. ****** then notified CNAC that he intended on redeeming the vehicle, however, he failed to do so.  The vehicle will be set for sale at auction and once sold, the proceeds will be applied to his account all according to proper procedures.  Mr. ****** should be aware that he will still be responsible for the remaining deficiency balance, as outlined in the Retail Installment Contract and Security Agreement signed at the time of purchase.  

J.D. Byrider strives to achieve the satisfaction of each and every customer.  The J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise was sorry to learn of Mr. ******’s dissatisfaction as expressed in his complaint to your office.  If Mr. ****** has any further questions or concerns regarding his account, it is recommended that he contact CNAC management directly at 630-403-3900.

Thanks,

J.D. Byrider/CNAC Customer Service

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

Raymond ******

4/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Notifies them that payment would be 2 days late due to switching Jobs they threatened to repo my car called me numerous times and were very rude called me on a Sunday while I was at work threatening me. Very rude and harrasing me.

Desired Settlement: Want out of my loan

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/16) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Service Contact Email: ***************@*********.com In the case of **** *******, we have reviewed this matter with the full cooperation of the company-owned **** ************ in question. Ms. ******* is upset regarding her account. As a result, she would like to be let out of her contract. Ms. ******* purchased a 2006 ********* ******* on February 26, 2015 from the company-owned **** ******* located in ************* *** Account notes show that Ms. ******* became delinquent with her agreed upon payment schedule. In the event that a customer becomes delinquent, **** will call the customer at their primary phone number to remind them of the missed payment. If the customer is unreachable at their primary number, **** will utilize the remaining contact numbers in an attempt to get a message to the customer and establish a line of communication. Please understand that it is the goal of **** to help customers successfully maintain their account through consistent, on-time payments. The company-owned **** apologizes if Ms. ******* felt these calls were unnecessary, however, these calls were only made in an attempt to assist Ms. ******* with her account. The company-owned **** abides by all state and federal regulations, and denies any wrongdoing in their collection practices. **** Byrider strives to achieve the satisfaction of each and every customer. The company-owned **** ************ was sorry to learn of Ms. *******'s dissatisfaction as expressed in her complaint to your office. Nevertheless, the company-owned **** ************ is unable to adhere to Ms. *******'s requested resolution to let her out of her contract. The company-owned **** ************ will continue to accommodate Ms. ******* to the best of their abilities, and hopes to move forward amicably in their relationship with her. Thanks, **** ************ Customer Service Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I just need my payment date changed by 2 days so my payments don't continuously seem like they are late. Like I stated above i recently changed jobs Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/04/17) */ At this time, it is recommended that Ms. ******* contact **** management directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX to discuss her account. Thanks, **** ************ Customer Service Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/04/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did that and they said they were unable to change payment date threatened to repo my car once more. People were very rude I don't understand why my payment date can't be changed by 2 days. Maybe I should just contact an attorney. This is all just beyond ridiculous to me

4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The 2004 dodge stratus was involved in an accident it ws total out .The insurance paid the price of the car at the time of the accident,which left me with a $1,000.00 balance JD Byrider bargin with me and put me in another car 2006 chryler Sebring with another down payment of a $1,000.00 which the included the $1,000.00 from the uncovered amount from the insurance.Iam now stuck at 21% on 410,495.00 at $360.55 from 1/1/2014 for period of 44 Months. This is awful I need help please

Desired Settlement: I need the loan to be re-financed at lower rate that would help me some

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/18) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Service Contact Email: ***************@jdbyrider.com In the case of ******** *******, we have investigated this matter with the full cooperation of the J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise in question. Ms. ******* is upset regarding the interest rate on her account. As a result, she is requesting for the interest rate to be reduced. Ms. ******* purchased a 2006 Chrysler Sebring on October 21, 2013 from the J.D. Byrider franchise located in Glendale Heights, IL. Prior to purchase, Ms. ******* went through a closing procedure where every area of the contract was explained in thorough detail. Once Ms. ******* stated that she understood all parts of the contract, including the final financed price of the vehicle and interest rate applied, she was then asked to sign her name to the contract signifying she agreed to honor it. Please note that all terms and conditions were fully disclosed to Ms. ******* prior to executing the Retail Installment Contract and Security Agreement with the **** franchise. J.D. Byrider strives to achieve the satisfaction of each and every customer. The J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise was sorry to learn of Ms. *******'s dissatisfaction as expressed in her complaint to your office. Nevertheless, the CNAC franchise is unable to adhere to Ms. *******'s requested resolution to reduce her interest rate. The J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise will continue to accommodate Ms. ******* to the best of their abilities, and hopes to move forward amicably in their relationship with her. Thanks, J.D. Byrider/CNAC Customer Service

10/27/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WENT TO ****** TO TRIED TO TRADE IN MY 2007 FORD FOCUS WAGON TO FIND OUT THE CAR HAD BEEN INVOLVED IN A ACCIDENT THAT CAUSE UNIBODY DAMAGE ** CHARGED ME 11000 DOLLARS FOR THE SALVAGED CAR AND ITS ONLY WORTH 1500 THEY DIDNT TELL ME THIS WHILE I WAS BUYING THE VEHICLE.THIS WAS NOT AN AS IS SALE AS THEY HAVE WARRANTED THE CAR FOR 36MONTH IT ALSO HAS A QUESTIONABLE TITLE IVE HAD THE CAR FOR TWO YEARS NEVER MISSED A PAYMENT OR BEEN LATE THERE IS ALSO A POSSIBILITY THAT THE SPEEDOMETER HAS BEEN ROLLED BACK IVE PAID ALMOST 3597.09 FOR THE VEHICLE I FEEL LIKE IVE BEEN DECIEVED BECAUSE THE HAVE A 100% SATISFACTION GUARANTEE POLICY.. I JUST WANT A SAFE CAR I HAVE TWO KIDS I RIDE AROUND ALL DAY!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: MY DOWN PAYMENT 0F 1500 DOLLARS MY TITLE, LICENSE AND REGISTRATION FEE,VEHICLE TAXES FINANCE CHARGES, AND MY CAR PAYMENTS BACK FOR THE TIME IVE HAD THE VEHICLE

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/14) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Service Contact Email: ***************@jdbyrider.com In the case of ****** ********, we have investigated this matter with the full cooperation of the J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise in question. Mrs. ******** is upset regarding her vehicle/account. As a result, she would like a refund. ******* ******** purchased a 2007 Ford Focus on December 10, 2012 from the J.D. Byrider franchise located in Glendale Heights, IL. ****** ******** is listed as the co-buyer on the account. At the time of purchase, they were provided with a ****** title check report dated October 15, 2012. At that time, the ****** title check found no indication of any unibody damage. When presented to Mr. and Mrs. ********, the J.D. Byrider franchise offered the vehicle for sale in good faith based on the information provided in the ****** title check report. Please find attached a copy of the ****** title check report provided at the time of purchase, as well as a copy of the current ****** report dated October 13, 2014. J.D. Byrider strives to achieve the satisfaction of each and every customer. The J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise was sorry to learn of Mrs. ********'s dissatisfaction as expressed in her complaint to your office. Since filing the complaint, the J.D. Byrider franchise has reached out to Mrs. ******** in an effort to assist her with her concerns. Mrs. ******** recently visited the Glendale Heights location and management reviewed the ****** reports with her in-person. In a show of goodwill towards Mrs. ******** and in the spirit of customer service, management has agreed to help her on a payoff if she decides to trade the vehicle in at another dealership. The J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise will continue to accommodate Mr. and Mrs. ******** to the best of their abilities, and hopes to move forward amicably in their relationship with them. Thanks, J.D. Byrider/CNAC Customer Service

6/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I want to know why I am only paying intersest since October 2013 and nothing on my principle I even put $3000 down that should have came off the principle.

Desired Settlement: I want either a refund or something taken off the principle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ********** - director cna Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@wicnac.com We have left messages to speak to customer. Please have him contact ********** at CNAC to discuss his account. All payments are posted per the retail installment contract. We would be happy to send customer payment ledger. Please contact us if additional questions. Thanks you.

2/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MY COMPLAINT INVOLVES THE USE OF HARRASSMENT FROM THE FINANCE DEPARTMENT. I WAS LATE 3 DAYS, AND THE COMPANY WAS NOTIFIED OF THIS IN ADVANCE. THE LATE PAYMENT IS DUE TO AN UNAUTHORIZED TRANSACTION WHICH TOOK PLACE ON MY ACCOUNT AND IS PENDING INVESTIGATION. PROOF OF THIS INVESTIGATION WAS SENT TO THEM VIA FAX AND RECEIVED BY ***** DESPITE HAVING PROOF OF THE INVESTIGATION, CNAC CONTINUES TO HARRASS ME BY TELEPHONE AND THREATEN ME WITH CREDIT REPORTING AND REPOSSESION. THEY INSIST I BORROW FROM SOMEONE. THEY ARE HARRASSING ME FOR A 3 DAY LATE PAYMENT WHICH IS DUE TO EXTENUATING CIRCUMSTANCES. THEY SHOWED NO EMPATHY AND CONTINUE TO STRESS ME OUT AND TALK RUDE TO ME.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I WANT TO TURN IN MY CAR AND SEVER TIES WITH JD BYRIDER/CNAC. WHILE I DID SIGN A CONTRACT, I CANNOT ENDURE SUCH FREQUENT (BIWEEKLY) HARRASSMENT FOR 3 MORE YEARS.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/07) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Service Contact Email: ***************@jdbyrider.com In the case of ******* ****, we have investigated this matter with the full cooperation of the J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise in question. Mr. **** alleges he received harassing phone calls from CNAC regarding his account. As a result, he would like to return his vehicle and have his contract cancelled. Mr. **** purchased a 2004 Jeep Liberty on September 5, 2013 from the J.D. Byrider franchise located in Glendale Heights, IL. On January 27, 2014 Mr. **** called CNAC to notify them that he would not be able to make his bi-weekly payment because his bank account had been frozen, due to an unauthorized transaction. He also stated that he would regain access to the account on Friday, January 31, 2014. As a gesture of goodwill, the CNAC franchise agreed to hold his account until then, in an effort to assist Mr. **** through this unfortunate situation. Mr. **** then contacted the CNAC franchise on Friday, January 31, 2014 stating that his account was still frozen and that it could take up to 30 days before he could submit payment. Although the CNAC franchise empathized with his situation, holding the account for such an extended amount of time was not a viable option. Subsequently, contact efforts were made to Mr. **** in an attempt to discuss when the payment would be made. The CNAC franchise apologizes if Mr. **** felt this was unnecessary, but these calls are made only in an attempt to keep the account current and progress him towards the successful completion of his loan. The CNAC franchise denies any allegations of threatening to repossess Mr. ****'s vehicle. Records indicate that Mr. **** successfully submitted his payment on January 31, 2014, therefore bringing his account current. J.D. Byrider strives to achieve the satisfaction of each and every customer. The J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise was sorry to learn of Mr. ****'s dissatisfaction as expressed in his complaint to your office. Unfortunately, the J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise is unable to adhere to Mr. ****'s request to accept the return of his vehicle and cancel the contract. Mr. **** **** be expected to fulfill his contractual obligations as agreed upon at the time of sale. The J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise **** continue to accommodate Mr. **** to the best of their abilities, and hope to move forward amicably in their relationship with him. Thanks, J.D. Byrider/CNAC Customer Service Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Its their word against mine that threats were made or not made. The truth is that because of their communications, i was over come with dredd and anxiety that i did not anticipate. I had to embarrass myselc and borrow money from my boss. I told them the timeframe was up to 30 days but that it would be alot sooner because there arent anyichecks outstanding, only pending card transactions. I complied with their request to provide bank documentation, however, the effort was made in vain as it didn't help the situation despite their insistence at the offset that it would. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/10) */ At this time, the position of the J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise has not changed. Mr. **** **** be expected to fulfill his contractual obligations as agreed upon at the time of sale. The J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise **** continue to accommodate Mr. **** to the best of their abilities, and hope to move forward amicably in their relationship with him. Thanks, J.D. Byrider/CNAC Customer Service

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i purchased a car from them in ******f 2013, considering that they told me they helped rebuild credit, and made it seem as if they were such a good company, and if i was ever late to communicate with them. on october XX XXXX i filed chapter 13 bankruptcy and on oct XX XXXX they repossessed my car, i called them on the morning of ********** the lady on the phone called me an idiot and told me i was irresponsible for not paying my payments and told me that i couldn't get my car back, but thank god for chapter 13 because thats the only way i will be able to get my car back, and won't have to deal with this company any more, i expressed to them several times why i wasn't able to make a payment, i even had a payment plan to make a payment on the vehicle next week even though i was in chapter 13 i don't have to pay on it but they claim they didn't get the papers, so i spoke with my attorney and he referred me to some where else because he said i can file a lawsuit against them and i will be doing just that. these people at **** aren't professional at all, and they supposed to be the corporate store?? seems like a circus to me. i should've went with my first mind and got a brand new car with the same monthly payment but it was a car that i didn't want. now i will be filing a lawsuit against these people, and I'm filing a complaint with the attorney general these people need to be SHUT DOWN!!! don't promise to help rebuild peoples credit than when they miss 2 BI WEEKLY payments you won't give them they're car back thats damaging people's credit, and they also sent me several threating text messages and harassing me.

Desired Settlement: i won't my car back, even if they don't give it back i will get it back through my chapter 13 plan, and they need to compensate me for lost wages.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/30) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Service Contact Email: ***************@jdbyrider.com In the case of ******** *******, we have investigated this matter with the full cooperation of the J.D. Byrider franchise in question. Mr. ******* alleges he was treated unfairly regarding his account/vehicle. As a result, he would like his vehicle returned to him and to be compensated for lost wages. Mr. ******* purchased a **** ********* ****** on **** *** 2013 from the J.D. Byrider franchise located in Glendale Heights, IL. Shortly after purchasing, Mr. ******* fell behind on his contractually obligated payments. At that time, the J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise offered to sit down with Mr. ******* and discuss his account. A meeting was scheduled, but Mr. ******* failed to show despite confirming earlier that day. Following the missed meeting, Mr. ******* notified the J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise that he intended on filing Chapter 13 bankruptcy. When asked to provide proof of the bankruptcy, Mr. ******* stated that he would provide the necessary information in a timely manner. However, the J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise never received the required bankruptcy information from Mr. *******. The J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise would like to remind Mr. ******* that it is his responsibility to provide the required bankruptcy filing documentation. Given Mr. *******'s account delinquency and failure to provide the required bankruptcy documentation, the CNAC franchise deemed his vehicle eligible for repossession. On ******* 29, 2013 Mr. *******'s vehicle was repossessed. At this time, the J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise believes a mutual release would be the best course of action. Once executed, this agreement would release both parties from any further claims related to this transaction. J.D. Byrider strives to achieve the satisfaction of each and every customer. The J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise was sorry to learn of Mr. *******'s dissatisfaction as expressed in his complaint to your office. However, the J.D. Byrider franchise is unable to return the vehicle to Mr. ******* nor compensate him for his claim of lost wages. Management recommends Mr. ******* contact them at his earliest convenience in order to schedule a time to execute the mutual release agreement. The J.D. Byrider/CNAC franchise looks forward to hearing from Mr. *******. Thanks, J.D. Byrider Customer Service Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/11/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Like i previously stated they will be getting the chapter 13 papers to get the vehicle back and pay the car off through my chapter 13 plan, therefore i wont have to do bussiness with this pathetic company Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/07) */ At this time, the position of the J.D. Byrider franchise has not changed. The J.D. Byrider franchise is unable to return the vehicle to Mr. ******* nor compensate him for his claim of lost wages. Management recommends Mr. ******* contact them at his earliest convenience in order to schedule a time to execute the mutual release agreement. Thanks, J.D. Byrider Customer Service

5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service