BBB Accredited Business since

Howard Buick GMC

Phone: (630) 614-1032 View Additional Phone Numbers 364 W Grand Ave, Elmhurst, IL 60126

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Howard Buick GMC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Howard Buick GMC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Howard Buick GMC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 14, 2011 Business started: 09/17/1964 Business started locally: 09/17/1964 Business incorporated 09/17/1964 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Steve Zazove, President
Contact Information
Principal: Steve Zazove, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Howard Buick GMC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 364 W Grand Ave

    Elmhurst, IL 60126 (847) 476-5173 (630) 614-1032


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/31/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car started to make noises so I take it in and find out some bolts have come off causing problems with my transfer case. Warranty inspector comes out they deny my claim to the tune of 3600.00 of repairs looking for any excuse not cover repairs I've looked up warranty company to find they are SCAM artists and just don't want to pay. Contacted dealership with my problem from this piece of sh**t warranty they sold me and no one will help me so I am stuck with all this to figure out and will screw my credit up again because I don't have this type of money

Desired Settlement: Fix my car

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***** June 10, 2014 Attn: ****** Drew Better Business Bureau 330 N Wabash, Suite 2006 Chicago, Il. XXXXX RE: ***** ********** Case # XXXXXXXXX Dear Rhonda Drew, I have read the complaint. Mrs. ********** stated in her complaint that the vehicle just started to make noise. This would be approximately 6000 miles since the vehicle left our dealership. No one really knows when this bolt fell off the transfer case. Never the less the agent that handles our account persuaded the warranty company and between the warranty company and the agent, they have agreed to cover two thirds of the bill. The customer will have to pay the other third. Sincerely, ***** ********* General Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) **** the guy that sold me the warranty was awesome getting warranty company to pay some of the cost. No one else at this dealership offered to do anything and remainder of the cost should have been paid by dealership but I'm out 1200.00, I guess they don't stand behind their vehicles their selling people.Consumers should have vehicles thoroughly checked before buying from Howard Buick GMC because I don't think they really check. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/23) */ June 23, 2014 Attn: ****** **** Better Business Bureau 330 N Wabash, Suite 2006 Chicago, Il. XXXXX RE: ***** ********** Case # XXXXXXXXX Dear ****** ****, Through no fault of the dealership, the vehicle ran fine for around 6000 miles before it acted up as stated by Mrs. ********** in her original letter. I just want to make this perfectly clear. With that said Howard Auto Group will be willing to refund half of what ************* paid the dealership for that repair. If I can receive the original paid bill showing what ***** paid, I will send out her check. Please make sure that it is an original bill not a photo copy. Sincerely, ***** ********* General Manager

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: August XX XXXX I purchased 2012 Volkswagen jetta from Howard Buick gmc. I was told by the salesmen this is a used vehicle and that it had only 33,000 miles on it. I proceeded with financing the vehicle and took upon ownership of the car. I was told by the finance department that this vehicle has a 3yr warranty under the manufacture separate from the dealer. Well 2 1/2 to 3 months in the vehicle was having some problems with the left tire on the driver side which caused the wheel and the steering wheel to shake when accelerating to higher speeds. Well I brought it in September into the dealer I purchased it from and they claimed that the problem was resolved. 2 1/2 months later my tires started acting up I took it to discount tires was told I had bad tread on my tires they look like they where worn down prior to me purchasing the vehicle. So I had to pay for to front new tires. Vehicle still having that shaking on left side where they supposedly fixed it. I took it to another mechanic and they told me the rim of the tire was bent and had been for quite some time. Which is what the dealer told me they fixed. And now my vehicle service light is coming on saying I need service for my car and I just purchased it 3months ago I just want my vehicle thoroughly inspected no charge to me and and a refund for my tires. Product_Or_Service: Car

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I will like a full refund of the tires I had to purchase for the amount of $216.29 and my vehicle to be serviced without me being charged to make sure my vehicle is ok and not a lemon.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/07) */ Contact Name and Title: Jack ******* Service Dire Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX X 249 Contact Email: **** Ms. ********** purchased her vehicle on X-XX-XXXX with approx XXXXX miles on it. Based on our service history she is puting approx. 2000 mile per month on the vehicle. That puts the vehicle at approx 40,000 miles when tires needed replacement. This is normal. When sold with 33,000 miles we would not have replaced tires with almost 20% of the life of tire still good. At 33,000 mile she was still under manufacturer warranty for the remainder of 36 mos/36,000 mile warranty. We would be more than happy to perform an inspection on the vehicle at no charge to her. However we will not be able to reimburse for tires due to the mileage driven since purchase. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/01/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The character of the dealer and how they deal with issues and what they sell I will never buy anything from and will never recommend some one going to them. And it's not covered by Volkswagen they told me to go back to the dealer I brought it from which is Howard Buick. I no longer want anything to do with this dealer very disappointed the type of business people they are. I don't want to come to your facility I want to take my car to a Volkswagen dealer I don't want to have no dealings with you guys at all. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/01/20) */ In response to Ms. **********'s issues ON 9-16 the vehicle had XXXXX miles on 11-15 it had XXXXX.That is actually 1625 miles per month. On 11-15 the vehicle was out of warranty due to mileage. The manufacturer warranty is 3yrs OR XXXXX miles from original owner's purchase date. Even if it was under warranty tires would not be covered. Either would be a bent wheel as the warranty only covers manufacturer defects. This warranty would only be from a Volkswagen dealership also. Since the tires were good when the vehicle was sold AND the customer drove the car for 3250 miles we will be unable to refund the price of the tires. The offer for a FREE multi-point inspection to make sure everything is ok at this time still applies. Thank you for your time in helping resolve this issue.

11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Oct.15,2013 I went to Howard Buick to cancel an extened warranty.I saw **** in Finance.He filled out the form and faxed it to ************** and gave me a copy.I was told I would get credit in 7-10 days.I called ************** on Oct.28,2013.They say they have not received the paper work.The warranty cost $1095.00

Desired Settlement: I want $1095.00 credited to my finance co.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* (GM) Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***** November 12, 2013 Attn: ****** **** Better Business Bureau 330 N Wabash, Suite 2006 Chicago, Il. XXXXX RE: ******* ********* Case # XXXXXXXX Dear ****** **** I have read the complaint, and I spoke to our finance director and he informed me that the cancellation date is 10/15/2013 he resubmitted the cancellation request again. Mr.********* finance company should receive the credit in the very near future. Sorry for any inconvenience that we may of caused our customer. Sincerely, ***** ********* General Manager

1/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service