Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Howard Buick GMC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Howard Buick GMC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Howard Buick GMC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 14, 2011 Business started: 09/17/1964 in IL Business started locally: 09/17/1964 Business incorporated 09/17/1964 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Zazove, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Zazove, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Products & Services

Howard Buick GMC sells the following brand(s): Buick and GMC

Alternate Business Names
Howard Auto Group, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Howard Buick GMC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 364 W Grand Ave

    Elmhurst, IL 60126 (888) 408-3323

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November we went to Howard Buick to Purchase a car, Because we had receive a letter from them telling us we can buy a car even if we file for Bankruptcy. so we went they show us some cars we got a 2013 ***** ****** 32000 miles we was approve. we did the paper work and everything.and was told what to tell the finance co when they call. we didn't do a trade in because we were turning our car back to the finance co. it was a 2014 ****. **** with 11000 miles. we just wanted a bigger car. we had the car for a hold week i deed talk to the finance co when they call they ask me question i answer them. well on Monday 11/30/2015 i get a call from Howard Buick telling me to bring them the car so they can put a tracker on it. I ask them why he told me so if i don't pay the bill they will know where the car is. I told them that i could not bring it to them because mu husband had just had back surgery. so he told me that he would send some one to pick it up and bring it back that night. well the person who pick up the car told me that it was coming back that night because the service dept. was at 6 pm. I get a call at 9:45 at night telling me that the car wont be coming back that night because it was having eltricial problems . I told the lady who name was ******* that i had just got out the car it was running fine. so i call the next morning about the car to the service dept. and they did't have any record of it. I kept calling asking for ***** who sold us the car. i call so much I ask to talk to a manager. I told him if the car was having problems i don't want it. He said ok. i"ll tell *****. we left our car with them and sent it back. and now we don't have the car. they should kept tell they had it Finance. They didn't even ask if we wanted another car. Plus we did't get out battery charger back. ******* told me she had put it under the desk. then change her story to a car phone charger.

Desired Settlement: for them to pay to get our car back.

Business Response:

January 5, 2016

Better Business Bureau

330 N Wabash, Suite 2006

Chicago, Il. 60611

RE: ******* ******

Case # ********       

I have read the complaint. The issue at this point is that Mr. ****** needs to returns back to work full time status, and that he can prove that he works forty hours a week. Once he returns back to work the finance company will approve the loan as long as he doesn’t have any other credit issues. With regards to their previous vehicle which was returned to the bank they could try to contact the bank that carried the loan and see if they can redeem the vehicle.

Sincerely,

***** *********

General Manager

Business Response:

Once again, it was unfortunate that Mr. ****** got hurt on his job, and the bank tried to verify after the fact. It is my understanding that he should be returning back to work in the very near future. Again we will be able to get you financed. I wish we can do more for you, but at this time we can’t.

*****


Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

******* ******

12/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/21/15 we traded in a 2011 kia sportage for a 2013 buick Acadia. It is now 12/14/15 and they have not payed off the balance of the trade-in as payments for it are still being deducted from my account. Payment of $425.00 was deducted from my checking account on 12/14/2015 for the 2011 Kia Sportage I traded in on 11/21/2015

Desired Settlement: Refund of $425.00 (Monthly Car Payment for Trade-in) or apply $425.00 credit to Lien Holder of 2013 GMC Acadia.

Business Response:

tHE PAYOFF CHECK WAS CUT ON 12/1/15 AND MAILED AFTER THAT. I AM SURE THAT KIA WILL CASH IT SOON IF THEY ALREADY HAVE NOT AND WILL HAVE AN OVERPAYMENT ON THE ACCOUNT IF A PAYMENT WAS DEDUCTED FROM THEIR ACCOUNT SINCE WE GOT THE PAYOFF AMOUNT. KIA MOTORS SHOULD SEND THE OVERPAYMENT BACK TO SHAWN STEPHENS.

 

ONCE THE ACCOUNT IS PAID IF THEY NEED HELP IN GETTING THE MONEY RETURNED FROM KIA PLEAS CALL THE DEALERSHIP AND WE WILL ASSIST IN ANY WAY WE CAN. ASK FOR JEFF GLICKSMAN IF YOU CALL AND NEED ASSISTANCE.

 

THIS DOES HAPPEN OCCASIONALLY WHEN PAYMENTS ARE SETUP FOR AUTO PAYMENT. I APOLOGIZE FOR THE CONFUSION.

8/31/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car started to make noises so I take it in and find out some bolts have come off causing problems with my transfer case. Warranty inspector comes out they deny my claim to the tune of 3600.00 of repairs looking for any excuse not cover repairs I've looked up warranty company to find they are SCAM artists and just don't want to pay. Contacted dealership with my problem from this piece of sh**t warranty they sold me and no one will help me so I am stuck with all this to figure out and will screw my credit up again because I don't have this type of money

Desired Settlement: Fix my car

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@howardautogroup.com June 10, 2014 Attn: ****** Drew Better Business Bureau 330 N Wabash, Suite 2006 Chicago, Il. XXXXX RE: ***** ********** Case # XXXXXXXXX Dear Rhonda Drew, I have read the complaint. Mrs. ********** stated in her complaint that the vehicle just started to make noise. This would be approximately 6000 miles since the vehicle left our dealership. No one really knows when this bolt fell off the transfer case. Never the less the agent that handles our account persuaded the warranty company and between the warranty company and the agent, they have agreed to cover two thirds of the bill. The customer will have to pay the other third. Sincerely, ***** ********* General Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) **** the guy that sold me the warranty was awesome getting warranty company to pay some of the cost. No one else at this dealership offered to do anything and remainder of the cost should have been paid by dealership but I'm out 1200.00, I guess they don't stand behind their vehicles their selling people.Consumers should have vehicles thoroughly checked before buying from Howard Buick GMC because I don't think they really check. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/23) */ June 23, 2014 Attn: ****** **** Better Business Bureau 330 N Wabash, Suite 2006 Chicago, Il. XXXXX RE: ***** ********** Case # XXXXXXXXX Dear ****** ****, Through no fault of the dealership, the vehicle ran fine for around 6000 miles before it acted up as stated by Mrs. ********** in her original letter. I just want to make this perfectly clear. With that said Howard Auto Group will be willing to refund half of what ************* paid the dealership for that repair. If I can receive the original paid bill showing what ***** paid, I will send out her check. Please make sure that it is an original bill not a photo copy. Sincerely, ***** ********* General Manager

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: August XX XXXX I purchased 2012 Volkswagen jetta from Howard Buick gmc. I was told by the salesmen this is a used vehicle and that it had only 33,000 miles on it. I proceeded with financing the vehicle and took upon ownership of the car. I was told by the finance department that this vehicle has a 3yr warranty under the manufacture separate from the dealer. Well 2 1/2 to 3 months in the vehicle was having some problems with the left tire on the driver side which caused the wheel and the steering wheel to shake when accelerating to higher speeds. Well I brought it in September into the dealer I purchased it from and they claimed that the problem was resolved. 2 1/2 months later my tires started acting up I took it to discount tires was told I had bad tread on my tires they look like they where worn down prior to me purchasing the vehicle. So I had to pay for to front new tires. Vehicle still having that shaking on left side where they supposedly fixed it. I took it to another mechanic and they told me the rim of the tire was bent and had been for quite some time. Which is what the dealer told me they fixed. And now my vehicle service light is coming on saying I need service for my car and I just purchased it 3months ago I just want my vehicle thoroughly inspected no charge to me and and a refund for my tires. Product_Or_Service: Car

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I will like a full refund of the tires I had to purchase for the amount of $216.29 and my vehicle to be serviced without me being charged to make sure my vehicle is ok and not a lemon.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/07) */ Contact Name and Title: Jack ******* Service Dire Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX X 249 Contact Email: ****@howardautogroup.com Ms. ********** purchased her vehicle on X-XX-XXXX with approx XXXXX miles on it. Based on our service history she is puting approx. 2000 mile per month on the vehicle. That puts the vehicle at approx 40,000 miles when tires needed replacement. This is normal. When sold with 33,000 miles we would not have replaced tires with almost 20% of the life of tire still good. At 33,000 mile she was still under manufacturer warranty for the remainder of 36 mos/36,000 mile warranty. We would be more than happy to perform an inspection on the vehicle at no charge to her. However we will not be able to reimburse for tires due to the mileage driven since purchase. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/01/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The character of the dealer and how they deal with issues and what they sell I will never buy anything from and will never recommend some one going to them. And it's not covered by Volkswagen they told me to go back to the dealer I brought it from which is Howard Buick. I no longer want anything to do with this dealer very disappointed the type of business people they are. I don't want to come to your facility I want to take my car to a Volkswagen dealer I don't want to have no dealings with you guys at all. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/01/20) */ In response to Ms. **********'s issues ON 9-16 the vehicle had XXXXX miles on 11-15 it had XXXXX.That is actually 1625 miles per month. On 11-15 the vehicle was out of warranty due to mileage. The manufacturer warranty is 3yrs OR XXXXX miles from original owner's purchase date. Even if it was under warranty tires would not be covered. Either would be a bent wheel as the warranty only covers manufacturer defects. This warranty would only be from a Volkswagen dealership also. Since the tires were good when the vehicle was sold AND the customer drove the car for 3250 miles we will be unable to refund the price of the tires. The offer for a FREE multi-point inspection to make sure everything is ok at this time still applies. Thank you for your time in helping resolve this issue.

11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Oct.15,2013 I went to Howard Buick to cancel an extened warranty.I saw **** in Finance.He filled out the form and faxed it to ************** and gave me a copy.I was told I would get credit in 7-10 days.I called ************** on Oct.28,2013.They say they have not received the paper work.The warranty cost $1095.00

Desired Settlement: I want $1095.00 credited to my finance co.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* (GM) Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@howardautogroup.com November 12, 2013 Attn: ****** **** Better Business Bureau 330 N Wabash, Suite 2006 Chicago, Il. XXXXX RE: ******* ********* Case # XXXXXXXX Dear ****** **** I have read the complaint, and I spoke to our finance director and he informed me that the cancellation date is 10/15/2013 he resubmitted the cancellation request again. Mr.********* finance company should receive the credit in the very near future. Sorry for any inconvenience that we may of caused our customer. Sincerely, ***** ********* General Manager


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Howard Buick GMC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart