Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Gresty Auto Sales

Phone: (815) 633-2266 Fax: (815) 633-2698 2080 Harlem Rd, Loves Park, IL 61111 http://www.grestyautosales.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gresty Auto Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gresty Auto Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gresty Auto Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 07, 2008 Business started: 12/01/1999 Business started locally: 12/01/1999
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Rich L. Gresty, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rich L. Gresty, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)


Additional Locations

  • 2080 Harlem Rd

    Loves Park, IL 61111 (815) 633-2266

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Customer service there is HORRIBLE. Have had nothing but problems with the car. Had to put in a new battery day after I purchased it. After 2 months the so called new motor that was put in and it blew up. $1500 out of my pocket to repair everything and put in a new motor. Left numerous messages for owner **** refused to return any of my call until my payment finally went past due. Then offered me $200 saying that he gave me a deal and he didn't not make that much money off of the car in the first place. I paid what they were asking for the car. He office staff when I would tell them about all the problems told me to quit whining. I have bought 2 cars from them and recommended numerous people to them. NEVER AGAIN.

Desired Settlement: I don't think $200 is fair. But there is nothing I can do except compalin.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Manager Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: ***********@hotmail.com We at ****** auto sale purchased a 2001 chevy monte carlo vin #*******KXXXXXXXXX on 11/07/2012 from the ******* ******** **** ******** After a inspection of the car was done we had found that the 3800 engine had a rod knock . On X-XX-XXXX we towed the 2001 Monte Carlo over to ********'s ********** in ***** **** IL. Where the used motor was to be installed. There was a 90 day warranty on this engine starting from the day we , Gresty Auto Sales, purchased it from *** **** parts in ******** IL. On 4-16-2013 **** ****** purchased the 2001 Monte Carlo from Us at Gresty Auto Sales, we sold the car for $5495.00 and car was listed for $5995.00 we gave **** a break on the price due to the fact he has bought many cars from us. **** made payments like he should I will attach ledger card however the last payment made was on 06/19/2013 we did not hear from chard for till we called and left a voicemail on X-XX-XXXX almost a month late. That's when **** had told us about the motor blowing up on him and told us that he had found a used one for 400$ then he asked to talk to **** ******, owner of Gresty Auto sales, who at the time was in Las Vegas . When **** returned home we had brought ****'s case to him and he offered to credit **** 200$ towards the new engine on 8-13-2013. **** said that would be fine and did the motor work. The on 08/16/2013 **** came in to make payment and his credit card was declined, **** then said he would be back in on the 17th of august to make that payment and we never heard from him. Then two more phone calls were made to try and reach him and could not get a call back. Then on 8/28/2013 the car was repossessed from ****'s drive way. He came in the next day and we posted the 200$ credit to his account and he paid a total of 705.00, 300 in cash and 400 on a credit card plus the 5$ fee. Then on 9/04/2013 **** called us again asking if t would be ok to make his payment late and we told him he has to the 10th of September to make his late payment and get caught up. This car was sold to **** as-is no warranty and I will attach the warranty papers and ledger card showing the repo and late payment. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/09/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Like I said I left numerous messages with ****** the grand son and he kept telling me that he has to talk to his grandpa. Also Gresty says they gave me a deal by taking $500 of the asking price. I guess everyone is supposed to walk into a car lot a pay what the sticker says. The body of the car is solid, the interior is in great shape. I feel because I was a regular customer and friend I am being treated differently. Like I said I had to pay for a new battery the DAY after I bought the car because it would not hold a charge. I was told to quit whining! The the upper half of the motor blew. Told by ****** that he would check with the people who put the motor in about a warranty. Never heard anything back. Then the lower portion blew, again left message with ****** never heard anything back until finally **** called asking about my payments offering me $200 because he did not make any money on this car! The $1500 plus I spent fixing this car I could have very easily went to my payments helping me pay the thing off! I will no longer purchase a vehicle from this car lot nor will I tell any my friends. I have sent a lot of business to them over the years. I'm not asking for the full $1500 because I understand I bought a used car with no warranty, however being that I was a family friend and I have purchased many cars from them and I thought I would get more that $200 and some respect. I apparently was wrong. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/09/11) */


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Gresty Auto Sales
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)