Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Chicago Motor Cars

Additional Locations

Phone: (630) 221-1800 Fax: (630) 477-0287 View Additional Phone Numbers 27W110 North Ave, West Chicago, IL 60185 http://www.chicagomotorcars.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chicago Motor Cars meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chicago Motor Cars include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Chicago Motor Cars
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 25, 2005 Business started: 11/25/2005 Business started locally: 11/25/2005 Business incorporated 02/02/2006 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Phillip Davero, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Phillip Davero, GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Motorcycles - Dealers Auto Customizing Auto Accessories Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Transmissions - Automobile Internet Shopping Auto Services Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Auto Dealers - Antique & Classic Auto Dealers - New Cars Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Alternate Business Names
Chicago Motor Cars Corp.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Chicago Motor Cars has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 27W110 North Ave

    West Chicago, IL 60185 (630) 221-1800

  • 27w333 North Ave

    West Chicago, IL 60185 (630) 957-5100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2001 Ferrari Spider 360 (VIN# ZFFYT53A710123017)on April 23,2015. Stock #11474A. When inspecting the car I noticed the left and right capote lateral flaps were broken. I did not want to purchase the car without the flaps being delivered to me at my home and my salesman agreed. My salesman Evan ********* agreed to acquire the parts and send them to me. (He mentioned that they were getting them on ****). On closing of the sale a WE OWE order was signed by him and myself agreeing to the parts being delivered to me. I called the dealer several times within the following month to request where the flaps were and when could I expect delivery of them. I received no answer. I deduced that the flaps were never going to be delivered so I researched to see if I could fix the car locally. Cantech Automotive located in N. Syracuse, NY agreed to do the work for me. I received the estimate from Cantech Automotive on October 16, 2015 (nearly 6 months after purchasing the car)for the parts only and agreed to have them do the work. The parts only estimate is as follows: Left and Right Lateral Flap (parts number 66462000 and 66462100)are $1275 each, shipping $19.50, Prep/Paint $260, Fees $35.37, Tax $229.19 for a total of $3094.06. I have copies of all paper work if needed.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking reimbursement for the Cantech Automotive parts only invoice in the amount of $3094.06

Business Response: everything has been taken care and paid in full 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10886684, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

C Daniel ******

8/3/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a 2005 Hummer H2 SUT on November 18, 2014 over the Internet from this dealer. Transport company delivered it to me in December 2014. I was out of town most of the time at the beginning of the year and did not drive the vehicle much. In April, I noticed that the AC unit was making a loud noise so I took it to a repair shop. The shop mechanic replaced the AC unit ($900) and told me that it was very corroded which caused the bearings to fail, they also told me that the entire frame and most components underneath was severely rusted and that the vehicle was too dangerous to drive. I departed on an extended trip out west the following day and when I returned I contacted the dealer about the problem. While the vehicle has no warranty, the dealer should not have put it on the market for sale in the condition that it was in. I spoke to a **** who stated that he was the sales manager, upon stating my complaint he told me that he did not believe me and that the vehicle was not rusted underneath. I then took the vehicle to a body shop who inspected the vehicle and issued an estimate of over $8,000 to repair it which included replacing the entire frame and components underneath to include the drive shaft, brake calipers, brake shoes, brake disc, brake lines, fuel line and many other items. The body shop owner also stated that the vehicle is not safe to drive in its current condition. I sent that report and clear photos to **** ****** as proof of the condition of the vehicle. He called me and stated that the body shop owner was a liar and that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. I was in disbelief listing to him talk and the things that he said. He then offered to trade in the vehicle but at a $6,000 loss to me not including the repair bill for the AC unit of $900 and the shipping of the vehicle at a cost of $800. I told him that the loss was unacceptable. I called an attorney in Chicago and ask if he would look at the case for me. He advised me that the dealer had included an arbitration agreement in the sales paper work process that I had signed but that he would speak to someone at the dealership for me. A few days later, the attorney called to tel me that the dealership owner requested that I take the vehicle to a Chevrolet dealership and to have it inspected there and send them th inspection report. I did so on that same day and sent the report to Chicago Motor Cars. The inspection report from the Chevrolet Dealer found the vehicle to be in the same condition that was reported by the body shop, severely rusted underneath. A few days later, I was advised that the owner of Chicago Moter Cars was not willing to do anything about the problem. I did everything that I could do to protect myself during the purchase process from this dealer to include having an independent inspection of the vehicle by a company called Lemon Squad. Unfortunately, that inspector did not even get under the vehicle to examine it. I will likely file an action against that company. The salesman, **** ****** advised me that the dealership had serviced the vehicle to include an oil change before they put it on the market for sale so the dealership would have been aware of the condition of the vehicle and should have never sold it to me. This dealership has many complaints against it, they can be easily found on the Internet, I just wish now that I had researched this dealership before making a purchase from them. They are engaged in deceptive business practice.

Desired Settlement: I want to be made whole, a full refund of my losses to include the purchase price of the vehicle, the dealer prep fee, cost of shipping and the cost of repair of the rusted AC unit totaling $32,499. Had the dealer used reasonable judgement and taken the vehicle back in on trade giving me equal value for it, I would have agreed to trade (of course I would have traveled to Chicago to personally inspect any other vehicle because this dealer can not be trusted).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/24) */ The vehicle was inspected on 3 different occasions in hopes of addressing the customer's concerns. An independent inspection company ************ our own in house ASE certified technicians, and a Chevrolet dealership near the customer. All 3 reports showed no issues with this vehicle whatsoever. Furthermore, We tried several different approaches in hopes of resolving his concerns, but he was unrealistic in his overall expectations. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept their response. The dealer made two false statements: 1. When they referenced 3 inspections that I had performed after I received the vehicle they stated that "all 3 reports showed no issues with the vehicle whatsoever". 2. The dealer stated they they tried to resolve the issue by saying "we tried several different approaches of resolving his concerns". Let me address their false statements: 1. All three inspection reports states that the vehicle is severely corroded and rusted, an auto mechanic who inspected the vehicle at ********* Tire & Auto Service issued a written statement confirming the severe rust and he stated that the vehicle is too dangerous to drive. A body shop issued a written statement saying that the entire frame is rusted and that the frame needs to be replaced which will cost over $8,000.00. The Chevrolet dealer issued a written report which stated that the frame and other components to include the brakes are corroded and rusted. 2. The only resolution the dealer offered to the problem was to offer to trade the Hummer back in but would only give me $24,000.00 trade in value which would be a loss of over $6,000.00 to me. I paid over $30,000.00 for the vehicle not including shipping and the repairs made to include the AC and the gear shift linkage, both of which were due to corrosion and rust. Chicago Motor Cars should have never sold this vehicle in its dangerous condition. It was severely corroded and rusted at the time of the sale. This dealer has a pattern of deceptive business practices, all you have to do is Google "Chicago Motor Cars reviews" and read the customer complaints. I will not stop until this dealer does what is right and ethical. I am responding from an iPad and may not be able to upload the relevant documents but will go to my desk top computer tomorrow and up load the 3 vehicle inspection reports to support my claim and will prove that the dealer was dishonest in his response. ***** ********

7/24/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Lexus SC 430 from ****** on 2/20/2014. I asked about the condition of the leather seats including any repairs already completed. ****** stated he looked at the seats and they were like "new". A few months after purchase the driver side seat began to "peel". I took the car to the Lexus dealer and a seat repair shop for inspection. Each location told me the seat had been painted which is a common practice at some dealers. I called ****** to state my case and never received a call back.

Desired Settlement: Replace or litigate

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/25) */ My name is ***** ******** and I did contact ***** ****** on august 7th,2014. I spoke to him regarding the leather on the Lexus sc430 front seats. We agreed that he would take it to a local interior repair shop located in ****** *** So we can see what part of the seat needs to be repaired and we can work together on resolving this minor issue. I called ***** last week and left him a message I also called today 8/25/2014 and left another message. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2014/11/25) */ ****** of Chicago Motor Cars will not return telephone calls or voice mails. During our last telephone conversation he agreed the entire interior needed to be refinished. ****** asked that I text him the telephone number of the auto upholster so he could discuss charges. I followed up with ****** on numerous occasions with no response. Finally called the man number had the admin person page ****** and got to speak with him. He indicated that the repair shop in question would not answer the telephone nor return his calls. I called the number myself to make certain it was in operation and resent the info via text message. Subsequent calls to ****** have never been returned. The damage is not minor and I now understand the entire interior of the car has been repainted. Damages are in excess of $ 4, 000.00 Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/12/19) */ I called Mr. ****** and could not get ahold of him. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 22, 2014/12/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) His retorte is simply a lie. My cell phone records clearly show a conversation yesterday, the 19 th, at 1:46 PM central time. ****** offered a check in the amount of $ 750.00. Once again I told them that the entire interior has been repainted and offered to have them speak with the local Lexus dealer to understand the amount of damage. ****** told me he would speak to the owner and get back to me. I advise ****** that legal council has been retained. Continued fabrication of the facts clearly demonstrate lack of honesty

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm never one to talk bad about a company but Chicago Motor Cars in West Chicago, il on north have is not good at doing business. On the 3 desperate times I've had a deal on a truck and every time I get ready to go in they want to up the price. Shook hands and agreed on a price started the paper work, went to my bank took the 6k out in cash and then the truck went up in price, went back got more, then it went up again, now it's a 3rd time going up and they want $7200.

Desired Settlement: the truck for the original 6,000.00 they agreed on

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/04/09) */ Hello, We did work with the customer and on March 23, 2013she was able to get into a new Murano. She was more than satisfied at that time. Sincerely, ***********s Sales & Business Development Manager Nissan of St. Charles Exclusive Home of the LIFETIME ADVANTAGE Cell/Text: ************ Office: 800-BUY-NISSAN www.TheNissanSuperstore.com

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live in ******** and almost purchased a 2007 ******* *** ***** for $68,000 from Chicago Motor Cars in West Chicago, IL all based on information I gathered from the vehicle description in their advertisement (on ******** and ebay and their own website chicagomotor********) and from information I received from speaking to their salesman, **** ******** by phone on multiple occasions. In my conversations, **** described the car as "immaculate" and "like new" and "flawless". I asked him if the car had any problems or prior history of accidents, etc and **** described absolutely no issues whatsoever. We agreed on a price of $68,000 and almost gave him a deposit as he requested. I ended up arranging for a Pre-Purchase Inspection with ******** ******* dealership which cost me $405 but figured the re-assurance was worth it despite this being an "immaculate" vehicle. The inspection by the Porsche dealer revealed many problems with the car including evidence of prior accidents (evidence of body work, paint, missing panels) and multiple major mechanical issues (leaky power steering lines that would require the removal of the engine to repair). In addition, the inspection revealed that the car has an aftermarket exhaust system and is MISSING A CATALYTIC CONVERTER. This would prevent most buyers, including myself, from being able to register the car and drive it since it would not pass **** inspection that is required in most areas, including where I live. I would not have discussed this vehicle, negotiated a price, or paid $405 to have it inspected had I known that the car was missing a catalytic converter. I called **** and asked him why he did not disclose the information about the car missing a catalytic converter and he replied that he didn't know and that he'd "never been under the car". I find it very hard to believe that this dealership that sells cars worth over $200,000 doesn't know this information about their cars. I expressed to **** that I felt he and the dealership had been dishonest and that I would not have paid $405 for an inspection had I known about the car missing a catalytic converter. I requested that their dealership refund me the $405 I paid for the inspection based on the fact that they did not disclose the important information about the car missing a catalytic converter in their ad or in multiple phone conversations I had with ****. He asked me to send him the bill and that he would ask his manager. **** later tried to say they would install a factory exhaust for me if I want to purchase the car but at this point I no longer trusted working with them and there were other issues with the car in the inspection. I provided a copy of my bill for $405 but they declined to refund me this amount after multiple calls and emails. I feel that this dealership is dishonest and that the car ad and the salesperson should disclose important information about their vehicles up front. I would have moved on to look for another car immediately had I known it was missing a catalytic converter. Had I not inspected the car, I would have overpaid for this vehicle and I would have been shocked to find out this information when I tried to get the vehicle to pass **** inspection. The repair for this would have been up to $4000 I was told by the dealership. I request that the dealer own up to their mistake of failing to disclose this information and refund my $405 that I paid for the vehicle inspection.

Desired Settlement: Refund me $405 that I paid for a pre-purchase inspection. I would not have pursued this vehicle or had it inspected had the dealership disclosed that the car is missing a catalytic converter. Neither the car ads nor multiple phone discussions with the salesman (**** ******** disclosed this important information that allows the consumer to make an informed decision about purchasing the vehicle. The salesman denied knowledge of this which is very hard to believe....but even if true it would be unacceptable as the dealership needs to have proper knowledge of its cars that they are advertising and trying to sell online.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/12/18) */ http://www.chicagomotorcars.com/web/used/Porsche-911-Turbo-2007-West-Chicago-Illinois/XXXXXXX/ I've copied the link from our website and in the description it state that the car does not have Catalytic Converters. The Customer sent out the car for a PPI pre purchase inspection at ******* of ******** and later found out when he got the inspection about the Catalytic Converters. Please feel free to call or email with any question. Thank You, Phil ****** Chicago Motor Cars 27w110 North Ave West Chicago, IL XXXXX www.chicagomotorcars.com X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Office X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Mobile X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax ****@chicagomotorcars.com Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2014/01/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Dear Sir or Madame - I received a check dated ****** in the amount of $405 from Chicago Motor Cars. The check arrived on ******* by overnight mail. Thank you, ***** ****** Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/01/10) */ Here is the copy of the check that is being sent out tonight to ***** on the 2007 Porsche 911. Please feel free to call or email me with any other questions. Also here is the file No 2013-consc-XXXXXXXX BBB#XXXXXXXX Thank You, ************

9/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a **** ***** *** pickup on 7/29/13 through ***** I live in *** the truck was in Chicago. Advertisement stated "super clean", but didn't list any issues. Three pictures showed some rust, but it was difficult to tell how much. I didn't notice the rust in the pictures until after purchase. My wife and I flew to Chicago on 8/2/13. Instead of taking us to the dealership, the transaction was done very hurriedly in a parking lot. I was very unhappy about the rust, but didn't think I had any options, so I went through with the sale. Noticed the tear in the rear seat, too, and it was not clearly shown in the pictures on the ad. We also noticed that the only way to lower the passenger ******* was from the driver's controls. Salesman (***** ********* mentioned they'd had some trouble with the check engine light being on, but had fixed it. We drove the truck home from Chicago to ******* *** About 50 miles down the road the check engine light started coming on intermittently. By the following day, it stayed on for good. On Sunday, August 4, 2013 the left front wheel bearing failed and the wheel nearly came off. We had to be towed about 25 miles to the nearest town that had an auto service company. The tow cost $60, the bearing was approximately $250, and the room stay was $80. We also lost a day of work, because we had planned to be home Sunday night. After getting home, I got an estimate for repair of the rust damage, which was $3,200 just for the rear fender wells. The rust on the tailgate and hood they estimated would be another $1,000. Since getting home, the truck has started stalling out when I come to a stop at a light or sign. I talked to the sales rep and asked them to refund some money to me, and they offered enough to cover the towing and the wheel bearing repair. When I looked up the ***** **** **** price for the truck, it was approximately $12,000 for a truck of that year with that mileage (75,000) in excellent condition. The price I paid was $11,500. ***** **** **** for this truck in fair condition is $9,580, but given the rust damage, I don't think it is poor and fair condition.

Desired Settlement: The additional cost that I have paid, and will have to pay, to restore the vehicle to "excellent" condition I estimate will be between $4,500 and $5,000. I asked, and would still like, Chicago Motor Cars to share that cost with me by refunding to me $2,000, which they refused to do.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 5, 2013/09/12) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: CMC has resolved this issue to my satisfaction in a timely manner. I appreciate their quick response in settling this dispute.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Chicago Motor Cars
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart