BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2011

Chicago Motor Cars

Find a Location

Phone: (630) 221-1800Fax: (630) 477-0287View Additional Phone Numbers27W110 North Ave, West ChicagoIL 60185-1720 Send email to Chicago Motor Cars

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2011

BBB has determined that Chicago Motor Cars meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Chicago Motor Cars' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Chicago Motor Cars

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
04/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I'm never one to talk bad about a company but Chicago Motor Cars in West Chicago, il on north have is not good at doing business. On the 3 desperate times I've had a deal on a truck and every time I get ready to go in they want to up the price. Shook hands and agreed on a price started the paper work, went to my bank took the 6k out in cash and then the truck went up in price, went back got more, then it went up again, now it's a 3rd time going up and they want $7200.

Desired Settlement
the truck for the original 6,000.00 they agreed on

Business Response
Hello,



We did work with the customer and on March 23, 2013she was able to get into a new Murano. She was more than satisfied at that time.



Sincerely,



***********s

Sales & Business Development Manager

Nissan of St. Charles

Exclusive Home of the LIFETIME ADVANTAGE

Cell/Text: ************

Office: 800-BUY-NISSAN

www.TheNissanSuperstore.com

01/13/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I live in ******** and almost purchased a 2007 ******* *** ***** for $68,000 from Chicago Motor Cars in West Chicago, IL all based on information I gathered from the vehicle description in their advertisement (on ******** and ebay and their own website chicagomotor********) and from information I received from speaking to their salesman, **** ******** by phone on multiple occasions. In my conversations, **** described the car as "immaculate" and "like new" and "flawless". I asked him if the car had any problems or prior history of accidents, etc and **** described absolutely no issues whatsoever. We agreed on a price of $68,000 and almost gave him a deposit as he requested. I ended up arranging for a Pre-Purchase Inspection with ******** ******* dealership which cost me $405 but figured the re-assurance was worth it despite this being an "immaculate" vehicle. The inspection by the Porsche dealer revealed many problems with the car including evidence of prior accidents (evidence of body work, paint, missing panels) and multiple major mechanical issues (leaky power steering lines that would require the removal of the engine to repair). In addition, the inspection revealed that the car has an aftermarket exhaust system and is MISSING A CATALYTIC CONVERTER. This would prevent most buyers, including myself, from being able to register the car and drive it since it would not pass **** inspection that is required in most areas, including where I live. I would not have discussed this vehicle, negotiated a price, or paid $405 to have it inspected had I known that the car was missing a catalytic converter. I called **** and asked him why he did not disclose the information about the car missing a catalytic converter and he replied that he didn't know and that he'd "never been under the car". I find it very hard to believe that this dealership that sells cars worth over $200,000 doesn't know this information about their cars. I expressed to **** that I felt he and the dealership had been dishonest and that I would not have paid $405 for an inspection had I known about the car missing a catalytic converter. I requested that their dealership refund me the $405 I paid for the inspection based on the fact that they did not disclose the important information about the car missing a catalytic converter in their ad or in multiple phone conversations I had with ****. He asked me to send him the bill and that he would ask his manager. **** later tried to say they would install a factory exhaust for me if I want to purchase the car but at this point I no longer trusted working with them and there were other issues with the car in the inspection. I provided a copy of my bill for $405 but they declined to refund me this amount after multiple calls and emails. I feel that this dealership is dishonest and that the car ad and the salesperson should disclose important information about their vehicles up front. I would have moved on to look for another car immediately had I known it was missing a catalytic converter. Had I not inspected the car, I would have overpaid for this vehicle and I would have been shocked to find out this information when I tried to get the vehicle to pass **** inspection. The repair for this would have been up to $4000 I was told by the dealership. I request that the dealer own up to their mistake of failing to disclose this information and refund my $405 that I paid for the vehicle inspection.

Desired Settlement
Refund me $405 that I paid for a pre-purchase inspection. I would not have pursued this vehicle or had it inspected had the dealership disclosed that the car is missing a catalytic converter. Neither the car ads nor multiple phone discussions with the salesman (**** ******** disclosed this important information that allows the consumer to make an informed decision about purchasing the vehicle. The salesman denied knowledge of this which is very hard to believe....but even if true it would be unacceptable as the dealership needs to have proper knowledge of its cars that they are advertising and trying to sell online.

Business Response

http://www.chicagomotorcars.com/web/used/Porsche-911-Turbo-2007-West-Chicago-Illinois/XXXXXXX/

I've copied the link from our website and in the description it state that the car does not have Catalytic Converters. The Customer sent out the car for a PPI pre purchase inspection at ******* of ******** and later found out when he got the inspection about the Catalytic Converters. Please feel free to call or email with any question.



Thank You,

Phil ******





Chicago Motor Cars

27w110 North Ave

West Chicago, IL XXXXX



www.chicagomotorcars.com

X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Office

X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Mobile

X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax

****@chicagomotorcars.com



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Dear Sir or Madame -
I received a check dated ****** in the amount of $405 from Chicago Motor Cars. The check arrived on ******* by overnight mail.
Thank you,
***** ******

Final Business Response


Here is the copy of the check that is being sent out tonight to ***** on the 2007 Porsche 911.

Please feel free to call or email me with any other questions.

Also here is the file No 2013-consc-XXXXXXXX BBB#XXXXXXXX



Thank You,

************

09/13/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a **** ***** *** pickup on 7/29/13 through ***** I live in *** the truck was in Chicago. Advertisement stated "super clean", but didn't list any issues. Three pictures showed some rust, but it was difficult to tell how much. I didn't notice the rust in the pictures until after purchase. My wife and I flew to Chicago on 8/2/13. Instead of taking us to the dealership, the transaction was done very hurriedly in a parking lot. I was very unhappy about the rust, but didn't think I had any options, so I went through with the sale. Noticed the tear in the rear seat, too, and it was not clearly shown in the pictures on the ad. We also noticed that the only way to lower the passenger ******* was from the driver's controls. Salesman (***** ********* mentioned they'd had some trouble with the check engine light being on, but had fixed it. We drove the truck home from Chicago to ******* *** About 50 miles down the road the check engine light started coming on intermittently. By the following day, it stayed on for good. On Sunday, August 4, 2013 the left front wheel bearing failed and the wheel nearly came off. We had to be towed about 25 miles to the nearest town that had an auto service company. The tow cost $60, the bearing was approximately $250, and the room stay was $80. We also lost a day of work, because we had planned to be home Sunday night. After getting home, I got an estimate for repair of the rust damage, which was $3,200 just for the rear fender wells. The rust on the tailgate and hood they estimated would be another $1,000. Since getting home, the truck has started stalling out when I come to a stop at a light or sign. I talked to the sales rep and asked them to refund some money to me, and they offered enough to cover the towing and the wheel bearing repair. When I looked up the ***** **** **** price for the truck, it was approximately $12,000 for a truck of that year with that mileage (75,000) in excellent condition. The price I paid was $11,500. ***** **** **** for this truck in fair condition is $9,580, but given the rust damage, I don't think it is poor and fair condition.

Desired Settlement
The additional cost that I have paid, and will have to pay, to restore the vehicle to "excellent" condition I estimate will be between $4,500 and $5,000. I asked, and would still like, Chicago Motor Cars to share that cost with me by refunding to me $2,000, which they refused to do.

Final Consumer Response
The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:
CMC has resolved this issue to my satisfaction in a timely manner. I appreciate their quick response in settling this dispute.

08/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a used car from the dealer and it after they said that it wasnt going to need a big amount of money to fix the little things that it had we agreed on a price. the car broke down completely a day after. I took it back to them and they kept it for almost two weeks to try and fix a hose. after i pay $600 dollars to them for the fixes they said that the car was good to go. after a day it completely broke down again. they act like they dont know what is wrong. the car had not been checked before sold and i was told the wrong information on it. the srs light was on and they said that its from the car having to be jumped but after they saw it they said that the air bags inthe car dont work. how can you sell a car that is not safe to drive and breaks down after driving out the dealer.

Desired Settlement
i am trying to return the car and get the money back or have them pay to reapair a broken down car they sold me.

Final Consumer Response
I filed a complaint towards a business with the BBB and am looking to cancel that complaint because the dealer has since then worked with me to get the matter resolved. The case number is #XXXXXXXX and it was for Chicago Motor Cars. Please let me know how do I go about canceling the comlaint. You can reach me at XXX-XXX-XXXX or email at *******@yahoo.com


Thanks,

***** ********.

04/12/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Services, Internet Shopping, Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Accessories, Auto Customizing, Motorcycles - Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars, Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Antique & Classic

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/25/2005Business started: 11/25/2005
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2006, IL

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Phillip Davero (GM)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Services, Internet Shopping, Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Accessories, Auto Customizing, Motorcycles - Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars, Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Antique & Classic

Alternate Business Names
Chicago Motor Cars Corp.
Industry Tips
Lemon Law Facts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Chicago Motor Cars

27W110 North Ave

West Chicago, IL 60185-1720

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 27W110 North Ave 

    West Chicago, IL 60185-1720(630) 957-5100

  • 27w333 North Ave 

    West Chicago, IL 60185-1533

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Chicago Motor Cars is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (630) 957-5100
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Lemon Law Facts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.