Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Car Credit Center

Phone: (773) 737-7600 Fax: (773) 436-6296 7600 S Western Ave, Chicago, IL 60620 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.carcredit7600.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Car Credit Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Car Credit Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Car Credit Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1972 Business started: 10/01/1968 in IL Business started locally: 10/01/1968
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Julio E. Munoz, President and COO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Julio E. Munoz, President and COO
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my car a 2006 Chrysler Sebring Touring 4 door vin #******************* around 10/31/2014 with 19,500 miles on it, and ***** and **** ***** were my Sales Rep. On 10/2/2015 I noticed my car making a very strange sound under the hood. I took my car in to Midas located in Berwyn, IL only for a visual look at for them to give me there opinion of what the sound may be, because I didn't have the money to have it put on a machine. They instantly told me from the sound of it, the engine is going bad and its about to go out, you need a new engine, that whoever sold me this car, must have sold it to me like this, because at 36,630 miles on here your engine shouldn't be going out. I was referred by (midas) to have a second opinion from another car place that deals with engines and only engines who they go through to have there engines build.Upon arrival the worker started listening to it the guy told me I need a new engine and its going to cost around $4,800 hundred dollars to have it replaced by them, and I need to park the car immediately, for I further damage the engine by driving it, and that my engine shouldn't be going out with those low miles on it. I contacted car credit the same day, and explained to the what was going on and what Midas told me and the ppl who specialize with engines said that my warranty has expired already and that there was nothing they could do for me at all. I explained to the manager **** that my car has low miles and that my engine shouldn't be going bad at all, you guys had to sell me this car like this, and he replied we cant help you. I work to hard to come up with 1,200 hundred dollars for a down payment and I haven't even had my car for a year and I need a new engine. I feel like I shouldn't have to come out my pocket and pay for a engine that they clearly knew was bad when they sold it to me. I don't have 4,800 hundred dollars to replace the engine. I hope you all can help me resolved this issue about my engine. I'm not getting know help from them at all.

Desired Settlement: I went one car place and they said a estimate was 4,800. but something is better than nothing.

Business Response:

Mrs ******* ******* purchased a 2006 Chrysler Sebring on 10/10/2014 with 19,569 miles on it. The vehicle came with a 90 day warranty and she signed for this 90 day warranty. Between October 10, 2014 and January 10, 2014 she brought her car back to Car Credit Center for minor repairs. All the repairs were fixed at 100% no charge to her not even the $100 deductible that the 90 day warranty calls for. No problems were ever reported by her as far as any engine problems or noise. A whole year goes by now the vehicle has a mechanical problem but she knew from the start that it only had a 90 day warranty. We cannot be expected to fix her car when she has been driving the vehicle for a whole year with no problems.

The best solution that i can offer is for her to come up with at least $1,000.00 toward her repair bill and we will have the finance company add the additional cost of repairs to her loan with no additional interest added on. She would have to bring the vehicle back in to be sent to another shop for a 2nd estimate.

 

***** *****

President/COO

Car Credit Center

 

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because: I appreciate Car Credit Center extending the offer to attach two withheld payments to my car loan in order to make repairs, but I feel that this is not a satisfactory solution. When I purchased my car from Car Credit Center it had just over 19,000 miles. Now at 38,000 the engine is almost gone. This leads me to believe that the staff of Car Credit Center was aware of the condition of the car's engine. I believe I was taken advantage of as a woman purchasing a vehicle alone and with no mechanical knowledge to inspect the car myself. I am seeking for Car Credit Center to repair my engine at 100% no cost to me as this should have been the repair made when I was still within the 90 day warranty. I am locked into this auto loan of nearly $12,000 for a vehicle that will not be working soon if these repairs are not made. *** ***** *****, Car Credit Center's President/COO, stated I drove the vehicle for a whole year with no problems. I drove my car to work and home again in normal fashion until I heard noises which is when I made Car Credit Center aware. Even if it was over the course of a year, I have never heard of a car, new or used, losing it's engine at 38,000 miles! In retrospect, I should have been suspicious of a such a nice looking car with only 19,000 miles on it, but I had no automotive knowledge whatsoever so I was easily taken. I believe Car Credit Center operated maliciously in selling me a car they knew had serious problems. Thank you for your care in this matter.

Sincerely,

******* *******

Business Response:

I am sorry but this is the best that we can do. You bought a used vehicle and these things can happen. If the engine was bad from the beginning you would not have been driving it for so long. also, we buy the vehicles at private dealer auctions inspect them and sell them. Had we known the engine was bad we would not have sold the car but instead sent it back to the auction since we have a warranty with them. If we sold it at car credit center it is because it passed our mechanical inspection at the time.

 

 

***** *****

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: from the time of purchase I've been having trouble with the car. first all kind of censors where replaced. second there where electrical problems. now the water pump is going out. front end work needed, and I could go on and on.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like another vehicle or I would like to get out of this contract completely.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** president/coo Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@carcredit7600.com Mr. **** ******* purchased a 2005 chrysler pt cruiser on june 4, 2013. It was explained to him at that moment that the vehicle only came with a 30 day warranty. In those 30 days he came back with some issues and they were repaired at no cost to him. Here it is over a year later and he has other issues that we cannot fix as the vehicle only had a 30 day warranty. It is a used vehicle and things like te water pump might go bad. Even new cars have mechanical issues. I am sorry, but these are problems that we cannot be responsible for a whole year later. The only solution I can help him with is to refer him to a repair shop that we do bussiness with that will charge much less then if he took it elsewhere to fix. He wants to get that help he can call ******* my service manager at XXX-XXX-XXXX and he will refer him to a shop we do bussiness with.

6/23/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refusal to turn over title to car after final payments have been made. Asking for additional $100 for GPS device that they said I removed from car which is false of course, and how was I to know there ever was a GPS device to begin with I never saw it or did they show it to me. In addition to paying 3 times what the car was worth and all the repairs I had to make onto the car is all my own fault all I want is the title. Because why would I take it out and not but it back or couldn't hey activate it and find out where it is because I don't have it, and I am not giving these people more money. I have receipt says payed in full, last payment receive and the cashed check.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) The title to my car with out paying for some GPS device.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ** ************** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@overlandbond.com I reviewed the complaint by Mr. ****** ***********'s to your office dated June 03, 2014. For the record, Mr. *********** signed a GPS/Starter Interrupter disclosure on 6/1/2011 as a condition of financing for the 2000 Hyundai (see attached). Mr. *********** acknowledged the installation of the device by signing the disclosure. Car Credit Center installed the device and tested it prior to Mr. *********** driving off the lot. Quite possibly Mr. *********** had some repairs done to the car or had an alarm system or remote starter installed and the technicians removed the device; happens all the time to no fault of our customer. No problem with releasing the title to Mr. ***********. Have him come to ******** **** @ **** ** ********* *** Chicago, IL XXXXX and we'll be glad to tender the title to him. He will need to show a government-issued ID to obtain the title from us. Any questions, please feel free to call me. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a auto loan approximately 3 weeks ago everything went smoothly and the car credit people were very helpful in helping me obtain my goal in purchasing a vehicle I'm only 21 and this was only my 2nd car, I was approved for the loan and drove off with my 2011 Impala I was very happy,my fiance Mr ******* ***** co-signed for me, so we needed additional information, car credit was in touch with us both every day I even went to the lot a couple times with the car,so what happened next was that I quit my job and accepted a great job offer from another company, but when car credit found this out they immediately repossessed the car leaving me to pay a $265 repo fee, now I don't argue with the fact that it was their vehicle and they could take it back if they want, my problem is that they spoke to me everyday for the week that I had it and they could have just called me and I would have returned it, the vehicle had GPS and a cut off switch on it they used the GPS and found the car at 3 a.m. leaving me stranded without my purse and rescue inhaler also they removed my things 1 designer purse 1 Nike jacket and told me I had to pay $60 to get them back, I reiterate all they had to do was ask and i would have returned,I'm still confused that I was still employed plus I had a co-signer and when I went to the lot to check as to why it was taken I was told I was a fraud an a thief but their ones who stole a car in the middle of the night and took my private property and held it for ransom all I want is my $265 back which they took out of my deposit, to be refunded and my personal belonging

Desired Settlement: $265 plus my personal belonging or the cost to replace them

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** MUNOZ Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@carcredit7600.com ON APRIL 17, 2014 ***** **** CAME TO CAR CREDIT CENTER AND PURCHASED A 2011 CHEVROLET IMPALA. SHE SIGNED A PAPER WHICH INDICATES THAT IF HER JOB DOES NOT CHECK OUT THEIR MAY BE NO FINANCING AVAILABLE AND THE DEALER RESERVES THE RIGHT TO CANCELL THE DEAL. WHEN SHE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE SHE STATED THAT SHE WAS EMPLOYED AT ONE JOB WHICH TURNED OUT TO BE A LIE. AS OF XX-XX-XX WE WERE INFORMED BY HER JOB THAT SHE WAS NO LONGER EMPLOYED THERE. WE ATTEMPTED TO CONTACT HER AND SHE DID NOT RETURN OUR PHONE CALLS. THE VEHICLE WHICH HAS A GPS LOCATOR WITH AN IGNITION SHUT DOWN WAS LOCATED AND TURNED OFF. THE CAR WAS PICKED UP BY A REPO COMPANY WHICH CHARGED US $265.00 AND WHEN WE CANCELLED THE DEAL WE GAVE HER BACK HER MONEY MINUS THE REPOSSESSION FEE OF $265.00 THAT WE INCURRED DUE TO HER LYING ON HER APPLICATION. HAD WE KNOWN SHE WAS SWITCHING JOBS WE WOULD HAVE NOT GIVEN HER THE VEHICLE. AS FAR AS HER BELONGINGS SHE WAS TOLD TO CALL THE REPO COMPANY AND THEY WILL RELEASE HER BELONGINGS TO HER. BY ILLINOIS LAW THE REPO COMPANY MUST REMOVE ALL PRIVATE BELONGINGS FROM A REPOSSESSED VEHICLE. IF SHE NEEDS THE REPO COMPANY'S INFORMATION WE CAN GIVE THAT TO HER. ALL SHE HAS TO DO IS CALL CAR CREDIT CENTER AND ASK TO SPEAK TO ME OR A MANAGER. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr ***** is distorting the truth if they had used the work number system my employment could have been easily verified instead of calling the local office and speaking with some one there who had no idea who I was they could have contacted the corporate office also and also I presented car credit with my most recent check stubs I did resign my position to accept a better offer, as I stated in my original compliant, but I started immediately, but I guess that was unacceptable to car credit. I did tell them I was changing jobs whether he will admit it or not, also I had a cosigner who had given them his w-2's ON THE DAY THAT THEY REPOSSESSED the vehicle I know this because I drove him to car credit and scheduled a oil change for later that day at no point during my 30 minute visit did they indicate that there was a problem, car credit was in contact with me and my cosigner everyday that we had that vehicle including the day they came and took it so Mr ***** needs to speak with his people before he accuses me of ducking their calls. Finally for the record this is not a attempt on my part to get back the vehicle I have moved on this complaint is about them repossessing the vehicle when they could have just called me or my cosigner or any one of my references I only can assume that they have some type of contract with the repo company that benefits both companies, I want my my $265 back and since he did not address it, if the repo company takes out my belonging why are they demanding additional money to return them? you call me a liar but you're a thief and a liar car credit had the vehicle unjustly repoed so they are responsible for the return of my property as well as my money I can only imagine how many people have been screwed by car credit this way but didn't bother to complain. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/27) */ we are not going to give back the $265.00 repo fee that was charged to us by the repo company. It is our policy to call the customer whenever something does not match their application. After several attempts and no response we then shut down the vehicle and send put it out for repo. This is a charge incurred due to your negligence and we are not going to be out of pocket for that repo fee of $265.00. As for your belongings that is between you and the repo company. According to Illinois law they are allowed to charge you for you to redeem your personal belongings. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/06/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I remain adamant that car credit did not call me or my co-signer before they had their vehicle removed the vehicle was towed between 2a.m. and 4a.m. so if they tried calling between those times then I probably didn't respond, but I had no missed calls from that date a quick records check from mines and my cosigners cell records will verify that we did not receive any calls on the day of the repo also I will reiterate that I was at their facility to bring in additional papers (my cosigners w-2) which they retained dated copies and no one mentioned that they wanted the vehicle back a honest person would go check that out, also their finance dept was in constant contact with me and my co-signer everyday but still this gentleman continues to deny their own process and once again my cell phone records will uphold this and a quick check with their maintenance dept for the oil change I scheduled, but to put a end to this farce I will accept half of the money they swindled me out of and the return of my things as I am sure that this car company does regular business with the equally shady tow company I feel as tho car credit is responsible for my things since their mistake allowed the towing company to steal them from me

12/27/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally purchased a **** ***** ****** from Car Credit Center *** 22, 2013. Two hours after my purchase of the vehicle, it burst into flames on my way home almost costing me my life. Contacted the dealership to let them know what happened, and they replied just come back and they would give me another vehicle. I then selected a **** ***** ******** ** that I was very pleased with originally. When I purchased the vehicle I pointed out that It had a small chip in the windshield and was told I could come back when I had time and it would be fixed. I am a father of two and I work for the ******* **** district so my time is very limited. I called a couple of months later to inform ****** who is a finance manager there about fixing the chip that had now become a two foot crack across the winshield. I was informed that my car was now out of warranty, and the problem was now mines only to deal with. I was very unhappy but I figured the issue was small so why make a big fuss. Then I began to have issues with the cars performance at which point I contacted Car Credit Center about and was pretty much given the run around about who would be contacting me back to see if there was anything that could be done to fix the problems with my vehicle. I have never felt so taken advantage of in my life and to know that the finance ******* ******** **** who is affiliated with Car Credit Center expects me to continue to pay over $18,000 for a car that is now completely inoperable due to issues with the engine is a total slap in the face. I have to now have to transprt my children on public transportation in this brutal Chicago weather due to the fact that I was sold a car that couldn't even make it through a full year of ownership.

Desired Settlement: I would be pleased with being given a car that is worth my hard-earned money. I do not wish to give Car Credit Center a bad reputation. I would just like a fair shake. I understand that their business is to make money, but not based on taking advantage of people because of their credit situation. I feel that Car Credit Center in the state that it is now preys on the desperation of people in tough financial situations. I would simply like to have a vehicle that is reliable and worth the money I am expected to pay, or full repair and preventative maintenance of my current vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/15) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Finance Magr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@carcredit7600.com In regards to the complaint by ***** ****** case number XXXXXXXX. I would like to to inform the BBB that we DID do the "right thing" initially with the 1st car purchased and will continue to do so with the 2nd car purchased. It is our commitment to customer service that has kept this dealership open for almost 60 years. Please contact Mr. ****** and let him know that he can call me, my name is ***** ******* I am the finance manager here at the dealership to first and foremost diagnose the problem with the car and come to a solution to this situation. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I contacted Car Credit Center and they said they are not responsible and I am stuck with an inoperable car Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/12/16) */ to whom it may concern: Mr. ***** ****** case number XXXXXXXX My name is ***** ****** and I have been personaly attempting to reslove the situation between Car Credit ****** and Mr. ******. I asked Mr. ****** on the 9th of dec 2013 to produce receipts and or any other proof of the oil changes to the vehicle 2007 buick lecrosse(in order to qualify for a in house warranty). The request for this information is due based on the fact that the vehicle has excessive mileage driven since its purchased. Purchased mileage on the vehicle was 87,541. Actual mileage on vehicle as of now is 10,4059. with the 16,518 miles place on the vehicle it would be a minimum of five oil changes. I have sinced received (1) receipt for an oil change. I will make more attempts to contact Mr. ****** in order to continue to resolve this situation.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Car Credit Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)