Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bose Motors

Phone: (708) 897-9421 Fax: (773) 476-9361 14030 Cicero Ave, Crestwood, IL 60445

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Bose Motors is an auto dealership specializing in used cars, both foreign and domestic. This company serves downtown Chicago and the surrounding areas, including Melrose Park, Schiller Park, Franklin Park, Berwyn, Cicero, Des Plaines, Park Ridge, Northlake, Stone Park, Rosemont, Roselle, Bensenville, Norridge, Harwood Heights, River Grove, Elmwood Park, River Forest, Oak Park, Forest Park, Maywood, Bellwood, Broadview, Hines, North Riverside, Riverside, Stickney, Lyons, and Berkeley. The company sells used vehicles from a variety of manufacturers, including Acura, BMW, Buick, Cadillac, Chevrolet, Chrysler, Dodge, Ford, GMC, Honda, Jeep, Kia, Lexus, Lincoln, Mazda, Mercury, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Pontiac, Saab, Saturn, Suzuki, Toyota, and Volkswagen. Cars range in price from under $2,000 to over $18,000 and vary from 1995 to 2011 or newer. Mileage includes those with less than 20,000 to those with over 100,000, and both manual and automatic transmission are available.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bose Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bose Motors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 16, 1999 Business started: 09/21/2001 Business started locally: 09/21/2001 Business incorporated 09/21/2001 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Robert Bailey, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Bailey, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bose Motors has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 14030 Cicero Ave

    Crestwood, IL 60445 (708) 897-9421


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 10/24/14 I purchased a truck from Bose motors. Receipt #XXXXXX.**** was my salesperson. I also was in contact with **** ****** via email about this purchase. I took truck for a test drive and brakes were really bad. I almost slid into the street when pulling out of the lot. I returned and told**** the breaks were bad, and with no hesitation he said it was the front brakes, just need pads. So I bought the truck and he even gave me pads for the front breaks. I drove home carefully and changed front pads and bled the lines. The breaks work better but the next day the back breaks failed causing the breaks not to work, putting me and other on the road in danger. I had car towed home and pulled the tire and drum off. The back pads were past the rivets in the pad. At fist I thought nothing of it, but then I thought if they new the back breaks were bad why did they tell me it was the front. Then I said they might have not checked the back breaks. But if you ever took of drums or rotors they are rusted and have to be pride off. I took the drums right off with no problem. Someone took the drums off a few weeks before to look at them.So they new the bake brakes were bad and said nothing. They knowing put an unsafe truck on the road because they did not want to pay for the 20.00 pads. I emailed **** on 10/30/14 about this and his response was it is an old used truck. I can understand that they did not change the oil or the windshield wipers don't work, all of that stuff will not hurt me or the person driving next to me, That person could be you. The reason it cost close to 600.00 to fix them is because the push cylinder busted the drum was ruined springs broke and the tow. Reality it is more than 600.00 it was my life or others. I cant believe that there is no rules for them on standard and safety. They sales person could have told me it was the back and they would have been addressed right away putting no one in harms way. I was very disappointed in their no care audited after I told them about the situation.

Desired Settlement: All I asked them for is the last 500 payment I gave them in a check. I would feel that this was a mistake on their part and not common practice. I gave them this opportunity on 10/31/14 when me and **** were emailing each other. I would also like them to talk to the person that looked at the back breaks for them and find out why would they go through the hardest part, taking the rusted stuck on drum off to look at the breaks, and not do the 20.00 fix to make the truck safe to drive.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/13) */ To whom it may concern, Bose MOTORS SOLD THE VEHICLE MENTIONED ABOVE AS-IS. THE CUSTOMER WAS INFORMED THE VEHICLE HAD BRAKE ISSUES AND WAS EVEN GIVEN BRAKE PADS AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE. THE DEALERSHIP WAS CONTACTED BY THE CUSTOMER AT A LATER DATE INFORMING US THAT THE BRAKES HAD AN ISSUE. THE CUSTOMER THEN DEMANDED THAT WE WERE TO REIMBURSE HIM FOR HIS OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE FOR THE REPAIR ON THE VEHICLE HE PURCHASED AS-IS WITH PRIOR KNOWLEDGE OF A PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE PURCHASED WAS A 1998 MODEL, THERE WAS NO WAY FOR ANYONE TO TELL WHEN A BRAKE LINE ON A VEHICLE OF THIS AGE WILL EXPIRE. THE DEALERSHIP ALSO INFORMED THE PURCHASER WE WOULD RECOMMEND A MECHANIC WHICH COULD HAVE SAVED HIM MONEY IN ANY FUTURE REPAIRS, USING OUR RECOMMENDED MECHANICS WOULD NOT HAVE COST THE CUSTOMER AS MUCH IN THE REPAIR. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not except this and most of it is not true. I was never told of any brake issues and they let me take the car for a test drive. I came back and told them the brakes are bad. They then said that they would give me front brake pads. The did not say one thing about the back. As I stated prior, they removed the drums and looked at the back brakes so they knew at least the back brakes needed new pads but they gave me front pads instead, and only because I mentioned the brakes. The pads were to the rivets and broken rusted cable ect. Look I know the car was as is, but does that mean they can sell me an unsafe product knowingly. They knew it was the back brakes and they gave me front pads. In there response they say they told me, which they did not, so if they supposedly told me then they knew. I know they knew because the drums came right off, and if they did not look at them I would of had to brake the drum loose because they rust to center hub. I fixed many things on the car like gas gauge and others. This is what as is means. Not if the car will blow up or brakes don't work sell the car any way and put people in harms way as long as they get there money. Also I did the work so the cost was parts, how can there mechanic do better than me doing the work. Also they are 50 miles from me so they want me to a tow truck to get the truck there. That would be stupid. Also let me be specific. I changed the the front pads as soon as I got home. The fronts were in ok shape and there was life on the pads, so I drained the brake fluid because after time it breaks down and will not provide the correct pressure to the line and make the brakes soft. I then tested the brakes and do to the new fluid, this is only my guess, the line pressure was high enough to make the bake brakes move and the frozen push caliper broke loose and poured brake fluid all over the place. Not a line break as they state above. All this would of been avoided if they would have made the car safe to be on the road. They knowingly put an unsafe car to drive on the road, and when I confronted them they lied and said it was the front brakes. Bottom line is they broke the rules on selling a safe car and are trying to hide behind the AS_IS WARRANTY. I looked this up and it states the car must be fit to be on the road and they can not knowingly sell a unsafe vehicle. In their above statement they said they knew and told me. So their is the proof you need. that truck should never been on the road in that condition no questions no excuses. This company needs to man up and take the responsibility, what if I had a child in the car with me. this company seems to be full of excuses and no morals to stand on. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/28) */ TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN, THIS CUSTOMER PURCHASED A VEHICLE AS-IS. BOSE MOTORS HAS BEEN SELLING QUALITY USED VEHICLES FOR YEARS. WE CAN NOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR ISSUES WITH ANY VEHICLE SOLD AS-IS. THE LAW REQUIRES US TO MAKE THE CUSTOMER SIGN AS IS BUYERS GUIDE TO AVOID THESE SITUATIONS. WE HAVE THE DOCUMENTS WITH THE CUSTOMER SIGNATURE WHICH HE SIGNED KNOWING THE VEHICLE WAS AS IS. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/12/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This company can stand and hide behind the as is warranty but it states you have to fully desclose the problems expecialy unsafe problems with the vehicle. They state in earlier response that they knew of the issue but they never told me of the issue but said it was the front breaks and not the back breaks. I knew that I was not going to get the truth from them, no used car sales people tell you all the problems with the car. I will list the quality they talk of. On this vehicle the gas gage did not work, They told me it had a full tank. the gas gauge never moves off full tank, and they made a point that it had a full tank in the truck. I almost ran out of gas, but I noticed the gage was not moveing. The windshield wiper flieued sprayer does not work. oil was never changed, and other small things that even though not expressed to me they fall into the as is warranty. I also do not care about those issues, I care that this company takes no responsibility for there actions. I even gave them opportunity to resolve issue before this and told them I would take it as a mistake. They hid behind the as is, so that shows you this is not a fluke thing with them, they do this a lot and hide behind the as is. I am not going to let you do that. I never demanded anything from them as the stated, I told them if they did not cash my last check then I would feel they did not do this knowingly and they are a company that cares about there customers. I sent them pictures of proof but they still want to take no accountability. They could of done something anything but they did nothing but give excuses to tier you out. Only will they learn when someone has the fortitude to take the initiative to make sure they do have accountability of their actions.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Bose Motors
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart