Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Balzekas Motor Sales, Inc.

Phone: (773) 847-1515 Fax: (773) 847-7829 4030 Archer Ave., Chicago, IL 60632 http://www.balzekaschicago.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Balzekas Motor Sales, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Balzekas Motor Sales, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1980 Business started: 01/17/1947 Business started locally: 01/17/1947 Business incorporated 01/17/1947 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Balzekas, Owner Mr. Stanley Balzakas, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Balzekas, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Heaters - Automotive Springs - Automotive - Sales & Service Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Accessories Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Airbags Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Vintage Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Auto Warranty Service Auto Warranty Plans Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts Lubricating Service - Automotive Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Truck Repair & Service Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories Axles Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4030 Archer Ave.

    Chicago, IL 60632

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took a 1990 ******** *** ****** automobile to Balzekas Motor Sales to have the trouble with the car's transmission diagnosed and possibly fixed. This was in ******* 2012. I did not get an estimate of what the job would cost, as they would have to have the car to "check out." Car had been having transmission problems. I was lead to believe by ****** that they knew about this car as they were a Chrysler dealership a few years ago. Not relevant here, but the car had a completely rebuilt transmission a few years ago. The rebuilt transmission was done by another shop. A few years had gone by, but NOT many thousands of miles had gone by, and the car had transmission problems again and also the odometer had stopped working. I believe that ******** had the car for more than one week, maybe two or more. The exact time I am still working on proving at this time. I noticed that ******** made an error on the bill with the dates to show that the car was in their shop for like one week. I did not notice this at the time but upon further examiniation I now notice this. Car ran about the same after I got it back. The bill was high, but I did not complain as I knew they had a reputation for being very, very expensive. I did not drive the car much in the winter as I work as a tax accountant and I use this car for going to church and restaurant with friends on the weekends. Later in 2013, car had problems again in the spring, only a few months later. I took it to three repair shops, including an AAMCO and found that it took them about 15 to 20 minutes to figure out what was wrong with my car. They then gave me the amount it would cost to fix the car. I was told by all three that my car needed a totally rebuilt transmission, once again. Why this occured, no suitable answer was given. Just that I needed a totally rebuilt transmission. Then I realized that ******** Motor Sales had done some work that did not need to be done, and charged me a huge amount of money for it. For example the parts they put into the car could not have cost more than $100 as some of there were used. I replaced the main part they replaced with the old part by myself and it took all of 20 minutes. I am not a mechanic and I am slow. So I figure it took them less than an hour to replace these minor parts that were not needed to be replaced. The cost on all this so far, including their markup, should not have been more than $300.00. Then, if they tried to fix the odometer and spent another 3 hours, we can add another $300.00 to the total for about $600.00. This would include all markups which they are entitled to. They had on my bill $1440.00, but they reduced it to $1224.00. When I saw the owner, ******, get up and wash my car himself, I knew my bill would be big, but I did not nowhere expect $1440.00. The other shops told me that the car's transmission had mechanical problems, not electical, as ******** had determined. I believe I was told by one of the other shops that the odometer could not be fixed and would have to be replaced by another used one, if one could be found. Now I am not unreasonable. I presented Mr. ****** ******** with a letter and a copy of his bill explaning all this and why I thought he should review his record and show me what they did to justify $1440.00 or to give me a refund. After repeated attempts to contact him, and failing to get any comment on his part, I am now coming to you and to other agencies where I will report the matter. I believe that Mr. ******** made a mistake on that bill for at least $680.00 and I should get that money back. It should not have taken them two weeks or more to figure out the problem. I called them during that time and I asked Mr. ******** what was happening, but he did not have an answer. I came to the shop a couple of times and found my car parked by the wall. No work being done. Another time I came by, I found myself working with their mechanic to pull codes from the cars..!!

Desired Settlement: I think that I can prove that the work they did was worth only $580.00, at most. I paid $1224.00 at the time. I am asking for a refund of at least $680.00. I think other car repair shops could confirm that $1224.00 was far in excess of what the work was worth. And I later found out that the work Balzekas did for me was NOT needed. Also, I will try to verify the milage Balzekas put on my invoice. I think that was wrong also.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/18) */ Dear ******* I have contacted Mr. *** ********* in reference to Case #XXXXXXXX. I proposed several possibilities to resolve his concerns and am waiting to hear back from him. I was not able to contact the BBB via your website and called several times but could only leave voice messages. We value Mr. ********* as a neighbor and a customer. We want to address the issues presented. Regards, ****** ******** XXX XXX XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/10/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) ****** ******** was available this week to talk to and we have reached an agreement on the issue I wrote to you about earlier. Please put down that I am satisfied with the agreement reached would do business again with ******** Motor Sales in the future and that I would refer people to them in the future. Thank you. *** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Balzekas Motor Sales, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)