Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Woody Buick, GMC

Phone: (630) 324-0423 Fax: (630) 595-0754 View Additional Phone Numbers 1585 W Ogden Ave, Naperville, IL 60540 http://www.woodycars.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Woody Buick, GMC is an auto dealership that sells new GMC vehicles and used cars. This business is located in Naperville, IL, and serves the western Chicago suburbs including Aurora, North Aurora, Batavia, Downers Grove, Oak Brook, Wheaton, Carol Stream, St Charles, Geneva, Elmhurst, Cicero, Schaumburg, Elgin, Romeoville, Plainfield, Joliet, Lockport, Orland Park, Oak Lawn, Oswego, Yorkville, Crest Hill, Shorewood, New Lenox, Elburn, Kaneville, Big Rock, Plano, Blue Island, and Hoffman Estates. This company offers new GMC vehicles, used vehicles of all brands, auto repair services, auto parts, and automotive financing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Woody Buick, GMC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Woody Buick, GMC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Woody Buick, GMC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 21, 2007 Business started: 07/01/1984 Business started locally: 07/01/1984 Business incorporated 05/19/2006 in ID
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven Woodring, President Mr. Jeff Kenner, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Woodring, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Truck Dealers Auto Repair & Service Automotive Financing New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Additional Locations

  • 1585 W Ogden Ave

    Naperville, IL 60540

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was in a motor vehicle accident on May 19th, in which my vehicle was towed to Woody's as this was the nearest GMC dealership that could repair my 08 Saturn Aura. On May 20th, my claims adjuster went out to appraise my vehicle and immediately paid Woody's for the mechanical, as well as body repair. Since then, Woody's service advisor **** ****** has given me the runaround as well as not willing to communicate with me about what's going on with my car. The same week he advised I'd have my car by the beginning of the following week (Memorial Day week). I called again with no answer from ****. Later that week I called **** to ask when I could come and get my vehicle. He told me he had left a message for me earlier that day, which did not happen as both of the telephone numbers I left are operable and were operable. He stated a hub cap had to be ordered and that is what the hold up was of getting my car back. I called again on June 4th to find out when I could pick up my car and **** supposedly was not available. I advised the representative (a woman) who answered if I did not get an answer right then that I would be going over ****'s head. It took 30 minutes for **** to come to the telephone only to tell me that "several" parts needed to be ordered for my vehicle that were not able to be found through sources, so they had to go through other "sources". Now it has gone from needing a hub cap to "several" parts needed for my vehicle. My claims adjuster was advised it would take a week for my vehicle to be fixed and it is going into week 3 and I still do not have my vehicle back. The representative (**** ******* that represents Woody's has not represented the company to the best of his ability. He is not considerate of the customers needs and my insurance has already paid this company, minus my hefty deductible I have to pay when I am able to get my vehicle back. I feel this is not the reputation this company needs and should want. I am very dissatisfied with the service and how I have been treated.

Desired Settlement: My vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/13) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Svc Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@woodycars.com We have contacted customer and reviewed all concerns with her. The vehicle needed a combination of mechanical and body repairs to be performed. The mechanical repairs were done at the Dealership, the body repairs sublet to a local body shop that does our warranty work. The mechanical work has been completed, the body work is ongoing. The customer's insurance adjuster wrote the estimate for a used fender, the body shop had difficulty locating a quality recycled part and had to supplement the insurance companuy for a new part. The vehicle also has aftermarket hubcaps which needed to be matched up. Also complicating matters was a recent hail storm causing delays in response from customer's insurance company and at the body shop. Also to be noted is that while the Dealership does have a check from the insurance company it is also made out to the customer and cannot be cashed without the customer signature on it which will not be done until the repairs are complete. This also has been reviewed with the customer. We do not anticipate any further delays in repairs or issues with keeping the customer informed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2014/06/25) */ To date, I still have not received my vehicle back. I contacted the service manager, leaving a message twice with no response. I am still getting the runaround about my vehicle. In fact, something new has arised with the mechanical repair that should have been checked but was not. The service advisor tried to make it seem as if it was something that was wrong prior to me getting into the accident that resulted my vehicle being placed with the dealership. I am dissatisfied with the lack of concern and consistency with the dealership and their service. Business Response /* (-10, 16, 2014/07/08) */ After vehicle returned from Body Shop, tire warning light was dislayed on dash board. Traced issue to component that recieves signals from tires sensors and key less entry/remote start transmitters. Component is located in trunk of vehicle and accident was in front of vehilce. Obtainied authorization from insurance company on 6/25/2013 to order and replace remote control door lock reciever for tire warning light. Part installed 6/26/2013 and verified light is no longer illuminated. Customer notified and picked up vehicle 7/2/2014

3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealership promised to pay off my trade in in a timely manner but waited and paid off in 31 days effecting my credit rating

Desired Settlement: Reimburse me for my credit rating loss

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/25) */ as attached. the vehicle was paid off . some where there was a delay the mail.title processing , we process our payoffs and forward them as soon as we can so the vehicle gets paid off before the due date.. we cannot sell the traded vehicle till we recieve the title from the bank. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/11/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Harris bank reported to the credit bureaus on MY CREDIT! That I was late bringing down my score and directly affecting my credit I want this fixed or somehow reimbursed for this damage to my credit! I prefer they fix this directly with Harris Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/02/18) */ THE VEHICLE WAS APID OFF. AND THERE IS NO EVIDENCE TO SHOW THAT MR.***** CREDIT RATING SUFFERERD. THE PAY OFF WAS RECIEVED BY THE BANK AND POSTED TO MR,***** ACCOUNT. IF THERE WAS ANY LATE CHARGE OR DAMAGE TO MR.***** CREDIT RATING IT HAS NOT BEEN PROVIDED TO ME. ******* ********

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, I am trying to file a complaint against Woody GMC Buick in Naperville, IL that involved deceptive sales tactics. On the BBB website it keeps directing me to the lemonlaw website. The car itself is fine but I have a major issue with how the car was marketed and sold to us. I will highlight the complaint that I have also submitted to the State's Attorney General. Essentially, Woody GMC Buick in Naperville misrepresented figures on the cars in the deal made less than 6 months ago. After losing my job at the beginning of October I approached the dealer to see if there was any way they could help us with the GMC Terrain that we leased from them. We were told that there was nothing they could do to help unless we had nearly $10,000 to overcome the amount of negative equity. During the initial transaction they represented to us that we were close on the trade and any negative equity was only minimal (Less than $2000). The final papers are complicated to understand and they rush you through everything. In the end, they ended up charging us more than $34,000 for a used 2013 GMC Terrain, that they sold as new (with 3200 miles on it) for more than $10,000 of the original sticker price. They did all this while pretending to want to help us out of our other car and be able to put us in a better situation. The lying and stealing in the car industry has got to stop. I consider myself a fairly educated man in the area of buying/leasing new cars but this one just got past me. I am respectfully asking for help to address this situation with Woody GMC Buick. I tried to work it out with their GM (*****) and salesman (*******). The entire time they said they would do anything to make this right. In the end, I never even got a return phone call from either of them to explain the situation. They hid behind their bad deal every step of the way, and what made it worse is that neither of them had the decency to call me. I took time out of my day to meet with each of them face to face. All I ever got were lies and empty promises. We need your help to expose this issue. Sincerely, **** ******

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/01/15) */ WE HAVE TRIED TO WORK THIS OUT AND HAVE NOT HAD ANY SUCCESS. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/01/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The dealer did not appear to read the actual basis of the complaint. While they did attempt to help us out after the fact, the bottom line is that they really misrepresented their figures in the initial deal. The attachment uploaded to this file was extremely detailed and none of those issues have been addressed. To make things easier, I have copied the entire initial complaint here for the dealer to address. Initial complaint: Briefly Describe Your Complaint: My wife and I leased a 2013 GMC Terrain from Woody Buick GMC in Naperville, IL less than 6 months ago. We were looking to downsize our car and also our car payments. They said they could help us and at least on the surface it appeared that they had been able to. The nature of the complaint stems from me losing my job in October of this year. The first calls that I made to help our family were to the mortgage company and then to the companies that held the titles of our cars. Knowing that it may be a long shot we hoped that someone would want to help us. That is when I went back to Woody Buick GMC to see if there was anything they could do to help since we had just leased a car from them less than 6 months ago. My complaint is based on deceptive marketing and sales tactics that were used to get us to lease a car from them. We went in with a trade-in because we wanted to downsize our current car and also downsize the payments (back in July). We agreed on a price for our trade in that was fair and would have only meant minimal negative equity in the new deal, and we would save a little money in the process (about $10 per month). They said they could not lease us a new GMC Terrain because that would cost too much money. They did however, have an "executive driven" GMC Terrain that they could lease us to fit our budget. They implied that in doing this, it would save thousands of dollars on the sticker price of the car. Once we agreed to make the deal we went in with the finance manager to sign the final papers and drive home our new (used) 2013 GMC Terrain with 3,200 miles. When I asked the finance manager why the price of the car we were leasing seemed so high he simply said that is just how we have to show it on our documents. Of course I would never pay the full sticker price ($27,000+) of a new car when the car we were leasing was clearly used. So instead of getting what we thought was a fair car payment based on only a small amount of negative equity (less than $2000), they ended up rolling in more than $5,500 in negative equity and charging us full sticker price of a new car for a car that was used. It was only after I lost my job in October and started to really comb through the paperwork that I realized just how badly we were misinformed. We feel like they took advantage of us, and just lied to our faces. I understand that we, as consumers, are responsible for everything we sign, but I also trust that what I am being told is the truth. All in all, they wound up charging us $34,000 for a used 2013 GMC Terrain. I tried going back to the dealership this month to discuss possible options that may help us after explaining my situation to the sales manager *****. I figured since the deal was less than 6 months old they may be more inclined to help us out. We only put a few thousand miles on the car, which is currently at 7,600. Not only was this when I realized how badly they pulled one over on us, but after several days of saying they would try to help they told us that there was nothing they could do. The salesman, *******, told me that there was nothing they could do without it taking our payments into the thousands per month. He also said that we would have to put at least $10,000 into a new deal to get us to where we wanted to be in terms of a monthly payment. I was so disgusted that I just hung up the phone. What Resolution Do You Consider Mutually Fair? A solution that I would consider mutually fair would be for them to simply take their car back since it is a leased vehicle. We feel very strongly that they misrepresented themselves nearly every step of the way and then lied to us when asked very direct questions. We would like them to undo the deal all together and take the car back and void the sales contract. At this point I do not feel as if we can work out another deal for a cheaper car option since they have inflated the value of their car more than $10,000. We are trying to work out other deals at this time with other car dealerships. If Woody Buick GMC would agree to take their car back and release us from all liability in terms of payments, our family would be able to secure a new (used) car that will actually fit our budget. Throughout this process of trying to work with Woody Buick GMC, both the salesman (*******) and sales manager (*****) were difficult to reach. At the very least, the sales manager knew that they got one over on us which I feel is why he really avoided contacting me. I think that someone needs to be aware of deceptive sales tactics at Woody Buick GMC. With the pages and pages of documents to be signed I definitely overlooked what was actually happening to us. I instead relied on the honesty of Woody Buick GMC and asked direct questions about the final figures. I am simply looking for someone to help our family and have Woody take back their 2013 GMC Terrain. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/01/23) */ I did recieve Mr.******* phone calls and did ask him to come in and see me . he prefererd to speak on the phone. . i have not been available to return his phone call to where i would of had the time to try to remedy this situation on the telephone.. having read all the lenghty emails the phone call would not accomplish much as i see it with out me having the deal in front of me and a chance to appraise the vehicle in question.. taking back the vehicle is not a option that would work for either party. if i took the vehicle back the financial obligation to the lender would remain Mr.*******. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/01/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Despite leaving his cell number, ******* ******** (Woody) has been unreachable. I reached out to Mr. ******** on Saturday January 18th. We spoke very briefly and at that point he asked me when I would be able to stop into the dealership. At that time I let him know that I would like to speak with him about my experience prior to coming in for a visit. Mr. ******** then informed me that we was with a customer and would have to call me back afterwards. I called from my home phone, so he would have had that number on his caller ID. A couple days passed and I received no return phone call. I decided to give Mr. ******** another chance and gave him a call again on Tuesday January 21st. I left him a message on his voicemail and gave him my cell phone as another contact number. I also called him from my cell phone. To date, I have not received a phone call from Mr. ********. Despite leaving his cell phone number, I do not believe that there was any intent to come to a resolution. To have the initial complaint go unanswered after numerous attempts by the BBB, and now be totally unresponsive to the existing complaint, shows me (as a consumer) that Woody has no intent of helping out.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Woody Buick, GMC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)