Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Westfield Ford

Phone: (708) 354-8600 Fax: (708) 354-4904 6200 S La Grange Rd, Countryside, IL 60525 http://www.westfieldford.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Westfield Ford is an automobile dealership which specializes in new vehicles from Ford, and also sells used cars from a variety of manufacturers, both foreign and domestic. This company serves the western suburbs of Chicago, including Hodgkins, Indian Head Park, La Grange, Justice, Willow Springs, Bridgeview, Burr Ridge, Willowbrook, Hinsdale, Bedford Park, La Grange Park, Riverside, North Riverside, Lyons, Forest View, Stickney, Summit, Darien, Burbank, Hickory Hills, and Downers Grove. This company sells new Ford vehicles, including cars, trucks, and SUVs. The company also sells used vehicles, including those from Acura, Buick, Chevrolet, Ford, GMC, Honda, Hyundai, Jeep, Kia, Lincoln, Mazda, Mercury, Nissan, Toyota, and Volkswagen. Cars range in year from 1996 to the most recent model year, and range in price from under $5,000 to over $40,000. Mileage varies from under 10,000 miles to over 100,000 miles, and both automatic and manual transmission are available.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Westfield Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Westfield Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Westfield Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1986 Business started: 08/01/1985 Business started locally: 08/01/1985 Business incorporated 08/21/1985 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Carmelo Scarpace, General Manager Ms. Bonnie Kurtzman, Controller Mr. Salvatore Quatrochi, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Carmelo Scarpace, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Accessories Auto Detailing New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Westfield Ford, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Westfield Ford has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6200 S La Grange Rd

    Countryside, IL 60525

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle Purchase Date: 6/12/15 Maintenance Plan Cancel Date: 6/23/15 VIN: ************XXXXX 2015 Ford F150 I came in to see Tony ******** (Finance Manager) at Westfield Ford in Countryside, IL to cancel the maintenance plan before the 30 day period to get a full refund. (It was 11 days when I came in) We filled out the form and both he and I signed it. He said I should see the money in 5-8 weeks applied to my loan amount at *** ****** bank. *I have a copy of the form, if needed signed and dated. I came in at 6 weeks because I did not get the refund and he said to wait 8 weeks. I left voicemails and emails with no responses, so I came in twice more at about 9 and 11 weeks and he still said to wait. Only after I left a voicemail to the sales manager at 12 weeks did I receive a call that they "just" received the check and will send it to *** ****** Bank. After 2 weeks, the refund was posted online for my loan, but it is not the right amount. It was supposed to be the full $1250.00, but I only received $1136.35. I am asking for the difference of $113.65.

Desired Settlement: I would like the difference between the refund I got $1136.35 towards my loan and the refund I was supposed to get of $1250.00. The amount I am requesting is **$113.65**

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 5, 2015/10/05) */ Hello, Please cancel my complaint against: Westfield Ford, 6200 S La Grange Rd, Countryside, IL XXXXX-XXXX filed on Oct 1, 2015. It is resolved. Thanks, ******* ********** *** ******* ******* Unit *** ****** ******** IL XXXXX

6/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle was sent through car wash operated bt dealership. The wrap on the vehicle was torn and scratched. Dealership states they are not responsible for damage and refuses to provide their insurance carrier information so that we can see if damage would be covered by their garagekeepers insurance.

Desired Settlement: cost to repair damage is $1200 looking to be reimbursed for that cost

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Service Direc Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@*************.com The customer brought his van in for an oil leak repair, we discovered that the leak was coming from the axle seal. The parts to complete the repair were not available, they were on a national backorder. At this time we notified the customer of the circumstances. He stated he would leave the van until the repairs were complete but he needed to come to the dealership to retrieve some tools from the van. When the customer arrived at the dealership I escorted him to the van. He was quick to point out that the van had a scratch on it but just wanted it noted and was seeking no repair assistance. At this time I reiterated that the parts were on backorder and we would prefer he take the van and return when the parts were in. The customer stated that it would be an inconvenience to take the van he would prefer to leave it. When he stated this I informed him that it could be weeks or months until the van was completed and the van was drivable, I also told him that if he was leaving the van we would not be responsible for any damage. He chose to leave the van. Also we did not wash this van at anytime, and if we had our car wash is a soft cloth and we have had no complaints regarding any damage. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First off, this whole story from start to finish is dishonest. The new 2015 ford ******* connect was brought to the service center at Westfield ford due to a number of recalls on the vehicle. While the truck was there, they found a oil leak at the axle. The part was supposedly ordered and my truck was to be dropped off the day before i left for vacation. I was assured the part and repair would be done within a week before i returned from vacation. I returned from vacation. Never got a phone call from ford. So i returned to the dealership the day i got back from vacation to pick up the truck. To my surprise, the truck was not done and the part was on back order. I said thats ok, let me grab my **** from it. When i went to get my ***** I noticed my driver side window was left open and a nice big scratch on the $4000.00 vinyl vehicle wrap that we just had installed on the truck with our companies logo by road rage designs. At this point, i asked for a manager. Getting the manager out of his seat was a hassle and very unpleasant. I showed him the damage and asked him to make sure no more damage was done to the vehicle. I asked him to try to figure out a way to repair the damage. As a business owner it is hard to find time to keep returning to the dealership so i asked if its ok to leave it there until its done. ***** assured me that it was ok to leave the truck , that the part would be in soon, and that his "detail" crew would try to repair the damage. A few day later the dealership called me and said your truck was ready. When i arrived i inspected the vehicle. Not only was the big scratch still there but there were multiple other scratches on the new $4000.00 vinyl truck wrap. There were also vinyl letters on the vehicle that looked to be power washed off. ***** was not there at this point. I called the police and filed a police report. I also spoke to **** ******, the other service manager. **** assured me that their insurance would cover it and that i had nothing to worry about. He said to email him a quote for the damage done to the vehicle. I emailed him the quote and the response i got was a very nasty call from ***** ***** telling me its not their problem and that they are not responsible for damage while the car is in there possession. I have tried calling the general manager and have left multiple voice mails with no response. They will also not give me their insurance providers information. The car had in fact been washed. Have you ever seen a car go into service at a dealership and not get washed after? They may not have any complaints about their car wash. But how many people have gone through it with a vehicle wrap?!?!? Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/05/27) */ This is **** ****** Quick Lane Manager at Westfield Ford. I did speak to ******** and the police officer that made the report. I observed and acknowledged that I could see the damage, but made no indication on how it would be handled. I explained that my office manager was off and that we do not do that sort of work. I asked ******** to send me an estimate to show my boss so we would have all the information. When ***** ***** returned from vacation I turned all the information over to him. I never promised what Westfield Ford would do to resolve the concern. The reason I did not promise that is because I was not sure how that is handled. It was not my position to commit to how Westfield would handle the situation. I explained that to ******** at the time.

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed a deposit on a vehicle that I decided not to purchase on the 11th. I was told that refunds are done the 15th & 30th of the month. Well...both dates have passed by and I have yet to receive my deposit back. I have contacted the dealer multiple times by email, phone, and text messages to the salesman. Each time, I am getting a run around about why I have not received my deposit back. I called to make sure it was okay to come in before the dealer closed (keep in mind it is 36 miles from my house), and when I got there "the lady who handles this was gone for the day". That happened to me 2 times.I was then told to call first thing Monday morning and the sales manager would personally make sure I received my deposit that day. No phone call back, no e-mail response back, and still 3 days later no one will answer me. This is absolutely ridiculous that they are holding my money & not returning the deposit.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: No settlement requested - for I want a response as to why I am not getting the deposit back and I want the deposit back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/12) */ never received a call PLease contact **** at XXXXXXXXXX will handle

11/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a letter from the Ford Motor Company of a recall on rear axle and subframe and speed control deactivation switch on Feb. 2014 i took the vehicle in to Westfield Ford in which they were responsible for recall work my vehicle I.D#2fmdAXXXXXBAXXXXX MY VEHICLE AXLE AND FRAME SNAP WHILE I WAS DRIVING AUGUST,4,2014 I HAD TO GET TOLL TO *** automotive **** ******* ******************* The Mechanic inform me of what took place to my van i explain the recall he inform me to contact Better Business Bureau i could have had a major accident but by the grace of God no one got hurt please help me in this matter my invoice I.D#XXXXXX they charge me storage fee while they were waiting on my parts from Ford factory who does that they also charge me for oil and filter change tire change i did not agree to that but i still paid $440.58 i have receipt for this transaction I use the vehicle to transport my cerebal palsy daughter in the vehicle for doctors visits please help my family and me with this serious matter thank you

Desired Settlement: I am asking them to pay for the repaired that should have been taken care of when i brought in for recall now a new mechanic has to repaired my vehicle when it was a manufacture problem on the assembly line this could have cost my family and me our lives and some innocent driver also they fell to replace the recall parts properly they did shabby work the new mechanic inform me he can not believe that they actually let me drive this vehicle i just want them to pay for there mistake that all and a apologize to my family and me thank you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/09/25) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Service Direc Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@westfieldford.com The customer did not come in to have recalls on the van performed. The van was towed in due to the customer hitting a pothole and blowing out a tire. At the time of write up we noticed that there were three open safety recalls on the van, we added the recalls to the write up and performed them at the time of the requested repairs. The recall that is in question 10s13 was performed to Ford factory specifications, if there was an issue with this repair the customer should contact the Ford recall hotline/customer service @ XXX-XXX-XXXX.

8/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business responded to a post on ******* stating they would sell a Ford Focus for $19,900. When we arrived at the dealership we test drove the car and decided to purchase. I signed all paperwork with the finance office before they decided to raise the price of the vehicle by $500. The ******* price is in writing and is supposed to be guaranteed. They lowered my financing rate and told me that it would be make up the $500 difference, upon doing the math it was found that the change in rate only saved $130. When confronted with that fact, the finance manager became rude & defensive. Multiple attempts to reach the company have gone unanswered. Recently I have spoken with the manager and he seemed unwilling and unable to discuss the event. They have lied about returning calls and e-mails. Becoming very frustrated with the company.

Desired Settlement: Return of $500 in order to match the TrueCar guaranteed price of $19,900.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/08/11) */ I have talked with ***** and explained to her she did pay the true car price but she didn't qualify for the first time buyer rebate due to some negative credit issues so once again I asked her to come in and review the papers she has with me that she thinks are wrong she still hasn't done this

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May XX XXXX i had a agreed on the sale price of $25598 on a 2014 ford fusion hybrid SE. i was contacted by ****** ****** for this price when i asked for a quote. I then put a down payment on the vehicle. After a down payment was placed i waited for the vehicle to come from another dealership. The car never came, it took 3 days to tell me they sold the car. So we agreed on another vehicle with a upgrade for a price of $26393. My deposit was put forth for this vehicle. I arrived May 23 to pick up the vehicle. I was not informed they were driving a new car i was purchasing from *******. They put 300 miles on it. i was still going to purchase the vehicle. i had signed paperwork for this car, and went to the finance department to pay for the vehicle. The man told me i will have to pay $30,000. Not sure about the exact amount, but it was over $30000. Westfield would not sell me the vehicle on the price that was agreed on. I do have all of this in writing from ****** *******

Desired Settlement:

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/08/04) */ I don't see the where the numbers are wrong he is welcome to call me **** ******** XXX XXX XXXX I havenever received a call from him

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My brother had referred me to Westfield Ford; his sales person promised him a $200 referral bonus for each person he had purchase from Westfield. His girlfriend purchased a vehicle and he was given $200. This was prior to me coming in. When I went in, **** was very nice. He listened to my needs and set me up with a 2014 Ford ******* I was asked how much I could put down because I was a Tier 4 conditional loaner. I stated $500. He went to finance and asked if I could do $1000.00 in which case I said yes. Long story short, I was told I could get this vehicle through Ford Motor Credit with low interest when I put $1000.00 down. When I asked about the referral to ****, he said that they do not do that any longer, but he would certainly take care of my brother as appreciate for the referral. My brother wanted something in writing and that's when the finance guy and owner said that they do not offer such a thing for referrals. I then said I was no longer interested in the vehicle. At this point, I had asked for someone to please put the plates and stickers back on my trade-in. I was waiting inside the main lobby of the dealership when **** and **** (owner) came to me and said "You have bad credit, we were losing money on the car and you want us to give your brother $200? What more do you want from us?!" This was done in a common area with many associates and consumers around, and now everyone in that lobby knows that I was having an issue. That was personal and confidential information. I had gone to another dealership and was told that when they called up Ford Motor Credit (Where Westfield insisted that I was approved through. I was one **** away from signing papers) I was NOT approved for a loan at all. The other dealership said that this is a common tactic that dealers use to get people to pay more money, as it's embarrassing to have to give a car back. I don't care that the deal didn't go through. They basically had me walk away from a deal over $200; it's the fact that they tarnished my financial integrity in front of others in a common area and told me that I was approved for something that I was not approved for in the first place.

Desired Settlement: I don't want anything from them other than an apology. I will never do business with them nor would I refer people to purchase from them.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 9, 2014/03/17) */ This issue has been resolved. Sent from my iPhone

2/13/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to send the following email to the owner, but the email address I received from the receptionist was bogus:failed email from **********@gmail.com to: **********@aol.comwhen: 8:34 AM (0 minutes ago)Subject: You call this service?********* A. ********* - Presidentc/o **************** Ford Mr *********, 1) I am sending this email to **********@aol.com because no one at your facility seems to have your email address. Perhaps because you don't want to be contacted? 2) I had an appointment this morning at 7:30 to get an oil change. I arrived at 7:25 and there was a line of four vehicles in front of me outside the main service stagging doors. One of the three doors was blocked by a pickup truck and that bay was blocked inside by what appeared to be a new white SUV. The doors opened at 7:30 the middle bay was blacked by another pickup truck which another vehicle and I pulled in behind. Three vehicles lead by a blue pickup truck pulled into the third, right side bay. The blue pickup was moved in front of the only exit door and the driver began to do an alighnment. At 7:40 I decided to leave because there was no way I was going to get out of there in anything close to an hour. So you lost an oil change and some wiper blade replacement sales - no big deal, right? 3) We purchased our 2012 Escape two years ago even though the original deal for an Explorer fell through because the vehicle was not what we were told by the sales rep (able to tow up to 3,000 lbs). Ok, we should get over it, right? 4) We have complained several times that the transmission sometimes shifts very sluggish and other times shifts very hard. We're always told "it's normal". In the short round trip ride from our home in ******* ***** to your very nice new facility in ***********, the transmission shifted extremely sluggish at least four times; and slammed into gear at least eight times. That is normal - really? Product_Or_Service: Ford Account_Number: 2012 vehicle - new

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I am simply asking for an email response from Mr.**********

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/02/10) */ not sure why couldn't receive his email address it's ******@aol.com welcome to email me anytime.. yes all vehicles that come in for oil change are put on a quick check alignment machine takes about 90 seconds. I do feel you would have been in and out in one hour. and it is a big deal every customer means the world to us regardless if your spending nothing or spending a 1000 dollars. in regards to the towing iam not sure what happened I wasn't present but have not heard a complaint prior to this. and finally in regards to your trans please call me at XXX XXX XXXX to drop car off with me and I will have my service department re look at it. Thank You Carm Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/02/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Since the initial complaint we returned and the transmission issue has now been addressed. It now appears to be shifting properly after two years of questionable performance. Hopefully, there was no damage done because it was not previously addressed, even after several requests.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Westfield Ford
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart