Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tyson Motor LLC

Phone: (815) 741-5530 Fax: (815) 741-8024 1 SW Frontage Rd, Shorewood, IL 60404 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tyson Motor LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Tyson Motor LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 06, 1998 Business started: 11/01/1986 in IL Business started locally: 11/01/1986 Business incorporated 06/23/2008 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Mayra Cisneros, Controller
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. James Kinney, Sales Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Tyson Motor LLC sells the following brand(s): Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, SRT

Alternate Business Names
Tyson Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram SRT Tyson Motors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Tyson Motor LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since purchasing my 2015 Dodge Journey, I have had nothing but issues. For months I had a grinding noise in the front whenever I turned a corner. It was in 4 times and each time I was told I was hearing things even though I had the noise on recording. The 5th time I took it in, they decided to replace the whole front end (axels, struts, etc) but never told me what was wrong with it. Recently I had to take it in again because my tires were almost bald. The inside of the front tires wore much more then the outside. They claimed that tires wear more than the estimated miles they are supposed to be good for. Mind you I have also done tire rotations and checked pressure regularly. I only have 18,000 miles on my car and they are 65,000 mile tires. They did order me 2 new front tires (the back ones are the same as the front on tread) but they filled them to 72psi when they should only by 36psi. I took this car on the expressway not realizing they were filled to much until I started smelling a strange odor and checked my on screen computer. I tried to get a hold of someone in service and was constantly given the run around. I have also filed complaints with Chrysler corporate. Through all of my dealings with Tyson Motors, I have constantly been belittled and talked to like I am a child. Even lodging a complaint with the owner got me a condescending response.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I do not feel safe in the vehicle I was sold nor do I have confidence in the service department at Tyson Motors. I would like the dealership to take the vehicle back at full loan price and I would like to be done with all dealings with the business.

Business Response:       Ms. ******** is here at Tyson Motor at this moment . She is in the process of selecting a new vehicle so that we can trade her out or the Dodge Journey as she wished.. She is a friend of one of our owners and a significant part of the community. It is important for Tyson Motor to do what is right and take care of her problem . It appears , from just checking , that her problem is being handled . I believe this is settled.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


Kristina ********

8/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/23/2014 Delivery Issues
6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern,On the date of 1/11/14 my wife and I purchased a brand new 2014 Dodge Caravan at Tyson Motors in Shorewood, IL. Upon bringing it home that evening, I noticed on the driver side passenger **** that there was a .5 inch gap-the door was sticking out. I called the salesman **** ****** and he said when you bring it in next week to get it rust proofed that they would take care of it and that it was probably a minor adjustment that was needed .When we brought the van back on 1 15 14 they rust proofed it I guess and attempted to adjust the door. On the following day we were called to pick up the van, I immediately noticed it was still sticking out not as bad but it still looked bad. The sales man **** ****** said for all we know you did it, but we will send to the body shop and get it fixed for you he made it sound as if he was doing us a big favor. On the next day X XX XX we were called to pick up the van. I checked it out and noticed a large gap on the top of the door. I asked for the name of the body shop, it was ****** body shop in Joliet IL. I phoned them, spoke to the manager he explained to me that it was a guider that was not installed properly in the factory so it had to be moved over about a .5 inch. He also said he knew it was not 100% correct however he did the best possible job he could do. I also noticed it did specify on the bill best possible job. When I showed that to the head supervisor of the garage ***** he laughed and said well, if best possible on this bill really bothers you I could erase it for you. Then I asked to speak to the head sales supervisor ***** ***** At first he seemed like he was interested in helping us. When he came back from talking to his boss whom we never met, his attitude seemed to have changed. He explained to me how they had already paid the sales tax on it and that being it was already registered to my wife and I that there was no way they could exchange the van. We did not leave right away, we told ***** that this was very poor sales practices. We also pointed out on the sales receipt it says your satisfaction is our #1 priority. If for any reason you are not completely satisfied please call our service director *** **** X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.Then ***** told us that the only thing they could do is take pictures of the gap and send it to Chrysler and they determine what to do. On X XX XX we received a message on our phone recorder from **** saying the sales rep. in Detroit looked at the photo and hesitantly he said referring to the supervisor ,she guessed it looked ok. By the way my wife saved the recording He also said he checked all of the vans in the lot and that they all had larger gaps above the doors on the drivers side than on the passenger side doors. So what does this mean they were all built wrong? It sounds like theres a quality control problem in Detroit.I am the customer; I purchased a brand new 2014 vehicle. I did not create this problem. They sold me a defective vehicle. This is the third time I purchased a vehicle from Tyson .And I guarantee you this will be the last. They treated us as if we were the cause of the problem, very unprofessional for them to treat us like that.In the beginning there is something wrong when a brand new vehicle has to go to the body shop to be repaired. **** and **** ****** Product_Or_Service: Brand new Dodge caravan 2014 Order_Number: ***************** Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/04/16) */ In response to complaint 94487735 **** and **** ******, Tyson Motor's service department inspected their van on repair order XXXXXX dated January 16, 2014. The service department then went to look at all the other new vans in stock here at the dealership and noticed all of them are the same as the the ******'s van. On January 23, 2014, Mrs. ****** returned to our service department with the concerns of the gap in the doors of the van. The service department submitted digital photos to Chrysler and they also asked Tyson's service department to compare new vans on the lot. Chrysler reviewed the digital photos and determined that the gap in the door was acceptable. At that point Mr. and Mrs. ****** spoke to *****, the sales manager here at the dealership, for an extended period of time. They then left and seemed all right with everything. We respectfully request that this case be closed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/04/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In response to Tyson Motors, the gap to the left side door of my brand new Dodge Caravan which we purchased on January 11th, 2014 is not acceptable; for a brand new vehicle to have to go to the body shop. Right then, we know there is something wrong. Tyson Motors stated that all their vans similar to mine all have a gap to the left side door. Does this mean that they all have to go to the body shop? That's why my husband and I purchased a brand new vehicle to avoid problems. This is a big investment on our part. We are the customers; we should not have to go through with this. My husband and I were very disappointed with the service. If Tyson Motors stated that the gap at the left side door is "acceptable" then I would like to see proof; legal documentation directly from Chrysler in Detroit and mail it to my address. I would like to get a response as soon as possible with the proof. From, **** and **** ****** Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/06/11) */ Chrysler has informed me that the gap on the doors is the way the manufacturer designed the vans that way. we checked like models on our lot. all the gaps are the same. please close the case. *** ****** General Manager/Partner Tyson Motor LLC 1 sw frontage rd shorewood, il XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/05/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In response to Tyson Motors, I am not satisfied. trying to convince my husband and I that the gap at the left side door is acceptable, that we know it is not. If this was the case- why did my brand new vehicle have to go to the body shop? We cannot call this acceptable. It is poor craftsmanship, defective product and can be a safety issue. Mr. **** from service dept. called me as of January 23, 2014 and left a message- He said "It looks okay" meaning this person is not sure and told Mr. **** to check the other vehicles similar to mine and according to Mr. Bill they all have a gap at the left side door rather than the right side. Now, will they all have to go to the body shop? And we call this acceptable? We bought this brand new vehicle with high expectations. As loyal customers we were not treated right. I still want my full refund for this.

5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I purchased a 2014 Dodge Durango at the end of January 2014. I expressed the need for my vehicle to have a hitch to the salesman several times during the sale. I was told it was not problem. The vehicle they were getting for me did not have one on it but they would be able to install one shortly after it arrived. We were not told that there is no hitch for this vehicle and Dodge does not have a date that we can expect one to be available. I am extremely frustrated that I have a boat and trailer that I can not haul or use without a hitch on my vehicle. It upsets me that we are going to have to take a loss on a brand new vehicle to purchase another brand with a hitch.

Desired Settlement: I would like a vehicle with a hitch as promissed to me at the time of sale.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/01) */ we have installed the trailer hitch and wiring harness as owed to the customer. she will pick her vehicle up today. we ask that this case be closed. thank you very much.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Tyson Motor LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart