BBB Accredited Business since

Toyota On Western

Phone: (773) 884-7200 Fax: (773) 776-4740 6941 S Western Ave, Chicago, IL 60636 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Toyota On Western meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Toyota On Western include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Toyota On Western
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 17, 1971 Business started: 01/01/1966 Business started locally: 01/01/1966 Business incorporated 08/28/1958 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Brian Kroll, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Kroll, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I been having problems with my used car every since I purchased the car. I been bringing my car to Toyota for da last two years about the same problem about the loss of oil and they keep telling me the same thing, that they don't see anything wrong with it. I was under warranty every time I bought the car here. But now it's not under warranty they have been giving me the run arounds. I don't have any money to keep buying oil for this car, I have three children that I'm raising by myself so I don't have money to keep giving Toyota gor my car and they are not doing anything about it.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Toyota to fix the problem since I been complaining about the issue while it was under warranty and to give me some of my money back for all the oil and repairs I hadvto get fix due to the lost of oil.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/18) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** To whom it may concern; I spoke to Mrs. ****** today and we hav a plan in place to resolve her issue. Toyota on Western will Inspect her vahicle and work with her to see to it that the proper repair is made. Please contact me directly with any additional concerns. Sincerly, **** ******** General Manager Toyota on Western XXX-XXX-XXXX

1/19/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased 2011 Toyota Sienna SE with 32k miles on it Toyota Certified. 3 days later after the first car wash the rear bumper paint was peeling off very easily. I took it to a Toyota Certified Body Shop and they said the rear bumper has been replaced and the rear tailgate as well, rear bumper needs to be repainted and the tailgate needs to be caulked from the inside to keep it from getting rusted out. He then looked at the entire body and said the front bumper has been repainted and it doesn't match the shine of the rest of the body and has a gouge/cut on the bottom of the front bumper that needs to be replaced and painted to match Toyota Certification standards set for by Toyota. I also discovered some mechanical issues like significant steering wheel and seat vibrations above 65 mph. The steering wheel is not centered when going straight, squeaks and squeals coming from the front of the interior and the rear. Excessive swirl marks all over the body of the vehicle, lots of buffable scratches and scratches that need to fixed, dings that needs to be fixed on the passenger ******* door. The car has 160 points that need to be up to par in order to be Toyota Certified, it failed at 11 points and I pointed it to the salesman and he said I should have purchased a new vehicle then, this was upsetting because I didn't certify the car, the dealership did and now that it doesn't meet the standards they don't want to stand by it and get the things done. I am sorry but if this wasn't a Certified vehicle I would have never purchased it and because it is certified I expect these issues to be taken care of, it is not my fault it has issues. I talked to other dealerships in the area and they said this car shouldn't have been certified in the first place with all these issues. The only options are to fix these issues and all of them, not doing it is not an option. The Dealership Certified the vehicle and the certification entails that it meets these 160 point inspection standards and it doesn't. I didn't certify it and didn't make up the 160 point inspections, they did and now they must fix it, it is not my fault!

Desired Settlement: I want everything fixed up to Toyota Certification standards like they promised when they sold the vehicle to me with a Toyota Certified Warranty!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/09/25) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** General Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** To whom it may concern; Toyota on Western has worked with Mr. & Mrs. ****** to resolve the issues with their vehicle. We made the requested repairs and sent out a reimbursement check for a repair that Mr. ****** made on his own. I reached out to Mr. ****** on September 25, 2014 to confirm that he was satisfied, and he stated that he was indeed satisfied. If there is anything further that needs to be done to resolve this issue, please contact me directly. Best regards, **** ******** General Manager XXX-XXX-XXXX *****

3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used **** ***** ** *** on ********* ******* from Toyota on Western from **** ****** with a purchase price of $30,000 everything included(tax,license,platinum warranty and finance charges). Also made a $4,700.00 down payment. On ********* ******* I decided to take the car back for three reasons one I felt I was overcharged. I explained that I wanted my car note under $400 dollars instead my car note was $460.00/month. The salesman also misrepresented me to the financial company as being a full time employee when in fact I am part-time and only work two days a week. I told him about the mistake before I signed any papers he said "don't worry about it, that's ok." I spoke with the business manager ****** ******** and the general sales manager they refused to give me a refund stating the deal had already went through with the finance company. They decided to give me $1000,000 of the purchase price and 1,500.00 off the price of the platinum warranty that cost me $4,500.00. I had asked prior to this date if I could get a warranty for a better price they misled me and told me "no" that was the best they could do. On ******* 13,2013 I took car back to same dealership to be serviced noticed water inside of car, water stains all over car, mold stains in carpet and totally orange rusted tail pipe. I explained to service department that every time it rained I get water inside the back of the car on the floor.. I was told prior to bringing the car in to vacuum water out and bring the car in. When I brought the car in and the sales advisor stated they tested the car and found no leaks the car is dry. I looked in car after it was checked and now I had water in the front and back of the car on both sides it was soaking wet. I left the car there for six days only to return to the car with big visible silver staples in the front carpet on both sides. On the driver side carpet was coming apart and not properly tucked down. I was told by the service manager that there was a malfunction in the sunroof and that they pulled the carpet up and the car was dry. I asked why my car was still wet and not dry as promised. I asked to speak to the service manager Keith he took the car back I think they shampooed the carpet because it had a different smell but was still wet. They told me to leave the windows down for two hours. I left them down for six hours to dry the car out. On ******* 14, 2013 I took the car back it was soaked again after it rained. He looked under the car and removed a drain plug and stated it did not fit properly on one side and the other side the drain plug was missing he told me to take the car home he will call Lexus and call me when the part comes in. I asked him if he wanted me to take the car home wet. Once again they shampooed/ vacuumed the car and gave it back and told me to leave the window down and I did. On ******* 17, 2013 I noticed that after it rained the whole back of the car was soaking wet with visible water on both sides I left the car again.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a full refund from this Auto dealership. I do not wish to have any more dealings with this cooperation. I am totally exhausted with all of my time and money spent on a malfunctioning luxury car. I have made more than enough attempts to get this car serviced properly. I am concerned that due to this great volume of water continuously in the car mold and unforeseen rust may be settling in. I believe this to have already been a factor with this car do to the already exisiting mold and water stains all over the car. I believe this is why the carpet was covered with weather tech mats before I purchased the car . My confidence and trust in them is totally shattered. I feel that every time I go there they are just saying anything to me to get me out of there. I have been asked several times if I purchased the vehicle there and I know its right there in their computer system. I think this corporation has and is taking advantage of a consumer without regards to delivering a high quality automobile without defects or malfunctions. I don't think they have made the best approach to service my vehicle properly. I have paid a substantial amount of money for this vehicle and expected a quality used car. I am very dissatisfied with this purchase.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/31) */ Contact Name and Title: C. ****************** Adm Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* Dealership Service Manager, ***** ********** and Used Car Manager, ***** ******* have been working with the customer to resolve all concerns. They have had the vehicle detailed and sanitized to remove the water and mold. Both of the body plugs were replaced and the vehicle was cleaned and sanitized. We are waiting for Ms. ******* to come in and pick up the vehicle. We spoke with her yesterday and again this morning and she will be in today to inspect and receive her vehicle. Dealership will continue to work with Ms. ******* to ensure her complete satisfaction. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/11/25) */ Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/02/19) */ Good afternoon, As of 1/15/2014 Ms. *******'s vehicle has been repaired and returned to her. Dealer found the root cause of the water leak, sent the vehicle to the body shop and had it repaired accordingly. We removed the wet carpeting and sound barrier, cleaned the floor pans with concrobium to kill any bacteria that may cause mold, checked all wiring and connectors and replaced the carpeting and sound barrier with brand new parts. Customer is satisified and is driving her vehicle.

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service