Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Thomas Nissan of Joliet

Phone: (815) 741-5353 1421 N Larkin Ave, Joliet, IL 60435 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.thomasnissanjoliet.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Thomas Nissan of Joliet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Thomas Nissan of Joliet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 27, 2012 Business started: 07/01/2003 Business started locally: 07/01/2003 Business incorporated 07/21/2003 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Thomas, President Mr. Michael Gors, General Manager Ms. Sherri Sitko
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Sherri Sitko
Principal: Mr. James Thomas, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Thomas Motors of Illinois, Inc.
Additional Information

Thomas Nissan of Joliet has requested that before filing a BBB complaint, contact Michael Gors at 630-697-7512.

Please understand that you can file a complaint with the BBB now or at any time during this process. It is our hope that Thomas Nissan of Joliet will resolve the matter for you in an expedient manner.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1421 N Larkin Ave

    Joliet, IL 60435 (815) 741-5353

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2015 nissan frontier for maintnance. Oil change and tire rotation. Upon leaving dealership left front wheel came off while in traffic causing extensive damage to vehicle due to mechanics failure to put lug nuts on wheel. Dealership proposes to patch up damage and return vehicle at unspecified date with no further compensation other than a loaner car. Vehicle has low mileage and was in mint condition. I requested they replace vehicle with new 2015 frontier with same options. When i called for a meeting with dealership manager i was given a meeting with service manager. A call to dealership managers office went to voice mail and was never returned. Do I have any recourse or does the big guy win and the little guy get screwed again?

Desired Settlement: I would like my like new pickup truck replaced with a 2015 frontier with same options instead of a patched up truck that may have problems later due to this incedent.

Business Response:

I will forward this on to the General Manager for review and get a response out to you.

 

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I'm sure Thomas nissan would be happy to wash their hands of this issue as it stands, but I remain very unsatisfied with their version of a resolution. I feel I should have a vehicle equal to the one I had before this incident. Thomas can offer a new rotor and an extended warranty but that won't restore the satisfaction and confidence I had in my original truck. In my opinion Thomas is attempting to cut their losses without regard to customer satisfaction, or justice, for that matter. I reiterate my request for a replacement vehicle with the same options as my original vehicle.

Sincerely,

***** ****

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

Upon receipt of this e-mail our service director, *** *********, and general manager, ******* ****, were contacted. Their response is as follows

It would seem that we must agree to disagree at this point. We will not be replacing Mr. *****s truck. We repaired his truck, as stated before, to industry standards and above. It was an unfortunate incident and we immediately stepped up and took responsibility for the repairs to the 2015 Nissan Frontier. There was no structural damage to the vehicle and no short cuts were taken in the repairs. We are now rescinding the previous offers of an extended warranty and new rotor, due to Mr. *****s rejection of them. We want to reiterate that we will not be replacing Mr. *****s truck.

It would seem that this case may have to be closed as unresolved, as we have done all that we can in regards to this matter

If you require further information please contact *** ********* ** ************.

 

 

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new vehicle with an extended service contract, after multiple issues with dealer not delivering I decided to cancel my contract. 4 weeks ago I contact them and requested the cancellation, they asked me to sign on a form and fax it back to them, I was told this would take 4-6 weeks, knowing the way this place conducts business I decided to give them a call and make sure my request was processed. The original person who took the documents told me it was my fault for not filling out the required information and the request was denied, he claims the notice came today, 4 weeks later, the same day I decided to check on it.

Desired Settlement: I just want my request to be process as soon as possible and a refund sent to my lender

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/26) */ Dear BBB, We apologize to Mr. ******** for any inconvenience he has been caused. The service contract cancellation request from Mr. ********, dated 06/02/2014, has been processed as of this morning 06/26/2014 and the check will be sent to his lien holder of record. We do advise customers that the cancellation process could take up to 4-6 weeks, because they are done for all our locations through a centrally located office and there can be a back log at times. We hope that this is a satisfactory resolution and this matter can be closed. Thank you.

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A 2001 *** was purchased used at Thomas Nissan. The vehicle is covered under a warranty on the condition that all maintenance and repairs are done at Nissan. The vehicle was brought in for a routine oil change and a part was damaged. Dealer admitted fault but only agreed to cover 40% of repair costs even though all of the warranty terms have been abided by and damage was done while at the dealer. The vehicle is constantly leaking oil as a result of the damage.

Desired Settlement: It would be responsible of the dealership to cover 100% of the repair costs to the vehicle in addition to the large amount of oil that the vehicle continues to lose as a result of the damage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/17) */ Dear BBB, Upon receipt of the complaint from your office our service director, *** ********** was contacted. He reviewed Ms. *****'s file. Mr. ********* has determined that in the interest of customer good will we will replace the oil pan at no charge to Ms. *****. Our service manager, ******* ******** will be calling Ms. ***** to set up an appointment for this repair. This should allow your office to close this file as the complaint will be resolved with the customer. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (450, 12, 2013/11/05) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Thomas Nissan of Joliet
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)