Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Autobarn Volkswagen of Mt Prospect

Phone: (847) 392-6300 Fax: (847) 392-2767 View Additional Phone Numbers 333 W Rand Rd, Mount Prospect, IL 60056 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.theautobarn.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Autobarn Volkswagen of Mt Prospect meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Autobarn Volkswagen of Mt Prospect include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Additional Complaint Information

The majority of complaints concerned problems with repairs, and poor selling practices.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Autobarn Volkswagen of Mt Prospect
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 22, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1992 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated 07/31/2012 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Raffi Ohanian, General Sales Manager Ms. Gina Fisher, Owner Mr. Vic Jalili, General Sales Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Gina Fisher, Owner
Principal: Mr. Raffi Ohanian, General Sales Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
RRV III, LTD. The Autobarn Limited of Mount Prospect

Additional Locations

  • 333 W Rand Rd

    Mount Prospect, IL 60056 (866) 308-0049 (866) 850-2813

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase an used vehicle from the dealer and next day the ac unit fail.when I get an estimate from them they try to charge me extra for another part.After 3000 miles my tire went bad.on the autobarn package wich I bought with the car they saying that they cover the tire.on 9/15/2015 I went to theyr service and they said I need to pay for a new tire 189$ plus tx.I decline that and on 9/16/2015 I went to see the manager(Adam m) who came with a different price...150$ same tire brand.It a scam they don't honor theyr package! On the package they should inspect the car wash the car and some other stuff .the manager Adam told me to go and do that stuff somewhere else and he wish me a good day.in car fax they report that they replace the tire and balanced and they just put a bad tire and they said that is safe to drive like that.in 3000 miles one of the tire is so bad that the car is shaking and humming at 30 mph.This is what is happening in that dealership they lie and they have different prices from the employee till at the manager.plus they came up with parts witch your car don't need it.So I am asking for help.Thank you Alin *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I just want them to change the tires put 2 New tires same brand and if theyr package include all this things I want to use it because I paid for it.And I hope the corporate will change the sales personnel atitudine.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/10/06) */ Contact Name and Title: Gina ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@aol.com Mr. ***** purchased a vehicle March 16th, 15 with 93,182 miles. The package mentioned repairs flat tires due to road hazzard not regular wear and tear (maintenance). On September 25, 2015 The Autobarn Mount Prospect Mounted and Balanced 2 New tires free of charge. We offered Mr. ***** 2 additional tires at cost, but he refused and said he would go elsewhere. If we can be of additional assistance please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/10/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

3/26/2015 Delivery Issues
3/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 16, 2013 my husband and I visited the Autobahn of Mount Prospect VW dealership regarding the reimbursement of the unused portion of the extended warranty. We filled out the necessary paperwork and submitted it to the Finance personnel, *** (who is no longer an employee at this facility). *** informed us that the process takes 6-8 weeks, which we acknowledged and went our way. This was the second visit because we were initially told that the unused portion of the warranty was considered a part of the vehicles worth at the time of loss which is a fallacy. In January of 2014, my husband contacted *** to find out the status of our refund. He stated that he is surprised that the issue has not been resolved and he will contact the VW of Countryside location (where are warranties matters are handled) and get in touch with us within two business days. Unfortunately, *** never responded. After several follow-up phone conversions as well as one face to face discussion, our attempts yield no progress. Our last phone calls interactions were dealt with a new a Finance person, ***** After two conversions with **** in early March, last one being 3-13-14, we have yet to hear anything responses from Adam or Autobahn of Mount Prospect.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund The unused portion of the extended warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/19) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ****** GSM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@theautobarn.com We appoligize for any inconveniance. The customers issue was resolved by **** our New Finance Manager. to the best of our knowledge, this matter should be resolved. If not please let us know what else we can do to resolve. Thank you, *** ******

2/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Problem and purchase date was ********** The auto was a 2001 Toyota Camrey. The sales rep was referred to as ***. The payment amount was$5466.98and was paid with my personal check ****** I am saying that Autobarn engaged in false and unethical advertising. If, as was told to me, when Isaid that we didn't want Theft Shield, that it couldn't be taken off because it was etched in the glass, I maintain that the $199.00 should have been included in the advertised price of the car. Since it wasn't, I think that they engaged in false advertising.

Desired Settlement: $199.00 plus the amount of taxes applicable to $199.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/11) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@THEAUTOBARN.COM The Autobarn VW of Mt. Prospect is cutting a check back to Mr. **** ***** for 199.00 I spoke with his Grandfather Mr. ****** ***** and was assured that they are happy and this case should be resolved. Respectfully, *** ****** The Autobarn VW of Mt. Prospect General Sales Manager XXX-XXX-XXXX Ph. Final Consumer Response /* (450, 10, 2014/02/18) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Check was received on ********

11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2003 VW **** on ********** I drove the car off the lot at 4:30pm. One hour later the check engine light came on. I brought it back to the Dealership at 6:00pm that same day. They scanned the code and told me it was just a misfire. They said it was a fluke and should not happen again. They cleared the code without any repairs. On ********* the check engine light came back on at 12:30pm. I brought it back to the dealership at 1:30pm. They ran the codes and this time told me it was a faulty catalytic converter and would cost $1200 to repair. I asked to speak to the sales manager. He was not in, so I would have to come back tomorrow. ********* I went to ******** after leaving the dealership to confirm it was the catalytic converter. On ********* I spoke to Sales Manager ***. I cannot recall his last name. He said they would not fix it free of charge. *** found a place down the street called ******* ****** that could fix it for $225 but he refused to pay for it. I asked to see the code history. He said he would go get it, but came back with an inspection report and said he didn't have the code history. I asked to speak to the General Manager. ********* at 4:30 I spoke with general manager ***** ** He said the vehicle was sold as-is and they are not responsible even if the vehicle breaks down completely 1 minute after I drive away. I said they could have easily cleared the code right before I bought it. He said he doesn't run his business that way and offered to show me the code history. After spending some time in the maintenance department he came back and offered to pay half the cost at Mexican Motors. He claimed he could not produce the code history. I walked away and said I would think about it. I took the vehicle to a mechanic at ******* ********** in ********** on 9/14/2013. He said that when the Catalytic Converter code is cleared without being fixed it usually takes 3 to 5 days to reappear. Taking into account that the light came on one hour after I drove it, they told me it was just a misfire and wouldn't be a recurring problem, then the next day told me it would be $1200 to fix, and offered to show me the code history twice but then said they could not produce it, I suspect that the dealership knew of the problem before they sold it to me and simply hoped more time would pass ****** the engine light came on. On ********* the car would not start. Later that day the car started but ran very roughly for a few minutes. The EPC warning indicator light came on the dash. Usually the car runs fine, but I have had the same problem with a rough start and rough running two additional times since 9/20/2013. I am unclear if this problem is related to the Catalytic converter and the check engine light that came on immediately after I bought the car, but would like to have it looked into. I also tried contacting ****, the Autobarn Mount Prospect owner, one time between ********* and ********** Unfortunately I do not have the exact date. She did not return my call.

Desired Settlement: I would like the business to pay for the vehicle to be fixed properly by a reputable mechanic.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/26) */ Mr. ****** was well aware he was buying the car as is as shown. He was offered an extended service contract and declined to purchase one. When getting a hold of *****, he was offered 112.00 towards fixing his car at ******* ******** and agreed. He left saying he was going to call us to schedule an appointment. We never heard from him until he opened this case. The estimate we got from ******* ******** was for 225.00. The company ******* ******** is a local shop that we have used in the past numerous times to fix our cars that are sold as is and or are more then 8 years old. Attached are documentation that is signed by Mr. ****** that shows he was fully aware the vehicle was being sold as is. We would like to offer Mr. ****** 175.00 Towards repairing his car at any mechanic he chooses. We will provide him a check so that we can help towards his repair. Sincerely, The Autobarn Management Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 9/6/13 I emailed inquiring about a car in inventory, I was text messaged that the car was available, I shared my goals and intent, I explained that I wanted to be under $300 per month because this was a car I was purchasing for my company and the company has a budget. I was asked for the VIN# on the trade in vehicle, I gave them that, along with the payoff amount on the trade in vehicle. They had all the information they needed and I was, BEGGED to come in from ****** (internet sales manager). ****** confirmed me and reassured me numerous times that the deal could be done with $0 down and that my payment would be $300 OR LESS. I HAVE EVERYTHING SAVED IN EMAIL AND TEXT IN BLACK AND WHITE, this was all documented properly (thinking I was protecting myself.). I called this morning 9/7/13 and asked that the deal be run by a sales manager of the dealership JUST TO CONFIRM everything was legitimate, prior to driving an hour and a half to the dealership. The sales manager ran the deal over the phone and repeated everything back to me and AGAIN re-assured me that we would have no problem getting it done. He said "our goal is to get you to come in, leave your car with us and leave with a new one, I wouldn't lie to you". I felt confident that this could be done. Once I arrived at the dealership today at 1:30pm, I was greeted by the sales manager, ****** who was very kind and gracious. He asked for the keys to my car so he could see/drive it and be right back, in the meantime, he asked me to wait in his office. When he returned, he was very complimentary on the condition of my 2012 beetle 2.0T with only 3k miles on it. He said "it looks better than some of the new ones on the lot." He said "the general manager and finance guys said they can put this together and it's only going to come down to credit score, we should be right on your $300/month mark Bottom line, They ran my credit on a deal that in their mind, was never possible even with the top credit score. I don't understand why they did what they did but I literally threw up on my drive home because of how much they upset me. I feel so violated.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that they stick to the deal they originally offered.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/16) */ Contact Name and Title: Autobarn Management Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@theautobarn.com Attached are the email correspondence between ****** and Mr. ******. After speaking with our Sales Consultant ***** ****** it was brought to our attention that the final phone call that scheduled the appointment with Mr. ****** was made by ***** ***** and not ****** ****** I was informed that ****** passed *** ******'s inquiry to ***** ***** which called Mr. ****** and actually scheduled the appointment with Mr. ******. Both ****** and ***** do agree that Mr. ****** was adamant about being at 300.00 per month. He was told by ***** that if all the pieces to the puzzle fell into place, Mr. ******'s offer of 300.00 per month was realistic but could not be guaranteed until he arrived so that we can appraise his vehicle and submit his credit application to ********** ****** for a final approval. We did not quote an exact payment because we didn't have Mr. ******'s credit information submitted to ********** ****** at the time of the phone and internet correspondences. Upon Mr. ******'s arrival to our dealership he was greeted by ***** ****** the Sales Consultant he made his appointment with. Mr. ****** wanted to put the car only in his business name which we informed him we could not do. After actually working the full car deals out and submitting his application to ********** ******* it was determined that he was not an A tier and it was not possible for us to get to Mr. ******'s desired payment of 300.00 per month. Mr. ****** insisted that he was lied to by ****** and that ****** assured him and committed to 300.00 per month. We do not see how this is possible because we worked three different deals for him on three different cars. The first deal was a 2013 Volkswagen GLI that we said we could lease him for 399.00 per month. The second car was a 2014 Passat *** that we could lease him 389.00 per month and the third car was a 2013 Gas Passat that we could lease him at 359.00 per month. We are sorry that we could not make things work out for Mr. ****** at 300.00 per month do to his negative equity on his current vehicle and the fact that we could not use A credit incentives to get to his number. Also switching to three different cars with different prices and incentives did not help. I would like to offer Mr. ****** a free detail worth 150.00 for his current VW and pay for his gas to bring his car out here for us to detail it. This offer is just to let Mr. ****** know that we do value him as a customer and unfortunately, sometimes we can't make a deal to the customers liking but this does not mean that we cannot part friends. Lastly, Mr. ****** has posted a review on **** that is completely different from what he has stated to the BBB. In his yelp review, he is blaming a Sales Manager by the name of ** which we do not have employed here at The Autobarn. Mr. ****** is to trying really hard to ruin our online reputation by posting numerous posts on our facebook page also. He has since been blocked. We ask that Mr. ****** accept our sincere apology for not being able to meet his expectations and to accept our gesture for a free detail and gas reimbursement. If Mr. ****** does not feel comfortable bringing his car in to us, we will gladly send him a check for 150.00 to resolve this issue as a show of good faith so long as he stops trying to sabotage our online reputation. Sincerely, The Autobarn Volkswagen of Mount Prospect. Management. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2013/09/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is right in the attachment. He responded by saying "your goal is not out of line". Can you please explain what that means? I've told this story with everyone I've come in contact with and they all agree that you guys are completely in the wrong. Why do you refuse to pull your own records? Common, after all, that's how you got me in the door, right ******? They were trained to say whatever it takes to get the customer in the door. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/09/19) */ The text messages between Mr. ****** and ****** have Mr. ****** asking if he is at 300.00 per month. ****** never responded per the attachment that was sent to us. At this point we are trying to let Mr. ****** know once again that we cannot be at 300.00 per month. It seems like we have reiterated our position to Mr. ****** many times. We are willing to cut a check to Mr. ****** for 150.00 for his time lost as a gesture. We technically do not owe him anything. The 150.00 is our apology for both parties' miscommunications. We stand by this decision. Respectfully, The Autobarn Management.

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Autobarn Volkswagen of Mt Prospect
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)