Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Autobarn Volkswagen of Evanston

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 866-7600 Fax: (847) 866-6256 1033 Chicago Ave., Evanston, IL 60202 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.autobarnvwev.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Autobarn Volkswagen of Evanston meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Autobarn Volkswagen of Evanston include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Autobarn Volkswagen of Evanston
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 02, 2005 Business started: 08/01/2000 Business started locally: 08/01/2000
Business Management
Mr. Narcis Agic, General Manager Mr. Richard Fisher, Owner/President Ms. Shirley Hellriegel, CFO Mr. Steve Parnow, Service Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Narcis Agic, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
The Autobarn Limited The Autobarn Outlet

Additional Locations

  • 1033 Chicago Ave.

    Evanston, IL 60202 (847) 866-7600

  • 1034 Chicago Ave

    Evanston, IL 60202

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/13/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Autobarn of Evanston is issuing bills, collection notices and threatening phone calls to me for service that was performed on a vehicle that is no longer owned by this writer. I informed the Auobarn of Evanston and Volvo of Oak Park, where the work was performed that I was not the owner of the vehicle, but they continue to send me letters and call my place of employment requesting payment. The latest letter I received contained a threat to turn the account over to collections. In the latest letter, the Autobarn included documentation of auto ownership, but the Autobarn continues to issue letters and phones call demanding payment.

Desired Settlement: The Autobarn of Evanston/Oak Park should stop the harassment immediately and contact the responsible parties involved.

Business Response:

It would appear that ******** son ****** is the person that took the vehicle from our service department without paying.  We also found that the vehicle belongs to his girlfriend ****** ********  At this point we are going to stop collection process.  No more calls will be made to ****** ********

 

Business Response: Our response was that we were going to stop the collection process.  How this was not an acceptable response does not make sense to us. 

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

My point was that your response should be related to me only, as I am the one receiving the threatening letters and phone calls.  The other parties listed in your response have no interest in this complaint. 

I would like the Autobarn to submit the facts, which are, that you repeatedly billed and harassed me.  As you stated, this should stop, but an apology should be offered for your mishandling of this matter.

Thank you


Sincerely,

****** *******

1/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 8th 2015, my husband and I decided to buy a car and we chose The Autobarn Volkswagen as the dealership. On this day we signed a permission to have access to our credit scores. After that they said to us we were approved for a car loan so we we chose the car and they started with the paperwork. They first told us that we were approved for a 5.24% rate for financing what we considered it good. We then got the contract and everything signed on this same date September 8th, 2015. everything was nice and good and we took the car with us. Two weeks later the car started with some machine and tires problems so my husband and I immediately took the car back to the dealership. On that day I can say the exact day around September 22nd, 2015 they told us that they had to do some changes to the previous contract because they got some issues with the finance bank. So, they offer us a 4.75% rate for financing that is was clear we will like it. so we took the offer and signed the contract again our first payment was supposed to be on October 23rd 2015, so two week before this date we had not received any bank statement, so we call several times to the financial office of the dealership with no response and no call back, we left several voice messages. I decided to go to the bank were our loan was supposed to be and the bank told me that there was not a auto loan under my name or neither my husband's. We called back to the dealer and a sales person only available to answer our concern told us that they will call us once they got something from the financing office. they never call us back. A couple days before October 23rd the car got something else to fix so my husband went back to the dealership and stop by the financial office to ask about the loan statement to make a payment and this person just told him to give her the payment but my husband did got the money with him she told him that she will call him later what never happened, so we waited for the statement. The statement never came. October 23rd passed we have not received anything from a bank. The only thing that we know is that we are having a lot of pulls to our credit what is really bothering us. We have being working on improving our credit is just no going anywhere with all this pulls from the dealership to our credit reports. We have around 10 or more pull per month on September, October and November. We know that because of all this credit pulls they have not approved the loan with any bank and they just don't talk about it to us. They have being lying to us and saying that everything is good and that we will have the bank statement from another bank. We do not like the way they are handling this matter. Most of all they are affecting our credit reports badly.

Desired Settlement: The Autobarn Volkswagen have talk with the truth all the times answer questions and advise consumer of what is going on. They have to ask for permission about credit reports pull before doing them so consecutive for months. Please do not take advantage of people's confidence on them. We want to know before anything could affect us more.

Business Response:

*** ***** ********* **** and *** ****** ******* purchased pre-driven 2010 Volkswagen Passat on 09/08/2015 and they left happy with their new vehicle. We were fortunate to provide them with better APR few days later and we called them to sign new contract with lower interest rate the originally quoted.

Unfortunately, few clerical errors prevented us to submit contract to finance institution in timely fashion which created delay in deal processing. We contacted customer and customer agreed to come back and resolve this issue with us after Thanksgiving Holiday.

We will be happy to provide update after meeting with customer net week. Please let us know if you need anything else related to this complaint.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *** ***** *******

10/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have viewed a 2012 Volkwagen Passat ***** number ****** (link: http://www.autobarnvwev.com/certified/Volkswagen/2012-Volkswagen-Passat-7a7b9bb50a0aXXXXXXc4308b8d55a64c.htm) online on VW Evanston's website and Volkswagen's website (under certified pre-owned.) The car is advertised at a price of $13,777 and as certified. A VW certified car comes with a warranty. I visited the dealer prepared to purchase the car as advertised: Certified pre-owned at $13,777 with the warranty. Dealer will not sell the car as advertised. They say the car is pre-certified and the warranty is extra ($1320), the car was detailed with a treatment that I need to pay $700 for, and they want to sell the car with a dealer add on package at roughly $1500. After negotiation, they will sell me the car for $15,500 but will not honor the advertised price in any scenario. I feel they are misrepresenting the car not only on price but also as a certified unit by charging extra for the warranty that VW's site says comes on every certified Volkswagen. I am fully prepared to purchase the car as they have advertised: $13,777 as a certified car with the VW World Auto certified program warranty. I have screen shots and printed/PDF copies of the advertisements.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the ability to purchase the car as advertised: a Volkswagen World Auto Certified vehicle the warranty implied (and advertised on VW's website under certified cars, specifically stating their certified cars come with the warranty in place) in place at the advertised price of $13,777.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/25) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** **** GSM Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@theautobarn.com Dear Sir / Madam, My name is ****** **** and I am General Sales Manager at The Autobarn Volkswagen in Evanston. I was able to contact Mr. ******* and explain him that we had internal error with pricing and The Autobarn Volkswagen as organization will honor advertised price till end of the business day Monday 09/28/2015 and we are sorry for misunderstanding. Customer also agree with statement thst this will resolve the issue. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Management had contacted me and informed me of an error that had occurred, apologized for the confusion, and honored the price. They were very professional to work with and I appreciate their willingness to resolve the issue.

6/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The experience which occurred on 10/19/13 is still not resolved today on 5/13/15 and is now a situation that I have to attain an attorney to rectify. This is a result of a severely mismanaged financial operations system on the part of Autobarn in Evanston, IL. The accusation of not paying the down payment in full for the amount noted in the bill of sale is an outright lie since 1) The money ($3,000 cash) was physically handed to ****, in Autobarn Finance by fiancée in front of my me. 2) The bill of sale demonstrated the exact amount given to **** along with a $2,000 check that was given to secure a total of $5,000 in order to take home the car that night. 3) This matter was not called upon to discuss on 10/20/13 or the next day, nor week. It was not until December 2013 that I received a text from ***** Sales Floor Manager and ****, Finance communicating to me via text message that they needed this aforementioned $3,000 and I needed to pay it immediately. Later in December 2013 they notified me that I needed to obtain a receipt for the $3,000 or I would be held responsible for this amount. I was not given a receipt on 10/19/13 for the cash that was handed to ****, in Autobarn Finance and I was not told to obtain a receipt to continue the transaction. I did provide to Autobarn the checking proof amount withdrawn from my bank on 10/19/13. Furthermore, I am unclear as to why I would be allowed to leave with the car without the down payment. The procedure of letting people leave with cars that have signed bills of sales seems like normal practice but then going after people months later with requests for receipts seems like a perfect scam that has suited Autobarn of Evanston. Why wouldn't they have asked for my receipt the night the transaction took place? Or ask for it the next business day? How could it be that for as many years as they have been in business that 1) Autobarn's internal controls failed to obtain a receipt (if it truly is common practice) for $3,000 before documenting it on a bill of sale. 2) Autobarn's internal controls failed to obtain or tell a client they should hand the receipt of cash to receive the keys to drive the car off the lot. 3) Autobarn's internal controls failed to communicate to a client of this problem within one hour, one day or within a week of discovery.

Desired Settlement: Drop the lawsuit against me. Determine who was responsible for the missing cash payment and prosecute them for felony theft.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/06/15) */ This is ****** ******** Mr. *********** has moved on within the The Autobarn system. Very simply there is no receipt for the 3,000.00 from the complainant. As indicated by the complainant, was asked to produce a receipt as far back as December 2013. No receipt, no response from many requests to produce a receipt or pay the 3,000.00.We have proceeded to collect .

6/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had our 1999 ** ***** towed to Autobarn on 5/21/15. Shop requested $140 for estimate. The alternator needed repair. Quote was high and I requested the car be towed to another location. Autobarn called and said the hood latch and grill were broken and they left it in the seat. The car was intact when towed to the shop. Shop refuses to take responsibility. Said it was "a beat up car". I filed an insurance claim with ***** After estimate they said damage would be $587 to repair. **** #XXXXX XXXXC

Desired Settlement: I would like the business to either repair the damage or pay for it to be repaired elsewhere

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@***********.com We did an internal investigation and our employee staff is insistent that the vehicle came off the tow truck with this damage. Since we did not take pictures or document this we have repaired the clients vehicle as of June 11, 2015. As I explained to our client we wish to retain her as a client and since our employee staff did not document this we are repairing to keep her happy. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/06/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) customer relations rep ***** ****** made contact and mediated the situation. Although Autobarn did not accept any fault, they agreed to fix the car as a gesture of good will. I am happy and grateful for their response. I only wish we wouldn't have had to file a complaint to get a positive response from Autobarn.

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I saw a 2012 vw Passat ****** on the Autobarn website for XXXXX and listed on cars.com. The car was listed as a certified vw used car. I called and confirmed with a salesman, ****** ******** that was the price and it was certified which he confirmed. I made an appointment for Saturday the 28th of March . I test drove the car with my wife and decided to purchase the car. After some back and forth we agreed on a price for my trade. The Passat ***** then was looked at and I was told that I would have to pay 1800 over the advertised price of XXXXX for the vw certification, of course I would not, then it became1400 then 1000. I left in disgust the salesman was a gentleman his manager would not talk to me at all he just figured the numbers. The salesman was apologetic for his managers antics. I have a screen shot of the listing, the manager never once explained why he wanted to charge me more. And wouldn't you know the car mysteriously has disappeared from the website. This was so dishonest I am discussed that in this day and age a manager would do something so obviously dishonest.

Desired Settlement: I want an apology and the car replaced same deal as was advertised.

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Asked both car sales manager and associate why the car was price $10k lower and was provided a horrible excuse. Asked for more information and was informed they could not provide due to privacy issues, which I didn't understand. Called my local dealership and provided VIN number. The car was returned under the lemon law. I was informed the reason for the lower price was he reduces prices quickly for quick turnover.

Desired Settlement: Reason and explanation of why they don't provide information of this nature.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** GSM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@theautobarn.com the vehicle was fully disclaimed as a lemon law/buy-back vehicle we are a certified carfax dealer and all vehicles posted online for retail sales will have an attached carfax to view free of charge to any consumer who wishes to inquire about purchase.

9/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into the dealership on ******** 7, 2014 to look at and purchase a vehicle that I saw online, a ********** ** *** auto luxury. Selling price for this auto was $14,999, I met with the sales person ******* ********* and took the car for a test drive. We returned and started the application process to have the vehicle financed, it was late in the evening around 8:30 close to 9:00 when he returned with the appraisal for my 2000 ********** ****** which has 168,000 miles on it. They came back with a quote of $250.00, I told them that I couldn't take such a low price for the car and wanted $1,500.00. It went back and forth until and agreement was reach to trade my car in for $1,225.00. I signed the paper work to purchase the car and they ran the information to several financed companies, after a short while he returned and said that no finance company would do the loan for me. I told them thank you and left the dealer. I received a call from ***** **** ******* asking questions about the car that I wanted to purchase and my financial information, the sales person told me that I should go back to the dealer and he would send the information over to them to for the financing of the car. I called **** and told him that I could come in to make arrangements to pick you the car, he instructed me that per the finance company, they needed me to put down $1,000.00 besides my trade in. I didn't understand why because I have purchased cars in the past without putting any money down, I told him that I didn't $1,000 to put down and he stated that I could give him $500. I sad that I didn't have $500 then he asked for $250, I asked him why was the bank asking for this money, I explained to him that the sales person over the phone never mentioned that I had to put down money. I told him to forget about the deal and hung the phone up. A few days later I found another car that I wanted, this car was a ********** ***** 2012 with 40 thousand less miles and $3,000 less then the *** I called **** to verify that this vehicle was still available and drove out to see it on ********* I get there and I wait for 40 minutes before I can see ****, ****'s boss came into the off and told me that the ** was sold and the bank would not finance a lower priced car with less miles because it didn't work in the numbers. After sitting there for over and hour waiting abe being told a lie about the ** being sold and that the bank would not finance the ***** because the numbers didn't match up was not the truth. As of this date ********* I contacted the dealership and found that the exact same car is still on the lot for sale and I have a letter from ***** **** ******* showing me approved for $16,600.00 for 60 months. I don't understand why this dealership would have lied to me about the purchase of this vehicle, it was wrong and a huge waste of my time to keep driving to them to make this purchase and have them lie to me about the information from regarding the finance terms from the bank.

Desired Settlement: I would like and apology for wasting my time and for them not being truthful regarding the financing of the vehicle. I cant for the life of me understand why this company would practice this type of behavior regarding selling a vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* *****, GSM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@theautobarn.com I spoke with Mr. ***** to clear up the miscommunication. He came in this past Saturday and purchased a car. Happy customer!

7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Autobarn Volkswagen of Evanston
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)