This business is not BBB accredited.

Terry's Ford Lincoln-Mercury of Peotone

363 N. Harlem Ave., Peotone, IL 60468 ! There is an alert on Terry's Ford Lincoln-Mercury of Peotone !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Terry's Ford Lincoln-Mercury of Peotone
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 23, 1996 Business started: 02/01/1971 Business started locally: 02/01/1971
Business Management
Mr. Terry Kunes, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Terry Kunes, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Terry's Ford Lincoln

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    363 N. Harlem Ave.

    Peotone, IL 60468

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: went to *****'s ford *n peotone, *l and bought what * was told to be a cert*f*ed used car w*th a 1year warranty on *t, purchase date was may 24,2014 and the car broke down on my son june 26,2014. although the dealersh*p sa*d the clutch wasn't under warranty the fly wheel *s and other parts that needed replac*ng was also, and they refuse to help us even after the serv*ce manager *** sa*d the car was cert*f*ed.. spoke w*th General manager,************* regard*ng a compla*nt on the saleperson ********** ***** who was extremely rude to my son when he called *n to not*fy someone that h*s car had broken down. **** was the one who sold us the car...when * spoke to GM************* about the clutch go*ng out he sa*d that the clutch wasn't covered and we had to pay for *t ourselves, We had the car towed over to *************** to have *t looked at and when the serv*ce tech got back to us about the car, He *nformed us that there were several other th*ngs wrong w*th the car that needed to be f*xed but most *mportant to get the car back to work*ng stat*s *t was gonna cost $2955.00 and thats not *nclud*ng everyth*ng l*sted on the d*agnost*cs sheet. I called************* back as to what * had found out and he told me to fax over the sheet from********y and he would get back to me and that was 6/30/14 at 9:45 am and he has never gotten back w*th me. * also left messages for v*ce pres. ************* 07/01/XX XX:XX after * d*dn't here from ******* and he also d*dn't return my call...* d*d speak to the serv*ce manager *** on 07/01/14 at 1:05 pm after not be*ng able to speak to ne*ther gm or vp and he sa*d he had spoken to the serv*ce tech over at b*ll kay and *nformed b*ll kays serv*ce tech that *****'s ford was not respons*ble for f*x*ng anyth*ng on the car because *t was not covered under the warranty that we have

Desired Settlement: Terry's ford guarrantee that all there used vehicles are certified with a carfax report. i want everything fixed on my car that *************** reported that needed fixing,I also want it fixed by ******** also, if they are not willing to fix my car I want a 100% refund with abolishment of the car sales contract with the return of their vehicle back to them!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/10) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** General Ma Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *********@terrys.com Unfortunately, the part that failed was a clutch. A clutch is a wear item like brake pads or wiper blades. We are sorry for our customers inconvenience and expense, but wear items are not covered by our warranty. The car was driven for over a month before the clutch failed. We did agree to pay for the tow to the nissan dealership to determine the problem. Had it been something else wrong with the car, it may have been covered by our warranty. Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/08/05) */ Why did you close the case and I sent a response sayi g that I wasn't satisfied with the outcome of what terry's ford had to say. Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/08/06) */ As was explained to Ms. *********, a clutch is a wear item and not covered under the warranty. I believe her son drove the car for over 2700 miles in a month before the clutch went out. When I spoke to Ms. *********, I told her I would have my service manager *** get back to her, which he did. The car fax report only refers to title issue and accident a car may have been involved in, and has nothing to do with a blown clutch. Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/08/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I said nothing about a carfax I said how can the car be certified with all the problems that the diagnostics test showed. This isn't just about a clutch its about the clutch and everything else that was wrong with the car! $4700.00 worth of work that needs to be done! Clutch, starter, flywheel, r/f differential, etc. etc. etc......and by the way no tim did NOT get back to me I had to call him! Business Response /* (-10, 21, 2014/08/25) */ Business supplied email: **********@terrys.com Use this address for any contact with the Better Business Bureau Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2014/08/25) */ Ms. *********, on the original complaint that is on your website mentioned the carfax report. I was just explaining Terry's certification and Carfax are two different things. The vehicle he bought was certified, but the clutch is a wear item and unfortunately when the clutch went, it damaged other components of the car. Her son drove over 2700. He did not experience any problems with the vehicle. Any used vehicle is going to have normal wear and tear on components, but that does not mean the car will not function properly or fail. We stand by the fact that the clutch that failed is a wear item component, and would not be covered by any warranty. The clutch could have been damaged by the driving habits of the driver. Consumer Response /* (4200, 24, 2014/08/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Ok soo the clutch is not covered, I get that but the other components like the fly wheel is and I was told by a certified mechanic that it's highly unlikely for the other components such as the fly wheel, the starter, the r/ f differential as well as other things on the car to all be caused by a clutch going out. And as far as my sons driving habits, I was told that he couldn't have possible caused the clutch to go out because of the miles he has put on the car in a month or even his driving habits not unless he was a NASCAR DRIVER! The bottom line is there are a lot more things wrong with the car, and YOU knew about these things before selling the car, and I have done a diagnostics test on the car with a dealership as my witness that is also saying that the things that are wrong with the car was already bad or going bad and it was just a matter of time before it was going to surface in the near future, hence my sons clutch going out in a months time!

11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***. 24, 2013 purchased 2007 ******* **** Car for $21,000 cash from Terry's Lincoln Mercury located at 9401 W. 143rd, Orland Park, Il. XXXXX; mileage at time of sale was 47,679. I was informed the car came with a 12 month warranty covering bumper to bumper for parts & labor! Jan. 31, 2013 I returned to dealer seeking repairs to electric computer, door locks and interior lights. I also reported a noise from a.c. and heater blower. Dealer was in process of moving to ******** Il. Said they were unable to address the problem of blower due to most mechanics had already moved. Dealer repaired problems with door locks and interior lights and promised to look into the blower problems when I returned for my first oil change. That same day of Jan. 31, 2013 I drove to ******** Il. to insure all my paperwork had been added to new location computer. I was anssured all was in order. May 20, 2013 I returned for my first free oil change after only 1,250 miles. I was anxious to have car checked out from antifreeze to shocks also the blower motor. Dealer said these services will come with my second oil change. June 17, 2013 I picked up a special ordered trunk organizer from dealer paying $124.67. I also asked prices on satellite radio installing and new chrome strip for 2007 Lincoln. Parts Dept. directed me to ask service for cost of labor dealing with chrome strip and radio. Prices were given, and I asked if someone could check out my noisy blower. Service replied on my second oil change the whole car will be checked. Oct. 17,2013 areturned for 2nd oil change and services previously promised. I also informed dealer of recall I received; they acknowledged recall. I ordered chrome strip from parts and made appt. to have Sirus satellite radio installed. After some time service Rep. **** informed me it would cost $1,056.00. I told him I had a 12 month bumper to bumper! His first reply stated that only covered engine and transmission, and that I was untimely, I waited too long. I have invoices

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Honor the warranty!!!!!! The sales contract included the warranty -- please honor the contract!!

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 7, 2013/11/25) */ The case has been resolved. The company honored the warranty. Thank you for your interest in this matter. I can be reached at cell: (XXX) XXX-XXXX. **** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Terry's Ford Lincoln-Mercury of Peotone
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)