Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Suzuki of Glenview

Phone: (847) 832-1400 Fax: (847) 998-1671 View Additional Phone Numbers 630 Waukegan Rd, Glenview, IL 60025 http://www.suzukiofglenview.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Suzuki of Glenview include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Suzuki of Glenview
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 12, 2007 Business started: 08/27/2007 Business started locally: 08/27/2007 Business incorporated 07/23/2007 in
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Szklarzewski, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Szklarzewski, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Glenview Mitsubishi Saturn of Glenview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    630 Waukegan Rd

    Glenview, IL 60025 (847) 832-1400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/24/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/19/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Grand Vitara Suzuki from this dealership brand new with zero miles in 2013. The purchase agreement included a extended warranty on the trans/engine for 7years or up to 100k miles. Recently I was driving home from work and the vehicle oil came on for about two minutes before the car completely shut off with no previous warning signs of any issues. Last oil change was done 3-4weeks prior to this incident. When i contacted the dealership and advised them of the issue, they told me to schedule an appt. with service and that my warranty would cover this as it was still within the time frame (my car is at 62+k miles and warranty is covered until 100k) Later that day before I could take my vehicle into the dealership, I received a phone call from ****** in service stating that "IF" they can prove that this was my fault somehow they would NOT honor the warranty. I told him it could not be my fault as I always get my oil changes and always get them done with the same mechanic and for years now since owning the vehicle have NEVER had any issues. He proceeded to give me a hard time. I told them I would tow the vehicle there and they could at least look at the car before trying to deny my warranty. When i towed the car in the next day they said it would be inspected along with a fee we would have to pay for the inspection. So we agreed to have the dealership inspect the vehicle. They claimed days later that the mechanic caused an oil leak by inproperly installing or "not using the oil filter they would have used there at the service department at the dealership" therefore they will not cover this under my warranty. I told him to show me some sort of proof so I can speak with the mechanic about this issue. The service dept. then sends me an email stating they have NO RECORD OF MY PURCHASE AGREEMENT. Service dept. advised me they had to "google" pictures of the oil filter my mechanic supposedly used to do my oil change that caused the engine to blow. I need help!

Desired Settlement: I need my warranty to be properly honored. This business claims they have no record of my contract agreement I have emails from them saying so. I purchased my car at this same dealership! They refused to co operate on showing any proper burden of proof. They made up googled pictures of an oil filter that my mechanic does NOT even carry or has NEVER used on my vehicle just to avoid responsibility. Please help me get a resolution I tried to speak with the finance manager who service claims didnt have record of my purchase, he saw my purchase in the system claimed he would call me back and has avoided my calls since! My vehicle has been at this dealership since this issue started over a month ago.

Business Response: The letter that ******* **** ****** makes a general statement that they have exclusively (aside from January 2016) maintained and serviced the vehicle every 3000 miles or so.  That is not correct as the dealership performed an oil change service on 07/20/2013 and ****** * ******* Auto Service apparently performed the last oil change service before the vehicle was brought into the dealership in its present inoperable state.  We have made every effort to resolve this matter in a professional and courteous manner; however, we can not proceed until the consumer provides detailed service records, including dates, mileage and who performed the work.  This is the minimum amount of paperwork required to submit a claim with the manufacturer.  The documents supplied thus far are too broad and vague.  The vehicle is still here and the consumer has and always had access to it and our personnel.  This shall continue until this matter is resolved. I invite the consumer to contact me directly and we will see the matter through to the best of our ability.  The accurate and exact service records are key to filing a claim with the manufacturer.  The dealership does not make the warranty claim decisions.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Your dealership has yet to return any of my phone calls and or messages so simply calling you is clearly not resolving the issue at hand. I was by advised your finance manager that he would "investigate" the matter and call me back and I am still waiting on his call back. This is nearly a month later. I have tried making several calls and they go un  returned this is of no resolve. We are requesting arbitration with suzuki. If you would like to come to a resolve please contact me at **********

Sincerely,

***** *******

Business Response:

I have just spoken with the consumer at the given phone number and once again explained the need for the detailed service maintenance records in order to proceed with a manufacturer's warranty claim.  I further explained that we have been and will continue to be as helpful as possible towards an agreeable resolution.  I also invited the consumer to stop by in person to further discuss if that would help.  Our offer was rejected as the consumer ended the conversation abruptly.

 

There is nothing that the dealership can do to further the manufacturer warranty claim without the appropriate records supporting performance of recommended maintenance.

6/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my 2009 Suzuki *** to this facility on September 6, 2013 for brake repair and to get estimates on some other Suzuki specific work. Our car was recently stolen and this particular dealership used to be a Suzuki dealer so we thought this would be the best place to take it for service. We had the brake work done (cost of $616.76) since the vehicle was in desperate need of brake repair. We received the quote for the rest of the work, which totaled over $2000. About a month into the new brakes they started squeaking. We thought it would go away but just kept getting worse, like nails on a chalkboard. We took the car to another automotive place to get new tires for winter in early November, two months after the brake repair and about a month after the squeaking started. The tire/automotive place said we received a "bad brake job" and the rotors were not resurfaced. Well I don't know how accurate that was but the squeaking was definitely a concern. So we decided to take the car back and ask what the problem was. We spoke with both **** ******* and **** ********* who work at your facility, and they said they would do nothing. They went on and on about how squeaking is normal, its the humidity, the rotors were ground down and the other shop can not tell how the other work is done...basically we got nowhere with either of them. I felt hopeless and that I had no choice but to deal with it. Needless to say, we did not have the other work done with you since I doubt it would be handled appropriately. In March, six months later, my brake sensor started to go off every time I turn and brake and there is still that horrible squeaking sound. I called one last time to ask what can be done since they told me when I had the work done, they guarantee the work for a year and obviously something is not right. **** said they would charge $150 to just look at it even though this was a dispute of previous work. Only if we had the repair work done there, they would credit the charge to the total repair amount. I said I don't think it is fair that I would be charged again and he reiterated that was their policy. Since I was getting nowhere yet again, I took the car to another facility and had new brake pads put on the front, new rotors and a brake flush which totaled $530. The brake pads were completely worn down.

Desired Settlement: Due to the fact that I had to go somewhere else and get another complete brake job only six months after the original work and, not to mention, they had the chance to inspect and fix the issue themselves and elected to do nothing, I believe half the money ($308) is fair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2015/05/21) */ Hello. I have reviewed this matter and ask that you contact our Generel Sales manager, *** *******, to work this matter out to your complete satisfaction. Thank You. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 22, 2015/06/08) */ This case should not be closed. I have tried to contact the person listed in the complaint but have not received a response. Final Business Response /* (4000, 28, 2015/06/24) */ We regret that the consumer is dissatisfied with the work. Our technicians are highly trained and collectively have over 60 years experience in service maintenance and repairs. Since we had not had th opportunity to properly resolve this issue as it was unfolding, we believe that the service credit we previously extended is more than fair. I hope that you resonsider the offer. We have and shall continue to stand behind our work. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 30, 2015/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was charged over $600 for a service that was not done correctly. Now I am being offered only a third of the cost for work at the same business that did it incorrectly in the first place. That does not make sense to me. I will not accept this and hope this goes on record so that other customers will see this and think twice before having work done at this facility. This issue is almost two years old at this point and no one from the company has ever tried to personally contact me.

5/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: la queja que estamos reclamando es que el dealer nos robo un cheque de garantia del vehiculo. El cheque era de la de una garantia llamanda Mater Tech y fue cancelada por el dealer sin authorizacion nuestra. la cancelacion fue hecha por la compra de otro vehiculo en el mismo dealer trade in) ellos utlizaron la cantidad de 750 dolares de down payment sin authorizacion nuestra de ese cheque de un valor de 1348.12 para el nuevo vehiculo. Recientemente se le hiso el reclamo por el cheque por que llamamos a la azeguranza y ellos nos dijeron que ellos mandaron el cheque al dealer. El dealer nunca nos llamo ni nos contacto para el remebolzo completo. Ellos reclaman que el dinero fue utilizado como down payment.El cancelamento fue el 23 de febrero el 2013 y el dinero fue recibido en Marzo 6 del 2013. como el dealer utilizo el dinero el dia 23 feb, sin saber la cantidad y resiviendo el cheque casi un mes despues... en mis papeles no hay ninguna autorizacion de dicha trasacion. Product_Or_Service: vehicle protection program Account_Number: XXXXXXX Translated by ****** ******* 02/26/2015; My complaint is because the dealer stole our check of warranty for the vehicle. The check was for the warranty by the name of ********** and it was cancelled by the dealer without our permission. The cancellation was done due to the purchase of another vehicle at this dealer with a (trade in) they used part of the check for the down payment of the car purchase,the full amount of the check is for $1348.12 used without our authorization. We made the claim to the warranty for the car and it is how we were made aware that the check was sent to the dealer for the amount of $1348.12 and the dealer never bother to contact us with this information. We called the dealer and they said it was used for the down payment of the new purchased vehicle. They cancelled the warranty on the 23rd of February of 2013. They received the check on March 6, 2013. They received the check as mentioned on March 6 but the purchase of the car was done a month prior on February 23rd,them not knowing the amount the check was for. On my documents there is no such transaction showing any of the above.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund la solucion del caso es que se me reembolse toda la cantidad de dicha aseguranza de 1,348.12 completo, pues fue dinero utilizado sin ningun permiso, sin dejarlo saber, y sin ninguna autorizacion escrita....hasta ahora ellos dan direntes explicaciones, sin fundamento The solution for this case is for a refund of the total amount sent by the warranty for $1348.12 since it was a check used without authority by the dealer. The dealer keeps given us different stories without substantiation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: 847.832.1400 Contact Email: ******@amebank.com The customer's refund check was mailed mid February and should be in her possession. Please advise if there is anything further needed at this time.

2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: service contract number ADXX XXXXXX purchase date 2/04/2012 contract amount of $2XXX XX months 100,000 miles purchased through finance manger of dealership

Desired Settlement: $1200 dollars late fees like the companies charge us will not take anything less but will take more

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/01/22) */ Hi! Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. The warranty cancellation has been processed through the warranty company and a refund check has been in the mail to the consumer for approximately one week. If there are any further concerns, please contact our office manager, ***** at *************

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The car fax report given to me at the time of sale showed that it was clean. But when I tried to sell the car it showed on a current car fax report that it was in a accident four months before i bought the car I believe the dealer knew this, but gave me a fake report to sell the car.

Desired Settlement: I lost 5 to 6 thousand dollars due to this inaccurate information. the car lost almost 6 thousand in resell value. had the info been correct it would have been different.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ************ Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ******@amebank.com Good Morning: Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. After a thorough review of the file, there is no evidence that any accident was reported on the Car Fax report when we acquired and then subsequently the vehicle to the consumer. We have found in the past that sometimes Car Fax does not gather and report information in real time and a delay most certainly exist. This is why used vehicles are sold "AS IS" with proper disclosures made to the best of our knowledge. Also, this consumer had considerably negative equity entering into this transaction minimal cash downpayment. This practice,coupled with frequent purchases and trade-ins with no money down, will severely inpact future equity. I trust this resolves this matter. Please advise if any further communication is necessary. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/12/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) the business practices of this company are not in the best interest to the consumer. Most dealers do complete checks every month on cars in there posesion. this company does not, I spoke to car fax company, they gave info that the accident was enter to the vehicle. two months prior to me purchasing the car. Its all documented in the report. The dealer does check its vehicles. plus the car i bought was not sold "as is" like he stated. mine did have warranty. I believe the dealer is trying to stir away from and issue that its doing things right. but its wrong. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/12/18) */ Contrary to the consumer's statement it is not common industry practice to conduct monthly Carfax checks. The vehicle was sold AS IS which docyument was attested and signed by the consumer. Supporting documentation is available for inspection. The warranty referenced was a standard limited warranty for the first 3 months or 3000 miles of ownership. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/12/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) DEALER IS STILL NOT ADMITTING FAULT. THE CAR WAS NOT SOLD "AS IS: i HAVE DOCUMENTATION SHOWING THAT IT DID HAVE SOME WARRANTY LEFT ON THE VEHICLE. DEALER PRACTICES ARE NOT KEPT UP TO DATE. AND IF A INSPECTION OR AUDIT HAPPENS TO BE DONE. i AM SURE YOU WOULD FIND MISTAKES. IT IS DECIEVING THE AMERICAN PUBLIC

10/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered the part(Catalytic coverter)by phone and stop at the dealership for payment. Went to pick up part on saturday and was not ordered.No manager was at the store on a saturday to resolved the issue. ****** a sales rep.came and offer me a 30% discount for the error and I asked for the part to be delivered at my house. The part for delivered 3 days later but the discount have not been issue. I been calling the dealer every day since the issue and it is going to be a month on ******* 25 and they still not giving me the discount. The come with excuses and saying oh yes it will be done today, tomorrow and nothing happened.I already talked to ******(sales rep),*****( General manager,and Linda (Office manager)and nobody can resolved the issue.I am very frustrated and feel very discriminated from these managers.

Desired Settlement: I am just asking for the 30% discount of $859.00 that I was charged for the part. If they cannot give the refund at least I can get other complimentary services or products for the equal value of the discount. I calculated the discount as $250.00

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 7, 2013/10/28) */


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Suzuki of Glenview
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)