Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Steve Foley Cadillac, Inc.

Phone: (847) 564-4090 Fax: (847) 564-5787 100 Skokie Blvd., Northbrook, IL 60062 http://www.stevefoley.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Steve Foley Cadillac, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Steve Foley Cadillac, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1989 Business started: 04/01/1975 Business started locally: 04/01/1975
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stephen X. Foley, Jr., V.P./General Manager Ms. Cathy Foley, Director Adv & Mktg Mr. Ed Rodriguez Sr., Director Service
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Cathy Foley, Director Adv & Mktg
Principal: Mr. Stephen X. Foley, Jr., V.P./General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Services Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Bentley Northbrook Foley Cadillac, Inc.-Steve Steve Foley Cadillac Steve Foley Rolls-Royce

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 Skokie Blvd.

    Northbrook, IL 60062

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i purchased a new car from *********** in ********* and they said i could cancel this warrantee so i called the place i bought it which is ***** ***** cadillac and they wont help me cancel it

Desired Settlement: i want a refund for the remainder of the warantee period

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/07) */ Ms. ******** purchased a Certified Pre-owned Cadillac (CPO) which is a manufacture's warranty and stays with the car until expiration. This is similar to the original manufacture's warranty. A CPO warranty is not refundable. A CPO vehicle has a higher value at trade-in if there is remaining warranty. A CPO is different from an extended warranty. Ms ******** has been told this by GM and representatives of Steve Foley Cadillac. It appears that Ms. ******** has received incorrect information from **** Cadillac. **** Cadillac should know the difference between CPO and extended warranties. We will report **** Cadillac to GM executives. They may need more training on CPO.

5/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to the dealership with a "check engine soon" warning light going on my panel. I was due for a 3000 mile oil change so I asked to have that done also. I was told that it wouldn't take that long, about 1/2 hr, to do these things. About 1 and 1/4 hr later (no big deal), my service writer came back to me and gave me a list of issues that my car had, besides the issue pertaining to the warning light. As the car is older and I plan to get a new one soon, I told him to forego the issues that were not absolutely necessary, and just do the oil change and new wiper blades. Another 2 hrs later, they present me with a $290.96 bill. The majority of the bill being for labor and diagnostics and inspection. That is completely unacceptable. They didn't do anything but plug in the computer. I'm in business myself, and if I tried to pull this type of travesty on a customer, I know I wouldn't be in business long. I usually go to a different dealership for my service issues, and thought that every Cadillac dealer was similar. Boy, was I wrong. I would think that Cadillac would have an issue with this type of customer relations. Product_Or_Service: ********* Order_Number: R/O number XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund If this were me, and my customer was treated like this, I would give them a full refund, with apologies.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/03/10) */ On ******** *** 2014, Mr. ****** brought his 2005 Cadillac Deville with 185,000 miles to our service department because the check engine light was illuminated. He also wanted an oil change. The service advisor informed Mr. ****** that there is a diagnostic fee to determine the cause of the engine light. Mr. ****** approved proceeding with the diagnosis and signed the repair order. The technician discovered the evaporator purge solenoid was defective. The cost of the repair was $355 including the $135.00 diagnostic fee ($220.00 plus $135.00). The technician also discovered other maintenance items requiring attention. Mr. ****** declined all repairs. We proceeded with changing the oil change and the replacement of wiper blades. Mr. ****** did object to the inspection fee while at the cashier. It was also explained to Mr. ****** at that time that if he chooses to have any of the repairs discovered during the inspection performed at a later date, the inspection fee would be credited to the repair. This is company policy and makes good business sense. As Mr. ****** has stated, he is in business also. We charge for the inspection and here's why: the inspection requires expensive GM certified diagnostic equipment. The results are analyzed by a GM certified technician who is paid hourly and the dealership pays for all of his training to be current. To perform a free inspection would allow customers to leave the dealership with a full diagnosis that could be performed at a repair shop that does not have GM certified equipment or technicians. We include the diagnostic fee in the cost of the repair. If the repairs are not performed at our dealership, the customer must pay the diagnostic fee. We cannot refund the diagnostic fee for the diagnosis performed. We can, however, perform the necessary repair to the evaporator purge solenoid and credit the diagnostic fee to the repair. Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2014/05/01) */ As I had explained in my complaint, I asked for the cause of the engine warning light. I also asked for an oil change and wipers. They came back with a long list of things they diagnosed, besides the problem I had asked them to investigate. I did not ask for or authorize, any diagnostics beyond that. Besides that, supposedly the diagnostic test was $135. If you subtract $135 from the $290.96 total they charged me, then the oil change and wipers cost $155.96. That is just way out of line. I understand that some places are more expensive than others, but most everywhere I go to get oil changes, including other dealers, the cost is a max of $40.00 to $55.00. Wipers, even the best, cost no more than $25.00. Of course I understand buyer beware, but this is abuse. I took the car to another dealer, and they examined the "check engine light" problem, and indeed charged me $220.00 to fix the problem, but even though they ran their own diagnostic on it (simply plugged in the computer) they did not charge me the $135.00. If they don't want to refund the extreme overages they charged me overall, fine. But I feel that this issue should be acknowledged and the public, and Cadillac, should be made aware of this companies practices. I am sure this is not the first complaint against them, and hope that their BBB record will reflect it. thank you, **** ****** Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/05/22) */ The latest response from Mr. ****** validates our pricing as usual and customary for the industry. He mentions that he did have the repairs completed for $220 which is what we quoted. The invoice that Mr. ****** received from the dealership in February following payment, indicated all of the recommended services that he declined. These are the services that were recommended as a result of the $135 diagnostic fee. This could be taken to any repair shop and the repair facility would not need to perform further diagnostics. Thus, why we charge $135 for the diagnosis. Relative to the total cost of his service, below is a break out of the costs which again demonstrate that our prices are customary for the industry: Oil Change Labor: $38.80 Parts: $49.67 (filter, 8 quarts of oil and wiper fluid) Total: $88.47 Wipers Parts: $36 ($18 each) Labor: $10 Inspection/Diagnosis $135 Shop Supplies (Environmental Fee for disposal of oil and filter waste) $12.87 Tax $8.62 Total is $290.96 Mr. ****** indicates that even the best wiper blades should cost no more than $25 max. That is not what an internet search reveals for a 2005 Cadillac Deville. His research is inaccurate. His facts relative to the cost of an oil change at other Cadillac dealers is also inaccurate. There may be specials from time to time, but the regular price of an oil change at other Cadillac dealers is not a max of $40 to $55. I suppose Mr. ****** believes that dealers should only charge customers for the parts and not the labor. If so, he should take that up with the Mechanics' Local 701 which negotiates hourly wages, pension and welfare benefits for the technicians. Consumer Response /* (4200, 19, 2014/05/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not see any resolution proposed by the dealership. They keep trying to validate their charges with conflicting rhetoric. The bottom line is they overcharged, and charged for something not requested. As a business, they should be ashamed to keep denying and arguing the facts, and then insult me by calling me a liar. we have spent way too much time and energy on this matter. They need to be exposed as to the type of consumer relations policies they employ. As a consumer advocate organization, I hope that you will at least post the complaint. I see no purpose in restating, over and over, the same story. thank you, **** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Steve Foley Cadillac, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)