Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

St. Charles Toyota

Phone: (630) 584-6655 Fax: (630) 584-8150 2651 E Main St, Saint Charles, IL 60174 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.stcharlestoyota.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that St. Charles Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for St. Charles Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on St. Charles Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 27, 2011 Business started: 06/02/1994 Business started locally: 06/02/1994 Business incorporated 06/02/1994 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael E. Alf, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael E. Alf, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

St. Charles Toyota has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2651 E Main St

    Saint Charles, IL 60174 (630) 584-6655

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had taken my 2013 *** 4 for scheduled maintenance at the end on July. This maintenance included a battery check. My car had not been starting prior to the appointment. On August 22 my car would not start and I had to have a battery installed on an emergency basis because I had to get to work. It cost me $140.92. This battery was not even 3 years old. I contacted St Charles Toyota on August 24th and spoke to ***** ******** he did not help in anyway. Then I contacted Toyota directly case#1608241310 and they said that a ****** ******* who is the Customer Relations Manager was suppose to contact me in 2 business days. I never heard from him. I followed up with Toyota on September 7th who in turn called St. Charles Toyota and left a message for **** *** who is the Manager of St. Charles Toyota to return my call..instead ***** ******** called me and left a message. I did not return his call because I feel it is a waste of my time because we already spoke in the past.

Desired Settlement: I have owned many cars in the past and I have never had this issue in the past..I feel that this was a faulty battery and not checked and serviced correctly and that I should be reimbursed for it.

Business Response: Unfortunately the battery failed and it is not under warranty.  Customer had also contacted Toyota Motor Sales and was told the same.  This battery is not serviceable so replacement is all that can be done.  Customer has had battery replaced buy independent shop.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I had it in to be checked and it checked out ok according to Toyota...I was stuck on a work day and had no other choice but to replace it on an emergency basis.

 

Sincerely,

***** *******

6/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since 2015 I was informed by the Elgin Toyota dealership during my oil changes that my Toyota 2007 RAV4 had virtually no oil. The dealership replenished it and 1000 miles later the oil light comes on and no oil was registered on the dipstick. Sept 2015 I was finally told about an oil consumption test which they said I passed however oil would disappear now within 800 miles. The Elgin location agreed to do another oil consumption test and during that time the oil light came on so I drove to the nearest dealership which was in St. Charles, IL. They told me there was no oil in the car and the Elgin dealership should had never passed my car. I had to do a 3rd oil consumption test because I was a few miles over the required mileage for the 2nd test to be valid. In February 2016 I failed the oil consumption test at the St. Charles, IL location and they put me on the wait list and told me they're out of parts to fix the car. Despite repeated phone calls to service manager and open case at the recommended toll free # I have not been taking care of. The car can not drive even 400 miles now without me refilling the oil. They basically told me there is nothing they can do and the district manager would not approve a rental car. I am a professional businesswoman and have to go under my vehicle every 2 days! I have to purchased a 5 quart jug of oil every two weeks and was told to keep my receipts because they will reimburse me, which at this point I don't believe them because they don't appeared to have any attention on fixing the problem. I'm worried my only means of transportation will blow its engine which appears that may be Toyota goal versus fixing a known recall issue.

Desired Settlement: I need my car fixed ASAP or a loaner. I am scheduled to donate a kidney to my sister at the end of June and can not wait for Toyota "promise" endless wait list . I am constantly traveling to Chicago from Elgin to the transplant team or my sister numerous doctor appointments and an unreliable car is becoming a burden and soon to be physically and financial burden. I have followed their service manager advice for now 4 months with no reasonably timely solutions.

Business Response:

St Charles Toyota doing all we can for Ms. ******** We did diagnose the problem correctly unlike the other Toyota Dealer she was going to. Parts are not available from Toyota at this time and are on back order. We as a the dealership have reached out to Toyota Corporate to see if we can get them to authorize a rental vehicle but, they declined. Please note that this is a Warranty Extension on the vehicle and not a recall. The original manufactures warranty was 5 years/ 60,000 miles which Ms. ******* is well over both time and milage. Toyota in the interest of customer satisfaction extended warranty on the engine as a gesture of goodwill. St Charles Toyota fully intends to perform the repairs outlined by Toyota Corporate for Ms. ******* vehicle as soon as parts are made available to us.

Business Response: Until we have part form Toyota we can not fix her problem.  We have people waiting for over a year for parts to be released. This is a National problem and not something we can do anything about.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Again no resolution but told wait for parts response.  No accountability, continue to pass the blame to corporate "Toyota" in attempt to separate responsibility.  They still don't understand customers don't see a difference between Toyota corporate or Toyota dealership.  No attempts to come up with a solutions while customer wait for parts for years.  Overall I'm still dissapointed by lack of updates and car still burning oil at an alarming rate with no resolution in sight.  Very shameful way to treat a loyal Toyota owner who has only own Toyota products for over 20 years.


******* *******

9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I purchased my new 2014 Toyota Rav4 in July 2014 from Toyota of St. *******, I was encouraged by the salesman to purchase an interior and exterior protection product and service for the new car. I was told that the exterior protection was an extra coating that was put on the car to protect it from the environment including scratches and scrapes. When I scraped the front corner of my car, I called the dealership to have this fixedas I was promised during the sale. It was at that time that I was told the service did not include fixing scratches and scrapes; that was included in the ***** service that I didn't purchase. Now, I understand which service covers what and which service I purchased. None of that changes that fact that I was lied to and misled during the sales process regarding the exterior protective coating. It was not communicated that there were two products available; I did not know that the ***** product was a different product than the exterior/interior protection product as these were presented to me as one product. I also directly asked (regarding the exterior protection product), "So, this protects against scratches and scrapes?" The salesman said "Yes, and if anything happens you can bring it here and they will fix it up." I attempted to resolve this matter with the dealership the morning of 09/30/14 and was told that there is nothing they can do and the salesman is denying that he said the above. During the sale presentation, the salesman was distracted by trying to use an iPad to show me features of the carhe had trouble using the iPad and seemed confused. After the sale, he thanked me because I was his first sale. He also said that this was the first time he was on his own for the sale presentation. There were a few times when he required assistance from other sales people. When I called the dealership to resolve this issue on 09/30/14, the man I spoke to claimed that this salesman had years of experience and a good track record selling the interior/exterior protection product...but, the salesman told me that I was his first sale and he misled me regarding the protection product. The fact is, I was lied to and mislead, which in turn led me to purchase a misrepresented product. I would not have purchased this product under the correct representation.

Desired Settlement: Since the issue regards the exterior protection service/product and the product was an interior/exterior protection service/product, I propose a refund of half the amount spent to purchase the product. The total amount spent was $497 (and some change). I'm seeking a refund of $248.50.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/03) */ Customer came into dealership on 10/03/14 and the scratches described on vehicle have been taken care of.

9/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 02/28/14 I was promised a 2nd set of keys if I purchased a vehicle that was close to $30,000 with fees and interest. 03/23/14 I reached out to my salesman *** via text and got no response. 04/5/14 I reached out to *** again via text and *** responded with a phone call saying he would follow up but he never did. 05/28/14 I texted *** again and he responded via text saying he was sorry and would work on my keys. 06/03/14 *** texted he was still working on it. Didn't hear back until I texted *** 06/16/14 and he responded via text, back and forth conversation did not end with resolution. I advised I would be filing a formal complaint and he assured me this was not necessary, so I gave him one more chance. 06/17 found resolution to have a contracted 3rd party come to my work and make a set of keys. I gave him my work address and didn't hear back from him. Nobody ever came to my work to make replacement key set. 07/31/14 I texted *** again and advised a complaint would be filed with Toyota and if not resolved would go to BBB to file complaint. Gave fair and clear warning this was last chance to resolve. *** assured me I did not need to complain but I did anyway. 08/1/14 called and spoke to part-owner ***** ***, I explained situation and he promised to call me back on 08/4/14. I did not receive a call back as promised. This was the last communication that took place.

Desired Settlement: I want the genuine Toyota Key and genuine Toyota Key Pad that was promised in February 2014. I have 8 printed pages of text messaging and numerous extensive phone calls in attempt to resolve. Compensation for my time and mental stress and anxiety is also requested. I will accept monetary compensation or compensation in the form of services (i.e. complementary oil changes, tire rotation, etc..)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/12) */ After talking on 8/1 with one of the owners, customer began communications on 8/4 with UC manager. During conversation on 8/1 owner agreed to provide a second key for the vehicle. Currently we have cut a key cut and waiting for customer to schedule which day to bring in vehicle to have programmed. Customer to contact UC manager. Customer is only available during certain hours and we have made arrangements to have the key programmed at a convenient time. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The day this complaint was filed, I was told I could come in on saturday to have the key programmed. Then I was called and I had a voicemail retracting the previous statement bacuase they did not have a technician campable of programming on that day. Resolution is still pending. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/08/21) */ We have communicated with the customer and anticipate the key being being programmed to her car within the next week. Customer scheduling through UC manager when time is available to bring in.

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A service contract refund agreement was purchased on 7/11/08 during the purchase of my new car. St Charles Toyota collected the fee of $1650. and at the inception date of July 11, 2014 I was to receive a refund of $1650. if the contract was not used. I attempted to contact ****** ********* ***** to find they had gone out of business. I called St Charles Toyota and was told that the company had gone out of business and Toyota had no plans to honor the contract. The St Charles sales receipt of 7/11/2008 by salesman ******** shows the fee of $1650.00 collected for the verhicle service agreement. Additional I was given a contract SSRXXXXXXX filled out by the St Charles salesman showing ****** ********* ***** on the heading signed by the authorized dealer respresentative. It was the dearlerships choice to pick this paticular private warranty company probably because they received a percentage of the sales at the time. I feel they should refund the amount charged to me of $1650.00.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the purchase of a Service Contract sold to me by St ******* Toyota of $1650.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/27) */ The Service Contract Refund Agreement ("Agreement") that ******** ***** entered into with ****** ********* ***** ************ on July 11, 2008 is between her and ******* It is important to understand that ******** entered into the Agreement with ****** and not St. Charles Toyota. All transactions related to the Agreement, including requirements for making a claim for a refund are between ******** and Signet. Furthermore, the Agreement states that: "Signet agrees to refund the full price... of the service contract." It further states that "Performance under the Agreement is the sole responsibility of Signet and is not to be construed as an obligation of the part of the dealer... all refunds will be paid by Signet." Unfortunately, ****** has gone out of business and is apparently not honoring refund requests from its customers. St Charles Toyota has not had any conversations or contact with ******* nor have we been able to find any available insurance coverage from them. Although St. Charles Toyota sympathizes with ******** who signed and entered into this third party agreement, the obligation and responsibility cannot be assessed against St. Charles Toyota. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) See attached Complaint which I am filing for clarification. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/17) */ ******** ***** entered into an agreement with ****** ********* ***** on July 11, 2008 and not St Charles Toyota regarding this complaint. At this time, according to ********* agreement, she would be eligible to apply for a refund after July 11, 2014. Any refund claim is between ******** and ****** financial Group.

2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/02/14 I brought my Toyota Rav4 in for service. I had THREE dash lights on indicating that an Air/Fuel sensor was not working. St Charles Toyota ran diagnostics, did an oil change and some recall work on the rear suspension. They did not have the part to fix my sensor issue so they ordered it and sent me on my way. When I left I had FIVE warning lights on. The two new lights were ABS and BRAKE. Since my part was due in in the next day or two I figured I'd let them know when I came back. I assumed it had something to due with the previous sensor issue that they had to order the part for. They got the sensor in and the soonest I could schedule was a week later. When I got to my next appointment, on 1/09/14,I let them know what had happened when I left my previous appointment. They found the new problem but wouldn't take responsibility for it. There was another sensor broken. I thought that they would do the right thing and fix it no charge. Their offer was to take $60 off of the new $430 charge. They had to order the new sensor also. I brought the car back on 1/19/14 for the final service. Over the next few days I talked to the Toyota National Hotline, another Toyota dealers' service manager, and an online Toyota mechanic w 30 years of experience. They all said the same thing, St Charles Toyota should be responsible for that repair. I was also told that St Charles Toyota was lying to me about how they determined that the timing of the broken sensor was not while the vehicle was in their building. St Charles Toyota owes me a complete refund of $370.16 for the extra charges they rang up up on me due to their own negligence.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $370.16

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/31) */ Upon inspection of vehicle we found 3 lights on the dashboard lit. Using computer diagnostics, codes were retrieved determining what the failure was. Parts were ordered and repairs would be completed upon arrival and appointment. Customer brought vehicle back in to complete installation of parts ordered from previous visit a week later. He let us know additional lights were on. Stated they were on when he left from previous visit. Customer did not notify us upon picking vehicle up or during follow up phone call the following day. A follow up message was left and he confirmed he received but didn't call back. We again used computer diagnostics and received different codes than the original issue. These codes showed up in "Current Status" and not History or Pending. We shared this information with him. Initial repair estimate for the new issue was $430 plus tax. In the interest of customer satisfaction we offered "Good Will" to complete the repair for 344.96 plus tax. The customer accepted the offer and the parts were ordered. The second repair was completed and we honored the price quoted and accepted. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have been told by three sources, all with great degrees of Toyota service experience, that there is no way for St Charles Toyota to tell me when the new lights on my dash came on. They can not definitively say that those warning lights were not on when I left their facility the first time. They were. I made the mistake of trusting this dealership and did expect that they would be so rude and dishonest. I thought that they would just do the honorable thing and fix whatever issue was created in their facility. They got me to accept their "goodwill" offer before I had done the research and made the calls and found out that they were being dishonest. Their online reviews show that this is a pattern of theirs, negligent work followed by upcharging the customer. I have no reason to pursue this further, this company has lost every future penny that I, or anyone that I know, would of spent there. The extra $370 is nothing compared to the $100,000 I have spent in the last 10 years down the street AT A DEALER THAT I TRUST. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/12) */ We provided a "Good Will" offer based on actual findings on this vehicle. This offer was made prior to any involvement by the Better Business Bureau and prior to the work being performed on the vehicle. It was our understanding prior to him leaving this repair visit we had reach a mutual agreement, to which he thanked us for. The day before his appointment, he was contacted and expressed not being happy about the situation. He was asked if he wanted to keep the appointment and said he would be in to get it fixed. We completed the repairs as agreed upon the next day. It is unfortunate the customer is not satisfied. We would like to make him a Happy Customer, but it does not seem possible. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/02/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Goodwill was accepted in order to get the process of ordering the part and fixing the vehicle underway. Due to gross negligence Saint Charles Toyota created more problems for my vehicle than it originally had. They did not accept responsibility for the new issues. This is a pattern at St Charles Toyota.

1/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to bring to your attention the fact that I received extremely poor customer service and in turn had a horrible, dangerous and traumatizing experience purchasing a car at St. Charles Toyota used car dealership which took place on December 27th 2013 at approximately 12:30 p.m. After I was finished with the paperwork for the sale of the car I proceeded to take the vehicle home. Not even twenty minutes after I pulled out of your lot on North Avenue the car died while I was in motion going 45 miles per hour. The car then stalled on train tracks in the middle of a very busy road.When the Saab was stalled on the train tracks I was under extreme duress. I then proceeded to call ******* (sales assoc) about the cars defect and my situation. I was then told the car was fine when you left, he had no regards to my dire and dangerous situation. I felt all he did was point fingers in the opposite direction making excuses on why the car completely died twenty minutes after I left. He did not offer my any help or an explanation on what my rights were as a consumer. I had to ask ******* if he could contact a tow truck and what I would now do stuck on a major road and train tracks with no form of transportation. I had to call a friend that was working at the time to leave his job and come pick me up on the side of the road. I had to call ******* repeatedly to find out what my options were now that I wrote a check for $1500.00 and received a loan for a car I could not use or drive. Once the car was serviced I proceeded to pick it up and speak to the used car sales manager *****. Before I left I indicated that I would never buy from this dealership again and ***** explained that he did not care and it was Not His Problem. There was a good-faith agreement (Uniform Commercial Code Section 1-304) with both verbal and written between the dealership and I that it is safe, trouble-free and dependable source of transportation. I still have not received any apology or peace of mind from St. Charles Toyota. Product_Or_Service: Saab 2008 Order_Number: VIN: *******YXXXXXXX Account_Number: Stock #: XXXXXA

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement extended warranty on item or comparable agreement on item.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/13) */ Prior to receiving this notice but after this complaint was filed we were in touch with the customer. We have offered to place Toyota Powertrain coverage on her vehicle for 12 months or 12000 miles so she feels more comfortable and confident with her purchase.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on St. Charles Toyota
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart