Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

South Suburban Mitsubishi

Phone: (708) 898-3300 5343 Miller Circle Dr, Matteson, IL 60443 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.southsuburbanmitsubishi.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that South Suburban Mitsubishi meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for South Suburban Mitsubishi include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on South Suburban Mitsubishi
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 18, 1999 Business started: 05/01/1995 Business started locally: 05/01/1995
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Reveliotis, President Mr. Dennis Boston, General Sales Manager Ms. Bonnie Orrellana, Office mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Reveliotis, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Shock Absorbers Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Brake Service Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Gina's Auto Sales

Additional Locations

  • 5343 Miller Circle Dr

    Matteson, IL 60443 (708) 898-3300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MITSUBISHI **** *** *** *** ******** ** ***** To Whom It May Concern: The following will include detailed information regarding an ongoing issue with my 2015 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport. Per the arbitration application you will see that the vehicle has been admitted and serviced 4 times without resolve. The following is what occurs, while attempting to accelerate the vehicle does not allow me to. The speed steadily drops and even with the gas pedal being pushed, and at times, pushed all the way to the vehicle floor, the vehicle will not engage or accelerate. Until recently, no warning lights were displayed. Twice in the last few months the ASC SYSTEM SERVICE REQUIRED warning lights have come on but were no longer present once the vehicle was turned off and then back on again. The reoccurring issue/visits are outlined below. • The first occurrence was not reported. After pulling onto the shoulder and turning the car off, then back on, the issue had self-corrected. This occurred within the first month of purchase. • The second occurrence happened shortly after however self-corrected while still having the car in drive. I transitioned the vehicle from automatic to manual then back to automatic. After doing so the car reengaged. The third occurrence is when I started to officially document what was happening with Mitsubishi. • Max Madsen Mitsubishi Downers Grove Illinois on 2-6-2016 o Issue occurred with my family in the car. We were heading to Wisconsin for a ski trip. Thankfully Enterprise stayed open late that evening and had a vehicle available for us so that we could continue our trip. • South Suburban Mitsubishi Monee Illinois on 2-25-2016 o Was almost involved in an accident on I355. At high speeds when attempting to pass a vehicle, my vehicle suddenly stopped accelerating. • South Suburban Mitsubishi Matteson Illinois 3-28-2016 o I had my father in the car, we were going about 30-35 MPH when the vehicle would no longer allow me to accelerate. • South Suburban Mitsubishi Matteson Illinois 5-4-2016 o The incident caused me to be late for work and I ended up having to take the day off due to the timing of the roadside assistance and the 40 miles drive to South Suburban Mitsubishi with the roadside assistance company. The following are my concerns with continuing to drive this vehicle. 1. The safety of my family. We travel quite often and this is the vehicle that we gather in to enjoy our trips. 2. My safety. Each day I travel 50 miles to and from my place of employment. 3. The safety of those around me. 4. Lastly and of least importance compared to the other concerns is my continued inconvenience. Although South Suburban Mitsubishi has provided great customer service, the stress of the unknown, almost having to delay our ski trip, missing work and traveling back and forth to the dealership has become tiresome. With the approval from third party arbitrators, I am requesting that my current vehicle be paid in full so that I have the opportunity to return as a Mitsubishi customer and purchase a new 2016 2.4L AWD Outlander Sport with automatic start from South Suburban Mitsubishi. For my troubles and lost funds over the last year I am requesting that Mitsubishi provide a lifetime warranty on my new vehicle and for safety reasons, a factory backup camera at no additional charge. I greatly appreciate your time regarding this matter. SINCERELY, SCOTT LINN PLEASE NOTE THAT A CASE MANAGER WAS ALSO ASSIGNED TO THIS ISSUE HOWEVER I ONLY RECEIVED ONE CALL ON 2-19-2016. I EXPLAINED THE ISSUE AT HAND AND STRESSED MY CONCERNS FOR MY FAMILY AND SELF. THAT WAS THE FIRST AND LAST TIME I SPOKE TO THE CASE MANAGER.

Desired Settlement: Vehicle buy back

12/11/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car in for repairs on July 1,2014. I needed rear brakes and my skid light was on. The Service Writer **** ****** said It would cost me $2,600 to fix it. I didn't have that much money because I had already paid this same car dealer $18,165.00 in auto repairs over a period of 3 years. Every time I would take my car to the South Suburban Mitsubishi dealer in Monee IL , a few days later something else would go wrong with my car. This dealer has completely inflated there charges and I believe they has tampered with my car to make it break down. This dealer has taken advantage of a mentally challenge person. They finally said the car was ready on July 10,2014 I went in to pick up my car and paid the $2,600 after taking out a loan just to pay it. The skid light was still on, so I talked to Derek Farris the sales Manager, and I told him I was dissatisfied with there service, he told me to complain with the Better Business Bureau because he didn't care! I could not believe how rude this man was. I left the car there for them to completely fix my car and then I get a call on July 11, 2014 from the Service Manager *** ******* stating that they would need another $500.00 to fix the skid light. I asked to speak with the owner *** ****** and they put me on hold for 15mins and then came back and said he is in a meeting . I then ask to speak with ****** ****** the General Manager and they said he is not available . I told them I already paid for the skid light to be fixed and I am not paying another dime and then *** ******* the service manager said he didn't know when My car will be ready and hung up the phone on me. I spent $18,165.91 plus $2,600.00 on repairs !!!!!! Product_Or_Service: car repairs Order_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want my car fixed correctly and I want a refund for the $2,600.00.This car dealer has intimidated me and has totally taken advantage of me!! I have spent $18,165.91 in repairs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** General Man Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@southsuburbanmitsubishi When the customer came to pick her vehicle up from service, it was after our service hours, and she spoke to one of our sales managers, Mr. ***** ******* ***** apologized to Mrs. *********, and told her to leave her vehicle with us , so that he could question the service department the following day. Her sister, who was with her decided to become belligerent, and made a scene in our showroom. In spite of her sisters behavior ,we assured her that we would speak to the service manager the next day. She also told us that her rear door was not working , and ***** told her that we would also look into that issue. The next day when the service department arrived, we let them know about this issue, and they stated that the "skid light" needed to be reset, at no charge to the customer. When the service department spoke to her, they explained that to repair the rear door, there would be an additional diagnosis charge, plus whatever the parts would be. She never complained about the door, and actually accused us of breaking it. When I became aware of this issue, I immediately called her and told her that I would waive the diagnosis fee that we charge to try to appease her. I was given this notice today to address, and I had all of her service records pulled. Yes , she has spent money in service, and it was done to maintain a vehicle with 110,000 miles, that she began having us repair in May of 2010. she now has 164,000 miles as of July, 2nd of this year. We are a reputable dealer, that relies on our reputation, and transparency to be successful. At no time have we ever taken advantage of her or anyone else. If we were such a bad place to do business with, then why did she buy another vehicle from us on 7/03/2014. We never had an issue with Mrs. ********* until her sister, who also was present when she purchased another vehicle from us, expressed an interest in buying the Montero that was serviced here. If necessary, I can provide an itemized list of all repair work that was done here. Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2015/01/09) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Thank you ****** and *** for going above and beyond to resolve this matter. Thank you for the itemized list of all the repair work that was done on my truck. I recently purchased a new truck from you guys in July 2014. My truck recently needed to be serviced and once again you guys went above and beyond to get my truck in ASAP and you also gave me a loner car to drive so I can get back and forth to work until my repairs are completed. I appreciate your professionalism and I am happy that this matter is resolved .

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle with them on January 25th 2014, along with vehicle purchase was Gap Coverage for $800 and extended warranty for $1699. I faxed over all paperwork on 2/4/14 to Esteban Garza my wish to cancel both the Gap coverage and Extended Warranty. The Gap coverage was refunded and sent to lien holder as indicated by South Suburban Mitsubishi and was credited to my loan, however the extended warranty has not been credited yet. I contacted South Suburban Mitsubishi on 3/27 and this is the response i got on 4/2 "Hello: I spoke to ******* and he told me that the gap warranty will go through before the extended warranty. The extended warranty sometimes takes up to 12 weeks. Give it a couple of more weeks and if it still hasn't went through, call ***** mon-fri 9-5 at XXX-XXX-XXXX, so that she can contact the warranty people.. **** ***** **** was our sales person, she has worked with us diligently to try to get this resolved, we do understand that this has nothing to do with her, but she is the only one we can get to respond. We asked for a number to the warranty company because we received nothing from them to call them directly and in the response above, we were told to give it a few more weeks and call ***** at South Suburban Mitsubishi. On 5/17/14 which was 5 weeks after response above, we called ***** to inquire, yet to not get a response back. We have been paying interest for 16 weeks on this extended warranty and we just want some answers and to get our refund. If it fell through the cracks when we sent our request to cancel or if something was missed we are ok with that if they would be honest and tell us what is going on and when we can expect a refund without paying any penalties since our initial contact to cancel was just a week after purchasing the vehicle. We are so happy with our vehicle and experience we received at the dealership we just are not happy with what is happening with the extended warranty refund. It is a lot of money to us and even the Mitsubishi Motors Credit who we finance through said something isn't right, it should not take 16 weeks. We just want an answer and our money credited back to the loan as requested on ************** ******** ******* ******* ********* ***** XXXXXX for 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport VIN **********XXXXXX Purchase Date 1/25/14 Mileage at time of purchase:6 Mileage at time of Warranty cancellation: 475. Purchase price of waty $1699.00 Sales Rep: **** ***** Finance Manager: ******* *****

Desired Settlement: I want my extended warranty cancelled and my money back, the entire $1699.00 credited to the loan.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@southsuburbanmitsubishi We have apologized to this customer for the delay in cancelling her warranty refund. We mistakenly sent her original request into the wrong department. We have corrected this issue and we have sent her a refund of $1600.00 to their lienholder ***** The check was shipped through **** the tracking number is***********XXXXXXXX. We are also issuing an additional check in the amount of $99.00 as well so that the customer will receive full credit for the amount they were charged. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) After realizing the mistake, they have agreed to make good on it, we very much appreciate that this is resolved as we knew it would be once it was thoroughly looked into. They did call and apologize and explained everything that happened and we appreciate that. As always our sales associate helped to push this along again and are grateful for all that she has done for us. When we are in the market again for a new vehicle we will definitely make the 5 hour drive to see them again. Thank you.

2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After finding the car and price on their website, I went to test drive this vehicle. Felt uncomfortable from the time I went in until I left. After spending 3 hours there and deciding to go with this car they tried to sell me an extended warranty. I declined and they kept pushing this warranty like all salesman will. After reassuring me this was a bumper to bumper warranty and I made sure I emphasized that it has to be, they again reassured me that it was. When it was time to sit down and do the paperwork I was advised that I did not qualify for a $500 loyalty discount which of course was not on their website or told that to me until dealing with these guys for over 3 hours. After leaving the dealership I waited a week to contact the warranty company ******* and find out for myself that it was not a bumper to bumper warranty but instead the lower of the two policies that is offered. When contacting ******* (finance guy) about it and told him he lied to me about the policy and he said he did not. Well, now I have a payment higher than I wanted and I will have to pay for this policy for the next 6 years.i had to pay for the cancellation and of course it's prorated when I cancelled it. Product_Or_Service: Extended warranty and car sales price Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Not sure how it can be resolved but it cost me more for this car and my payment was higher than I wanted it to be. Did not want this warranty and its wrong to lie to people to sell your product and then lie again and say you didn't. So for the next 6 years I have to pay for their misdeeds. Don't know how to resolve this. I do not want to walk into this dealership ever again because their might be a problem. The warranty money will not go back to me it goes towards the payoff of the vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Gen Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@southsuburbanmitsubishi.com I spoke to the customer and explained how the warranty works. He cancelled it anyway, but was upset that the money would be refunded to the lienholder and not the customer. At this time there does not seem to be any other action necessary. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Nothing was offered to resolve this issue except excuses. Basically wanted to know how to make things better for the next customer and how I misunderstood the warranty. It's not that hard to understand when someone tells me it's a bumper to bumper and you you confront them about it they say " no I said it was like a bumper to bumper". Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/12) */ I spoke to the customer and explained that the warranty was cancelled and the refund would go to the lienholder. I don't know what else we can do to resolve this issue. He purchased a warranty and then changed his mind. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/02/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Everything was explained on how deceptive their business practices are. It will continue because that's the business they are in. South suburban offered no resolve. You just need to let other people know about it.

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I decide I did not want my *** insurance and extended warranty from South Suburban Mitsubishi. I called them they said I had to come in and sign paper for cancellation. I went to dealer *******. I sign paper and was told it would take 12 weeks. ************ I called *** and extende ******warranty before I called South Suburban and was told nothing was filed. ************ I called South Suburban Mitsubishi left a message never got a call back. *********** called again and was told it was filed. Then was told lady in charge quit and was forgotten. I am not going to wait another 12 weeks for there mistake.

Desired Settlement: GAP $800.00 Extended warranty $800.00 plus $20 for each week after September 29.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5,*****/10/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, General Ma Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@southsuburbanmitsubishi.com We had been waiting for the *** refund which we just received. The warranty refund of $800 check # XXXXX was sent to the lienholder on *********** We will be sending the check for the *** refund today to the lienholder, **************** in the amount of $$716.67. Please let me know if there is anymore information that you need. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12,*****/11/01) */ I received payments october 30. I do not want to close complain. I was short $200 refund for extended warranty. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/01/02) */ In response to case #XXXXXXXX, ******** **********: We responded to the customers request in a timely manner and refunded his lienholdser the correct amount of money. we supplied dollar amounts as well as check numbers. The customer doesn't understand that that cancellations are prorated, and then refunded the unused portions. Thank you for your help in this matter and if you need any further responses you can reach me by email at ******@southsuburbanmitsubishi.com ****** ****** General Manager South Suburban Mitsubishi XXXXXXXXXX office XXXXXXXXXX fax

12/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We saw vehicles advertised on the company's website and were looking at several different one, but wrote down the information for one in particular. While driving from ******* ** to ***** IL on ********** we got a call that the vehicle we were looking at was missing a key feature we were looking for, 4wd, so they would show us the version that had that feature. Our sales rep was **** ****** who showed us the vehicle, the Mitsubishi ********* ***** *** we were given the pricing, and were told this vehicle was not one of those we saw on the website. We purchased the vehicle, VIN ***********XXXXXX, for 21,901 with a $500 rebate making the final price 21,401, which we financed through *** ****** **** **** at an interest rate of 4.69% for 72 months. When we arrived home we checked their website, and found the exact vehicle listed with the same VIN, ***********XXXXXX, for $19,281. We contacted the dealership and requested that they honor the price which was one of those we had originally seen, but hadn't brought the information for. After more than a week of very little contact we were finally told that we should have presented the web pricing at the time of purchase. I have since found this website http://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/consumers/vehicle_advertis.html and I have and Section 475.210 states that any terms or conditions must be clearly disclosed in their advertising, and presenting the price at the time of sale doesn't appear to be a condition presented on their website. I have made a screenshot of the website, which includes the original and sale price listed, and I have downloaded the HTML file for the page, and I have recorded my phone conversations with ****** ****** the Sales Manager. I understand that Illinois is a multi-party notification state with regards to recording, and during my first conversation with him I did inform ****** that I would be keeping a record of our calls.

Desired Settlement: We would ideally like the vehicle to be re-financed at the lower cost, however we would accept a refund of the difference, plus the interest that their finance company will have to charge that we will also be responsible for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** General Mgr Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@southsuburbanmitsubishi.com We sold ****** ******* a **** ********* ***** on ******* 30, 2014.Mr. ******* left out dealership very satisfied. The next day Mr. ******* called to say that he wanted to re negotiate for a different price. We sold him the vehicle in good faith. The manufacturer offers us dealer cash incentives to meet certain quotas and we had already met them when Mr ******* purchased his vehicle. He saw a lower price after he purchased his vehicle and wanted us to honor that price. I have been in contact with Mr ******* and have told him that all sales are final Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/11/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would like to thank the Better Business Bureau for its assistance in this matter, however after some extensive and exhaustive research I have determined that according to Mr. ******'s statements his dealership, and their website are in violation of two sections of the Attorney Generals rules concerning Motor Vehicle Advertising by not clearly and conspicuously listing any terms and/or conditions pertaining to the offer listed there, such as the need to specifically present the sale price listed on their site, and also by not clearly and conspicuously listing any optional rebates that may have been part of the final offer as listed. At no time was any expectation set with myself or my wife that the pricing shown on the website would not be made available to us. Therefore I intend to take this up through the Attorney Generals office as it seems the more appropriate means of resolving this dispute, unless the Better Business Bureau or South Suburban Mitsubishi would like to offer any further comment on this matter. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/19) */ unfortunately, the manufacturer offers incentives to the dealer, and they change constantly. Our prices reflect those incentives and we make every deal in good faith. We give our customers substantial discounts and make every effort to keep them satisfied. In this case we made a deal, and did nothing wrong. I understand that the customer is asking for some concessions, but we do not feel that we owe them anything more than the deal that was negotiated. They had every opportunity to ask us questions before they decided to make this purchase. They were extremely happy when they left the dealership, and after leaving it seems that they wanted to renegotiate the transaction. I

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Added a lifetime warranty that was not discussed with me. I checked up on my monthly payment a few days after I purchased the car and realized it was about $30 higher a month than it was suppose to be. I called south suburban and asked why it was like that and they lied to me and told me my loan was for 3.5 years instead of 4. I believed them until my loan info arrived in the mail and showed that it was for 4 years. Thats when I called the bank and found out the loan amount was $1397 more than it was suppose to be. I called south suburban and they sent me a cancellation notice and promised to call me when things were underway. I have yet to hear from them and I am tired of being told one thing while they do another! I will never buy another car from these dishonest people!

Desired Settlement: They pay the $1397 plus the interest accrued on the loan.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@southsuburbanmitsubishi.com We have already sent a refund check to his lienholder for $800 to cover his gap refund. We were waiting on his signed cancellation for form for the warranty. we never received it, but we are mailing the $597 warranty refund back to the lienholder also, to alleviate any more confusion with this deal. If you need any more information, don't hesitate to contact me


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on South Suburban Mitsubishi
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)