Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rogers Auto Group

Phone: (312) 225-4300 Fax: (312) 567-9498 2720 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60616 http://www.rogersautogroup.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rogers Auto Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Rogers Auto Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Rogers Auto Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1966 Business started: 01/01/1966 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1966 Business incorporated 03/04/1992 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Monty Scher, President Mr. Brian Benavides, General Sales Manager Mr. John Scher, General Manager Ms. Linda Shefcik, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Monty Scher, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Linda Shefcik, Office Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Rogers Hyundai Rogers Pontiac-GMC Truck-Buick-Hyundai

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rogers Auto Group has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2720 S Michigan Ave

    Chicago, IL 60616

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle to Rogers Auto group to receive service on my car's A.C. system on 06/01/2016 . Since I have a third party extended warranty, I thought this issue could have been covered under that warranty. Within a few hours, the rep called me and explained that my car did not have any freon in the AC system and just needed to add some more. He also stated that the tech would add dye and inspect for leaks but my car could be picked up the same day. None of this service was covered by the extended warranty but I agreed with the service since I had no other option at the very moment; I paid approximately 240 dollars. Within a day, my car's A.C. system began to blow hot air again. I was not able to take my car back immediately due to my schedule but I returned the car to Rogers Auto on 6/13/16 without an appointment. The rep that initially handled my case told me that they would inspect the car for leaks again and would give me a call. I did not receive a call until Wednesday from the rep, and that is only because I began to call for an update every few hours. The rep stated that the tech found a leak and two parts needed to be replaced. He quoted me approximately 600-700 for the entire repair and would take an additional day to complete. I refused service and picked my car. The following day, I took the car to an A.C. specialist; he repaired my car within a few hours and I have not had an issue since.

Desired Settlement: I feel that the service that I received from Rogers Auto Group was unacceptable. Their lack of attention to detail left me without a car for a total of 3 days and no A.C. for a week in the summer. The A.C. specialist fixed my issue and stated that what Roger's Auto Group thought needed repair was not correct. I feel that if Roger's Auto Group would have took the time initially to look at my car's A.C. system, they could have found the leak and I could have avoided such an inconvenience and pay so much money. I feel that Roger's Auto Group did not look out for my best interest. I am the only person working in my household, so 240 is a lot of money for me. I am requesting a full refund since I was left without a car for almost a week and I had someone else fix my issue for cheaper, quicker and correctly.

Business Response: Mr. ****** ********* brought his car in stating the is a/c was inoperable.  We checked the system and added dye to check for leaks.  The customer's extended warranty would not cover the repair.  We did inspect the vehicle and recharged the a/c are services were paid for.  The customer declined the repairs and took his vehicle elsewhere.  There will be no refund issued and if there is any additional information needed Mr. ***** ********* the Service Director can be notified.

4/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: "Had my car towed to Roger auto 12/29/15 after it would not start/crank the engine light had also come there was a pulsation in the breaks and the car was making noise. Roger Buick Gmc Chicago suggested that I have a World Class Multi Point Vehicle Inspection done and I agreed. After the inspection it was recommaned that I have the 1. EVAP PURGE VAVLE 2. OIL FILTER ADAPTOR GASKET AND OIL PSI SWITCH 3. REAR ROTORS AND PADS 4. LEFT OUTER TIE RODE 5. BROKEN ENGINE MOUNT All replaced and also have an FRONT END ALIGNMENT DONE, at the cost of $ 1,176.27 the repersentative stated that the EVAP PURGE VAVLE was the cause of the problem with the car not starting. I agreed to let them repair the car and do all the work that was stated on the work order. January while driving home from a vacation the car stops. I had it towed to a repair shop in Chesterton Indian and inspectioned. After the inspection it determained that an eletrical box under the rear seat was melting and it was causing the car to not start at times. I contacted Roger Buick Gmc of Chicago and informing them of the problem with my car and they Roger Auto group refusing to pay for the cost of the repair needed to fix my car or refund the money for the Evap purge valve that was stated as the cause. I feel they should pay for the repair beacause it was stated that the EVAP PURGE VAVLE was the problem and it wasn't beacause the car has stopped again in less than 30 day"

Desired Settlement: I would like for Roger Auto Group to pay for the cost of all the expenses I had to pay. I paid Rogers Auto to do a job the wasn't done correctly. The cost of the towing I had to pay, The train ride fee and taxi ride cost the cost of the repairs need to actually fix the car. All thing totaling $720.87 Evap parts and labor $185.37 Towing $75.00 Train fee $14.00 Taxi $30.00 repairs needed to fix the car $4.16.50

Business Response: I AM REFUNDING MR. ******** $185.37 WHICH IS FOR THE LABOR AND THE VALVE THAT HE PURCHASED.

10/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I REFERRED MY FRIEND ***** ****** TO ROGERS AUTO GROUP AND SHE PURCHASED A CAR ON SEPT 7, 2015. THE DAY SHE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE SHE REACHED OUT TO ME FROM THE DEALER AND STATED THEY NEEDED MY ADDRESS TO SEND ME THE $100 GIFT CARD OR CHECK FOR ME REFERRING HER. SHE STATED HER SALESPERSON STATED I WOULD RECEIVE IT WHICH I NEVER DID. I SPOKE WITH SALES MGR ****** ON SEPT 18TH AROUND THE 9AM HOUR & INQUIRED ABOUT THE REFERRAL & HE TOLD ME HE WOULD CHECK INTO IT & CALL ME BACK WHICH HE NEVER DID. I CALLED BACK AGAIN ON SEPT 22ND & WAS TRANSFERRED TO SALES MGR ****** VOICEMAIL & I LEFT A MESSAGE & NEVER GOT A CALLBACK BUT HE CALLED MY FRIEND I REFERRED SHORTLY AFTER I LEFT THE MESSAGE FOR HIM TO CALL ME BACK REGARDING THE REFERRAL. I STILL TO THIS DAY HAVENT GOTTEN A CALLBACK FROM ****** NOR HAVE I RECEIVED THE $100 REFERRAL GIFT CARD. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED IN HOW THIS HAS BEEN HANDLED & I FEEL ITS VERY UNPROFESSIONAL. I WILL RECONSIDER REFERRRING ANY OTHER CUSTOMERS BECAUSE OF THIS MATTER. I WOULD LIKE IT RESOLVED. THANK YOU

Desired Settlement: I AM SEEKING THE $100 GIFT CARD OR CHECK THAT I WAS TOLD I WOULD RECEIVE FOR REFERRING A CUSTOMER THAT PURCHASED A CAR.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/10/28) */ There was a misunderstanding between the Sales person and the Manager. A referral was mailed out to her on October 13, 2015. We apologize for the delay in her receiving this referral.

10/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
10/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle on July 11th at this location and I am. Resident of Indiana. They explained to me at the time that someone would contact me to meet their title company a my local BMV to pay my state taxes so that I could register my vehicle. Today is August 7th and no one from the dealership has contacted me. I have made multiple calls over a 3 week period and the person whose name they never provide that handles the titles is never available. I spoke with a supervisor named ***** who told me that they "accidentally" sent my information to IL instead of IN and that he was going to call me back August 6th with a tracking # and also to have my information overnighted to IN and he never called. I am now in their waiting room waiting for a resolution to this issue since no one apparently answers or returns phone calls. I explained to ***** that the BMV in the state of IN is closed on Monday and I cannot afford to be driving an unregistered vehicle. I am requesting that this dealership compensate me for the time it is taking for this to be resolved and also for them to cover any tickets or charges relating to this incident . I will never refer anyone to this dealer and its sad since this is my 2 nd purchase at this location. **** and **** were my salesmen and they both did excellent jobs it's too bad the rest of this dealerships staff cannot follow in their shoes.

Desired Settlement: I want them to cover all expenses related to me driving an unregistered vehicle due to their error with sending my information to the state of IL instead of IN.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/14) */ Ms ***** has received her paperwork from us. If there is any tickets that she received in the 3 days that her temporary sticker was expired we will pay her tickets. We have apologized to her that there was a error made and the State of IL sent back her paperwork as soon as they could.

6/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After the sale was complete I was told surprise there is only one key, well not the end of the world , i figured that it would cost 25 or 40 dollars but to my amazement it cost over three hundred dollars. That was enough to break the deal but I never had the chance to make that decision.They maintian that thats the its allways the way its been.But itys as if they hid this fact from me if I had known I would have cancelled the deal. I evan tried to on two occasion to ask the sales manager could he pay a part of the expense 50 or 60 dollars to help pay for the cost but they refused no fair and not ethical.

Desired Settlement: a programmed key for my car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/10) */ THE SALES DEPARTMENT HAS BEEN IN CONTACT WITH MR. ******* AND HE HAS RECEIVED A CHECK FOR $300.00 TO HELP PAY FOR THE KEY THAT HE PURCHASED. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) the sales department provided 300 so that i can get the scratches removed from all over the car. that was before we talked about the key issue. I wonder why they said that but non the less i was given a key that was programmed to operate my caddy so im happy thanks.

1/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In march of 2014 I had emissions related repairs made @ rogers Hyundai, because my check engine light was on and it was time for me to take the emissions test. When I went to take the emissions test a few weeks later my car got rejected. I called Rogers Hyundai and spoke to the mechanic who did the work he told me to keep driving the car it has to reset. I waited another couple of weeks and took the emissions test again and I got rejected again. I called the mechanic again informing him that I did everything that he told me to do. His response was curt and unsympathetic he told me the same thing keep driving the car. In July I went to take the emissions test again, my car got rejected again. My fiance went to ROGERS Hyundai to tell them that we still couldn't pass the mechanic was rude, condescending and dismissive telling him there was nothing he could do. On Friday AUG.8,2014 I went into the office to get a letter stating the problem. The service manager ***** who handled my complaint this time was condescending,argumentative and rude. He showed me no compassion or sensitivity toward my situation and began arguing with me telling me "A LETTER ISN'T GOING TO MATTER I CAN SIGN IT THE PRESIDENT OF HYUNDAI CAN SIGN IT IT WON'T MATTER" I will never do business with them again. Product_Or_Service: IGNITION SENSOR

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund CHECK THEIR WORK AND MAKE SURE THE WORK WAS DONE PROPERLY.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX SEE ATTACHED Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/09/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The reason I don't accept their response is the emissions facility is telling me that I need additional EMISSIONS RELATED REPAIRS. Rogers is telling me and (you) that all EMISSIONS RELATED REPAIRS have been made. I had my car put on a diagnostic machine @ Rogers and SPECIFICALLY asked them to FIND ALL EMISSIONS RELATED REPAIRS and they told me they did, which was untrue. I want them to issue me a refund for the diagnostics test. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/09/16) */ SEE ATTACHED

3/31/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I go into the dealership already knowing I don't have much credit history being that I'm only 22...but this was just an all around bad experience. After being told I was approved for a 2009 Elentra..I drove off the lot. Only to be told a week later that I either needed a cosigner or bring the car back. After having explained that I had NO cosigner. Took the car back Tuesday, only for them to tell me that they did have a financier for the car. I told them they could keep it. How does one get approved then denied? Still confused...but whatever. A salesman named Paul handled my sale, he was pushy, didn't ask enough questions to figure out what I wanted and most importantly..He did not feel it was important to follow up with me after something happened with the original financier and they ran my credit 10 MORE TIMES AFTER I was told I was already approved. Then it was ran twice by 2 of the possible finance companies. Now I have to figure out HOW to get 17 HARD INQUIRES off my credit history.

Desired Settlement: I would like the 10 additional inquiries removed from my account that were not authorized because I was informed that I had already been approved.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/03/20) */

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON JANUARY 29, 2014, MY CAR (BLUE 2005 CHEVY COBALT) WAS TAKEN TO ROGERS AUTO GROUP FOR REPAIR AND I DID NOT RECEIVE A CALLED ABOUT MY CAR UNTIL THURSDAY JANUARY 30, 2014 STATING THAT IT MAY BE ENGINE ISSUES. ***** IS THE ADVISOR FOR ME AT ROGERS AUTO, ***** STATED THAT MY ENGINE WILL HAVE TO BE BROKEN DOWN TO FIND OUT THE MAIN ISSUE THAT CAUSED THE PROBLEM. IF MY WARRANTY DOES NOT COVER THE PROBLEM I AM RESPONSIBLE FOR $800 NOT INCLUDING THE PART NEEDED OR THE ACTUAL REPAIR AND IF MY WARRANTY COVER I JUST HAVE TO PAY A DEDUCTIBLE OF $100. I TOLD HIM OK DO THE WORK, HE SAID HE WILL GET RIGHT ON IT. HE ALSO EXPLAINED TO ME THAT IT WILL TAKE A COUPLE OF DAYS TO BREAK THE ENGINE DOWN. I SAID OK. MY WARRANTY COMPANY STATED HE DID NOT CALL THEM UNTIL FRIDAY JANUARY 31, 2014 STATING THAT IT MAY BE ENGINE ISSUES. THEY ALSO HAD A DISCUSSION ABOUT BREAKING THE ENGINE DOWN TO FIND OUT THE ISSUE, THEY AGREED TO FIND OUT THE ISSUE. I CALLED FOR ***** ON MONDAY FEBUARY 3, 2014 TO CHECK UP ON MY CAR, THEY STATED ***** WAS OFF THAT DAY. I ASKED ******** FROM SERVICES IF I CAN TALK TO SOMEONE ELSE AND SHE STATED THEIR IS NO ONE ELSE FOR ME TO TALK TO I HAVE TO WAIT UNTIL TOMORROW TO SPEAK WITH *****. AT THIS POINT IM UPSET BECAUSE I HAVE TO NOW WAIT TO TALK TO SOMEONE ABOUT MY CAR WHE THER IS A LOT OF PEOPLE THAT WORK ON CARS WHO CAN TELL ME WHAT'S GOING ON. SO I CALLED MY WARRANTY COMPANY AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY HAVE NOT YET RECEIVED A CALLED TO FIND OUT WHAT THE ISSUE WAS. I CALLED BACK ON TUESDAY MORNING TO SPEAK TO ***** AND HE EXPLAINED THAT HE WAS OFF AND I SAID I UNDERSTAND BUT SOMEONE ELSE SHOULD HAVE CONTACTED ME AND RECEIVE NOTHING AND MY WARRANTY EXPLAINED NO ONE ELSE CALLED THEM TO KNOW WHATS WRONG WITH THE CAR. I EXPLAINED TO ***** THAT I HAVE A RENTAL CAR FROM ********** SINCE JANUARY 29, 2014, AND IIT IS GETTING TO EXPENSIVE AND I KNOW THAT MY WARRANTY COMPANY DOES NOT COVER THE CAR UNLESS IT IS BEING WORKED ON, OR WHEN THE ADJUSTOR START HANDLING THINGS. HE SAID HE WILL LET ME KNOW BY THE END OF THE DAY. BY THE END OF THE DAY HE STILL DID NOT CALL, I CALLED HIM AND HE STATED THAT HE WAS JUST ABOUT TO CALL ME TO TELL ME ITS THE TIMING CHANGE AND HE WILL CALL MY INSURANCE COMPANY TO LET THEM KNOW, I SAID OK. SO I WAITED UNTIL THURSDAY TO CALL MY WARRANTY COMPANY AND THEY STATED THAT ***** HAS NOT CALLED THEM YET. SO NOW ITS BEEN OVER A WEEK AND NOTHING, BUT YET I STILL HAVE THIS RENTAL CAR PAYING ALL OF THIS MONEY. SO I CALLED ROGERS AUTO AGAIN AND THEY STATED ***** IS GONE AND NO ONE ELSE WAS THERE TO TALK TO. I CALLED ***** ON FRIDAY MORNING AND MADE COMMENTS ABOUT PROLONGING MY CAR BEING FIX AND STATING THAT THEY SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE COST OF THE RENTAL BECAUSE THEY DID NOT CONTACT THE WARRANTY COMPANY ABOUT MY CAR ANDMY WARRANTY COMPANY DONT PAY FOR MY CAR JUST TO SIT AROUND AND ITS UNFAIR TO ME, HE STATED THAT IT'S NOT GOING TO HAPPEN, THEY ARE NOT PAYING FOR ANYTHING. HE ALSO STATED THAT BELIEVE ME THAT I WANT YOUR FIX AND OUT BECAUSE YOUR CAR IS SITTING THERE I CAN HAVE ANOTHER CAR THERE. I FELT LIKE HE GOT TIRED OF DEALING WITH ME MY CAR SO IT REALLY MADE ME MAD BECAUSE IM PAYING A RENTAL SPENDING TOO MUCH MONEY AND YET HE'S COMPLAINING. SO HE TOLD ME FINALLY THAT HE TALKED TO MY WARRANTY ON FEB. 7, 2014. I CALLED MY WARRANTY COMPANY AND THEY SAID YES AN ADJUSTOR WILL BE OUT. SO ***** CALLED ME BACK THAT NIGHT AND SAID HEHAVENT HEAD ANYTHING IF SO HE WILL CALL ME ON SATURDAY OR NEXT WEEK, I SAID OK. HE WAITED UNTIL TUESDAY FEB 11, 2014 TO RETURN MY CALL BECAUSE OF COURSE HE HAD MONDAY FEB. 10, 2014 OFF, HE CALLED MY WARRANTY COMPANY THAT DAY TO GET AUTHORIZATION HE EXPLAINED THAT HE WILL WAIT ON THE PART AND I SHOULD HAVE MY CAR BACK BY THE END OF THE WEEK. IT IS FRIDAY JAN. 14, 745 IN THE MORNING IN SO FAR I DONT HAVE MY CAR AND IM STILL PAYING CAR RENTAL SERVICES BUT I DID NOT INCLUDE THE AMOUNT THEY CHARGED FOR THIS WEEK. I AM BEING CHARGED $25 PLUS $13.58 FOR INSURANCE. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE HERE.

Desired Settlement: I WANT THEM TO BE RESPONSIBLE FOR MORE THAN HAVE OF THAT PAYMENT. I TOOK A CAR OUT PAYING FOR WAY TOO LONG BECAUSE LACK OF COMMUNICATIONS TO MY WARRANTY COMPANY. IT CAUSED ME TO MISS UNPAID BILLS BECAUSE OF IT. IT WAS TRULY STRESSFUL AND DEPRESSING. I HAD MY CAR FIXED HERE A NUMEROUS AMOUNT OF TIMES AND I LOVED THE SURFACE. NOW I WOULDN'T EVEN WANT TO COME BACK.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/26) */ Ms. ******** has been contacted daily regarding her vehicle. After reviewing all concerns with Ms. ******** she is aware that the long wait is with her extended warranty company not with Rogers Auto Group. We gave her a loaner at no expense to her as a good will gesture. Customer was also refunded the $500 worth of rental. If there is any further concerns regarding this matter please let me know.

12/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my **** ****** *** (VIN ***********XXXXXX, Title XXXXXXXXXXX) on ******** *** 2008 at ******* ****** of *********** in *********** from ***** ****** for $22,235 (#XXXXX) plus $95 documentation and title fees. After $6425.02 in incentives and $6000 from my mother (check ******* I paid the remaining $9904.98 (Check ****** ******** ****** to ******* and sales taxes ($1152 state - ****** $118.57 county - ***** and $198 city - ****** to various authorities in the following weeks. The car still has only 15,181 miles on the odometer and has its original tires. Because ****** is a defunct nameplate of GM, my nearest GM service provider is Rogers Auto Group. I have been to Rogers a few times for basic service since ****** went defunct in 2010. The original GM warranty for my ****** *** includes 3 years or 36,000 miles of bumper-to-bumper (including tires) as well as sheet metal corrosion coverage, 5 years or 100,000 miles of powertrain coverage and 6 years or 100,000 miles of sheet metal rust-through coverage. My car is a low mileage vehicle because I am a screenwriter and work out of my house. My local gym is barely 1 mile away. During my first few years of ownership of this car, I used the car for weekend martial arts travels throughout the Indiana-Illinois-Wisconsin area. I also owned property in ******* that I had to maintain. I frequently use a ******* **** **** to travel via *** to Loop and Near North Side destinations. In 2013, my vehicle began experiencing several out-of-warranty problems that are more common for high mileage vehicles. My hood release cable ($180 Invoice XXXXXX) and hood latch ($50.76 Invoice XXXXXX) had to be replaced in ***** 2013. In *** 2013, I had to purchase a new battery (from ***** $136.05, Invoice XXXXXX). In **** 2013, my calipers had frozen inducing front and rear brake pad and rotor replacement ($625.29 Invoice XXXXXX). In July 2013, the inside door grip screws ($75 Invoice XXXXXX) came loose. This is over $1000 for unusual and premature auto repairs based on mileage accumulations. All of these repairs were paid by **** card. None of these are problems that I have had with any of my prior vehicles at such low mileages. Now my shock absorbers don't seem to be working very well. I have contacted General Motors about alleged tinkering. As a result, Rogers offered me a $200 store credit. However, it makes no sense for me to accept such a credit as. They could cause way more than $200 of damage to the vehicle if I bring it to them out of warranty. I have declined their store credit offer of reconciliation and keep getting postcards in the mail saying that Rogers Auto wants to buy my low mileage vehicle. I believe that in past repairs they have sabotaged my car. Other than oil changes (for which I do not leave my vehicle), almost no one else has touched my vehicle. I suspect that they are attempting to force me to turn over my low mileage vehicle. An alternate theory is that they may be attempting to frame me for having a high mileage car that I tinker with the mileage on. I now see that although they said the hood release cable corroded, they wrote the invoice as if it was worn. I doubt my hood latch had been popped a dozen times. It should not have been worn. If there is a way to tinker with the mileage inside the driver's side door panel, my frameup theory is very consistent. In addition, they said my calipers had corroded/frozen causing my brakes to need repair, but the invoice says nothing about this. Now my shock absorbers don't seem to be functioning very well. Brakes and shock absorbers are both wear items that generally should not need replacement at 15,000 miles. I don't recall having had battery problems like this before although I charge my cellphone and iPod in a parked car quite often, which makes any comparisons to prior car experiences irrelevant. As I said before, I still have the original tires on the car and their wear is very consistent with the actual odometer mileage.

Desired Settlement: Rogers Auto offered me a $200 store credit after I filed a complaint with ******* ******* I countered by requesting an extended bumper-to-bumper warranty. GM has stated that my car is now ineligible for a bumper to bumper warranty because of its age and the lapse in the manufacturer bumper-to-bumper. I do not believe a store credit for future auto repairs has any value since they can just cause an additional $200 of damage if I bring the car in for servicing. Since a car with 15,000 miles should cost very little for auto repair, I would prefer a settlement where I do not have much auto repair concern. Either some sort of warranty or an upgrade to a warranteeable car would be preferable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/25) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********** Service D Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Dear Mr. ******, I am in receipt of your BBB report #XXXXXXXX. In order to investigate your concern, I need some further information from you. Can you provide me with the name(s) of the person (s) who offered you a store credit here at Rogers Auto Group? Can you tell me when you filed a complaint with General Motors and provide me with a case number from that contact? In order to respond, I need some of this preliminary information. There has been some changes in personnel and whatever information you can provide will be helpful Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/12/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is not a response to my concern, but rather a request for information. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/12/20) */ The Service Director, ***** ********* called and spoke to Mr. ****** on Weds. Dec **** At this time he told Mr. ****** that General Motors has offered Mr.****** a $2500.00 credit towards the purchase of a new General Motors vehicle. We have never heard back from Mr. +****** in regards to the offer from General Motors.

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Began working w/Rogers ******. After collecting all documents required they confirmed on **** 12 I'd been approved w/o any $$down for an **** ***** that was test driven that day. Sales person asked if I could come back in on Mon. **** ***** Went back 2 p/u car & sign paperwork; but was then presented w/a lesser vehicle('05)than car actually test driven & promised. Dealership called back on Tues. Oct. ***** and offered the original vehicle promised only w/a $3kdown payment. Dealership would not honor original agreement made w/sales person. Spoke w/manager Mr. ***** who then offered to pay my cab fare home.

Desired Settlement: Honor original agreement. Same terms/same car or equiv. w/equiv mileage & no money down

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/28) */ ***** ****** one of the sales managers at Rogers Auto Group has made an attempt to communicate with Ms **** through several e-mails with are attached. As of Friday, ******* 18, there has been no further attempts on Ms. ****'s part to rectify this problem. Until she communicates with Mr. ***** there is nothing else we can do for her. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/10/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have actually responded several times to the various emails sent by *****, representative for Rogers Auto. We've not met a reasonable resolution nor have they met the original condition(s) verbally extended by staff/sales people at the location. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/11/15) */ Ms. **** purchased a **** ****** ***** from us on ******* 28, 2013. If there is any further questions Ms. **** has, her contact person at the dealership will be ***** ********* the General Sales Manager.

11/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Thursday, ******* 24th, I received a suspicious piece of mail at my home address. This mail was a small white envelope, that was addressed to me ******* ******** in blue handwriting. ***** Bloom is not my name. ***** is a name from a previous marriage and ***** is a maiden name. I will periodically receive mail to this name, but it always seems like marketing, and appears safe. This envelope had a regular stamp on it, and the contents were scary. Inside, was a full page ad for Rogers Auto Group that had been torn out of a newspaper. The back of the ad had some stock prices on it...which seemed odd for it being an ad in the "Automotive" section of the paper. There was no name of the paper. It only read, "Automotive Section." At the top of the ad, there was a yellow post-it note that read, ******** Check this out! *** It was handwriting again, and actually looked like it was done in 2 different pens. After opening the ad, knowing that nobody I know uses my old married name as a first name, I figured it was some strange marketing scheme, but also worried that it might be someone sending poison or something else creepy. I handled the newspaper with paper towels and put it in the recycling bin. Then, still concerned I had received a dangerous letter, I called Rogers Auto Group. First, I talked to the operator who connected me with a very nice woman who works in internet advertising. She assured me that the envelope was safe, said several people are calling in with complaints about this, and admitted that she wishes their marketing people would stop doing this. She admitted that she believed it was going too far. I felt reassured that the letter was safe, but asked for her to have her manager call me. I wanted to express how this frightened me and ask that they stop doing this. I told her that I would write a negative yelp review to inform other customers that this was just a marketing scam and not real. The manager, **** *****, called me back quickly. But, he gave me a completely different story. He said that they do put out full page ads in several papers (wouldn't tell me which ones) and that they never send out envelopes without their return address on them. As much as I spoke with him about how this was scary, and that I needed him to admit it was just marketing material they sent (or hired some other company to send), he continued to deny it. He told me it was someone I know who sent the ad to me. I told him that nobody that knows me calls me by that name, that that name doesn't really even exist. Kinda desperate, I asked to speak with that nice reassuring, seemingly honest lady I talked to first. With her boss listening over her shoulder, she didn't admit they sent the ad. Instead, she said that it was safe and not to worry. A few of the things she said to me initially, she sort of rephrased when her boss was listening. This feels like extremely shady marketing. I would like some reassurance that they did send this ad and an apology for causing so much worry.

Desired Settlement: I would like a call from the management apologizing for the shady ad they sent me and for the lies their staff told. I would also like reassurance that they won't continue sending out these types of ads...where they are posing as someone you know.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/12) */ The General Sales Manager contacted Ms. **** and resolved any issues that she had in regards to the advertisement that she received. We apologize for any inconvenience that this ad might have caused her. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2013/11/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The president of the company called and apologized for the experience I had with his staff. He admitted the suspicious mailer was sent by an advertising agency they had hired. Later, I also got an apologetic call from the staff member who had denied that the mailer was sent by their business. It was a prompt call, and a heartfelt apology.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Rogers Auto Group
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart