This business is not BBB accredited.

Ridgeway Chevrolet, Inc.

Phone: (708) 474-4990 Fax: (708) 474-1492 18315 School St, Lansing, IL 60438 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ridgeway Chevrolet, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ridgeway Chevrolet, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1971 Business started: 01/01/1927 Business started locally: 01/01/1927
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. John Van Ramshorst, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Van Ramshorst, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Additional Locations


    18315 School St

    Lansing, IL 60438


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to file a complaint I purchased two vehicles in **** of **** A **** **********n (3FAHPXXXXXRXXXXXX) on June *** 2013 and a **** ***** ***** ****** (*******SXXXXXXXXX) on **** 1, 2013 from Ridgeway Chevrolet , INC. XXXXX Torrence Ave Lansing, IL XXXXX. I was told when purchasing these vehicle that they were certified inspected and everything was checked and ok. I called and reported the brake on the **********n on **** 5, 2013 and was told to bring the car in . I was then called and told that the car need brake pad and rotors. I was also told that they would pay for half and I pay the other half. There is no way a certified inspection was done and this problem was not seen. They even had to replace the windshield wipers because they were not good. Then I started having problems with the ***** ************ I called and reported several problem with the vehicle and was told to bring it in today ********* 20, 2013: First I had to get a jump because it would not start. Second the Service Stabilitrak light keeps coming on. Third the breaks on this vehicle also. I was told to bring the car in and they would take a look to see what was going on. I expressed that I had just purchased both vehicle in **** 2013 approximately 4 months ago and I was told that I had a warranty on both. I get a call stating that the battery was low and they were charging it. The ignition switch needs to be replaced and the steering wheel sensor needs to be replaced which was estimated to cost about $900 to fix not including the breaks. I just financed what I thought was a reliable vehicle. I was told I had a warranty but these things were not covered under the warranty. I was deceived by this dealership and I will never do business with ******* ****** if this is how they conduct business. Here it is I have two cars financed that needs work already. I am not a satisfied customer. There is no way that these problem should exist on certified vehicles although I did purchase a used vehicle I was under the impression it was safe and I was covered. I was misled and I should not have over a thousand dollars in damages in four months I talked with ***** *********** the used car sales manager and he was very rude to me and stated there was nothing he would do. He is a bad reflection of your company.

Desired Settlement: I would like both vehicles inspected and repaired as I thought I was purchasing a used certified vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/23) */ The **** **** ****** Had 86,914 miles, was sold AS IS-NO WARRANTY YOU WILL PAY FOR ANY REPAIRS. The dealer assumes no responsibility for any repair regardless of any oral statements about the vehicle. Window sticker. This is far from a Certified vehicle. The **** Trailblazer had 84,672 miles and was also a as is vehicle, but ***** did purchase a 12mo/12,000 mil power train only warranty covering engine, trans, and axles. This was the only warranty avail from GMPP because of the miles. The repairs needed on the ************ Traction light goes on and off, and replacing the ignition switch were $908. I will pay for half the cost on this repair. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/09/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I purchased both vehicles I was NOT told that either was being sold as is. Like I stated I feel like I was decieved. I was told these were both certified inspected vehicles and if i have any problems let them. Which as a customer means to me that everything was inspected and up to standards and that wasn't the case with either vehicle. I shouldnt have to pay anything for a car that I'm financing for over $15, 000 especially that I have not had for six months. You guys are saying regardless of any oral statement I should be able to trust a business I'm spending money with. I am not satisfied with your offer. I am a single black woman the purpose of me getting these car was because I trusted your company and the statement you all stated about me receiving a reliable car. These cars were never inspected. I will never do business with you all again. I will make sure I let everyone I know about your campany and to never to business with you all. If I want a used vehicle with problems there is no way I would have financed it. I could have bought one without a car note and had repairs fixed. I can not afford to have a repairs done that's why I can to your dealership to get what I thought with your help was reliable. Its amazing how you all wanna talk about the miles on both vehicles but during the sale pitch this was down played Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/11/15) */

9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues