BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Ridgeway Chevrolet, Inc.

Phone: (708) 474-4990Fax: (708) 474-1492

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
11/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I would like to file a complaint
I purchased two vehicles in **** of ****
A **** **********n (3FAHPXXXXXRXXXXXX) on June *** 2013 and a **** ***** ***** ****** (*******SXXXXXXXXX) on **** 1, 2013 from Ridgeway Chevrolet , INC. XXXXX Torrence Ave Lansing, IL XXXXX. I was told when purchasing these vehicle that they were certified inspected and everything was checked and ok. I called and reported the brake on the **********n on **** 5, 2013 and was told to bring the car in . I was then called and told that the car need brake pad and rotors. I was also told that they would pay for half and I pay the other half. There is no way a certified inspection was done and this problem was not seen. They even had to replace the windshield wipers because they were not good. Then I started having problems with the ***** ************ I called and reported several problem with the vehicle and was told to bring it in today ********* 20, 2013: First I had to get a jump because it would not start. Second the Service Stabilitrak light keeps coming on. Third the breaks on this vehicle also. I was told to bring the car in and they would take a look to see what was going on. I expressed that I had just purchased both vehicle in **** 2013 approximately 4 months ago and I was told that I had a warranty on both. I get a call stating that the battery was low and they were charging it. The ignition switch needs to be replaced and the steering wheel sensor needs to be replaced which was estimated to cost about $900 to fix not including the breaks. I just financed what I thought was a reliable vehicle. I was told I had a warranty but these things were not covered under the warranty. I was deceived by this dealership and I will never do business with ******* ****** if this is how they conduct business. Here it is I have two cars financed that needs work already. I am not a satisfied customer. There is no way that these problem should exist on certified vehicles although I did purchase a used vehicle I was under the impression it was safe and I was covered. I was misled and I should not have over a thousand dollars in damages in four months I talked with ***** *********** the used car sales manager and he was very rude to me and stated there was nothing he would do. He is a bad reflection of your company.

Desired Settlement
I would like both vehicles inspected and repaired as I thought I was purchasing a used certified vehicle.

Business Response
The **** **** ****** Had 86,914 miles, was sold AS IS-NO WARRANTY YOU WILL PAY FOR ANY REPAIRS. The dealer assumes no responsibility for any repair regardless of any oral statements about the vehicle. Window sticker. This is far from a Certified vehicle.

The **** Trailblazer had 84,672 miles and was also a as is vehicle, but ***** did purchase a 12mo/12,000 mil power train only warranty covering engine, trans, and axles. This was the only warranty avail from GMPP because of the miles.

The repairs needed on the ************ Traction light goes on and off, and replacing the ignition switch were $908. I will pay for half the cost on this repair.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When I purchased both vehicles I was NOT told that either was being sold as is. Like I stated I feel like I was decieved. I was told these were both certified inspected vehicles and if i have any problems let them. Which as a customer means to me that everything was inspected and up to standards and that wasn't the case with either vehicle. I shouldnt have to pay anything for a car that I'm financing for over $15, 000 especially that I have not had for six months. You guys are saying regardless of any oral statement I should be able to trust a business I'm spending money with. I am not satisfied with your offer. I am a single black woman the purpose of me getting these car was because I trusted your company and the statement you all stated about me receiving a reliable car. These cars were never inspected. I will never do business with you all again. I will make sure I let everyone I know about your campany and to never to business with you all. If I want a used vehicle with problems there is no way I would have financed it. I could have bought one without a car note and had repairs fixed. I can not afford to have a repairs done that's why I can to your dealership to get what I thought with your help was reliable. Its amazing how you all wanna talk about the miles on both vehicles but during the sale pitch this was down played

Final Business Response

09/03/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
06/03/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/22/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/25/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.