Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Raymond Kia

Phone: (847) 395-3600 119 W Il Route 173, Antioch, IL 60002 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.raymondkia.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Raymond Kia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Raymond Kia include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Raymond Kia
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 16, 2010 Business started: 11/01/1970 Business started locally: 11/01/1970
Business Management
Mr. Mark Scarpelli, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Scarpelli, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Raymond Kia has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 119 W Il Route 173

    Antioch, IL 60002 (847) 395-3600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They made us come back and three had changed our payments and made us put down more money! They refused to talk with me on why they would change our payments and why hey let us drive off the lot last week before the deal was finalized! Something needs to be done so it doesn't happen to somebody else.

Desired Settlement: Seeking to get my $400 dollars back for changing our payments and telling me on the phone earlier today that nothing changed and yet when we get there later this evening they had changed it and claimed they didn't know!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** *********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@raymondchevrolet.com To whom it may concern, In regards to the complaint filed from ******** *******, I ****** *********** contacted ******** on 8/4/15 to go over the complaint she had with Raymond Kia in reguards to the $400.00 down payment on the vehicle. I corrected the issue by refunded the $400.00 back to ******** and keeping her payments the same. I talked to ******** and went over the terms and payments with her to make sure everything was fine and clarified. ******** stated she was satisfied with the resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They didn't keep our payments the same. They also added on some warranty and the manager was more concerned about getting this complaint off the BBB. He didn't even apologize! Me and my husband are still unsatisfied! They gave us $400 back but also weren't very friendly and also stated we had to have a gps installed but never was that stated the first time before they knew I filed a complaint. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2015/08/24) */ So we had traded in a vehicle and they were supposed to pay the remainder of that loan off. We have received a bill in the mail from the bank we had for the Chevy Impala and it was never paid off and is showing late for out August payment when we have had this van that we purchased from Raymond Kia. I am very unsatisifed! This should not been happening. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/08/24) */ Mr. *******'s payoff was sent to Toyota Financial Services on August 18, 2015. It was applied to Mr. *******'s account on August 21, 2015 for his Chevrolet Impala which was traded in on July 30, 2015 (Friday). According to Toyota Financial Mr. *******'s payment was due on August 3, 2015 (Monday). Mr. ******* traded in his vehicle to Raymond Chevrolet/Kia one business day prior to his payment being due. It is common practice for Raymond Chevrolet/Kia to attain a 20 day payoff with a per diem from any lien holder on a vehicle that has been traded-in. This will allow processing time for both the dealer and lien holder. Raymond Chevrolet/Kia spoke to Toyota Financial on August 24, 2015 (Today) and we were told that Mr. *******'s account is paid in full and in good standing. Toyota Financial confirmed that Mr. ******* will not and was not going to be reported as late to any credit agencies as long as payment was received by September 3rd, 2015 (30 Days) which it was. Raymond Chevrolet/Kia apologizes for any inconvenience and as always we are here for Mr. *******. Thank you

4/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Feb 25th 2015 i called Raymond Kia on a 2014 Fourte Koup they had on the web for XXXXX.00. They said it was new with 12 miles on it they said they guarteed that would be the price , I gave them my debit card over the phone to put $500.00 down on the car & sit a date of March 6th to come look at it a 6hr drive. March 6 my wife & I took vac and road a train from 6:30am to 2:30pm to look at this car only to find it had over 400miles on it, and I didnt quify for the rebates of $800.00 I decided to go ahead & buy because i was 6.hrs from home my bad, 2hrs later they take me in to sign the papers and i see the price is $1600.00 higher when asked why it was they said because of deliever charges the law makes them charge $800.00 and I'm the one that drove 8hrs to get there, then they want me to take an extra insurance out for $750.00 i told them i thought i already had it threw my insurance company they said no problem if you do we can just take it off. So i bought the car and the next day checked with my insurance and I did have the coverage i called Raymond Kia and canceled it they said it would come off the back end of the loan that means i pay interest on it. Then come March 23 and time to license it. I find they didnt give me what i need to license it, when i call them they said they send it to the state and the state says i have to have it, the state says they dont have it. then Raymond Kia ask how did i pay my down payment so i told them and they said they couldnt find it, so i checked and it had never came out of my account, so i told Raymond kia that when i had the paper work to license the car and the $750.00 off my loan Id pay it, they said they'd call me on X-X-XXXX which they havent and now I'm going to have to pay a penaty to license the car when i get the paper work to license the car so i think now they should take the $750.00 off for the insurance and forget getting the $500.00 down for all the problems and lies that they told me and get me the paper work so i can license the car.

Desired Settlement: I want the paper work title to license the car and the $750.00 taking of my loan now and they can forget the $500.00 down

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/04/13) */ Raymond KIA has reached out to Mr. ****** in regards to his BBB complaint on the 2014 KIA Forte he purchased on March 6th 2015. Mr. ****** did receive all the paper work for registering the car in Missouri along with the copy of the cancelation of his Gap policy. Raymond KIA prides itself on world class customer service, and we apologize for any miscommunication regarding the pricing of the 2014 KIA Forte. Raymond KIA will refund $500.00 dollars as a goodwill adjustment for the inconvenience Mr. ****** felt he endured. Any further issues can be addressed by Charles ********* GSM. Raymond Auto Group at XXX-XXX-XXXX or **********@raymondchevrolet.com. ******* ********* GSM Raymond Auto Group

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live over 45 minutes away and I was lied to repeatedly, only to get me to the store. Raymond Kia has a vehicle listed at an aggressive price that seems too good to be true. Vehicle K6390 (2014 Optima Hybrid EX listed for 23,998.00) I called about I spoke with a sale person ***** that lied and said she was a manager. I asked specifically on two separate phone calls if there was anything wrong with the car or if it had damage. ***** explained it was a manager car and she was the one that was driving it. I explained this was a long drive and please don't waste my time if the price is not accurate. The ***** said the price listed is accurate because it had over 4k miles on it. I am also aware that the internet sales prices comes with stipulations on qualified rebates and incentives. She told me she would sell me the car at the internet price, no problem. She then promised me a trade in value that was quoted to me by two other dealers. On 10/30/14, ***** and I agreed that if I came to the store, she would match my trade-in offer of 33,500 for my Lexus and give a final sale price for the Optima at the internet price of 23,998. So I took the drive to purchase the vehicle. As soon I as walked out of my car, the ***** told me that the vehicle had a windshield replaced and had severe paint damage from an acid accident by a porter. Despite the obvious deceit, I briefly entertained looking at another vehicle. The next offer was for K6693, a lower optioned Hybrid, which I was willing to purchase. The internet price was listed at 23,998. The Kia Managers final offer was 25,198 and only 32,500 for my trade-in. I had already seen better offers prior. To make matters worse, the second vehicle they offered had less than 1k miles on it new, however it smelled like smoke. The ***** actually admitted that she smokes in the car. After leaving the store in complete anger, I actually called the GSM ******* and tried to make a deal for the car, despite the horrible experience. The GSM's final offer I almost agreed to, which I'm glad I didn't. The GSM's final offer, which he played off as the deal of the area, I was able to get the same deal at another dealer later that day. The final offer was 23,998 for K6693 and the same trade-in value of 32,500. The comprise was they would lower the price if I come up with an extra 1K in down payment. Both the Kia manager and GSM were apologetic regarding the actions of the salesperson, however they were not willing to make up for it with. I contacted GSM ******* via e-mail explaining the horrible experience I had via e-mail. It has been three business days with no response.

Desired Settlement: In an e-mail to GSM *******, I requested an out the door price (trade-in, fees, plate transfer, etc included) of 26,000 for K6693. I would highly consider making the 45 minute drive if this price is guaranteed. I would also like some reassurance that the sales tactics used by ***** is not condoned by the dealership.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ********* GSM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@gmail.com Mr. ********* filed a complaint, case # XXXXXXXX, was made on November 11, 2014. Raymond Kia prides itself on ethical business practices. Raymond Kia priced the 2014 Optima online aggressively to accommodate the vehicles imperfections. As a result when Mr. ********* reached out to me on the phone, I did apologize and offered a very competitive price on a different vehicle and a competitive offer on his trade. To compensate for his inconvenience I offered to fill his car up with gas, upon which he declined. At first Mr. ********* declined my offer; I then gave him my cell phone number and asked him to call if I could assist him in the future. After a few minutes I received a call on my personal cell phone from Mr. ********* and he told me he would do the deal and wanted to deal with me only. He came into our Chevrolet showroom and met with me. I again apologized for our lack of communication and was to have the car bought over to Mr. ********* to inspect. When I came back to check on him Mr. ********* was gone and left without letting me know he changed his mind on the deal. I reached out to Mr. ********* on his phone and he told me he just could not see himself doing the deal. I thanked him for his time and asked him to call me on my cell if I could help him in the future. Since that time Mr. ********* emailed me and told me he was still upset and purchased a Kia elsewhere. As goodwill I would still like to send out a gas card to Mr. ********* for his troubles.

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car I looked and drove had a window sticker of $28,000.00.. **** ****** listed my car for $13,050.00 and was never told they allowed $10,500.00 as trade-in value.. All talk was monthly payment only with varied down payment scenarios.. It wasn't until signing finance papers I found out the car was cheaper and the price had never been revised to reflect this.. Also found out the trade in value had been understated by the sales manager.. Trade car was:2013 Kia Soul + VIN # **********XXXXXXX .. DATE OF TRADE AND PURCHASE WAS July 12, 2014 .. Car being purchased was a 2014 Kia Optima Hybrid with Convenience Package for $1600.00 and total was $28000.00 however the car given me was without this package..VIN of car I ended up with was************XXXXXX.. iCAME BACK THE 14th of July and indicated this was outright fraud and intended to sue.. The person I talked to was the sale manager for Raymond Kia.. He told me he would make me happy and revised trade value and product price and gave me two years of free maintenance.. If I had known this was the person responsible for the whole mess, I would NOT have talked to him.. I had to agree to his terms because he refused to return my Kia Soul + and I had to have a car even though it was not the car originally purchased or wanted.. To this date I have not been contacted by Raymond Kia even though I left a message for the customer go between to call..

Desired Settlement: I wish to have my 2013 Kia Soul + (Plus) returned to me so I might purchase the car I want from another dealer.. Failing this, give me a car like I wanted to begin with for the contract price I now have.. I also purchased a undercoat, rust proofing, interior protection and paint protection with tax for $1014.36.. This should also be furnished at no cost for their deliberate bait and switch..

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ********* GSM. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@raymondkia.com Raymond KIA strives to give world class customer service. It appears we fell short to meet and exceed Mr.*****'s expectations according to his consumer complaint. Raymond KIA does apologize for any inconvenience that Mr.***** may have felt with the purchase of his new KIA Optima. As a token of customer goodwill Raymond KIA has contacted Mr.***** and will give a full refund of the environmental Package he had purchased,and install a rearview mirror with back up camera and compass ** no charge. We will contact Mr. ***** to set up an appointment to install his rearview mirror at his convenience. Thank you, ******* ********* General Sales Manager Raymond KIA

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 06/13 we purchased a used 2007 Chevy Tahoe from ******* Chevrolet which we took posession of that day. We used our current many for external financing of the vehicle. The Sales Representative *** Smith did not provide our bank with correct information which delayed the funding of the vehicle. After multiple unsuccessful attempts for our bank to contact *** I took it upon myself to contact *** to correct the wrong information on the sales form to the bank. After roughly a week this was taken care of. In the sales agreement we agreed on paying an additional $739.02 to the dealer to fix all of the rust on the vehicle. The rust spots included in the wheel wells, on each door, and the whole tail gate, and a few other spots. The dealer also agreed to fix a piece of the window that was broken, the arm rest which was broken, as well as the strips on the side of the vehicle which were coming off. Our bank mailed us the check for the payoff of my trade in which I was to give to the dealer. I called the dealer to let them know I had the check from the bank and would be dropping off the check when they schedule my service for the items which were paid for and agreed upon. They dealer said they had ordered the parts and that my vehicle was ready for service at that time. They agreed to provide me with a large loaner car that had a hitch and capabilities of towing 7000lbs which would be comparable to my vehicle. When I brought my car in for service on 06/26 I was told that the parts were never ordered and that they would have to order the parts which would take a few days. It was clear to me at that time that the dealer only had interest in collecting their check, not fixing my vehicle. They also said the only loaner car they would give me was a Chevy Cruze which is not was what agreed upon. I had to accept the loaner car as I needed tranportation to get to and from work while my car was in the shop. On 07/03 we received a call from Clint in ther service department that said that the agreed upon items were fixed and that they would be sending my vehicle to the body shop to remove ALL of the rust on the vehicle on 07/05. Today, 07/11 the body shop called my husband to tell him the rust was taken care of the the doors. My husband told him that ALL of the rust was to be removed and fixed as we paid for and agreed upon. The body shop stated that was not part of the order and he would obtain proper approval from the car dealer. It has now been over 2 weeks and my car is still not fixed. This has been an extrememly frustrating situation and the dealer has no interest in fixing my car properly.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for wither a full refud of the amount I paid for the service or for the dealer to give me a loan car that has the capability to tow 7000 pounds so I am able to tow my trailer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** **** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@rays-cars.com Mr. and Mrs. ***** have been contacted by ****** our service advisor, updating them that their vehicle is complete and ready for pick up as of July 21, 2014. The customer has stated they cannot make it into the dealership today but will meet with ***** and pick up their vehicle tomorrow. ***** also has a check that has been issued for the customer refunding half of the requested amount. This was agreed upon between Mr. and Mrs. ***** and ******* ********* our General Sales Manager. This resolves any concerns or issues the customer has.

6/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday May 16, 2014 we began interactions and request regarding three Kia Optima Hybrids that were listed on the website of Raymond Kia. We received emails from ***** ******* and *** ******* regarding the cars. The one we were most interested with had black leather interior along with the other options we would like. This car is listed on their website as $26,998, stock number ***** and VIN#****************** We asked if we could set up the finance paperwork. We were given the website and immediately filled it out. We asked for the financing information and what the bottom dollar would be and ***** told us that they cannot give any finance information on the phone or negotiate but they would if we came in to the dealership by Saturday because that is when the 0% for 72 months ended. We told ***** and **** (unsure of last name, he was the finance person) we would be there around 7:00 p.m. and would like to see all three cars and make our decision on which one we would like to take home. We arrived at the dealership and asked for Todd as we were instructed to do. We were told that **** had the afternoon off. We explained that we were here to see X XXXX new Kia Optimas. At first we were told they were a high volume dealership and they must be sold. After 45 minutes of waiting and confusion they brought around one of the cars that had cloth interior. I explained again to the salesman, *** ******* that I first wanted to see the black car with black leather interior. He was gaining assistance from ****** *********** on locating the cars. ****** approached us and said the car we were looking for was his car and the other leather interior car we wanted to look at was home with an employee. *** brought the car labeled as stock ***** and it became evident that ****** did not want us to select this car. The car smelled of smoke when we entered, there were receipts in the door, and some type of blanket or clothing on the floor board of the back seat. I test drove the car and when we arrived back I asked what they had the pricing as and what did we qualify for the 0%. They asked if we qualified for a military rebate, which we do not and a competition rebate which we were never told if we did or did not. After a great deal of back and forth regarding rebates 5.99% financing options we were told we would qualify for the 0%. There were two prices offered on a piece of paper where black marker was written over a printed piece of scrap paper. We were finally told that we did qualify for 0% but both prices presented were over $30,000. ****** *********** said that it was impossible and he could not sell that car for $26,998. Today *** 19, 2014 the car is still listed on the internet at $26,998. We expected some lower negotiations but when we arrived we were told that they would even sell it for that.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have serious negotiations with that car starting at $26,998 at 0% for 72 months. The total time we spent to come home with nothing was 6 hours. We do not want to complete that action again for nothing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ********* GSM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@raymondkia.com Raymond Kia strives for superior customer service. We are sorry for the miscommunication between our sales department and Leistikows. The Kia that they came in on was a test drive unit that did not have 0% for 72 months available on it. We realize this was a major inconvenience for ***** and her Family. Our Kia director *** ******* spoke with the ********** and offered an additional $1300.00 off our ad price of $26998.00 for their inconvenience. If I can assist in any other way please let me know and I will be happy to help with any issues that may arise. Thank you, ******* ********* General Salesmanager Raymond Kia


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Raymond Kia
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart