BBB Accredited Business since

Ray Chevrolet

Phone: (847) 587-3300 Fax: (847) 587-3897 39 N Route 12, Fox Lake, IL 60020 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.raychevrolet.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ray Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ray Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Ray Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2010 Business started: 03/21/1991 Business started locally: 03/21/1991
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ray Scarpelli, President Mr. Tommy Foster, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Tommy Foster, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Ray Scarpelli, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Ray Chevrolet sells the following brand(s): Chevrolet

Ray Chevrolet offers the following product(s): New Chevrolet Vehicles, Pre-Owned vehicles of every make and model


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ray Chevrolet has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 39 N Route 12

    Fox Lake, IL 60020 (847) 587-3300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/13/2015 Delivery Issues
11/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 07 Chevrolet express online from Ray Chevrolet. I didn't have a chance to inspect vehicle personally, salesman assured me that vehicle passed ** inspection and in great condition. Same day as I had it delivered to me , I took it to work, while driving steering wheel was shaking very bad and it was pulling to the left. I stopped at the local ********* ******** ******** for a check up. They inspected vehicle and determined that front calipers were stock and required replacement. Cost of the replacement was $ 887.00. I paid it out of my pocket. Dealership should inspected it before sending it to me.

Desired Settlement: I'm just looking for reimbursement for the cost of repair, which was $ 887.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/14) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* GSM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX First and foremost, Ray Chevrolet does inspect every vehicle that we offer for sale and we do have documentation supporting our inspection. While we apologize that our customer had a mechanical issue with the vehicle after the sale, we would have appreciated the customer bringing the car back to us with his concerns instead of going to another shop. Having not had the opportunity to do that and therefore not being able to confirm what repairs may or may not have been necessary, we are prepared to offer the customer a goodwill reimbursement of $373.93 (price less the 5% discount he was given plus tax)for the left front caliper replacement that is noted on the "courtesy check" from the other shop. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If dealership think that repair of right caliper wasn't necdecary then goodwill reimbursement should be no less than 50% of totall bill of 877.03, which is $443.5 Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/18) */ While *** Chevrolet cannot confirm the validity or necessity of the other repair charges included in the total on the invoice we were provided, as a goodwill gesture, we will reimburse the customer $443.50, representing 1/2 of the total cost. The reimbursement will be processed and forwarded to the customer at the address we have on file.

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/22/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They say they put all their vehicles through a 125 point inspection and in Illinois it is ILLEGAL to sell a vehicle with no catalytic converter. If this Vehicle went through the inspection they say it did then this issue would have been caught and this Vehicle would have never been sold by the law.

Desired Settlement: Not seeking one

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/11) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ********** Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@raychevrolet.com All our vehicles are sold under full observance of applicable laws at the local, state and federal levels. Customer is not seeing any resolution in this case. After further conversation with customer he has assured us of his intent to fully drop this case.

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/17) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ********** Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@raychevrolet.com A majority of the detailed incident is correct. Customer purchased a 2013 Chevrolet Sonic. When the issue with the windshield arose we attempted to find a replacement windshield, since GM did not have any we attempted to find the customer a new 2013 Sonic. When GM did not have any 2013 Sonics we offered to put him into a 2014 Sonic. As noted in the documents provided by the customer the 2013 Sonic was financed for $18223 at a rate of 4.00% for 75 months with payments of $275. The 2014 Sonic was financed for $18834 at a rate of 2.99% for 75 months with payments of $275. The difference in financing is $610.97 which is due to the vehicle being one whole model year newer as well as all 2014 models coming with 2 years included maintenance. We lowered his interested rate from 4% to 2.99% in order to keep him at the exact same monthly payment. In reference to the customer's complaint regarding the vehicle's miles per gallon it should be noted that we are not the manufacture of these vehicles and only the reseller. Any misprints or falsities should be brought up with the manufacture, General Motors. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I'd would like to respond to *** Chevrolet's response to my complaint to the BBB.I would like to break down there response. First, ALL my details were correct in my statement, I provided to the BBB. Next, this is the first time I'm hearing that *** Chevrolet wanted to give me a new 2013 Chevy Sonic. That was NEVER brought to my attention, NOT once. So GM couldn't find a windshield for my 2013 Sonic or find a 2013 Sonic car, REALLY ?? Like I said in my first statement *** Chevrolet offered me a new 2014 Chevy Sonic and I WOULDN'T have to pay a dime more for the car. I payed 18,223.00 for the 2013, NOT 18,834.00. I DON"T care if it was a one whole year newer model or came with 2 years maintenance, 24,000 miles free. What *** Chevrolet has seem to have forgotten is THEY came to me with this offer an excepted my conditions. This all seem to change when I went to go pick up the 2014 Sonic. *** Chevrolet charged me more for the car an tried to raise the financing from 2.99% to 4.00%. Let me make something very CLEAR my finance charge was always 2.99%, NOT 3.99% or 4.00% EVER !! So when *** Chevrolet said they lowered my finance charge to 2.99% that's what it All Way's should of been. So if you do the math if you go from 4.99% to 2.99% wouldn't that LOWER the car's monthly payment, around 7 or 8 dollars a month ?? So since were doing the math wouldn't that be about 500.00 to 600.00 dollars over the 6 year loan ?? So let's continue doing the math 6 year's is 72 month's or 72 payment's. *** Chevrolet seems to think 6 year's is 75 month's or 75 payment's, must be that new math, I hear about. So if you add the $610 overcharge on the price of the 2014, the $600 overcharge on the finance (4.99% to 2.99%)an the 3 extra payments $825, grand total approximately $2000.00. That doesn't even count the $275 first car payment on your 2013 LEMON. I drove the loaner cars more that first month. As for my complaint about the miles per gallon, to say that's it's GM problem, are YOU kidding ?? I got new's for you, the day you open your doors an drove a Chevy into your showroom, you became GM !!!! When GM told you to change the stickers in the window, to show 35 mpg/hwy from 37 mpg/hwy,on all 2014 Sonic's you knew you were committing fraud. I've done the math with a little over 5000 miles on my 2014 Sonic, at best I get 30 mpg an that's mostly hwy driving. *** Chevrolet and GM are both guilty of fraud and false advertising. Stop passing *** buck,two wrongs don't make a right. I was hoping to save money on gas,only to be misled, this is the one time I can't do the math, your false advertisement has cost me a number unimaginable $$$. Per gallon, per mile, per tank, per day, per week, per year $$$ ??? Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/22) */ Using the documents provided by the customer please refer to the 2013 sonic contract (page 1A) where a finance rate of 4% and the number of payments at 75 are clearly printed and displayed. One page 2A the customer's signature and date is displayed. For the 2014 sonic contract please reference page 1B in which a finance rate of 2.99% for 75 months are clearly printed and displayed. On page 2B is the customer's signature. It was our intention to keep the customer's monthly payment the same, thus we lowered the interest rate in order to accomplish this goal. To address the attacks of fraud, we would again like to reiterate that the Monroney stickers that list fuel economy come directly from the General Motors factory and are placed on the vehicles prior to arrival at our dealership. Any allegations regarding non-compliance with the Automobile Information Disclosure Act of 1958 comes at great concern and should be addressed through the proper channels with the manufacture. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/04/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I guess we can go round an round, for a very long time. Claiming he said that, I said that, they did that, I did that, ENOUGH !!!!!! I feel maybe *** Chevrolet has been practicing deceptive practices for so long, maybe they've forgotten how to do honest business. At this time I would like to respectfully request a hearing, with a mediator. At that time I can present my proof an evidence of deceptive practices. Thank you

5/19/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied for financing with ray chevrolet on sayurday april 26th. The gareement was that they would only submit my credit to 4 places max. As a result it was ran 8 times. This lowered my score 30 points. When i called to see what was going on. ***** ****** was very dismissive. He said I was wrong and I did not know what I was saying. He then went on to find that he was wrong and they did submit it 8 times. He blamed it on a computer glitch. Which still does not raise my credit score. I asked for a corporate number. They advised me they did not have one. Iasked for the general manager and they said no one was available. he did not even have a voicemail. I completely got the run around and I am very upset. This is a horrible company and I will make sure I tell everyone about it.

Desired Settlement: I have a contract that states 3 day or 1500. Since no one is available to handle my claim my 3 days ends today. So needless to say I cannot return the car. I do not want to do business with this company but they have made it impossible for me to return the car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/07) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ********** Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@raychevrolet.com After receiving this notice we have been in contact with the customer and have resolved the dispute. No further action should be needed on this case as both parties have reached an agreement.

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased***********: 2007 ****** ****** Ray Chevrolet Invoice XXXXX. Traded in 2012 ****** ******* - Salesman showed me two used ***** cars. The 2007 and another 1-2 years newer. - Strong fragrance only in the 2007. Since the 2007 Prius appeared to be more detailed than the other ****** the 2007 model was chosen. - On test drive of the 2007 ****** climate control fan was on lowest setting during the test drive to better hear the car engine, etc. - Very strong fragrance covered any other scents. - would not have even tested the car if had smelled ashes. ********* - Noticed throat irritation within 15 minutes of each trip in the car, including the ride home from the dealership. - I thought this was a reaction to the cleaning/fragrance chemicals so I started driving with a window down to reduce the level of fragrance in the car. - The strong fragrance was reduced and another strong cigarette ash odor became present, especially when climate control fan was running. ****** - I developed a headache on the 45 min ride home from work. - Called salesman to ask about fragrance and increasing cigarette odor. He indicated the fragrance was caused by a carpet cleaning solution that lingers when the windows are kept rolled up or a special "odor killer." ******* - Received a letter dated 10/28 from the general sales manager (GSM) of the dealership providing contact details if there were problems. - I made plans to contact the GSM the next week if no improvements with symptoms when driving. ******* - Had car inspected by a ****** car dealership - Replaced cabin air filters in the hope of reducing the throat/sinus irritations and headaches due to smoke residue. ************ - Missed 4 hours of work completely, and work performance was reduced nearly every day the drive time was over 30 minutes. - Throat/sinus irritation would always be the first symptom experienced. - Suffered multiple headaches and other sinus problems immediately following commutes to or from work in the ***** making work more difficult and negatively impacting after-work hours. - During this time, I treated the interior of car with a small air filter overnight without noticeable improvement ***** - Called GSM about getting a remedy. He offered to have me come back to the dealership for "odor killer" treatment. - When I mentioned that the problem seems to be also in the air vents he transferred me to the salesperson after checking to see if he was available. - The salesman was not available and the transferred call went to voicemail. I left a message saying we need to find a remedy. - I did not receive a return call from the dealer - Sent email to GSM detailing our phone call, giving additional details about the situation, and requested that the dealership buy the car back at the price paid I paid for it. I did not receive any communications from the dealership in response to this. ****** - Went to dealership to sell the 2007 ***** back to them. Met with salesperson, used car mgr, and GSM. Present with me was a relative. - My first option for settlement was to sell the car back to them. - Dealer offered to buy back the car for purchase price minus 3000.00 without trading for another car and offered full purchase price if trading to another new or used vehicle from them. - Dealer said owner might approve higher non-trade price on Monday. - Dealer offered to treat Prius with ionizer with 90-95% success rate. - Reluctantly agreed to let them try ***** - based on articles from several sources, don't want repeated exposures to any remaining toxic third-hand smoke chemicals, even if no odor present after treatment. - called salesman and emailed GSM to stop the ionizer treatment to save them money. ****** - phone conversation with used car mgr said buyback price (without me buying another dealer vehicle) could not be increased. Price for me to buy back 2012 ****** from them would be 3900.00 and not reduced. Any solution costs me another $3k! Fair?

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the dealer to buy back the 2007 ***** at the price I paid minus reasonable fees/costs. I did attempt to find another vehicle in their stock as suitable for trade with the ****** but there are no current options with the price, features, and minimum mileage requirements. At this point, even if another ***** were to be added to the dealer's inventory, I would not be interested in that as a settlement/solution. The dealer acknowledged a mistake on their part of completely covering up the tobacco residue odor by offering to "make it right" with the ionizer treatment. However, as I attempted to explain to the used car manager, I am not just seeking relief from the cigarette odor. If it were a pet or food odor I would trust the treatment. But this is more like treating a car contaminated with other materials like asbestos. There is no guarantee I will not be repeatedly exposed to the specific, well-documented toxic and carcinogenic compounds in cigarette smoke residue that remains after the process. I do understand that a buyback is not an everyday event and there are costs involved with selling this car to someone else. In fairness, I am willing to pay some of these costs without unduly penalizing me considering the health impact, money, and time I've already spent on this vehicle. Thank you for your consideration.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/16) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** After reading your claim we have a few items we wish to address. Like all our sales, from the beginning of our purchase process we were upfront regarding the condition of your vehicle of interest. We never had any prior knowledge to any odor issue with the vehicle prior to your purchase. We did however perform our standard detail cleaning process as we do with all our pre-owned vehicles, which includes a full shampoo of the carpets and interior. When our issue was originally brought to our attention our General Sales Manager offered a complimentary full deep cleaning. This service is a costly program used with an extremely high success rate and is regularly used on vehicles with similar symptoms. Upon your refusal of this offer our Used Car Manager offered you two (2) additional options to remedy your concern. 1) An outright buy back of your 2007 Prius for the price you paid minus reasonable fees/costs. 2) A trade in value of the full original purchase price of the 2007 ***** good towards any new or pre-owned vehicle in our stock. As our inventory changes daily and is one of the largest in the state of Illinois, an opportunity to find something to fit your needs is very attainable. All three (3) of these offers are still available for you to take advantage of. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2014/01/20) */ On ******** the used car manager called to confirm the dealership was willing to pay $10000 to buy the car back. On ******** I brought the car to the dealership and signed paperwork to process the buyback. The salesperson talked to more than one person and showed me a sheet detailing what the prorated refund of the GAP would be. As the business office was closed until the following Monday, the salesperson offered to mail the check for the GAP of 772.36 if I did not want to pick up the check. On ******** having not received the check yet I followed up with the salesperson, the response was that the amount of the GAP was rolled into the buyback deal. The business needs to send me the check for the GAP refund. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/01/20) */ We are aware of the outstanding balance due to the consumer in reference to the GAP refund. We are still waiting to hear a final number from the bank to verify the exact dollar amount. The GAP refund is in addition to the $10,000 previously given as the buy back. Customer can be assured of receiving this refund upon final confirmation from the bank very shortly.

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I arrived at 9:30 am, I asked a sales person, named ****, for *****, as I was instructed to do, but he assured me that he should start the paperwork. After 45 minutes, he came back with an offer of $10,000 because the vehicle needed some body repairs and supposedly had a hole in the driver's leather seat (which simply is not true). I was shocked because the Autotrader.com price of $11,689 already had compensated for the body work. I asked him to go ahead and have the engine inspected. After I waited another 15 minutes, I told him I was assured this process would only take an hour and I had to catch a train in 15 minutes (10:45 am) if we were going to close a sales transaction. He said that the service department was very busy and I should not have been told the process would take an hour because it just doesn't. He informed me that I would not catch the scheduled train and would have to wait. After waiting another hour, he told me that the offer was now $9,000 because the brakes and rotors needed to be replaced on all 4 tires, which cost about $200 each. I'm not sure where he learned math, because $800 doesn't equal $1,000, but in any case, this again simply isn't true. I just had the vehicle serviced by Duxler Tires and another car dealer appraised the car and there was no mention of rotors needing replacement. I felt that this dealership not only inconvenienced me terribly and wasted my time, but handled the pricing process very unethically, actually doing a bait and switch. I would definitely not recommend that you keep them as a "certified" dealer in your network.

Desired Settlement: none

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ***** Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@raychevrolet.com The original Autotrader Trade In Marketplace sight unseen appraisal was $11,689. We assessed the vehicle and both front and rear bumpers needed to be repainted. Body Damage: Dent in Tailgate with paint cracking, small ding in hood. Also, small rips in drivers seat bolster. We offered $10k provided it needed no service repairs. Customer was ok with that offer. After Service Inspection, Service Adviser stated that the brakes were pulsating and the rotors needed replacing. Price for rotors on an Import was $200/each plus labor costs. We offered $9k. Customer wasn't happy with that offer and left. After Inspection and Reconditioning estimate, we feel this is a fair market value.

9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealership has been contacted by phone, fax and email regarding these refunds. I requested the refund on GAP insurance from the Camero back in June in the amount of $895.00 and this still has not been done. I also send faxes and emailed documentation that the Chevy Silverado has been paid in full and to refund me the extended warranty in the amount of $3,889.00 and GAP insurance in the amount of $895.00. Last time I got a response from the GM of the dealership he said he would "look into it" but has not responded since. I have saved all sent emails and fax materials proving these requests were made. I have given this dealership more than enough time to provide the money owed to me and have never had an issue with the dealerships I have worked with in the past.

Desired Settlement: I want my refunded money totaling $5,679 in the form of a check mailed to my home immediately. I would like the dealership to contact me via email with the date is it mailed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@raychevrolet.com The customer's refund for the extended warranty on the Silverado totaling $3,889.00 has been sent to the lein holder, PNC Bank. It takes 3-6 weeks to reflect on the balance. We also have a check made out to the customer for the amount of $895.00 for the refund of the Gap Insurance on the ******* Customer may pick that up at any time. We have refunded all monies due. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/08/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As I stated in my email the loan was paid in full, I have the title to the truck, there is no lien. No money is due to **** it is owed to ME! Also there was GAP on the silverado, when can I expect that money refunded? This dealership is an hour drive, I would like the check mailed ASAP. Thanks Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/08/23) */ We have mailed the check for the Gap insurance for the ****** to the customer's home address. For the remainder of the money due, we must have clearance from PNC Bank that there is no lien on the ********** We have left multiple messages for *** and the Customer to try to get this taken care of. No one has returned our calls. We would like to remedy this situation right away, we need further clarification to do so.

5/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service