BBB Accredited Business since

Pugi of Chicagoland-VW, Hyundai, Mazda

Additional Locations

Phone: (630) 964-9500 Fax: (630) 964-0435 View Additional Phone Numbers 2020 Ogden Ave, Downers Grove, IL 60515 http://www.pugi.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pugi of Chicagoland-VW, Hyundai, Mazda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pugi of Chicagoland-VW, Hyundai, Mazda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Pugi of Chicagoland-VW, Hyundai, Mazda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1973 Business started locally: 01/01/1973
Business Management
Mr. Michael Mizwicki, General Mgr. Ms. Terry Carlson, Office Mgr. Mike Mizwicki, Manager Mr. Dominic Pugliani, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Terry Carlson, Office Mgr.
Principal: Mr. Michael Mizwicki, General Mgr.
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Downers Grove Imports, Ltd. Downers Grove VW, Mazda & Saab, Ltd Pugi Mazda

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Pugi of Chicagoland-VW, Hyundai, Mazda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1850 Ogden Ave

    Downers Grove, IL 60515

  • 2020 Ogden Ave

    Downers Grove, IL 60515

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought my car there Labor Day and pointed out several items that were wrong that needed to be addressed. First the front seat, the backs will not come back up when you pull the lever. Secondly, bulbs on the center console are out. When I went in for about 90 minutes, the sales manager, *******, said that I can buy a new seat since the spring is broken and the bulbs are burned out and I would need to replace the center console to have them replaced. Now I did buy a warranty that was available and it covers bumper to bumper. So let me ask this question, if the warranty covers bumper to bumper where are the seat and the bulbs. Are they outside of the bumpers, just off to the side, or what? Maybe these guys should know what they are selling to customers and actually fulfill promises to customers before they just get you out of the way and move on to the next sucker. When my "so-called" repairs were done, ******* took me outside to talk about what I can do to get these problems fixed. I guess it was a waste of a Saturday morning. Stay away and find your vehicle at another dealership. I e-mailed the sales manager last night and he said he would get back to me on Friday. I'm sorry why would it take 4 days to respond.

Desired Settlement: Full repairs covered under the extended warranty that I bought within a reasonable time frame. Plus reimbursement for all time I have spent going back and forth to dealership. Or reverse the entire transaction allowing us to get vehicle we traded in back plus the amount given to us. $3750 went to my parents, plus they were giving me $3750 towards trade in, that I would want in a check to use at another dealership.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** Contact Phone: 630.650.5500 Contact Email: ****@pugi.com ***** (and *****) ******** purchased a used 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix (VIN # *******CXXXXXXXXX) on Monday, September 7th. At delivery, the customer(as well as his father) signed a document stating that the dealership did not owe or promise anything to the customer related to the vehicle purchase. In addition to purchasing the vehicle, the customer also purchased an extended warranty. The items referenced by the customer will be covered under his extended warranty and Pugi has agreed to waived the deductible. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I do accept this response for the reason that they admitted they were wrong. Now, I do wish to add that some of the management team was not too pleased with my honest reviews of their business and told me not to publish such reviews. Posting reviews of my experience is my civil right and does cover internet communications. Management told me to keep quiet and not publish lies.

6/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I heard a man yelling and swearing at the cashier. He was extremely loud. He was average height and chubby and brown greasy hair and mustache also made the cashier cry. That poor girl. I quickly left the building I wont be buying a vehicle from pugi of chicagoland now or in the future and will never reccomend them to anyone if they treat their own employees like that they probably treat customers the same no thank you!

Desired Settlement: That awful man should be reprimanded and shouldnt be yelling at the cashier with customers around

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ****@pugi.com I would like to thank ***** for bringing this issue to my attention and to personally apologize that she had to witness this interaction between two of our employees. This morning, I had an opportunity to investigate the situation. I also had an opportunity to sit down with the gentlemen that she was referring to. I can assure her that this issue has been rectified and it will not happen again.

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/21/14 I went to see cars at this dealership because they advertised Mazda Certified Pre-Owned cars at a competetive price.I was specifically interested in a red 2012 Mazda 6 advertise online for $14,200 as Mazda Certified Pre-Owned. The cars at dealer had window signs that also said "Certified Pre-Owned". When I talked price with the Salesman *****, he said that the online price was for "pre-certified" and I'd have to pay an additional $800 for certification. I contested this, and was referred to GM ***** **** claimed that there was an error and someone underpriced the car online and that he would print a retraction letter if necessary, but I'd have to pay at least an additional ~$400 for certification. He insisted that if I didn't buy the car (it was closing time on Saturday), he was immediately going to fix the online price (raise it to ~$15,800). He showed me on his computer screen where he had already paid to have the car Certified and said that the internet price would take away almost all his profit. I didn't buy. I kept an eye on the prices of the car, they never went up. Salesman ***** continued to try to sell me the car for $14595 "Certified price" via texting me. I contacted Internet manager ******** for an online price quote, she sent me back an email stating the sale price for the red Mazda 6 was $14,200 and that I should contact salesman ***** for the "special internet price discount". Upon further questioning, she stated the car was only "pre-certified". This car can be found under the Certified Preowned tab on Pugi website. I also asked about a 2011 silver Mazda 6 that was advertised Certified in the same way and got the same answer. This dealership wasted a large amount of my time with their deceptive pricing and practices. I want them to stop trying to lure in customers with false "Certified" prices.

Desired Settlement: No settlement requested. I just want the other customers to know not to let this dealership waste their time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/10/21) */ We apologize for the issues the ****** ****** experienced regarding the pricing of our used vehicles. As a result of this notice, we are evaluating our procedures for pricing of our Certified Pre Owned vehicles to ensure that other customers do not have similar experiences. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/10/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have no faith that this dealership will change their business practices. When other dealerships commonly advertise that this dealership is known for this type of false pricing, then this is a habit, not an aberration. Also the fact that the GM accepts and actively perpetuates the practice leads me to be somewhat cynical that 1 customer complaining will make them do anything more than make a temporary change until I go away.

11/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ********* we went into Pugi Volkswagen to have routine maintenance done to our car, ****** ****** (employee ****** the service writer for Pugi told us what was going to be done on the vehicle, but failed to mention a price or have us sign before the vehicle even went into there shop they finished the work, and handed us a bill for $590.36 paying buy debit card. Telling us we needed to pay and we cant leave until we pay, frustrated with the situation after arguing with ****** for upwards of a half hour we consequently payed upon leaving there facility. We purchased the vehicle from them on ******** and the invoice number is 578595. The work done was on a **** ****************************** date of service the vehicle was at 40,685 miles and the VIN# 3vwax7aj0amXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: We would like to be refunded our money back, judging by the fact that they did maintenance on our car without ever discussing a price or even having us sign paper work authorizing them to take/work on our vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ****@pugi.com Due to the miscommunication, we already agreed to provide a $200 credit toward the work performed. In addition, we offered to complete their next oil change at no charge. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/11/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would like a full refund. The only reason the $200 was taken was because there was no way I was losing out on all $600. We have the documents to prove that this clearly is your company's fault and you are responsible for the dues that should be paid. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/21) */ As previously mentioned. we can to an agreement when the customer accepted the $200 credit that was offered. No further credit will be issued.

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the second time this has happened. I'm just coming in for an oil change The service advisor said rear brakes were so worn that rotors could not be restored and a complete replacement was necessary ASAP. I'm so glad I chose to get a second opinion. I fell sorry for all the victims of this dealer's incompetence. I think the BBB should do an undercover investigation of this dealers service dept.

Desired Settlement: Competence and honesty

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/31) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ****@pugi.com Immediately upon receiving this complaint, Tony ********* our Hyundai Service Manager, contacted the customer and requested that he bring the vehicle back in so that he could inspect it personally. On Tuesday, October 29th, Mr. **** brought in his vehicle and we put it on a lift. After measuring the brakes along with the customer, he understood why we made ourrecommendations. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/10/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I leased a Jetta from Pugi in June 2009. When I leased the car, I was sold an after-market surface/paint protection plan on the basis that it would help protect me from excess wear and tear charges when I turned the car in at the end of my lease. As I got close to the end of the lease, I wanted to get the car checked out and prepared to turn in. Someone at Pugi gave me contact information at a company called *** ********* ******* and told me that was the company responsible for the protection plan that I was sold. I called *** and they told me that if there would be any claim made, that would be handled by another company called *** ******* *** ************ and they gave me the *** contact information. I called **** asked for more information, and they sent me a claim form. The claim form was pretty generic, so I called back to find out if I could just drive by and have them take a look at it, or if they could tell me what was covered, so I could inspect the car for covered items, and not waste anyone's time with non-covered issues. They told me that they did not have a copy of my policy, and that they did not have me or my vehicle in their database. So I went back to *** to ask them for a copy of my policy and to find out what was covered. They also told me that they didn't have me or my vehicle in my database. So I called Pugi and was directed to the finance manager, ******* She was not with Pugi when I leased my car, and she said she would have to look into it. After several phone calls and emails, all I had from her was a vague story about how they were doing it differently now than when I leased my car, and she told me that she would have someone from sales call me. I never heard from anyone. I told a friend who is familiar with the dealership about what happened, and he suggested that I speak with **** ******** to try to get this resolved. I spoke with ****, gave him the overview, and he said he would look into it. The next day, he left me a message stating that he checked the records and their accounting system showed that a payment was made, so that no refund could be made, and if I still had any questions to call him back. So I called him back and left the message that I did have some questions. **** ******** did not return that call. So I called again and left another message stating what some of my questions are. -Who was the money supposedly paid to? -Why was I not told who the money was paid to? -If his claim is that the money was paid to *** or *** and somebody did some work, why in the world would they not have any record of me or my vehicle VIN? -If he was able to find this information in one day, why was his finance manager unable to find it? -Why did I pay money to Pugi, get the runaround, only to be left hanging with no answers? **** ******** did not return that call either. I think it is pretty clear that I am not getting a straight answer from Pugi because they don't have a straight answer to give me. They have turned what should have been a simple matter of a single phone call into a big headache and waste of time for me. I think the only reason they would **** a customer off instead of providing a straight answer is because they screwed up.

Desired Settlement: I'm looking for a refund of $350. I paid $299, which was added onto my lease. I estimate around $25 in finance charges on the lease, and there is an 8% lease tax on Chicago residents. My out-of-pocket on this is $350.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ********, General Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ****@pugi.com On **** 16th, 2009, ******* ***** leased a 2009 Volkswagen Jetta from Pugi Volkswagen. At that time, he agreed to pay $299 for an exterior paint protection which was applied to the vehicle at delivery and the amount worked into the lease. Per the customer, he never had any problems with the paint and turned in vehicle at lease termination. After discussing the situation with the customer, he was informed that we did in fact make payment to our vendor for the product that he had purchased. (check # XXXXXX) We also apologized for the poor communication or any misinformation he may have received. He was communicating with an employee who not employed at that time, nor was she familiar with the vendor we were using for this product. Regardless, if the customer would have had any issues with the product, Pugi would have stood behind the product that they had sold. Four years later, we are unwilling to refund the customer his money as requested. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/10/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Pugi, yet again, refuses to explain how the vendor that they claim to have paid had no record of me or my vehicle. This is unacceptable. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/03) */ As previosuly stated, the customer agreed to purchase a product which was applied to his vehicle at time of delivery. We then paid our vendor for the warranty associated with the product. Regardless of whether the person he spoke with had his information or not, if the customer would have any issues, Pugi would have honored the coverage. Therefore, we are unwilling to provide the customer a refund four years later.

3/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service