BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2003

Phillips Chevrolet

Phone: (815) 469-2323Fax: (815) 469-02109700 W Lincoln Hwy, FrankfortIL 60423-1553 Send email to Phillips Chevrolet

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2003

BBB has determined that Phillips Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Phillips Chevrolet's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Phillips Chevrolet

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
12/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

May 6, 2014,I traded in 2001 Oldsmobile Alero at Phillips Chevrolet located in Frankfort, IL.I ask for my License plate they told me that they would pull and destroy my plates because i did not plan to reuse them, however they apparently sold the 2001 Alero with the plates still attached which resulted in me getting tickets and being summons to court on 9/25/14.The court findings exposed that tickets had been issued since July 2014 and that the plates were allowed to be renewed in my name for the new owners of the Alero. On several occasions I had been to the DMV/ Sec. of State to resolve this matter.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive $1000 for pain and suffering,
long waits in court and the DMV,fuel expenses while in travel to court and DMV and allowing some of my personal information to be exposed to the dishonest owners of my previous vehicle (2001 Oldsmobile).While I hope this issue to be closed upon this requested remedy I have no assurance that these dishonest people will not use my personal information(address,etc.) to perpetrate any further crimes out of anger resulting from impending financial responsibility/liability as it relates to this complete matter. Moreover, I would pray that no on else would experience a similar situation cause by the same irresponsible business practice.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x366
Contact Email: *****
We do not have ******* ******'s license plates. I spoke with Ms. ******, informed her of that and compensated her for her troubles. The issue has been resolved. If you have any questions, please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX x366 or *****

***** *******
General Sales Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

I responded to Phillips Chevrolet which was presented to me on November 11, 2014 by............via a phone call to the offer me to bring in my current vehicle to top off all fluids and gas. I had accepted their offer but I still have concerns about my unreturned/stolen license plates, that they are now claiming not to be in their possession. Whomever has the car/plates has purchased a new plate in my name that I'm receiving tickets for. If my reporting the plates as stolen, due to Phillip Chevrolets negligence, will dissolve me of any further liability then I can consciously settle with Phillips Chevrolet. Therefore, until I can confirm that the status of my liability to the license plate will not cause me any future unrest, I will not withdraw my complaint and cannot settle with Phillip Chevy.

Final Business Response
Phillips Chevrolet is not in possession of Ms. ******'s license plates. Ms. ****** should file a police report saying someone is using her license plates without her authorization.
General Sales Manager

12/19/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/16/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Advertised a vehicle said they had possession of it and yet never had it on their property. Used this vehicle to lure customers in and than tried to sell me a different car. This is called a bait and switch which is considered illegal to do. Had me drive 50 miles and didn't respect me one bit. I want this company to be held liable for their illegal use of sales.

Desired Settlement
I want this company held liable to the court of law and to see what it's like to not be truthful. Unallowed and illegal.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Rafat ******* GSM
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *****
The vehicle Mr.******* wanted to test drive was a pre-trade inbound unit. Our customer purchased a new vehicle that was in transit so they drove their vehicle until the new vehicle arrived. When a vehicle is traded in, our CRM program automatically puts it on our website. The vehicle was available for sale; but Mr.******* did not want to discuss because we made the mistake of telling him it was at our dealership. The vehicle was manually removed after we spoke to Mr.*******. New procedures have been implemented so this does not happen again. We apologize for the inconvenience that was caused. If you require any further information, I can be reached at ************ x366 or ***** Sincerely, Rafat ******* General Sales Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is false information again. I was told by two sales personell that the vehicle was in process of coming to the dealership. The vehicle I was interested in. Mr ******** also told me and promised me that as soon as the vehicle arrives at the dealership would than contact me so that I can than test drive the vehicle. In the meantime waiting around to see what was going on Mr. ******** tried to sell me a different car of possibly the same value. Thus proving to me a bait and switch. Also, the vehicle was not on the site three days later and my wife emailed asking information. Of the vehicle and the personell called back stating it was sold a day after I went to the dealership to originally test drive the vehicle. I do not and will not accept this falsifying dales technique. If the G.M. of sales plans the owner really feel sorry for the I covienence, extra money, time and costs of me arranging a babysitter for that day they will Calle personally. My family has bought three cars from this dealersjip, but after this my family and friends will no longer be going to this dealerahip. And I also plan on calling the attorney general over this matter.

09/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

************** asked me to leave my rims . he is the business manager. i did everything that was asked of me and now they tell me to prove that they have the rims.

Desired Settlement
i have 2 of the rims . the price of the rims at the purchase date was 2200. they lost the 2 that goes with the set so there is nothing that i can do with the 2 that i have

Business Response
We have searched our facility as well as our records and do not have Mr. ********'s wheels here, nor do we have record of taking possession of them. We will work with Mr. ******** to resolve this issue by offering options for replacement wheels. Please contact me if you require any further information. Thank you, P. ***** ******* Fixed Operations Manager XXX-XXX-XXXX **** *************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 06/01/1986Business started: 01/01/1968
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tina Gray (Office Manager)Mr. Curtis Pascarella (President)
Related Businesses
Phillips Chevrolet of Lansing, Inc. - 17730 Torrence Ave, Lansing, IL Mike Maheras
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Lemon Law Facts

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Phillips Chevrolet has received 4.34 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Phillips Chevrolet

9700 W Lincoln Hwy

Frankfort, IL 60423-1553

To | From


1 Locations

  • 9700 W Lincoln Hwy 

    Frankfort, IL 60423-1553

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Phillips Chevrolet is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Lemon Law Facts

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.