Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Patrick Hyundai

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 519-9600 Fax: (847) 619-4510 1020 E Golf Rd, Schaumburg, IL 60173 http://www.patrickcars.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Patrick Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Patrick Hyundai include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Patrick Hyundai
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 16, 2005 Business started: 11/01/1987 in IL Business started locally: 11/01/1987 Business incorporated 05/03/2005 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alex Razvi, Director of Sales Operations Mr. Mike Coughlin, Director of Service Operations Mr. Hanley Dawson III, Dealer Principal Mr. Hanley Dawson IV, Dealer Principal
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alex Razvi, Director of Sales Operations
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Patrick Dealer Group

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Patrick Hyundai has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe on June 4th. As of July 12, I still have not received the proper documentation to register/title my car in Indiana. I am now forced to drive with expired temporary tags due to the dealerships inability to provide the necessary paperwork to ensure I am driving within the law. After repeated attempts at calling and emailing management, finance department as well as executive leadership, nothing has been done. I have a second issue with their failure to complete the transaction with the promised dealer accessories but that is a lesser issue at this point due to the titling issue. The vehicle should never have been allowed to be sold without all requisite paperwork being available.

Desired Settlement: I would like the necessary paperwork delivered as soon as possible so my vehicle can be legally operated. I would also like my dealer accessory promised as part of the transaction or equitable compensation for the lack of fulfillment and emotional distress.

Business Response: Customer has received his title from the ********* ** *****. Also the Cargo Cover that was given to the customer did not fit so we are shipping out a new one. Complaint resolved.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ****

3/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 2013 Sonata was totaled on 10/5/15. I brought my original paperwork regarding ***** ****** warranty $545. Prepaid maintenance plan $1160. EXT warranty for $1295. And asked the dealer manager/salesman **** *******, if there was any sort of refund applicable since the car is no longer and the warranties were not fulfilled, Per insurance adjuster. I was directed to a salesman to fill out paperwork. A few days later I went back into the dealer with a reading of the odometer and proof of the car being totaled/value document from the insurance company and spoke to the GM who stated he would submit paperwork and I would receive the refund within 8-12 weeks. BY 1/1/16 I did not receive any checks or communication. I called the dealership 4 times before finally reaching finance manager **** ********. On first contact, **** stated that I was not in the system and he would need to look further. Then, **** stated that the money had been returned. I asked where it was returned to. And was told "it was either to your bank or to repay your loan on the car" I replied that the car was paid off and settled by the first time I went into the dealership requesting the refund, as I needed to settle and make final payments and have my insurance company pay the remainder of my loan, before issuing a check so I could purchase a new car. **** then asked if I ever completed paperwork as he had no information. Saying yes, we ended the call so he could look into it further. I call **** and left 2 messages stating my concern with **** ability to get this completed as he was contradicting on the phone, and would like to talk to him to get this settled. **** has not return my call. **** left a message stating I need to find a lean release/proof of the totaled car before he could find a status of the check. I have called back and not gotten in touch since. The loan was with Hyundai finance, the papers stating the car was totaled and settled with ***** has been submitted, whats the problem

Desired Settlement: I would like to have this process completed and have my refund check in hand ASAP. 8-12 weeks has long been passed.

Business Response: *********** was cancelled and sent to Hyundai Motor Finance in the amount of $243.19. Pre-paid maintenance has been cancelled and the refund amount is $86.03 which we should receive next week and will be mailed as soon as we receive it. The Service contract has also been cancelled, the hold up was an open claim at another dealer which we have resolved. The cancellation refund amount for the service contract is $111.73 which we should receive next week also, and forward on to the client. Thank you. 

Business Response: There is an additional $848.45 that was released from the service contract company after resolving a disputed service claim from another service department. All products have been cancelled and refunds applied. The additional amount has been received in house and is being forwarded to consumer.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, I am not sure what the dispute it regarding as I was not a part of any dispute. However. this resolution will be accepted and approved when the check is provided to me.

Sincerely,

****** **************

1/4/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from Patrick Hyundai on December 12th. At that time I was bullied into buying the car. They have called and texted me almost everyday since I bought the car to get references and insurance information. The salesperson has threatened to take the car back and I have offered to return the car on many occasions I just want the threats, and harassment to stop or for them to return my car, title and money. I have offered to return the car more that once without any response. They don't respond to the offer then they come back a few days later and threaten again to take the car back. I am more than happy to return the car and be done with them.

Desired Settlement: I want Patrick Hyundai to return my car, title and money and I will return their car.

Business Response: The bank was returning the contract without the references. The client called the bank today and provided the references, which was all that was needed. Unfortunately Patrick Hyundai was stuck in the middle of an issue the client promised to provide. Everything is now resolved.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  The information was not provided to them because the General Manager stated that he would fix this and he did not.  Also, whether I turned in the information or not it is not an excuse for the harassment and threats I received from the business.

Sincerely,

***** *****

12/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When going over the price of the used car I was interested in buying on 8/28/2015, our sales rep, ****** ****** informed us that the "Zurich Protection" had been added to the vehicle, and additional fees would be added into the final price. We advised him that we did not want this, and we were told that "it wasn't optional." We asked numerous times to have this removed, and we were told that we had to get this protection, that it had already been added onto the car, and that it wasn't optional. The papers showing the Zurich Shield protection outline the product cost as on the Order shows $598.00. We purchased the vehicle that same day & signed the papers for financing. The Zurich Shield papers we were given, form # XXXXXX, which explains the details of the protection, shows "THE PURCHASE OF THIS PRODUCT IS NOT REQUIRED AS A CONDITION TO OBTAIN FINANCING OR TO PURCHASE OR LEASE YOUR VEHICLE." Which is the complete opposite of what was told us and what we were assured was the case. We were lied to about this service, and were told that we had no choice in paying for it in purchasing the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: Would like the $598 refunded

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/22) */ Explained to client that the addendum on the window showed as accessory and product was already on vehicle. In good faith we have agreed to keep all product warranties intact and give a check for the amount of $598 the price paid for accessories. Complaint resolved Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2015/10/06) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Spoke with rep at Patrick Hyundai on 9/22 regarding complaint. After explaining the procedures and reasoning behind the Zurich protection plan, he agreed to refund us the $598.00 that we paid for.

9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 9/02/15 2015 Hyundai ******* AWD sedan, 3.8L. Amount paid for service was about 42.00 including taxes. Service was for Oil change and inspection of vehicle. Inspection was not fully preformed and was noted it was, possibly oil change was not done. I have proof that inspection was not completed. I inspected car before service and after it has dent on rear bumper, which chipped paint. Called dealer multiple times no response, manager not returning calls, which shows guilt.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of bumper because it is new vehicle. Refund or reservice for oil change with me personally able to view process.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/08) */ Mr ***** came into dealership on September 4th and met with service manager , after reviewing security camera's it was determined nothing came in contact or close to Mr ****** vehicle , dealership supplied customer with a courtesy bottle of touch up paint. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The service manager could not retrieve the video to show me anything!! he said that the system was down. And could not show me the video. Service manager says he watched the video, but how can you watch the video if the system is down? He supplied a bottle of paint. Also acknowledged that the tire inspection was preformed but acknowledged the numbers on the inspection was different from the actual tire pressure. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2015/09/08) */ Service manager says the oil change was done but could not provide any proof that it was done. the only proof is the one i have that says the inspection was done and the oil change but some of the inspection report does not match the actual vehicle. they can not prove anything was done and i can prove somethings were not done so all could not be done. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/09/09) */ Of course Mr *****'s vehicles oil and filter change was done. Mr ***** could look at his oil and see new filter installed , Mr ***** is obviously looking for something free , There is nothing else we can do here for this customer.

8/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: when trying to cancel my warranty the dealer has yet to submit it to the warranty company. My refund comes from the dealership! When I call to ask about it the guy told me he was too busy to help me. I want my refund and I am not waiting 8 weeks until someone gets off their *** to do it! I have been very helpful with coming in and giving the dealership the information the needed for me to cancel and now it seems as though this dealer just doesn't want to pay up! I work for a warranty company so I KNOW how easy it is to cancel. It takes less than 5 minutes! I shouldn't have to get angry and ****** off to the point where I would never do business again with this company! ***** the head of the used car sales was a **** on the phone with NO customer service skills when I was asking for help. He should be FIRED! Your Business manager is also a JOKE!

Desired Settlement: My cancellation quote from the warranty company is $670.22 approx. / 29.14% refund -$44 cancellation fee. I want that issued to me immediately. The policy number that you are cancelling and refunding is #JXXXXXXXXXXXX

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/07/29) */ Customer was very happy when she picked up her check on 7/17/2015.

6/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I received an email from this car dealership stating all remaining 2013 Santa Fe Sports would be $7000 off the MSRP (had other cars..about 10 of them for all different prices off the MSRP). So when we went into the dealership (because of this email) we were very interested in one of these cars. The dealership told us that they could not go any lower than their online price (which was only about $4500). When we mentioned the email they just kept saying that is the best price we can do. I then stated why did your dealership send this email out if you were not going to honor it? (we were not the only couple in the dealership that had gotten this email...they were not honoring it for anyone) To me this is FALSE ADVERTISING and this is not the first time it has happened from this dealership. They send another email like this one a few months ago...and never honored that email either. I tried talking with a manager who came down a little more in price...but was still not $7000 off...it was more like $5200 off. This car also has 5000 miles on it and a few dings and dents here and there. Product_Or_Service: 2013 Hyundai SANTA FE AWD 4dr Sport SUV

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like them to honor the $7000 off the MSRP for all remaining 2013 Santa Fe Sports as it states in the email.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/07/30) */ This customer came in on our $7000 off our advertised price on very specific 2013 Santa Fe's. The Ad clearly states a specific vehicle via a stock number, MSRP. There were 7 other vehicles offered at this discount. What she doesn't state is that she wanted the same $7000 discount on a different non-advertised model, which we cannot do. It clearly states which MSRP qualifies for this particular of a discount. We honor the ad on the right cars that qualify. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/07/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If you look at the ad you will not see any specific stock number or anything. When we asked about these vehicles when we got there all we were told was that they would not honor the $7000 off any of the sports that they had left on their lot. What the dealership is not telling you is that their advertisement is all lies just to get you in the door. All they had left were demo cars of the 2013 and they should not have sent the email with the ad in the first place. If they would have shown us which sport we could have gotten for the $7000 that would have been a different story. All we were ever told was "well, we don't know why you got that email and we can't go below the price we are giving you now." I know what we did and how we were and what was asked when we got there...it is not my fault their ad states nothing about SPECIFIC MODELS. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/08/15) */ Please see the attached advertisement Ms. *** refers to where it absolutely specifically states a stock number (see highlighted in yellow).

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went in on 1/30/14 and spoke with a sales associate named **** ****** who was a new employee. We asked for a rough negotiation of an out the door price for a 2013 elantra. He stated in the $15,000 range and I had a witness. I went back on Saturday and had called ahead of time to see if **** was available. He was busy so after 20 minutes we were referred to another associate. When speaking to one of the managers I inquired about the incentive starting 2/1/2014 for $4000 off a new 2013 elantra and he claimed he didn't know what I was talking about. I pulled the website up on my phone to show him and he challenged me asking if it was their dealership's site. I showed him the web address to confirm and he had the nerve to say they were not going to grant the February incentives yet even though it was 2/1/14. After seeing what they had in their inventory the associate we were working with showed us vehicles that were the same model with a $650 package upgrade. He came back with an OTD price of $18,400 so I asked why there was such a discrepancy between what I was told on 1/30/14 and what he was offering now. I went to speak with the former associate Mike and he claimed that he never said it was an OTD price in the $15,000 range, which was a complete lie. Overall the advertisement was false and management was not willing to grant what was stated on their website. The new associate had provided an offer two days before that he was not willing to stand behind. The dealership also advertised vehicles that they did not even have in stock.

Desired Settlement: Brand new 2013 Hyundai Elantra base model in automatic transmission for the advertised incentive value of $4000 off MSRP with title, taxes, and fees at $14,500, which is just above the OTD calculations.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/24) */ Our add clearly stated that the savings were $4000 off the MSRP price with all applicable factory incentives applied, plus taxes and all applicable fees. We have an approximate total combined inventory of about 750 new cars, if we do not have the exact color a customer is looking for we do everything we can to obtain it for them. As for the customers desired resolution, we cannot sell a 2013 base new Elantra for $15,000 with taxes and fees included, we will however thru the end of February, still honor our ad by giving the customer $4000 off the MRSP price of a GLS base Elantra. Please keep in mind as mentioned above that the discount includes all factory rebates including owner loyalty of $500 which means the customer would have to prove that they already own a Hyundai. If they do not than the total discount from MSRP would be $3500. Please also keep in mind that the factory incentives change from month to month, so we can only honor this price reduction till 2/28/2014.

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put a deposit down on a used car so I could get my daughter in to see it. The next day the salesman, *******, said that they had interested buyers and was just going to sell the car to someone else, that the manager had already taken the keys to give to the new buyer. This was HIGH PRESSURE sales so I had to come right in to reserve my right to buy the car. I noticed an oil leak on the car and asked if their mechanic could tell me what the cause was and was told that they would not spend the money or time to look at it. I said I would pay the mechanic and they still refused to look at it. When I asked if I could then take it to an independent mechanic ******* told me no, that his sales manager would not allow it. Later, the sales manager told me that ******* never asked him about this, but that if I wanted to buy the car I MUST sign a document that I had been given the opportunity to have the vehicle inspected. ******* then admitted that he had not asked, that he had lied to me about it. Also, they sold me this car with 2 totally bald and illegal front tires (though I finally talked them into giving me a $100 discount on the purchase price towards one tire, which of course actually cost $140). Additionally, the 2 rear tires were almost illegal. I had to buy 4 new tires the first day after purchasing this car. Another issue-the car had been involved in an accident in the dealers parking lot but they refused to show me the repair report. Finally, I asked 3 times (twice by email and once by phone)for the finance manager, *****, to send me a couple of copies of two contract pages that my printer could not print because the originals were both too light and too long or to please send me a voided contract as a copy. I never received anything, not even a phone call back. It is perfectly clear that the character of this firm is all about making a sale and avoiding any post sale customer contact or service. To make the sale, it would appear that anything goes: broken contracts, lies, illegal practices.

Desired Settlement: I had asked for $125 refund for the inspection I had to have after I bought the car the $100 insurance deductible to have the oil leak repaired after I bought a $2000 used car warrenty from them. They refused. I would like to get this $225. Plus, they should pay for another new tire for selling a car with 2 illegal, totally bald tires.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/10/28) */ We cannot hold a vehicle without a cash deposit and then when there is a cash deposit we can only hold it for a very short amount of time. If the 'deposit' party is taking too long to come in and look at the vehicle or complete the paperwork ******* reserves the right to sell the car. This was an "AS IS" and shown used car vehicle sale. Mr. ******** and his daughter were both aware of the tires prior to the purchase, however, his daughter proceeded with the purchase with full knowledge the tires needed replacing. Also, ******* did in fact put the car up on the rack in the back so they could take a look underneath. There is nothing further ******* can do therefore we are closing our file on the matter. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2013/11/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Once again *******'s response does not address my concerns. All they say is essentially that I bought a used car and that they provide nothing with that used car nor do they want to deal with any followup on the car. I am saying they would not let us take the car for an inspection nor would they let us pay them for an inspection in their own shop. I'm saying they used high pressure, take it or leave it sales tactics and essentially renigged on the money I put down for the car by saying that the manager took the keys from the salesman to sell the car to someone else, that my deposit was no longer valid (in less than 24 hours). I'm saying they sold a used car with illegal tires (totally bald) on it and that judging by the overall condition of the car I feel were unlikely to be the tires that came with the car when it was traded in. I am also saying that they did finally give me a partial credit for one new tire in order to close the sale. I'm saying there was no follow up on a clerical request I made for copies of the warranty I purchased and the sales contract-a couple of pages which were so lightly written that I could not make a copy. I'm saying they did not supply any written history on the car-no service records or no accident records when the accident took place in their parking lot and they had the work done to fix it so I am wondering how I was well aware of the history of the car. They continue to not even respond to these complaints (because they have no response-duh). The truth is the truth. I feel other potential customers of ******* should know this and that this complaint went unresolved. Potential car buyers should be able to read about this before they might choose to do business with such a company. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2013/11/11) */ This was an "AS IS" and shown used car vehicle sale. Mr. ******** and his daughter were both WELL aware of this used car's history and still proceeded to purchase the vehicle. No further compensation for any part of this vehicle will be offered.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Patrick Hyundai
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart