Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Patrick BMW-Mini

Phone: (847) 843-4000 Fax: (847) 843-4022 View Additional Phone Numbers 700 E Golf Rd, Schaumburg, IL 60173 http://www.patrickcars.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Patrick BMW-Mini meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Patrick BMW-Mini include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Patrick BMW-Mini
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1977 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated 12/22/1994 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Alex Razvi, Director of Sales Operations Mr. Mike Coughlin, Director of Service Operations Mr. Brent Rogers, Chief Marketing Officer Mr. Martin Stilwell, COO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alex Razvi, Director of Sales Operations
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Patrick BMW

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Patrick BMW-Mini has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/1/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car on Feb. 1, 2016. On March 24, 2016, I received a check in the amount of $44.01 with the comment of "overpayment on taxes and fees 2015 BMW 328XI.." I reviewed my documentation and discovered that in fact, I had overpaid both taxes and registration fees based on the receipts from the IN BMV. However, the total amount overpaid was $297.41. On March 28, 2016, I received an invoice from Patrick for $44.01. There was no explanation for the invoice. On April 4th, I emailed the dealership copies of all of my records of the charges and the costs and requested an explanation. After 5 days, and 3 requests for a response, my salesman said I would be receiving a small refund. On approximately April 20th, I received a check for $44.01. On April 29th, I received an invoice NOW PAST DUE, for $44.01. I have made numerous efforts to contact the finance office, my sales person, ***** ****; the finance manager, *** ******* and even called and left a message for the person I thought was the sales manager. No response. First- what am I being billed for? Second- why didn't I receive a full refund? Third- Why can't someone from the dealership respond?

Desired Settlement: refund if overcharged but at least stop billing me for something without an explanation.

Business Response:

******

We will not bill your for the $44.01, consider this invoice waived. I will have *** ******* ** ***** ****** our finance managers call you to go through your documentation with you. Please contact ***** ****** *********************** if that conversation doesn't bring the matter to a close.

Regards,

***** ******

4/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Customer service and delivery issue!!! It was quite a bad experience from the very beginning! The sales man was a nice guy! But their service department is off task completely! I left the car for a wash and it came back with scratched navigation, wood trim around the shifter, swirls on the outside body paint!!! I saw one of their young guys in service using a frozen brush for removing snow off the car and a dirty rag to wipe the navigation and wood trim clean!!! All the managers had to say was that "we’re not in the business of scratching cars Sir!!" They tried to buff the car and wax it but they did a superficial job!! As the wax was disappearing of the car the swirls became obvious in the sun. These people are really hard to communicate with! Really hard! If it’s the service guys or any other department in this company that’s creating problems I was hopping at least the owner would do something to help! But they didn’t! At the end of those 3 years of leasing the car I refinanced thorough BMW for another 3 years. Patrick had me replace 2 tires in order for that car to pass recertification. I was charged 1600$ for the same recertification process!!! They almost charged me for cleaning g the car too!!! I didn’t t agree to that! They made the car look good somehow but still the same superficial job! They didn’t even clean the engine as part of the recertification process!! Every recertified car they have in the parking lot looks clean and buffed! Even more my car came back with a scratch on the front bumper on the passenger side! I asked them to give me the old tires back because I maintained em well but hey never did!!! I called BMW North America they haven’t done anything yet!! It’s been 3 months since I refinanced and still haven’t got back my tires nor had the scratch fixed nor the wood trim replaced nor the engine washed nor the swirls buffed!!!! Patrick refuses to do what’s right! They are the closest dealer to my house! You can imagine how hard this is! If I ha

Desired Settlement: need my tires back or new tires, need the car buffed, engine cleaned, wood trim replaced, scratches fixed and complaint available on every review. recertification needs to be done properly!!

Business Response:

This customer purchased their own car from BMWUSA as this was a lease return vehicle they chose to buy. Patrick is tasked with handling the paper work for BMWUSA, this purchase was between BMWUSA and the customer. All scratches and issues with this vehicle were on this car at time of inspection. The tires on this vehcile had less than 2 millimeters of tread which makes them illegal to drive so they had to be replaced per Illinois law. When the customer requested to see the tires we kept them at our service drive for two months and he never picked them up.

Most of this complaint is regarding BMW's lease return process we are forced to comply with. I'd recommend filing this complaint directly with BMWUSA as they are the party this transaction was completed with. 

As far as the clients unhappiness with our service department I am willing to offer a complete vehicle detail completed by our 3rd party detail shop. This would need to be scheduled by appointment by contacting ***********************

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Sincerely,

********* *****

1/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have an unresolved issue with Patrick BMW , I took the car to dealership on 29th December at 1:15 pm. After the oil change, when I got my car back, the windshield was cracked (2.5 feet wide horizontally). When asked the service people about that, they said that there was a minuscule chip/crack in the windshield when I brought the car in. I ask them to prove by their cameras or whatever if there is a small crack when I brought the car in to the dealership. The service manager pulled out the paperwork and showed me a mark on the paperwork indicating that there is a crack in the windshield on the bottom most part. How would that prove that there is a crack already? what are the chances that they have just marked it on the paper to create this small crack story? is that a legitimate proof? Did they show me the crack and take my signature before they start working on it? Lets believe the service dept story for a minute that there is a small crack. I asked them, if I had the small crack or chip, why did it now became a 2 ft wide crack? they answered that they wash the car with hot water after the service and it might have increased/propagated the crack. As a dealership, if you claim there is a crack already, if they knew by experience that the crack could propagate during hot car wash, shouldn’t they have taken my permission and/ or assessed the damage it might cause???Nevertheless, if the crack propagated at your premises, who is responsible for the damage? If I would have been notified about the small crack or chip (assuming there was one, when I brought it. There is no proof of that they can show, except for a piece of paper, which is nothing to me), I would have just got repaired it for no cost (per my insurance ), now after the service I have a 2.5 feet crack, I need to replace my whole windshield and need to pay 1000 dollars for deductible.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for free of cost replacement or pay my insurance deductible or refund the costs incurred for the replacement done by myself outside

Business Response:   Mr. ******* 2007 X3 was at our shop 12/29/2015 for a oil change.  On the walk around it was noted that his car had some minor rock chips on the hood and the windshield had a small crack at the lower right corner! We do this walk around for this reason to protect ourselves from being blamed for things we didn't do.  This small crack apparently spread probably due to the environment change, (Cold to Warm). Patrick BMW will not be assisting in the repair due to the simple fact that it came in broken.  I **** ***** Service Director did offer Mr. ****** wholesale pricing on this repair if he would like it done. 

Business Response:     Patrick BMW offered to repair Mr. ******'s 2007 X3 windshild at a discounted rate. His car did come to us with a damaged winshield, offer will stand for 30 days.  Did suggest that he turn it in to his insurance company as comp claim.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

My car did not come with a damage and turning it into my insurance is not an option for me because I am not going to pay 1000 dollars for deductible for no mistake of mine.

I want a proof that I got my car into service with a damage. I am not going to buy the piece of paper as proof as they can mark that any time. 

I just started a ***** ****** ***** process in **** ****** on this issue for 1500 dollars plus attorney charges. I also request BBB to come up with a note of what they think about this issue. I request BBB to post this complaint online and make it visible for others


Sincerely,

*** *

11/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/29/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our 2010 mini stalled on Saturday 9-26-15 and could not be restarted. Chicago minute man pulled over and said coolant was low and proceeded to pour some in and left her with the container. He said she should be able to re start and drive in 20 minutes. It restarted and daughter in law proceeded to her sisters house. We told her to drive it to Patrick Mini on sunday, Oct. 27 and leave it for them to check out. The next day on the way to Mini it stalled again on exit in Schaumburg. No lights came on until after it stalled and she could not restart. Then all lights started flashing. We had it towed in to Patrick. On monday, Patrick called to state that numerous things were melted and had to replace thermostat housing assembly, water pump, coolant duct, valve cover assembly, timing chain kit and friction wheel w/belt. coolant flush and oil change for $4,000 if needed a new engine it would be $8,000. Stated that wrong coolant was put in and that is what caused all the damaged. I have talked with several automotive engineers including Jacob Mini in Naperville, Il. who stated coolant would never have done all that. Then Manage **** ****** from Patrick Mini said well she drove with lights on for 50 miles. No lights ever came on. We have this mini served all the time at Patrick and feel with this amount of damage they either missed something or there is a defect in numerous instruments including warning lights. This vehicle is not under warranty but we believe the company should be responsible for faulty parts and workmanship. We have contacted mini customer relations in Westwood, New Jersey and have not received any replies. The vehicle is still at Patrick Mini in Schaumburg and are renting a vehicle in the meantime.

Desired Settlement: We want Patrick Mini to responsible for the defective parts and workmanship and to replace the parts at their expense. We have kept up with our maintenance whenever it showed that it needed to be serviced. If that much damage was done, it was not due to errant coolant or driving 50 miles with lights on. When lights go on you take it to the dealer, which we have always done with our other vehicles. We have been BMW owners for over 20 years and never received such horrible service and intimidation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/16) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Service Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@patrickcars.com We received the ******** vehicle on Monday 9/28/2015 after being dropped at our repair facility on Sunday 9/27/15. We contacted the customer in the morning and they stated the temperature light came on, car was leaking coolant as well as oil, and the car had stalled out. We inspected the vehicle to find out that the engine was overheated and dex-cool antifreeze in it. We then performed computer diagnostics and found several faults for engine temperature plausibility and fuel cut off due to super knocking from engine. We also found the computer system turned the temperature light on at 55,960 miles and the car now has 56,052 miles on the odometer. Upon further visual inspection of the vehicle we found the valve cover assembly with vapor separator, water pump with impellors, thermostat housing assembly and coolant duct melted due to extreme overheat. Also found timing chain and guide failure due to lack of oil pressure. We found dex-cool antifreeze inside engine which is incorrect coolant for MINI engines and can cause internal component failure. We performed cylinder compression test and found cylinders #2, #3, and #4 all have lower compression levels than cylinder #1 indicating possible internal engine failure due to extreme over heating of engine. The vehicle went out of the manufactures warranty on 12/11/2013 almost 2 years ago so there is no coverage from the manufactures warranty. The last time the vehicle was at Patrick MINI was on 12/15/2014, almost a year ago, for scheduled maintenance. I don't see how Patrick MINI is responsible for repairing the customer's vehicle. The car has not been to our repair facility for almost a year and at that time all we did was and oil change, engine air filter, and secured a body seal for the passenger side door. No work was performed with the cooling system. Unfortunately the customer drove the car after it car stalled out on the side of the road with a coolant leak, the Chicago minute man adding the wrong coolant to the system telling them it was ok to drive (according to the customer) as well as with the temperature light coming on. This chain on events caused the situation we have and none of these were caused by Patrick MINI. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/10/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Well, I guess I cannot expect anything different than what they stated. I did not tell Patrick Mini of any oil leak. Chicago Minute Men stated after looking at their chart the Dex coolant was the appropriate one to put in and it should start within twenty minutes of installation. I have talked with automotive engineers in Detroit and they stated that Dex would not have caused that massive of a problem in such a short time. Dex to their knowledge only affected Ford Vehicles to any extreme. Mini Dealer in *********** Il. stated that Dex was DEFINITELY okay to use and not to let anyone tell me otherwise! This mini dealer is only going by their own opinion, not any hand written edict from anyone in authority and not the industry in general. No where in the manual does it ever state not to use Dex coolant! I agree that it is out of warranty but I also feel that the car malfunctioned due to a defect in the vehicle. We take all of our vehicles (most of them BMW's in the last 20+yrs.) in for maintenance according to schedules that are set up by the manufacturer and sometimes penalized for taking them in before they are due! As I do not drive the car that often because I am retired and we have three vehicles, there was no need to take the mini in before it was due to be seen again. If their maintenance people had stated something needed to be replaced, we always replace or repair so Mini's dance about not having it in the last nine months, not a year, is reaching. Again, do you go to the doctor even though there is no need to and you go in for your annual check every year? Although Patrick states light was on for fifty miles, it was also towed enroute to Patrick . The light never came on until AFTER the car stalled, twice. So Patrick, as expected, is calling me a liar even though I have engineers disputing his claim due to the coolant. There was coolant in the vehicle so it was not completely empty and again, no mention was EVER stated of oil leaking. As their corporate Customer relations office in *** ****** received a F rating from BBB there and is not affiliated with them I could not issue a complaint with BBB in **********. I did write their main office and they called on 10-14 to state they would be back to me in 3-5 days with a reply. We are still waiting for a call back at this point and seeing that they have a F rating with BBB I am not surprised at the tap dance, lies and wiggling of Patrick Mini to accept no responsibility for the defect in this mini. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/10/29) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Service Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@patrickcars.com At Patrick MINI we use only manufacturer OEM parts and fluids provided by MINI USA. As I have explained to the customer the car was overheated too badly for us to determine the original cause of failure whether it be coolant related or mechanical failure. The customer did bring the car in for scheduled maintenance in December 2014 and there were no visual signs of coolant leaks nor did the customer complain of overheating or warning lights coming on at that time. We have no way of predicting what could happen to a car 10 months later. Once again the car is almost 2 years outside of the manufactures warranty parameters. We have spoken with MINI USA about the situation and there is no assistance willing to be offered at this time. In this situation Patrick MINI has done nothing wrong and did not cause the failure that occurred to this car therefore we cannot be responsible for paying to repair the customer's car. We are sympathetic with the customer's situation and understand if the customer would like to continue pursuing their concerns with MINI USA if they feel it is a defect with the car that caused this situation. Patrick MINI is not responsible for this problem.

8/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been getting email from this dealer even though, i called and email them also I unsubscribed my self from their website, i still get it i called few times and i was told that yes they have removed me from their mailing list but i still get email from them.

Desired Settlement: all i want is to unsubscribed my self from this dealer mailing list

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/07/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@patrickcars.com We will check all our email providers and have him removed per his request. This was delivered to our team for review 7/28/15. If he receives any further communications please have him forward any emails recevied to ***************@patrickcars.com so we can see which opt out system isn't properly functioning.

6/2/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2007 ***** within last month. The date of purchase I drove out of dealership with foglights and headlights on. The next day I realized the fog lights were on turned them off and noticed a headlight is not working. The other headlight turns on and off randomly. I have called sales man ***, he said "There isn't anything we can do as we didn't make much money on the car". I contacted the Gm of sales on January 26th 2015. He got back to me and stated take it to a lexus dealership and get it fixed, he clearly stated he will not be paying for the issue, even though it happened while on lot. They said there was a safety check completed on the car, but seems it was very lousy if one was done. The brakes are lousy and the headlights are not working properly. A safety check is a VERY important part of the purchase method and this is not a risk any dealership should be taking.

Desired Settlement: I will take my car to a ***** dealership as told and get issued fixed, because a safety issue is not something that should be waited on. All I am asking from the dealership is to cover the cost of both headlights and of brakes and any other safety related cost required for the car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/05/22) */ We are happy to work with the client to rectify the situation and have communicated that information with the client. The client needs to get an estimate from a Lexus dealer and bring the estimate to us with his vehicle to Patrick BMW and we will assist in correcting the issue. Once the customer has the estimate he should call **** ********** at XXX-XXX-XXXX and he will setup an appointment to correct the problem. Regards, The Patrick Dealer Group ***** ****** Chief Marketing Officer (XXX)XXX-XXXX - Cell *******@***********.com

3/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealer ( Patrick BMW ) sold me a 2013 Nissan GTR with a full Warranty on 11-18-2014 shipped it to ** on 11-22-2014 where I took delivery on it. Paint work all over the car & loud noise coming from the rear end of the car. They told me to bring it in for repairs which I did & 4 1/2 weeks later Star Nissan in********** told me there is no waranrty on the car because back in 2013 it was put in some kind of race mode & that voided the waranrty. I spoke to the selling dealer ( Tim Gadmoski ) he advised me that he needed to talk to his manager ********** & he would get back to me. A week later I received a call back from him after about a dozen or so calls to him saying they will not take the car back & I'm on my own with fixing the tranny in the car!

Desired Settlement: I would like to return the car for a full refund or they fix the tranny in the car!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/26) */ Ms. ****: We represent Patrick BMW, which forwarded us a copy of Mr. ******'s above-referenced complaint. Our understanding is that Nissan North America, Inc. ("Nissan"), the vehicle manufacturer, authorized an inspection of Mr. ******'s vehicle in *** **** with Star Nissan, and there is presently an evaluation and determination as to whether Nissan will perform the repairs requested by Mr. ******. We see the issue in this case as a product matter, with a proper resolution to be worked out between the manufacturer and Mr. ******. It is premature to determine whether this matter will be resolved through those efforts, but to the extent Nissan performs the repairs, that would moot Mr. ******'s complaint against Patrick. You should be able to confirm this status update with Mr. ******. Upon receiving further information, we will also update the BBB. Please feel free to contact me with any questions in the interim. Very truly yours, **** ***** ********* ** ***** **********************************, P.C. 330 N. Wabash, 21st Floor Chicago, IL XXXXX Phone ************ Fax ************ ******@burkelaw.com www.burkelaw.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The dealer will not take the car back & Nissan north America so far ( 6 weeks at the dealer ) will not fix the transmission in the car Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2015/02/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We did agree on splitting the cost of the repair on the transmission ( $5000 to the dealer total cost is $10,000 ) but it's been 3 weeks & I still don't have a ck & nobody from there legal dept has contacted me. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/03/23) */ This issue has been resolved to the satisfaction of both parties. Recent email from Complaintant, Hi ****, Here's a copy of my withdrawal of my complaint with BBB. I called the attorney General's office & told them that I'm Satisfied with Patrick BMW & withdraw my complaint. I had my secretary go on the sites that we put negative comments on & either take down or add to stating we worked out our differences to my satisfaction. If she missed any of them please let me know & I will see to it it gets handled. I'm out of town till Tuesday so I'll put a ck in the mail on Wednesday. Who do I make it out too & where do I send it? Thank You

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had service done on my car at Patrick Mini In Schaumburg, IL on 8/25. I had a check engine light and the car was running rough. They said problem was due to incorrect spark plugs and low oil due to 2 small leaks. Had oil leaks repaired and correct spark plugs installed. Days later same problem resurfaced. Now they were saying in needed a new timing belt. Since I had been told the other work would fix my car (and it was at the upper limit of what I was willing to pay to repair the car) I was unwilling to do the additional work and would like a refund for the work that was done since it didn't fix the problem. I reason I brought it to a Mini dealer is because I had the expectation they would know how to diagnose and fix my car. The service manager called me to try to resolve my complaint on 9/4/2014 and said he would call back the next day which he didn't. After emailing another inquiry to Mini, The service manager called me on 9/17/2014 and after a lengthy discussion, The dealer would not accept any responsibility or offer any solution or resolution. I am seeking credit for the original repair since it didn't fix the problem I brought the car in for. Had I been told that these repairs may or may not fix the problem, but were needed to be done as the first step to diagnosis, I would not have an issue. My issue is that the I was told these repairs would fix the problem I brought my car in for, which it didn't.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of my $987.70 since the problem I brought the car in for was not fixed by this repair. When I brought it back to the dealer they told me that $1500 of additional repairs were needed to fix the problem. Had I been told that the $987.70 repair may or may not fix the problem (but was a necessary first step) I would not be disputing this repair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/25) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Service Mgr. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@patrickcars.com Mr. ****** brought his car in for a rough idle concern and a check engine light being on. When we performed our diagnostics the only trouble fault codes that were stored were for misfires on all cylinders. Upon inspection of the car we found that his car had aftermarket and the incorrect spark plugs in the car. The car also had no oil registering on the dip stick. Upon further inspection we found 2 oil leaks coming from the engine. We recommended installing the correct spark plugs in the car for the misfire and rough idle concern and to repair the oil leaks to correct the car being low on oil which Mr. ****** agreed to. Unfortunately the check engine light returned a couple of days later. We performed further diagnostics at no additional charge to the customer and found that the engine timing chain was stretched past specification that MINI considers acceptable allowing the engine to slip out of time intermittently. Installing the correct spark plugs and repairing the oil leaks were repairs that needed to be performed to the vehicle and were the correct repairs to perform based on the information we were provided. Unfortunately in this case the vehicle had an additional repair that is necessary to properly fix the check engine light. If we had performed a repair that was not necessary or misdiagnosed the vehicle then I would consider refunding Mr. ****** his money but, that is not the case in this situation. The vehicle had incorrect parts in it that ignite the air fuel mixture, had obvious oil leaks and didn't have enough oil in the engine to register on the dip stick. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The bottom line is that I brought my car in for a repair, I paid over $900 for the repair and the problem I brought my car in for was not fixed. I understand that the work that was done, needed to be done, but I only willing to pay a set amount to have the car repaired, had they told me that there was no guarantee that the work done would not fix the problem, I wouldn't have approved the work and would have sold the car (which I did since I was unwilling to pay for any more repairs). The most important factor in this case for me is that I was not informed that the work being done was not guaranteed to fix the problem. After all, they're the dealership where I purchased the car and they're the experts, not me. They are not taking responsibility for being the experts and they did not provide me all the information I needed to make an informed decision. That is why I believe I deserve a refund or at least an offer in settlement. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/10/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I brought the car to the dealer due to a check engine light. They made over $900 in repairs that did not fix the problem. Therefore I do not feel I should pay for the repairs since they didn't fix the problem. I had budgeted a max of $1000 to repair the car. If the estimate had stated that thee repair may or may not fix the problem, I would not have done the repair. Unfortunately the dealer failed to explain or disclose that the repair may or MAY NOT fix the problem. But to come back to me after I spend over $900 dollars and tell me since that didn't fix the problem that now I need another $1500 worth of repairs. To me this sounds like bait and switch! Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/10/22) */ In this situation the vehicle had the incorrect parts installed by a different repair facility or private party and was several quarts low on oil due to active oil leaks. The obvious repair is to install the correct parts and to fix the oil leaks so that there is oil staying in the engine. All of the repairs performed come with a 2 year unlimited mileage warranty from the manufacture if those parts were to fail within that time frame. Unfortunately the vehicle had additional problems that were being masked because of the previously stated issues. Had the correct parts been installed in the car in the first place we would not had needed to replace them here before finding out it needed additional work to be performed. The customer is holding us responsible for an incorrect repair that was performed elsewhere. If there was any way for us to know that there was additional repairs that were going to be needed we would have obviously made them aware of this ahead of time. The customer agrees the repairs needed to be perform but, does not want to pay for them because there was additional work that his car needs to his car. If the repairs on their car were not necessary or did not fix his leaks then we would be inclined to refund the money but, even the customer agrees these repairs needed to be performed he just does not want to pay for them because his vehicle needs more work. For these reasons we will not be refunding the customer for the repairs we performed to his vehicle.

5/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bmw 528i april 14th. brought in for service to the driver door wouldnt open. they said in would cost 147 to see whats wrong and then when i declined the offer to complete the repairs. they put the car together with tape and did considerable damage to the inside of the car and were brutally offensive to deal with.

Desired Settlement: because of the amount of time,aggravation and dealing with people who were blatantly lying. i am seeking $10,000. its been traumatic experience dealing with people who will say anything to get out of there wrong doing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/16) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Service Manage Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@patrickcars.com I called Mr. ******** in regards to the last service visit. During the entire visit while his car was here I checked in with him multiple times and advised him each step of the way. I told him the panel/latch could be damaged when attempting to open the door, because the door was stuck shut, and that once it was opened it was a possibility that it would not be able to be shut unless it was fixed. He authorized to have us open the door and advise him on what repairs would need to be performed. Only after getting his authorization to do whatever was necessary to get the door open was anything broken. He refused to talk on the phone and told me to "fix it or else" and hung up on me. During his service he was aware that the time taken was to try to get the door open without having to damage or break anything during the process. Once we knew that was not possible, he gave the go-ahead to do whatever was needed to get the door open so it could be fixed, because he had already been to 2 other independent repair facilities that would not even attempt to work on the vehicle because of the concern. Then when the door was actually opened and he was given the estimate for repairs of $1260.00. He said absolutely no way was he going to spend that kind of money on a car that he thought was only worth $3,000. After trying to get the door shut I advised him that at minimum the latch would have to be ordered and replaced for the cost of $750.00 to get the door to close, he declined that and told me to get it shut and tape it up. I had the technician do just that. After all of the back and forth then he acted surprised at the situation like he was unaware anything that we had spoke about. He was advised of all the possibilities of damage and of the door not being able to be shut once it was opened before the door panel was broken into and Mr. ******** Ok'd additional action to get into the door. Please contact me with any other questions about this situation, The Patrick Group and my name are attached to this and I am looking to make sure that we protect our good name and reputation. Thanks Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) there is a couple of mis statements. 1st they did let me know that the that there could be some damage to the inside panel, a little bent or something.that was the full disclosure 2. i took this to my mechanic and he said they destroyed everything inside the panel, broke a bunch of things and a bunch of pieces are missing Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/05/06) */ As stated in last response Patrick BMW will absorb 20% of the cost of the repair. If Mr. ***** would like to have the car repaired he needs to call us for a appointment.. Again: Mr. ***** was informed thoughout the process of getting his door opened that some damage could occur during this process and approved further action.. Thanks Brad Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/04/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The real problem is two fold 1st is I bought a key from them which they couldn't program. Came back and they programmed it then next day the door wouldn't open. After researching it online I see this is a reacuring problem. Then they said 147 to see what's wrong and they destroyed the inside panel,broke a bunch of things and really did significant damage. I don't think I should be liable for any of this in fact they broke the car,totally screwed up the repair doing significant damage and then lied about what they promised and created a significant amount of pain and suffering because of there balatant disregard for the truth.

3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have repeatedly asked this company to get me off their mailing list. I don't live in the USA. I've never dealt with Patrick BMW even by association. They keep contacting me to get me to buy new cars or rate their services. I've constantly tried to use the unsubscribe mechanisms from their business. I've written to numerous addresses over the past year. They wrote to me on ******* asking which email address to remove and I replied back after which no change happend and their mails just resumed. I wrote to them the following email on 12/31/13 --- from: ***** ***** <*****@**********.com> to: ******@patrickcars.com, ******@patrickcars.com, ************** <*******@patrickcars.com> I have repeatedly in the past told you to stop emailing me anything from your company. I don't live in the USA. I don't own a BMW. I don't wish to receive ANY emails from your company. I have in the past tried to opt out from your mails using the unsubscription methods in the emails but they obviously don't seem to work. If I receive one more email from your company, I WILL REPORT YOU TO consumerist.com AND the Better Business Bureau. The email address is in question is either ******@gmail.com or *****@**********.com. Thank you. ----- I am still on receiving an email from them every few weeks and they just refuse to honour my wishes to get off their list. As a last resort I am writing to you to pursue this on my behalf. Thank you. - ***** *****

Desired Settlement: Nothing requested. Just get me off their list please.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/18) */ Mr. ***** has been permanently removed from our mailing lists. We apologize for any inconvenience. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/02/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Patrick BMW-Mini
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart