Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Orland Toyota

Phone: (708) 429-3900 View Additional Phone Numbers 8505 W 159th St, Tinley Park, IL 60487 http://www.orlandtoyota.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Orland Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Orland Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1983 Business started: 06/01/1973 Business started locally: 06/01/1973 Business incorporated 10/30/1972 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Hector Torres, General Manager Mr. Jeff Kowalis, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Hector Torres, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Cylinder Heads - Auto & Motorcycle Starters - Engine Auto & Truck Brokers New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Orland Toyota/Scion

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Orland Toyota has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8505 W 159th St

    Tinley Park, IL 60487

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 12, I visited the Orland Toyota dealership. Since the vehicle I was interested in was not in stock, I was told that I needed to provide an earnest money deposit of $250 prior to the dealership securing the vehicle I was interested in purchasing. Prior to the vehicle being secured, I notified the dealership that I was no longer interested in doing business with them (purchasing any vehicle). To date the funds have not been credited to my account, and no one has returned my phone call inquiring as to when the credit would be issued.

Desired Settlement: I would like my account credited the $250.

Business Response:

Orland Toyota was given a $250 deposit to secure/locate a 2016 Toyota Highlander. We located the vehicle for the customer and found out a few days later that she was no longer going to buy the vehicle. The customer's credit card was credited/refunded on 4/06/2016 in the amount of $250.00

Complaint ID ********

 

7/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had numerous issued with the aftermarket radio that was installed in October 2014. The third time we had to bring it in for the same issue the aftermarket customer service rep, who is very rude and uncooperative tried lying and saying we would have to pay for the repair because a mouse in the car bit through the wires. This is a lie since the installer that previously tried to fix the car stated there was a mouse nest in the car but there was no damage to the wires. Bob ********* the rep was rude, lied and hung up on me when i called to get this situation resolved. We were then referred to Hector the General Manager who called and said he wanted us to get our issue resolved but is not returning our calls to set up an appmt. This is the worst customer service I have ever experienced and after dealing with Bob, Hector and a Manager at Lexus, we still have not had our issue resolved. An issue we had within the first month of buying the car.

Desired Settlement: I want the entire after market radio either upgraded or my money back. This product has not worked properly since day one. This is the fourth time it has needed to be repaired for the same continuous issue and I do not want to have to deal with Bob ******** again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** - G.M. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX EXT 196 Contact Email: *******@orlandtoyota.com Orland Toyota and it's vendor has ordered and will install a brand new system for the customer. We will alert them of the arrival of the unit for installation. Our most sincere apologies to the customers. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2 year old toyota certified 2010 toyota camry se from Orland Toyota on June 18th 2012. This car was presented to me as being an accident free vehicle, and was supposedly inspected and certified. The day the car was purchased work was performed on it which would have shown dealership employees the vehicle had been in a previous front end accident and had parts replaced, thus would not have been able to have been Toyota Certified as a used vehicle. This damage was not disclosed to me that day, and I was sold the car without this knowledge. About 3 weeks ago I had the radiator fail due to improper installation of parts associated with it. Orland Toyota performed this work the day I purchased the car. The local toyota dealership that performed the repairs showed me the signs of previous damage, and the lack of quality repair techniques. My car was missing hardware, the hood latch was not installed properly and was loose, there was paint overspray on parts showing body work had been performed, and one of 2 of the horns were disconnected. They also showed me signs that the work performed by Orland Toyota was insufficient as the parts they installed did not fit properly as they were cheap aftermarket copy parts. I have reached out to orland toyota to get resolution on this sales deception issue, as well as to address the poor workmanship. They are not responding to calls, or when they do respond they are telling me to talk to someone else and wait a week before I can get ahold of that person.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back for what I paid for this car, as I would not have purchased it if I had been made aware of the previous damage on the day I purchased it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** - GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@orlandtoyota.com Orland Toyota sold a 2010 Toyota Camry on 6/18/2012 with 23,069 miles and a clean ****** report. It has been almost two and a half years since the vehicle was sold. The vehicle also shows having been driven to 39,248 miles. Orland Toyota was not aware of any body work having been performed to the vehicle. The local Toyota dealership that worked on the vehicle had previously performed service/maintenance and not found any issues related to damage or poor workmanship. Two and a half years later the radiator fails without any indication of a pre existing condition. The desired resolution by the client is unreasonable.

8/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VIN#**********UXXXXXX on 2/17/2014 with a mileage of 56,126. The engine completely failed coasting to a stop sign around the corner from my house on 4/6/2014 at a mileage of 57,912. Cylinder 1 connecting rod snapped and caused 2 holes in the engine block rendering it completely destroyed. I contacted the pre-owned sales manager, ************ the day after 4/7/2014 asking for assistance. I was informed that because I did not purchase any extended warranty there was nothing they could do and told me "Good Luck". With this being my only vehicle I immediatly searched for a replacement engine. I was able to find a brand new OEM Long Block Assembly from Mitsubishi for sale on an online forum. Used engines proved hard to come by and with all the metal inside the engine everything needed to be replaced. This engine is no longer available for purchase new from Mitsubishi. I purchased the engine via private party sale and placed a deposit of $500 for it on 4/8/2014. I also purchased other neccessary parts to replace the engine, such as seals, gaskets, and an oil cooler as it would have metal particles in it from the engine failure. This totaled $723.43, a discounted price from the local Mitsubishi Dealer as I work in the automotive industry. Th I recieved the engine and paid the remaining balance and shipping charges on 4/16/2014, this amount totaling $6471.51. I work as a Master Technician for Towne BMW in *********** I was able to complete the engine replacement myself, the repair was complete as of 4/22/2014. This repair according to book time would cost close to $2000... I have not requested reimbursement of this amount. I have documented pictures of the mileage at time of failure, pictures of the damage to the engine along with receipts for all transactions. I sent the President of the company, Mr. **** ******* all of this documentation and a letter explaining my complaint with no response. The letter and documents were sent Fedex and were recieved by them on 6/16/2014. I have recieved no sort of response or attempt at communication from them.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the amount of $7694.94, this amount covers the engine, all required parts for replacing the engine and shipping charges I have paid for in order to drive this vehicle again. I am not requesting reimbursement for the labor involved with the repair which would have cost around $2000.00 at any repair facility.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/07/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** - General M Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ext 196 Contact Email: *******@orlandtoyota.com Mr. **** arrived at our dealership on February 14th 2014. He was made aware that turbocharged Mitsubishi Evolutions are sold with no warranty of any kind because they are considered high performance automobiles. The option of purchasing a service contract is made available to every buyer if the vehicle is eligible. He elected to decline the optional coverage and also signed the bill of sale acknowledging the vehicle was sold as is and shown without any warranty expressed or implied. He test drove the vehicle and also inspected it prior to driving the vehicle from ****** **** Illinois back to ******* *** **** without encountering any problems. Mr.**** had possesion of the vehicle 53 days and drove 1,786 miles without any complaints.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Orland Toyota
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart