BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2010

Orland Toyota

(708) 429-3900View Additional Phone Numbers8505 W 159th St, Tinley ParkIL 60487-1166 Send email to Orland ToyotaView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2010

BBB has determined that Orland Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Orland Toyota's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Orland Toyota

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
12/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a 2 year old toyota certified 2010 toyota camry se from Orland Toyota on June 18th 2012. This car was presented to me as being an accident free vehicle, and was supposedly inspected and certified. The day the car was purchased work was performed on it which would have shown dealership employees the vehicle had been in a previous front end accident and had parts replaced, thus would not have been able to have been Toyota Certified as a used vehicle. This damage was not disclosed to me that day, and I was sold the car without this knowledge. About 3 weeks ago I had the radiator fail due to improper installation of parts associated with it. Orland Toyota performed this work the day I purchased the car. The local toyota dealership that performed the repairs showed me the signs of previous damage, and the lack of quality repair techniques. My car was missing hardware, the hood latch was not installed properly and was loose, there was paint overspray on parts showing body work had been performed, and one of 2 of the horns were disconnected. They also showed me signs that the work performed by Orland Toyota was insufficient as the parts they installed did not fit properly as they were cheap aftermarket copy parts. I have reached out to orland toyota to get resolution on this sales deception issue, as well as to address the poor workmanship. They are not responding to calls, or when they do respond they are telling me to talk to someone else and wait a week before I can get ahold of that person.

Desired Settlement
I would like my money back for what I paid for this car, as I would not have purchased it if I had been made aware of the previous damage on the day I purchased it.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** - GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@orlandtoyota.com
Orland Toyota sold a 2010 Toyota Camry on 6/18/2012 with 23,069 miles and a clean ****** report. It has been almost two and a half years since the vehicle was sold. The vehicle also shows having been driven to 39,248 miles. Orland Toyota was not aware of any body work having been performed to the vehicle. The local Toyota dealership that worked on the vehicle had previously performed service/maintenance and not found any issues related to damage or poor workmanship. Two and a half years later the radiator fails without any indication of a pre existing condition. The desired resolution by the client is unreasonable.

08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a 2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VIN#**********UXXXXXX on 2/17/2014 with a mileage of 56,126. The engine completely failed coasting to a stop sign around the corner from my house on 4/6/2014 at a mileage of 57,912. Cylinder 1 connecting rod snapped and caused 2 holes in the engine block rendering it completely destroyed. I contacted the pre-owned sales manager, ************ the day after 4/7/2014 asking for assistance. I was informed that because I did not purchase any extended warranty there was nothing they could do and told me "Good Luck". With this being my only vehicle I immediatly searched for a replacement engine. I was able to find a brand new OEM Long Block Assembly from Mitsubishi for sale on an online forum. Used engines proved hard to come by and with all the metal inside the engine everything needed to be replaced. This engine is no longer available for purchase new from Mitsubishi. I purchased the engine via private party sale and placed a deposit of $500 for it on 4/8/2014. I also purchased other neccessary parts to replace the engine, such as seals, gaskets, and an oil cooler as it would have metal particles in it from the engine failure. This totaled $723.43, a discounted price from the local Mitsubishi Dealer as I work in the automotive industry. Th I recieved the engine and paid the remaining balance and shipping charges on 4/16/2014, this amount totaling $6471.51. I work as a Master Technician for Towne BMW in *********** I was able to complete the engine replacement myself, the repair was complete as of 4/22/2014. This repair according to book time would cost close to $2000... I have not requested reimbursement of this amount. I have documented pictures of the mileage at time of failure, pictures of the damage to the engine along with receipts for all transactions. I sent the President of the company, Mr. **** ******* all of this documentation and a letter explaining my complaint with no response. The letter and documents were sent Fedex and were recieved by them on 6/16/2014. I have recieved no sort of response or attempt at communication from them.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting the amount of $7694.94, this amount covers the engine, all required parts for replacing the engine and shipping charges I have paid for in order to drive this vehicle again. I am not requesting reimbursement for the labor involved with the repair which would have cost around $2000.00 at any repair facility.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** - General M
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ext 196
Contact Email: *******@orlandtoyota.com
Mr. **** arrived at our dealership on February 14th 2014. He was made aware that turbocharged Mitsubishi Evolutions are sold with no warranty of any kind because they are considered high performance automobiles. The option of purchasing a service contract is made available to every buyer if the vehicle is eligible. He elected to decline the optional coverage and also signed the bill of sale acknowledging the vehicle was sold as is and shown without any warranty expressed or implied. He test drove the vehicle and also inspected it prior to driving the vehicle from ****** **** Illinois back to ******* *** **** without encountering any problems. Mr.**** had possesion of the vehicle 53 days and drove 1,786 miles without any complaints.

05/17/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/04/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/10/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/21/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/23/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
09/04/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto & Truck Brokers, Starters - Engine, Cylinder Heads - Auto & Motorcycle

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/1983Business started: 06/01/1973
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1972, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Hector Torres (General Manager)Mr. Jeff Kowalis (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto & Truck Brokers, Starters - Engine, Cylinder Heads - Auto & Motorcycle

Alternate Business Names
Orland Toyota/Scion
Industry Tips
Contracts
Lemon Law Facts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Orland Toyota

8505 W 159th St

Tinley Park, IL 60487-1166

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8505 W 159th St 

    Tinley Park, IL 60487-1166

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Orland Toyota is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (708) 336-7200
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Contracts
Lemon Law Facts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.