Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Oak Lawn Toyota

Phone: (708) 423-5200 Fax: (708) 423-5247 4320 West 95th Street, Oak Lawn, IL 60453 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.oaklawntoyota.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Oak Lawn Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Oak Lawn Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Oak Lawn Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1983 Business started: 02/01/1971 Business started locally: 02/01/1971 Business incorporated 06/08/1981 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ronald Colosimo, President Steve Barrix, Sales Mr. John Carnivele, General Manager Ms. Victoria Colosimo, Internet Manager Ms. Laurie Haedtler, Secretary John McShane, Service Ms. Geri Toma, Accts. Payable
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald Colosimo, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Victoria Colosimo, Internet Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Oak Lawn Motors, Inc. Oak Lawn Scion

Additional Locations

  • 4320 West 95th Street

    Oak Lawn, IL 60453

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I lease a car 5-21-2016 from **** the transmission broke down five days later, the car still under warranty, car note due 06-06-2016 each week. I call **** they tell me to call the leasing Co. I can only e-mail them I want to redo the contact I got the car to work, the car broke down on my second day at work. I understand it's my responsible to keep the car running, but I also need a chance less than two days I think is very unreasonable, I don't want the car back after it's fix cause I am scare of it I believe it's a lemon' I need HELP. Please.

Desired Settlement: GIVE ME A CHANCE TO FORFIL THE CONTRACT TAKE THEIR CAR BACK AND ALLOW ME TO CHOSE ANOTHER CAR

Business Response:

Mr. ****** never brought his vehicle to our service department and this is the first time we've heard a complaint from him regarding his Nissan.  After some research, we found that his vehicle is still under warranty and it is currently at another dealership being serviced.  With that said, he will not have to pay for the services being performed on the vehicle.  There's nothing we can do at this time because the vehicle is not at Oak Lawn Toyota.  Because it is under warranty, the manufacturer will do everything in its power to ensure the car is running at 100% and that the consumer is happy.  Once the vehicle is out of the other dealership and if there are any other issues, please have Mr. ****** contact us and we will rectify any unsatisfied issues the consumer has.

We are sorry he is unhappy with his purchase, but the vehicle is at another dealership and there is nothing we can do when it is not at Oak Lawn Toyota.

6/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, Oak Lawn Toyota posted a price on 01/03/2016, on their own website oaklawntoyota.com, and other websites as Cars.com, Cargurus.com, for Brand New Toyota Sienna 2015, VIN#*****************, Dealer Stock # 902405, as $19484. I have contacted them for availability of the vehicle on 01/03/2016, through cargurus.com email option. On 01/04/2016, they emailed me back and said, they have it in stock, and its $28K. When I said, you have advertised it as $19K, they quickly got into their web site, and changed the price. But they could not change the price on Cars.com or Cargurus.com or other car finding websites. I feel emotionally upset as I do need a new Toyota Sienna for my growing family and was looking for a minivan for months, and was very excited with this offer of $19K with last day of Toyota event (01/04/2016) of 0% interest for 60 months offer. Now they are not honoring their own offer and posted price. They tried to fool me with their own website, but they could not update other individual websites right at that moment. As a matter of fact, when I am writing this complaint, it is still showing in cars.com and cargurus.com as $19,484, at 01/04/2016, 10:26PM. I also feel, this is a fraud with consumers, trying to lure simple faith customer like me, and then twisting price, or pushing them with something high price then the original offerings. It is also a big gain over competitor's business as other competitors try to match a price, but as the competitors offered high price, consumers rushed to their business (Oak Lawn Toyota) seeing a low price, at the last day of Toyota sales event and find out that Oak Lawn Toyota hassle and twist price. My wife contacted Northbrook Toyota for a price match, which Northbrook Toyota do advertise in their website that they guarantee a price match, but even in this instance, NBToyota declined to match price!

Desired Settlement: I would like to request Oak Lawn Toyota honor their advertise price of $19,484, for a Brand New Toyota Sienna LE 2016 with 0% interest offer (no interest) of 60 months payment plan. Thank you.

Business Response:

Complaint ID
#11026913

January 6, 2015

Christina ********
Customer Service Manager 
Oak Lawn Toyota
**** ** **** *** *** ***** ** *****

 

Dear Mr. *****,

Thank you for reaching out to Oak Lawn Toyota via Better Business Bureau.  I read your inquiry and I understand your frustration.  The 2015 Sienna (Stock #902405) was incorrectly listed when you originally saw it online and a truly honest mistake on our part.  When we recognized the flaw, we fixed it in the system and the correct listing price took effect at $29,485.  This was a simple listing error and we apologize for the inconvenience but we cannot accept $19K on Stock #902405.  

On behalf of everyone at Oak Lawn Toyota, I’m sorry for the confusion.  Please accept our offer of 0% financing for 60 Months on a new Sienna.  



Sincerely,
Christina ********
Oak Lawn Toyota

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 11026913, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

Parvez *****

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started with the internet sales team. I wanted to buy a Toyota Camry Hybrid XLE. I sent many emails to ****** and ***. They sent me quotes. I at first declined to go to them because they could not give me the price the others dealers had quoted me. 30 minutes after I hang up with ******, on the phone, *** called me back and promised that he would have the price I wanted waiting for me when I arrived. He promised me all kinds of discounts and increase in the trade in value. I told him that I did not want to go to the dealer and have the sales crew trying to convince me of what I wanted. I told him that I wanted a Toyota Camry XLE and I really did not care of the color I just wanted the car ready with the papers with the price that we agreed on with the discounts that he offered. I arrived to the dealer and they first tried to get me to test drive a Toyota Camry Hybrid LE. I refused to drive it. I drove the XLE and then went to finish the paperwork. When it was time to sign the papers the price is not what we discussed. The manager ***** said that the price that I was given was for an LE. I showed him the True car certificate and the many emails between me ****** and ***. ***** said that the internet team is quoting me the Price for the LE and that he could not honor that price for the XLE, and that *** has no authority to make such arrangements and I did not understand what the concept of an MSRP. I explained to ***** that I did not ask to go to the Oak Lawn dealer *** called me and promised that the agreed price would be ready in an envelope and no negotiation would be necessary. Again ***** said that *** does not have that authority and that I was being difficult because the price that HE wanted to give me was THE BEST. I walked out because all the emails and calls I made did not amount to anything. They tried to trick me into an LE even after I explained many times I WANTED a XLE. I wanted to speak with *** when I got to the dealer, ***** said that he tried 7 times to get him on the phone and he could not. I Kept on asking him why is it acceptable for *** and ****** to give me a quote for an LE when ALL my emails and phone conversations where regrading an XLE. If the dealer could not give me the price I wanted WHY was I told that they could. I truly believe that they tried to trick me. Because the noticeable difference between the XLE and the LE is the power seats and windows (the other differences are harder to recognize such has different type of wheels and car performance) . The first car that they wanted me to test drive had power seats only on the drivers side. And Why at 7 pm they are unable to call *** or ******? They said they honor competitors prices yet when I asked why that did not ***** said that he could not because he did not want to give the full discounts because he believed that the other company was going to do something else. WHAT? I did not understand that either!! They wanted me to come into the dealer so many sales persons can try to convince me to buy from them. To attempt to buy this car I had 4 people TELLING me that I did not understand the sales process and what I NEEDED or WANTED.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to not WASTE peoples time. They need to stop telling people that it would be an easy process. I wanted to start my car search via the internet because I work A LOT. They promised a no hassle process. Which is not True. If a dealer promises paperwork will be ready with the car that we agreed on then that should be the situation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/05/21) */ Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******************@gmail.com May 21, 2014 To: BBB- Chicago & Northern Illinois From: Oak Lawn Toyota Subject: BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX To Whom It May Concern: Thank you for bringing this case to our attention. As a member of Oak Lawn Toyota's Customer Service Team, I do not take complaints of this nature, or any, lightly and I want to rectify this as soon as possible. After careful review of the e-mail exchange between the customer and our sales' representatives, ****** and ***, it appears that this was a simple case of miscommunication. On April 17, 2014, the customer contacted Oak Lawn Toyota, via www.truecar.com, to inquire pricing on a 2014 Camry Hybrid. That same day, the customer's first contact point was made with Internet Sales Associate ****** who asked the customer to provide detailed information regarding the type of Camry Hybrid they wanted. ****** was out of the office when she (the customer) responded later that evening that she wanted a 2014 Camry Hybrid XLE and that she had a 2004 Chevrolet Cavalier ready to trade-in. ****** was out of the office from April 18-21st so our Internet Manager, ***, decided to check in on ******'s customers and help out with any outstanding work. On Monday, April 21, 2014, *** sent an email to the customer quoting the price for a Camry Hybrid LE (please see the attached copy of the e-mail). Further, the customer's sister came in to get the Chevrolet Cavalier appraised and a price was negotiated but there was no commitment made at that time. The following day, Tuesday, April 22, ****** returned to work and called the customer to follow up with her. The customer informed ****** that she intended to make her purchase from a different dealer as their price beat ours. ****** then reached out to *** to help the customer understand the price we gave her, and how it was given a seal of "great" approval according to True Car. Joe could sense the customer's frustration as it sounded like she had been shopping prices for a while. He was intent on assuaging her dissatisfaction and asked that she come into the dealership to test drive the vehicle in question. The customer was under the impression that *** was quoting her on a Camry Hybrid XLE, while *** thought they were discussing the Camry Hybrid LE (that he had quoted her on in an e-mail he sent the prior day). After their discussion, the customer asked *** to prepare the deal so that she could sign on the dotted line when she came through our doors. *** assured her that he was doing his best to make the process as simple as possible and that if she came in with a written offer from the compete ting dealership, he would beat the price. Otherwise, they would agree to the price set forth in their e-mail exchange. That evening, before *** left work, he informed the New Car Manager, *****, that the customer was coming in and that he must give her "rock bottom" pricing as she lives close to the dealership and we would want to forge a strong relationship with her to guarantee she comes to us in the future. The customer arrived at the dealership and ***** prepared a test drive for the Camry Hybrid LE, as that was the car and price agreed upon in her phone conversation with ***. This was the moment she informed ***** that she wanted a Camry XLE, which she had not been quoted on in the original e-mail exchange. ***** presented her with a price for the Camry Hybrid XLE that was in stock and she was frustrated with it. Even though True Car deemed the Camry Hybrid XLE figure "great", it wasn't the price she had in mind. I truly believe this was a misunderstanding between the customer and ***. If you see the attached e-mail, it clearly states that the quote is for a Camry Hybrid LE. We do not tolerate an atmosphere of fraud; it is neither our intent to mislead nor is it our objective to waste customer's time. I would appreciate the chance to speak with the customer and rectify the issue at hand. If she can bring in a written offer from the competing dealer, we would be more than happy to beat it, just as *** had offered to do on April 22. I take full responsibility for the miscommunication on our side of the conversation and if the customer would like to speak with me about that, I would be happy to take her call. I assure you that we will do a better job communicating with our customers in the future. Please let me know how you would like us to proceed. Thank you, ********* ******** Customer Service Representative Oak Lawn Toyota **Due to the security measures put forth by our e-mail system, ****** forwarded the portion of her/***'s correspondence with the customer that is germane to this case. Please see the attached file. Thank you** Feel free to contact me via the information provided below.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Oak Lawn Toyota
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)