BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/08/1999

Oak Lawn Toyota

Phone: (708) 423-5200Fax: (708) 423-5247

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
06/02/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I started with the internet sales team. I wanted to buy a Toyota Camry Hybrid XLE. I sent many emails to ****** and ***. They sent me quotes. I at first declined to go to them because they could not give me the price the others dealers had quoted me. 30 minutes after I hang up with ******, on the phone, *** called me back and promised that he would have the price I wanted waiting for me when I arrived. He promised me all kinds of discounts and increase in the trade in value. I told him that I did not want to go to the dealer and have the sales crew trying to convince me of what I wanted. I told him that I wanted a Toyota Camry XLE and I really did not care of the color I just wanted the car ready with the papers with the price that we agreed on with the discounts that he offered. I arrived to the dealer and they first tried to get me to test drive a Toyota Camry Hybrid LE. I refused to drive it. I drove the XLE and then went to finish the paperwork. When it was time to sign the papers the price is not what we discussed. The manager ***** said that the price that I was given was for an LE. I showed him the True car certificate and the many emails between me ****** and ***. ***** said that the internet team is quoting me the Price for the LE and that he could not honor that price for the XLE, and that *** has no authority to make such arrangements and I did not understand what the concept of an MSRP. I explained to ***** that I did not ask to go to the Oak Lawn dealer *** called me and promised that the agreed price would be ready in an envelope and no negotiation would be necessary. Again ***** said that *** does not have that authority and that I was being difficult because the price that HE wanted to give me was THE BEST. I walked out because all the emails and calls I made did not amount to anything. They tried to trick me into an LE even after I explained many times I WANTED a XLE. I wanted to speak with *** when I got to the dealer, ***** said that he tried 7 times to get him on the phone and he could not. I Kept on asking him why is it acceptable for *** and ****** to give me a quote for an LE when ALL my emails and phone conversations where regrading an XLE. If the dealer could not give me the price I wanted WHY was I told that they could. I truly believe that they tried to trick me. Because the noticeable difference between the XLE and the LE is the power seats and windows (the other differences are harder to recognize such has different type of wheels and car performance) . The first car that they wanted me to test drive had power seats only on the drivers side. And Why at 7 pm they are unable to call *** or ******? They said they honor competitors prices yet when I asked why that did not ***** said that he could not because he did not want to give the full discounts because he believed that the other company was going to do something else. WHAT? I did not understand that either!! They wanted me to come into the dealer so many sales persons can try to convince me to buy from them. To attempt to buy this car I had 4 people TELLING me that I did not understand the sales process and what I NEEDED or WANTED.

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to not WASTE peoples time. They need to stop telling people that it would be an easy process. I wanted to start my car search via the internet because I work A LOT. They promised a no hassle process. Which is not True. If a dealer promises paperwork will be ready with the car that we agreed on then that should be the situation.

Business Response
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******************@gmail.com
May 21, 2014

To: BBB- Chicago & Northern Illinois

From: Oak Lawn Toyota

Subject: BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX

To Whom It May Concern:

Thank you for bringing this case to our attention. As a member of Oak Lawn Toyota's Customer Service Team, I do not take complaints of this nature, or any, lightly and I want to rectify this as soon as possible. After careful review of the e-mail exchange between the customer and our sales' representatives, ****** and ***, it appears that this was a simple case of miscommunication.

On April 17, 2014, the customer contacted Oak Lawn Toyota, via www.truecar.com, to inquire pricing on a 2014 Camry Hybrid. That same day, the customer's first contact point was made with Internet Sales Associate ****** who asked the customer to provide detailed information regarding the type of Camry Hybrid they wanted. ****** was out of the office when she (the customer) responded later that evening that she wanted a 2014 Camry Hybrid XLE and that she had a 2004 Chevrolet Cavalier ready to trade-in. ****** was out of the office from April 18-21st so our Internet Manager, ***, decided to check in on ******'s customers and help out with any outstanding work. On Monday, April 21, 2014, *** sent an email to the customer quoting the price for a Camry Hybrid LE (please see the attached copy of the e-mail). Further, the customer's sister came in to get the Chevrolet Cavalier appraised and a price was negotiated but there was no commitment made at that time.

The following day, Tuesday, April 22, ****** returned to work and called the customer to follow up with her. The customer informed ****** that she intended to make her purchase from a different dealer as their price beat ours. ****** then reached out to *** to help the customer understand the price we gave her, and how it was given a seal of "great" approval according to True Car. Joe could sense the customer's frustration as it sounded like she had been shopping prices for a while. He was intent on assuaging her dissatisfaction and asked that she come into the dealership to test drive the vehicle in question. The customer was under the impression that *** was quoting her on a Camry Hybrid XLE, while *** thought they were discussing the Camry Hybrid LE (that he had quoted her on in an e-mail he sent the prior day). After their discussion, the customer asked *** to prepare the deal so that she could sign on the dotted line when she came through our doors. *** assured her that he was doing his best to make the process as simple as possible and that if she came in with a written offer from the compete ting dealership, he would beat the price. Otherwise, they would agree to the price set forth in their e-mail exchange.

That evening, before *** left work, he informed the New Car Manager, *****, that the customer was coming in and that he must give her "rock bottom" pricing as she lives close to the dealership and we would want to forge a strong relationship with her to guarantee she comes to us in the future. The customer arrived at the dealership and ***** prepared a test drive for the Camry Hybrid LE, as that was the car and price agreed upon in her phone conversation with ***. This was the moment she informed ***** that she wanted a Camry XLE, which she had not been quoted on in the original e-mail exchange. ***** presented her with a price for the Camry Hybrid XLE that was in stock and she was frustrated with it. Even though True Car deemed the Camry Hybrid XLE figure "great", it wasn't the price she had in mind.

I truly believe this was a misunderstanding between the customer and ***. If you see the attached e-mail, it clearly states that the quote is for a Camry Hybrid LE. We do not tolerate an atmosphere of fraud; it is neither our intent to mislead nor is it our objective to waste customer's time. I would appreciate the chance to speak with the customer and rectify the issue at hand. If she can bring in a written offer from the competing dealer, we would be more than happy to beat it, just as *** had offered to do on April 22. I take full responsibility for the miscommunication on our side of the conversation and if the customer would like to speak with me about that, I would be happy to take her call. I assure you that we will do a better job communicating with our customers in the future.

Please let me know how you would like us to proceed.

Thank you,
********* ********
Customer Service Representative
Oak Lawn Toyota


**Due to the security measures put forth by our e-mail system, ****** forwarded the portion of her/***'s correspondence with the customer that is germane to this case. Please see the attached file. Thank you**

Feel free to contact me via the information provided below.

06/24/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/24/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
04/09/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/08/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
12/28/2012Problems with Product / Service
12/19/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.