Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Napleton Cadillac Saab

Additional Locations

Phone: (815) 398-0505 Fax: (815) 398-9555 505 N Perryville Rd, Rockford, IL 61107 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.napletoncadillacrockford.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Napleton Cadillac Saab include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Napleton Cadillac Saab include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Napleton Cadillac Saab
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 11, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1944 Business started locally: 01/01/1944
Business Management
Mr. Geoff Feinblatt, General Manager Ms. Chris Bates, Office Manager Ms. Diana Bowman, Accounts Payable Mr. Bruce Etheridge Bill Napleton Mr. Ed Napleton, Owner Mr. Scott Nicoll, General Sales Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Chris Bates, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Geoff Feinblatt, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Napleton Auto Werks on Perryville Napleton Cadillac Napleton Cadillac Rockford Napleton Motor Corp Napleton Motor Corp.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    505 N Perryville Rd

    Rockford, IL 61107

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    505 N. Perryville Rd

    Rockford, IL 61107

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/27/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. On April 2, 2015 an agreement was entered into with Napleton AutoWerks for the purchase of a 2014 Cadillac CTS Sedan. The sales representative was Justine Brugger. 2. The agreement included a total purchase price of $44,253.33 with $20,271.00 financed and $23,982.33 paid as a down payment. 3. Up until the time the agreement was signed on April 2, 2015, Mr. ***** was informed by Ms. ******* and by the service center General Manager ***** ****** that the vehicle had been involved in a minor collision with minor damage. 4. Mr. ***** was also informed by these individuals that the vehicle was fixed by an Auto Body Specialist and fixed correctly. 5. A sales representative and a repair manager of Napleton's all reassured Mr. ***** that the accident was minor and that the vehicle was properly repaired. 6. In direct reliance on these statements, Mr. ***** executed the agreement and purchased the car. 7. At all relevant times, the vehicle had a clear and clean ****** report. 8. At the time of purchase, Mr. ***** paid an additional $1,695.00 for the vehicle to be certified. 9. Four days after the purchase, on April 6, 2015, the vehicle was not running properly and Mr. ***** scheduled a service appointment with ******** for April 18, 2015, the soonest available date. 10. On April 11, 2015, the vehicle had major engine problems and was taken to ********. The service department discovered that the engine had blown. 11. While the vehicle was being serviced, Mr. ***** was informed by the same two representatives, Mr. ****** and Ms. ******** that another vehicle had the same problem and was fixed with no future problems. Based on these representations Mr. ***** again agreed to have the vehicle serviced instead of exchanged. 12. On April 30, 2015 Mr. ***** picked up the vehicle and the following day, May 1, 2015, the vehicle broke down again and was towed to ********. 13. Mr. ***** has not had possession of the vehicle since that date. 14. After May 1, 2015, Mr. ***** demanded his money back for the purchase of the vehicle. 15. While the vehicle was in ********'s repair center Mr. ***** discovered that the vehicle was not involved in a minor wreck but a was involved in a major wreck and that the vehicle was not serviced and fixed by an Auto Body Specialist as previously advised at the time of purchase. He was informed of this by ***** ******** and **** ******* a Service Manager. 16. Mr. ***** would not have purchased this vehicle if the true nature of the accident and damage to the vehicle had been disclosed. 17. Upon information and belief, the previous wreck of the vehicle was known to Napleton's as the wreck was caused by a Napleton's sales manager. The failure of the accident and damage to appear on the ****** report was a direct result of Napleton's concealment of the accident. 18. At all relevant times the damage was known and obvious to ********'s and was not disclosed to Mr. *****. The representations made regarding the prior damage and repairs were factual representations relied on by Mr. ***** in deciding to purchase the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: Complete rescission of the contract as null and void.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/03) */ Mr. *****'s vehicle is ready for pick up regarding the service concerns he had. All covered under warranty with no charge to him. We have provided a no charge Cadillac service loaner for this period of time. Mr. ***** can certainly pick up his vehicle. We can offer to trade Mr. ***** out of this vehicle if he decides. If this is the direction he prefers to move forward in, we can work together to trade him out into a different vehicle. Mr. ***** can work directly with ***** ****** to select a different car. We look forward to moving forward with Mr. *****. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. ***** has already tried to do a trade out of his vehicle and Napletons was not able to complete the transaction. He was given the option already of doing a trade out with no additional costs but when this was attempted the dealership added on extra out of pocket costs for *****. A complete rescission of the contract due to the misrepresentations is the acceptable resolution at this point. Mr. ***** would like a refund of his money. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/07/16) */ We have been in communication with Mr. *****, as he visited our dealership on Wednesday July 15th, to work on trading him out of his vehicle. Currently, we are working together to move forward. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2015/07/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON OR AROUND JULY 15TH 2014. I TOOK MY PORSCHE CAYENNE TO ******** AUTOWERKS ROCKFORD CADILLAC, SAAB LOCATED AT 505 N PERRYVILLE RD., ROCKFORD, IL XXXXX WITH TELEPHONE NUMBER (XXX) XXX-XXXX IN A TOWTRUCK. DUE TO THE BREAKS WERE NOT WORKING AND IT WAS NOT TURNING ON. THE TOWING COMPANY LEFT MY TRUCK THERE AND MR. GREG WAS THE PERSON WHO TOOK THE INFORMATION ON THE PROBLEM MY VEHICLE WAS HAVING FROM MR. MIGUEL AND MY SELF. ******** AUTOWERKS HAD MY TRUCK FOR SOME MONTHS NOT ONCE DID I BOTHER THEM FOR THEM TO DO A GOOD JOB. OCTOBER 2014, MR. GREG CALLED ME TO INFORM ME ON WHAT WAS WRONG AND TO GIVE ME THE PRICE THEY WERE GOING TO CHARGE FOR THE BRAKES, TO TURN IT BACK ON, REWIRING THE WIRES AND OTHER AS STATED ON THE INVOICE. I AGREED AND AROUND THE 20TH NOVEMBER 2014. MR. GREG CALLED ME TO INFORM ME THE PORSCHE CAYENNE WAS READY. I WENT TO PICK UP THE VEHICLE AND TOOK IT HOME, IT ALSO NEEDED AN EXHAUST AND ******** SENT ME TO ANOTHER SHOP SINCE THEY DO NOT PERFORM THAT WORK AT THEIR SHOP. ON NOVEMBER 30TH, 2014 I **** ******** DROVE MY CAYENNE ON THE EXPRESS WAY AND GOT VERY SCARED AS I WOULD STEP ON THE BRAKE PEDAL MY TRUCK WOULD **** PRETTY BAD. IT WAS VERY SCARY BUT SINCE I HAD TO TAKE MY SONS GIRLFRIEND CLOTHES, SHAMPOO AND OTHER PERSONAL ITEMS, DUE TO THAT SHE HAD BEEN IN THE HOSPITAL FOR SOME DAYS NOW TAKING CARE OF HER FATHER WHO WAS VERY SICK AND SINCE IT WAS A MATTER OF LIFE AND DEATH, SHE DIDN'T WANT TO LEAVE HER FATHERS SIDE. I DECIDED TO DRIVE AND TAKE HER WHAT SHE NEEDED. SINCE SHE CAME DOWN TO GET HER STUFF AND I TOOK HER TO BURGER KING FOR SOMETHING TO EAT, I NEVER TURNED MY VEHICLE OFF. I THEN DROVE BACK HOME BEING VERY CAREFUL ON THE EXPRESS WAY SINCE THE VEHICLE KEPT JERKING AS I WOULD PRESS ON THE BREAK PEDAL I MADE IT HOME PARKED MY VEHICLE AND WENT INSIDE. THE NEXT MORNING AS IT WAS TIME FOR ME TO GO TO WORK, MY CAR WOULD NOT TURN ON, AFTER LIKE A FEW MINUTES OF TRYING MY TRUCK DID TURN ON AND I SOME LETTERS CAME ON. I THEN CALLED ******** AND SPOKED WITH MR. GREG TO INFORM HIM ABOUT HOW SCARED I WAS DUE TO MY TRUCK WAS JERKING REALY BAD AND SCARY. I TOLD HIM I HAD A HARD TIME TURNING ON MY TRUCK AND THAT SOME LETTERS WERE COMING OUT AND I READ THE LETTERS TO HIM. HE TOLD ME TO TAKE HIM THE TRUCK RIGHT AWAY AND I DID. I DROVE MY VEHICLE TO AUTOWERKS ROCKFORD CADILLAC, SAAB LOCATED AT 505 N PERRYVILLE RD., ROCKFORD, IL XXXXX WITH TELEPHONE NUMBER (XXX) XXX-XXXX. WHEN I GOT THERE I PARKED OUTSIDE AND WALKED INSIDE SINCE WHEN I GOT THERE ANOTHER CAYENNE ARRIVE THERE TOO. I SPOKED WITH MR. **** AND HE TOLD ME TO DRIVE IT INSIDE, SO I WENT OUTSIDE STARTED MY TRUCK AND DROVE IT TROUGH THE SHOPS BIG LEFT DOOR AND STOPPED INFRONT OF THE FIRST COUNTER ON THE LEFTSIDE. I THEN LEFT IT ON, PUT THE WINDOW DOWN AND GOT OUT OF THE CAR. MR. **** CAME GOT IN THE TRUCK, TOOK THE MILES TURNED IT OFF AND KEPT THE KEYS. I GOT A RENTAL FOR SOME DAYS AND I LEFT. I RECEIVED A CALL FROM MR. **** AROUND LATE FEBRUARY LETING ME KNOW THAT THEY HAD REWIRED SOME WIRES AND THAT I NEEDED TO PAY AROUND $800. TO BE HONEST I AM NOT SURE HOW MUCH HE WANTED ME TO PAY. I INFORMED HIM THAT HE WAS CHARGING ME FOR SOMETHING THAT THEY HAD FIXED AND THAT I HAD PAID FOR BACK IN NOVEMBER 2014. HE MENTIONED THAT THIS WAS SOMETHING NEW. I TOLD HIM I NEVER AUTHORIZE THAT, THAT WHEN HE MENTIONED WIRES TO ME, I THOUGHT HE WAS TALKING ABOUT THE WIRES THEY HAD FIXED BACK IN NOVEMBER AND I THOUGHT THAT THEY MADE A MISTAKE. AFTER A FEW WEEKS HE TOLD ME I DID NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR THAT. THEN HE TOLD ME I HAD TO PAY GIVE OR TAKE $2,660. FOR ANOTHER PART THAT MY TRUCK NEEDED. MR. ******* TOLD HIM WE DID NOT HAVE ALL THAT MONEY THAT WE HAD PAID THEM IN NOVEMBER AND WE HAD NO MORE MONEY. MR. **** TOLD US TO GO PICK UP THE TRUCK. A FEW DAYS LATER, MR. ************ WENT TO PICK MY TRUCK UP, MR. **** SHOWED HIM THE TRUCK AND TOLD HIM MY TRUCK, MR. ******* TRIED TO TURN MY TRUCK ON AND IT DID NOT TURN ON MR. **** SAID THAT HE NEEDED TO TAKE A TOW TRUCK BECAUSE THAT WAS HOW I TOOK MY TRUCK. MR. **** IS LYING I DROVE MY TRUCK TO ******** AUTOWERKS ROCKFORD CADILLAC, SAAB LOCATED AT 505 N PERRYVILLE RD., ROCKFORD, IL XXXXX WITH TELEPHONE NUMBER (XXX) XXX-XXXX ON DECEMBER 1ST, 2014. Product_Or_Service: JULY 2014, NOVEMBER 2014 AND DECEMBER 1, 2014

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) ON OR AROUND APRIL 20TH 2015, I SPOKE TO THE AUTO SHOP MANAGER AND HE TALKED TO ME IN A VERY DISRESPECTFUL WAY, HE RAISED HIS VOICE AT ME, I TOLD HIM PORSCHE HAD CALLED HIS SHOP AND HE SAID NO, HE MADE IT SEEM AS IF I WAS LYING UNTIL HE TALKED TO MR. **** AND THEN HE SAID YES THEY DID CALL. HE WAS JUST A RUDE MAN. HE MADE ME FEEL AS IF I WAS A DUMB WOMAN, WORTHLESS AND AFRAID. I ASKED HIM THAT WHO WAS THE CEO OF THAT PLACE HE SAID NO ONE, I ASKED FOR THE MAIN MANAGER AND HE SAID HE WOULD HAVE HIM CALL ME, THE MANAGER DID CALL ME AND LEFT A MESSAGE. I DO WANT TO CALL HIM BACK AND TALK WITH HIM; I AM JUST TOO AFRAID TO GET INSULTED, RAISE HIS VOICE AT ME AND GET TREATED AS IF I AM NOT AN INTELLIGENT WOMAN WHEN IT COMES TO VEHICLES. ALL I WANT IS FOR NAPLETON AUTOWERKS ROCKFORD CADILLAC, SAAB, TO PLEASE STOP TAKING ADVANTAGE OF ME AND TO PLEASE GIVE ME MY VEHICLE RUNNING ON HOW I TOOK MY TRUCK RUNNING TO THEM DECEMBER 1ST 2014.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/15) */ We have communicated to **** that based upon the diagnoses from our Master Porsche technician, the vehicle needs the DME module replaced. Upon the replacement of the DME module, then the technician can communicate with the vehicle and determine the cause of the problem. **** has not authorized this repair as months have passed by with the vehicle at our location. We would like to work with **** to get the vehicle running and would prefer an authorization one way or another to move forward with the repair or we **** offer at our expense, to have her vehicle towed to her home. We request that this be resolved by May 31st, 2015. Thank you.

5/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a van that was "inspected by their mechanics" and the water pump failed within 24 hours.  They repaired this at no charge but when we got it back the coolant was very low. The pump broke again within 3,000 miles. Requiring us to pay a warranty deductible to replace it a second time.     Within 2 weeks of purchasing the van we noticed it was making a lot of noise with suspension and breaks. They said they were unable to duplicate the issue and the sound was normal for a van. We took it to two other repair shops who both confirmed it needs new struts, shocks and breaks totaling over $1000 in repair not covered under warranty.    A month after buying the van the turn signal and wipers stopped working and we immediately brought it back in.  After paying another deductible, Napleton fixed these items and we again expressed our concern about the breaks and front steering / suspension.  They dismissed our concerns and claimed that what we were describing was normal for these types of vehicles.   Within 2 months my wife began to notice small spots on the driveway. Upon further investigation I found that it was leaking fluid from a rubber boot on the front suspension assembly.  We called and on 8/22 took it into Napleton where they replaced a part of the front steering assembly.  They also replaced the headlight switch.  We were required to pay another deductible charge. We mentioned the sliding door was not working properly but they said they were unable to find any problem with the door.   Within a day or two the check engine light came on and so we again called and made an appointment.  The first representative she spoke with scheduled an appointment for us but later that day my wife called back to reschedule.  The service rep she spoke with this time told her that ******** has no way to read the error code from the check engine light.  They canceled our scheduled appointment and said that we had to take our vehicle to a Dodge dealership.  So, we called a dealership and they said that because the issue was likely related to the repair work that was just done, they would not even look at the van without charging us.  So we took it to two other auto repair places to get their opinions.   Auto care center of ****** read the error code.  They said it was the leak detection pump which is located under the previously leaking boot.  Although the damage was clearly related to the steering repairs completed by Napleton, it is not considered a warrantable item and the warranty will not cover it.  They were however able confirm and to fix the issue with the door that Napleton was "unable to" and also found that the driver side window motor was starting to fail.  Their estimate to repair all the items including the break pads, rotors and previously mentioned items was approximately $1,800.00.  WE also had to pay the warranty deductible.   We now need another wiring harness for the opposite door. The seat belts are not working properly. The struts are leaking, the power stearing line is leaking. One of the inner tie rod ends is loose. The windshield wiper motor is going bad. We've had this vehicle 9 months and put less than 3,000 miles on it. We've attempted to contact them by mail to detail our concerns at the beginning of November but they never contacted us. They mislead us by informing us that the car was found to be in great in great condition by their mechanics. Their service center has lied to us about their inability to check the error code for our check engine light which stems from an issue that they created during a repair. They also lied to us regarding the condition of the suspension and breaks more than three different occasions and is clearly a condition that the car was in when they sold it to us. We've been drying this car around with the check engine light since Napleton repaired the Steering boot, which is half the time we've owned the van.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund for this vehicle, including the amount we have had to pay for all of the repairs we have put into the vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/31) */ Our dealership is not aware of any communication by mail from November 2012. This notice if the first that is brought to my attention. We cannot provide a refund of this transaction but are willing to trade this vehicle for a different vehicle of desire. A third party inspection of a different van can be accomodated as well before moving forward. We apologize for any frustration. ***** *********, General Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Our communication by mail was from November 2013, not 2012, as the incorrectly indicate in this dismissive reply. We've spent hundreds of dollars in repair and been without transportation time and time again while this vehicle was being repaired. We've already explored a trade in for this vehicle with Napleton a few months ago. The car that they were offering us did not meet our needs and although it was also "inspected" smoke was coming off the engine from a pin hole sized leak in one of the hoses. We've spent so much time and money fixing this van, trading it in for another problem ridden vehicle on their lot is not a solution for this problem. In addition, they were not going to compensate us fairly for this trade in. They would take our van back, with all of the repairs we made and we would have to finance and pay more for this trade in, clearly benefiting ********, not us. This response from Napleton's General Manager also completely overlooks the poor customer service provided by their on site service center or the lies that their service department told us regarding their inability to check the error code on our check engine light or the condition of the vehicle when it was sold to us. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/15) */ We do apologize for the frustration in regards to the ownership of this vehicle. Trading out of this vehicle for a different vehicle is an option we can offer. Our inventory changes daily and we may have something that might work. Our pre-owned ************ ******** assist if this is the direction to move forward. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/02/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) You are not responding to my concerns. My frustration is not in the ownership of the vehicle, my frustration is in the poor customer service, quality of your vehicle at the time of sale and the repairs provided by Napleton service center. Some of the major repairs done by your service department had to be redone, such as the water pump and the power steering, within just a few months. Your service center also lied about being able to check the error code for the check engine light on my car that resulted from a poorly completed "repair" done at your facility. Napletons service department also lied about the condition of the struts and breaks when I purchased the vehicle and when I asked for their repair. Two other mechanics have confirmed that they are in poor repair at the same time your service center said that they were in good shape. In my last reply, I explained that I have already tried your trade in option, and the cars on your lot are in poor repair. I also already explained that the trade in amount you are offering is far less that what we've paid. I was excited to purchase my vehicle from you because I thought Napleton had a reputable company. It is very unfortunate that the review I have to share of Napleton is very poor.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Napleton Cadillac Saab
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)