Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Muller Honda

Phone: (847) 831-4200 Fax: (847) 861-6004 550 Skokie Valley Rd, Highland Park, IL 60035 http://www.muller-honda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Muller Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Muller Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Muller Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1980 Business started: 01/05/1972 in IL Business started locally: 01/05/1972 Business incorporated 01/05/1972 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Muller, President Mr. Jeff Harris, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Harris, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Mike Muller, President
Related Businesses
Muller Pontiac GMC Muller Honda of Gurnee
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Additional Locations

  • 550 Skokie Valley Rd

    Highland Park, IL 60035

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Muller Honda Collision Center did warranty rust repair on my VW and I also asked them to replace (not under warranty) the driver's door and right passenger door plastic trim pieces. After my car was in the shop for two weeks, I was called and told the warranty repair work required additional approval from VW as both the trunk and hood could not be repaired and needed to be replaced. This was fine with me and I then reminded John about the front door trim pieces because they also needed to be ordered. He had forgotten about this and told me he would order the trim pieces. Several weeks later I picked up the car and paid for the replaced trim. This was early October of 2015 and everything seemed fine. Last week I noticed that the right side front passenger plastic trim piece had not been replaced, but it appeared to have been sanded and painted or somehow stained. I looked at the repair paperwork and John had ordered trim pieces for the driver's side door and the left rear passenger door. The trim pieces on the rear passenger door was fine and there was no reason for it to be replaced. John had forgotten what we had discussed and wrongly ordered trim pieces for both left hand doors instead of the left and right front doors. It would have been obvious to the repair technician that the left rear door trim was fine and that the right front passenger trim needed to be replaced. Instead of ordering another trim piece for the right front door, the technician repaired it. The paint / stain did not adhere to the plastic and the repair is now obvious. I went to the shop on Dec 7th and spoke with John and Bob. After a heated exchange during which I asked Bob why he would replace a trim piece that was fine, he threw the paperwork at me and walked away. John refuses to admit he ordered the wrong parts and they want me to buy another trim piece. From my perspective, the shop was negligent in the repair and replacing parts that are perfectly fine is fraudulent.

Desired Settlement: At their expense, I want the shop to replace the plastic trim piece on the right hand front door as was originally discussed.

Business Response: I will due my due diligence and look into the disconnect between the customer and body shop employees and respond within 24 hours

Business Response: I have reviewed the complaint and spoken to all parties involved at my end and decided to take care of the complaint  by replacing the plastic trim piece on the right hand front door. Alan *******, who works at my Volkswagen store will be in contact with Mr. ********* to handle the process. I request the complaint to be closed once task completed. Jeff Harris

Consumer Response:


Complaint: 10987040

Let me start by saying that Alan ******* from VW service is and always has been very fair and an excellent representative of the company. He called me last Friday and I had the part replace this morning - Monday Dec 14th - without an issue. I am rejecting the business response for several reasons: 1). I was told very definitely and rudely by Bob and John at the collision center that these parts were plastic and therefore could not have been rusted as I was suggesting. I have the original part from the right front door and it is metal. I have no reason to suspect the others were plastic. Maybe the replacement parts they used on the left front and rear are plastic.  2). There is a tape masking mark on the right side door frame exactly where it would need to be to mask off any area prior to painting. I have been explicated told that no one at the collision center did anything to the right side, but there isn't any other explanation for these marks. Also, there is no way I would have missed noticing that the right side had not been repaired since having the work done in October. Something isn't right about the story I am being told and that is not acceptable. 3) I was told that the collision center is saying they have paperwork showing I approved of replacing both left hand trim pieces. That is not true. As I stated in my original complaint, this was John's error. I have the final paperwork that does list both LH pieces, but at that time I was signing the receipt for service as everything looked fine and did not take the time to read the the paperwork. My error. To my knowledge there is no signed paperwork where I agreed to replacement of both LH trim pieces. It makes no sense that I would approve it. I again content that replacement of the LH rear trim piece which was in perfect condition was fraudulent and John covered up his mistake by having something done to the RH front trim. I will take the original trim piece to another shop to see what, if any repair has been done. If the shop says it looks original and can not find traces of paint or stain used to cover the area, I will approve the claim as being completed. I believe ordering both LH trim pieces was an honest mistake, but I do not think the whole truth is on the table. That is all I am asking. 


Sincerely,

Glenn *********

8/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 10,2015 we purchased an extended warranty on a new Honda Accord. We financed the car but specified that we did not want to finance the extended warranty. The Finance Director, Greg Stone said that would be no problem, and that we could pay for the extended warranty with a credit card which we did. We also put a down-payment for the Accord on the same card. We had 60 days to cancel the warranty and decided to go ahead with that. I called Greg Stone on 8/20 to let him know we wanted to cancel the warranty. Even though we paid the entire cost of the extended warranty by credit card, and he absolutely knew we completed the payment transaction that way in order to not include it in the auto finance, he went ahead and configured the paperwork so that the extended warranty was included as part of the finance. I consider that a dishonest, unethical business practice. We were completely satisfied with every other part of our experience at Muller Honda Highland Park which makes this issue even more disappointing. We paid for the extended warranty with our credit card, and the cancellation refund should be credited back to that card. Our option now is to pay off the car entirely with the very first payment and take title. Maybe then when we cancel the extended warranty Muller Honda will credit our card.

Desired Settlement: All we want is to come down to the dealership, sign the cancellation papers for the extended warranty and have the refunded amount credited back to the credit card we used to purchase the warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/26) */ Unfortunately, the extended warranty was part of the financing therefore when the product is cancelled, which is certainly can be, the loan will be credited upon cancellation. The cancellation will go down as a principal payment to the loan according to the terms of the contract. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/08/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We returned to the dealership on 8/26 and signed paperwork that cancelled the extended warranty. Unfortunately, the refunded amount will not be credited to our card but subtracted from the loan principal as the dealership response indicated. This should have been disclosed/explained by the finance director initially, since he knew we were under the assumption that the extended warranty was paid for separately. He did apologize for any misunderstanding when we returned to cancel the extended warranty.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Muller Honda
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)